Durham

HomeViews collects verified resident reviews for new build homes across the UK. The rankings below are calculated based on the overall star ratings for each development. However, the HomeViews Transparency Rating also affects a development’s ranking, as this indicates how recent its reviews are and how many it has received. Explore the best new homes developments in this region below, then click on the developments to see detailed reviews and ratings for Design, Management, Location, Value and Facilities for each.

4.28
Average Location Score

Excellent

54%

Very Good

28%

Average

12%

Disappointing

4%

Very Poor

2%

Best places to live in Durham

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

Reviews in Durham

Write a Review

I would avoid.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

I was a tenant at the green for almost 4 years it was very good at first but as the on site development was completed and no one was on site anymore for maintenance and repairs it went downhill rapidly. We had a lifting floor for 18 months, recurrent damp and vandalism of the green (and cars) and to top it off when we had enough and left they tried to take £400 of out deposit for a TINY burn on a worktop layer reduced to £180 when we contested it. Avoid placefirst they appear the perfect landlords on paper, and if they lived up to what they say they would be but they are far far away from what they say.

Please review your development:

The house was nice however given there were only 3 internal doors and the current cost of living crisis it cost a fortune to heat and that was before the huge increase in energy prices. The communal areas were lovely before the constant vandalism. CCTV camera were present but apparently useless because they could not access them 🤦

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the area the green was in was one of the most deprived areas in the country with high crime and although the houses were nice the rent demanded in the area is unrealistic

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Ignored most of them. When we had a lifting floor for 18 months they sent people out to “look at it” on 5 occasions but still never fixed it. (They have now we have moved out) we are friends with the neighbour and within 2 weeks of us leaving it was fixed

3
Facilities
4
Design
1
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It has its flaws.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Local shops make it easy to shop. Bin collection is always on time.
There can be quite a lot of some anti-social behaviour, children will brake the lights in the park and kick balls off of the walls quite a lot. Very close to the town and facilities.

Please review your development:

The design of the house interior is nice to the eye. But unfortunately there are a lot issues with the build quality, with cubords falling off, plaster falling off of walls, locks not working on back door or gate and pipes leaking.

Space in rooms is a little small, bathroom is good but the windows are still see through.
Management of the properties are excellent, all staff are friendly and kind and super helpful.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bathroom windows are see through to neighbours. It’s always either super warm or super cold. The boiler falters regularly.
There are rats in the alleys.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management have acted upon any issues brought up fast and effectively, unfortunately many issues with the building is down to the initial build.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall lovely house with poor management and awful surroundings

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The houses backing onto my house are disgusting and they dump litter in the back alley which causes problems with rats every week.

Please review your development:

The house itself is really nice and has a lovely design however, for the price of the property I don’t see the maintenance side as good as it should be at all. I am still waiting for a new tap to be put in my bathroom and every time I call to chase it up, I am advised I will receive a call and it never happens. The lack of storage is a bit of a problem too seeing as though we are unable to use the loft space.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how awful and disgusting the backing neighbours were and I wish I knew how poorly managed the maintenance of the properties were.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

When I first raised the issue about the leaking tap(at least 6 month ago), they were brilliant and responded quick. However, when it came down to coming out to replace the tap, the maintenance company called to say they had to reschedule and since then I have had no correspondence from them despite chasing the issue multiple times.

3
Facilities
5
Design
1
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The green, fantastic place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

I’m having an excellent time living here, everything is running like clockwork and have no problems. The area is very homely and it feels like a well supported community.

Please review your development:

My home is very spacious and caters to all my needs as a single person. Would reccomend to anyone.
I have everything I need here and it caters very well to my work-from-home lifestyle as I have easy access to the town centre and to many additional services.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about the lack of a loft space prior to moving in but it isn’t a huge issue for me as space is abundant.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All my problems have been addressed straight away through direct contact with the letting agents.

5
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report