Wandsworth

Welcome to Wandsworth, a leafy, south-west London borough overlooking the River Thames. It’s right opposite Fulham and, while the area has plenty in common with its affluent neighbour, living here is notably kinder on the bank balance. Read on to discover developments that are rated the best places to live in Wandsworth. In addition, read reviews from residents who own or rent in Wandsworth.

4.35
Average Location Score

Excellent

48%

Very Good

37%

Average

13%

Disappointing

1%

Very Poor

1%

Best places to live in Wandsworth

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

View of the River Thames and tall building at night

Good transport links & Michelin stars

Young professionals regularly vote Wandsworth as one of the best places to live in London, pipping sought-after postcodes like Battersea and Wimbledon to the post. And it’s no wonder. The area brags contemporary waterside apartments and great connections – it’s just 12 minutes to Waterloo from Wandsworth Town station, and Wandsworth Common gets commuters to Victoria in even less. There’s also a fabulous drinking and foodie scene here, largely centred on the area’s many pubs. The star of the show is pared-back Chez Bruce, on Bellevue Road, which has bagged a Michelin star for its delectable French cuisine and wines.

For those who want to be within easy walking distance from the station, Mapleton Crescent is a great option. This striking building’s brought to the area by Pocket Living – a company on a mission to design smart spaces for first-time buyers in prime London locations. This 27-storey tower houses 57 one-bed apartments, along with a river-facing state-of-the-art workspace and a rooftop terrace.

“The location is fantastic – within walking distance of shops, parks, gyms, supermarkets, pubs, restaurants, transport hubs – can’t complain at all!” Verified owner at Mapleton Crescent

New residential development in Wandsworth

More developments in Wandsworth…

Ram Quarter is another option. This one’s right in the heart of the borough, neighbouring the peaceful River Wandle. Developed by the Greenland Group, it’s a purpose-built neighbourhood with shops, restaurants and hundreds of one to four-bedroom flats. Ram Quarter, carefully converted from the former Young’s Brewery, and lots of its original features have been retained.

The Coopers Lofts are where the history of the site can really be felt – period features like high ceilings, exposed iron and brickwork, and restored industrial style windows are a throwback to the brewery’s 19th-century origins. Outside, the buildings facades preserve the heritage of the buildings.” – HomeViews Property Pro on Ram Quarter

Moved into the development in summer 2018 as a new build. Lovely spacious apartment with all modern fixtures and fittings. Great location with the south side shopping centre a 2min walk and lovely pubs and restaurants in the area. Easy access into Waterloo from Wandsworth town- 13min with trains every 10mins. Energy efficient apartments mean low bills, I think I’ve only had the heating on once since moving in.” – Amy, verified renter at Ram Quarter, in Wandsworth

view of Wandsworth from above

Wandsworth’s greenery

Despite its plentiful hustle and bustle, Wandsworth is a peaceful, green borough – the perfect antidote to busy city life. Wandsworth Common is the area’s heart, an 175-acre stretch of picnic space and nature trails. There’s a wildlife centre and a lake made for strolling, as well. You’ll find more of the same at King George’s Park, plus sports pitches and a tennis club.

Nappy Valley

Naturally, all that green space – together with some excellent schools and good-size Victorian houses – has seen an increase in the family population here. So much so, Wandsworth’s been nicknamed ‘Nappy Valley’. It’s the mixture of ages in Wandsworth that make it the diverse, harmonious community it is. To see the local spirit at its best, head for the Wandsworth Fringe in May – a celebration of dance, theatre and art talent.

You can find out more about living in the area by reading reviews from residents. Click on the developments below to find out more about residents’ experiences and also, to discover the best places to live and rent in Wandsworth. Moreover, If there’s a property that you can’t see on HomeViews, you can add a new listing and leave your review here.

Reviews in Wandsworth

Write a Review

Very nice house with private territory.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Battersea is a great place to live! It takes around 20 min by bus to get to the center of London. There are many shops around, such as Asda, Tesco and etc. Also, it takes only 10 min to get to Battersea park, which is very beautiful.

Please review your development:

The building itself is very nice. I like the style of the old school with big windows and apartments on the roof.

The territory is private, which is also greets.

However, it would be great to have more attention from the property managers, as sometimes it takes too much time to get an answer from them.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known the airplanes fly very close, so it is too loud sometimes

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All issues we had were solved out with the help of property or building managers, however, it would be great if we receive answers from them faster

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Not good enough!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Good: Transport, quality of. local shops,
Bad: anti-social behaviour

Please review your development:

Still paying service charge despite facilities being closed. Upkeep of facilities such as lifts have been poor during covid. Building management not helpful enough. Design of building could be better. Overall during covid times, a lot of things could be improved upon.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Different companies supplying water, this was not known beforehand and was inconvenient. Too much construction around the area was also not known beforehand.

What is the best feature of your home:

We have a balcony which has been very useful. The swimming pool facility has been great

1
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
1
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Arjun,

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologies for the closer of our Service areas due to the Government Guidelines we had to enforce these rules however please be assured that they will be opening soon and you will be able to book the Amenities via the Eg: Life App.

Please be assured that our on-site team are working to address all issues on site that is in need of upkeep help. If reported via the Eg: life app we will assign the ticket to the correct department who will be able to deal with it in a more efficient timely way.

Please contact our Residental Service Manager who will gladly help

Best regards,

Maki Benvento
Resort Director

Slight rant

Review Date Mar 2021

We love the area, the transport links and the local amenities.

Please review your development:

We have lived here for 3 years now and the standard of the housekeeping and maintenance is getting progressively worse. We tried talking to one of the contractors who was blocking the corridor whilst carrying out some electrical works in our block and he couldn’t even speak English. How do we know he is even qualified to do these works? What is even more annoying is the money that has been spent on the Estate Managers office refurbishment when there are areas of our block and the site in general that are unsightly. I was speaking to one of the apartment owners and she told me the work was costing 45k? Surely that is not correct? I will definitely be speaking to one of the directors to clarify this. Anyway, rant over. Hopefully things will improve. Maree

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew the resident meeting details

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Generally quite good comms from the BM but none of the contractors seem to speak English, are poorly attired and do not even carry I.D. Very poor . I can only presume they are cheap and doubt they are qualified for certain aspects of work carried out which is concerning!

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location – But too much style over substance.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Excellent location and transport links. Good and improving amenities although currently no retail.
Parking (for visitors) in the area is poor. There’s a small (but welcome) sense of community. Traffic noise not too bad – although motorbikes, a pain.

Please review your development:

Very well situated. Reasonably well designed.
Building / Property Management is at best adequate and response is perfunctory. Little evidence that concerns are listened to and acted upon. Opaque reporting channels and the very high turnover of staff is concerning and makes it difficult to understand who to report issues to and how to track progress.
It is hoped that The long awaited and much overdue Ballymore Lifestyle App will improve much of the above.
Cladding issues appear to be being sorted, thankfully.
Good facilities, gym, pool etc Although the extravagant sky pool, whilst an intriguing engineering feat, is a rather pointless, costly, unneeded and showy addition.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Very poor layout of electric plug sockets in the apartments. Inefficient heating systems.
Poor (or bare minimum) soundproofing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There’s an ostensible willingness to help but in reality often very little follow up and on the whole it is difficult to get things done.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Will,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us a review here at Embassy Gardens.

We are hoping with the new arrival of Eg: life App that you will no longer have any more issue regarding tracking the progress of any issues you bring to us.

Please pass on any future concerns to our Residential Service Manager who will gladly help address them.

Best regards,

Maki Benvento
Resort Director

Articles about Wandsworth