Lambeth

Lambeth occupies a prime South London location close to some of the capital’s biggest attractions, but not so close it’s packed with tourists. It stretches from the Thames’ South Bank and ends just beyond the residential areas of Streatham and Norwood. Read on to discover developments that are the best places to live in Lambeth. In addition, read reviews from residents who own or rent in Lambeth.

HomeViews reviewer verdict…
“A south-of-the-river location with lots to offer.”

4.46
Average Location Score

Excellent

59%

Very Good

30%

Average

10%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

1%

Best places to live in Lambeth

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

Brixton station

Lambeth’s north

In its northern pocket, you can take a stroll along the waterside. Here you will discover big-hitters like the National Theatre, the Tate Modern, and the Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre. All of which are neighboured by a good mix of pubs and bars with a front-row view of the river. Lambeth Palace is another local star, a spectacular Medieval structure and the home of the Archbishop of Canterbury.  The Imperial War Museum also provides a lovely, moving day out; a fitting tribute to those affected by the past world’s conflicts.

Vauxhall new flats

Cultural melting pot

There’s a hypnotising, cosmopolitan feel to these parts. Places like Stockwell and Kennington have a Latin flavour, their high streets packed with cutesy tapas joints and Portuguese establishments serving fresh seafood. Over in vivacious Brixton, the area’s Afro-Caribbean roots shine, with reggae bars playing exotic beats until late, and an amazing foodie scene that incorporates street stalls sizzling with specialities like jerk chicken and ackee and saltfish. Hootananny is a much-loved hostel-come-nightclub that works to showcase the area’s diversity, with events dedicated to everything from hip-hop to salsa. And we can’t talk about the area without mentioning 02 Academy Brixton, an award-winning venue for music, theatre and comedy.

Imperial museum

Property & transport

Lambeth’s residential options are vast, ranging from swish riverfront apartments to elegant period townhouses. Whatever you’re after, expect easy access to London’s centre. Three tube stations – Lambeth North, Waterloo and Southwark – get residents from A to B via the Northern line.

HomeViews reviewer says…
“The location is central and very well connected within easy reach of much of Central London both on foot and via the tube. Traffic can be quite congested and slow, there is also a fair amount of noise from the streets.”

You can find out more about living in the Lambeth by reading reviews from residents. Click on the developments below to find out more about residents’ experiences and also, to discover the best places to live and rent in Lambeth. Moreover, If there’s a Lambeth property that you can’t see on HomeViews,  you can add a new listing and leave your review here

Reviews in Lambeth

Write a Review

Great looking flat, average concierge

Review Date Sep 2022

Not many local cafes or pubs but good transport links
Street is fine but quite a lot of anti-social behaviour near the train tracks

Please review your development:

Design is very clean and modern. Facilities are great given the central location, however the limit to people in the gym is annoying. Concierge can be hit or miss as to who you get in terms of usefulness, e.g. night staff/weekend staff aren’t as helpful/knowledgeable.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The council tax is really expensive. School is loud during the day.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Didn’t have many repairs but when we did it was handled well.

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

NO HOT WATER

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

HORRIBLE SERVICE. There is no hot water 5 days. When we ask them its same excuse. Everyday building has issues whether its a water or elevator etc.

Please review your development:

HORRIBLE SERVICE. There is no hot water 5 days. I cannot go out or do my gym as there is no hot water.

We only get same email messages like following.

Hi everyone,

Unfortunately, there has been another loss of hot water again today.

We’re already on it and have informed the contractors that look after that system who are on site and working to restore hot water as a priority.

We’re very sorry for the inconvenience and we continue to do everything we can to get this resolved as quickly as we can.

Thanks,

UNCLE Elephant & Castle

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Horrible customer service

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

no nothing just excuse emails and no solution. They dont try even to compensate for horrible service

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern, well connected

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

Close to both Victoria and Northern Line. Lots of options for groceries within walking distance. Right beside Santander Cycles, can be cycling by Big Ben within minutes. Right beside a small park which is lovely to walk in on a sunny day.

Area can often smell a bit trashy. Homelessness in the area is also seemingly increasing unfortunately.

Please review your development:

The interior design of the apartments is quite aesthetically pleasing. Having a concierge to collect packages is very useful. The exterior of the buildings and the public areas are very nice, with a bakery opening soon. The gym and pool are very useful and are rarely crowded.

Issues can often take a long time to resolve with the apartment as it’s hard to talk to anyone directly. Residents often leave trash in the room with the trash chute when the trash chute is out of order which results in the ground floor smelling very bad.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Moving into this building can result in a feeling of competition that is being pushed by the letting agents. The agent we dealt with was extremely manipulative and outright lied to us on multiple occasions, something we didn’t find out until we had already moved in and spoken with the neighbours.

We were often told that an apartment was unavailable due to pipes needing to be fixed, this is a lie, the hot water doesn’t work until they are topped up when you sign up for hot water which is a very quick process. We were told upon viewing our apartment we wouldn’t be able to move in due to pipe works to fix the hot water issue, when in fact they were trying to get different buyers to raise their offer.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It is very difficult to talk to anyone directly about issues, I have had to use their difficult to use website in order to flag problems and problems often get ignored. Or someone is sent but they just inspect the problem but don’t actually fix it.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good place but can use a bit of work.

Review Date Sep 2022

Property management can take very long to respond and one lady at reception is super rude. Area can be a bit dodgy at night. Beautiful design and nice facilities.

Please review your development:

Good place but needs a bit of work. back office can be more responsive as it can take ages to get repairs or other things done.
Property management can take very long to respond and one lady at reception is super rude. Area can be a bit dodgy at night. Beautiful design and nice facilities.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Near road very loud.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They reply months later, after several chasing. No phones work

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Discover surrounding areas