Borough of Sutton

Sutton is a hugely popular commuter spot for young families seeking more space outside central London areas. Excellent schools add to its appeal, alongside plenty of open green spaces and good value homes. The town of Sutton offers a great selection of family homes, from 20s and 30s semis to large detached houses and Edwardian period properties, as well as some very popular new build developments.

4.49
Average Location Score

Excellent

60%

Very Good

31%

Average

5%

Disappointing

1%

Very Poor

3%

Best places to live in Borough of Sutton

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

View across Sutton

Areas to consider

The most desirable postcode is generally considered to be SM2, which includes the Belmont and South Sutton areas. SM1 includes the town centre, as well as pats of The Wrythe, Rosehill, Carshalton and Benhilton. To the west, SM3 includes Cheam and West Sutton.

Heath Drive is a particularly sought-after address in Sutton, offering large detached homes – many with swimming pools or tennis courts. The Landseer Conservation Area is another prime spot, with large and beautiful Edwardian properties on offer for around the £1 million mark.

The St Helier Estate offers more modest and affordable homes in Sutton. Attractive new homes developments are also available close to the station and at the Old Gas Works site.

Amenities and Green Spaces

Sutton’s town centre offers a decent selection of shops, cafes and restaurants that mean locals don’t need to travel further afield too often. Any serious retail therapy will require a trip into more central parts of the capital, but Sutton has a respectable high street. Two shopping centres – Times Square and the Saint Nicolas Centre – include favourites like Primark and New Look.

All the big supermarkets have a presence in Sutton, as well as local versions serving more peripheral areas. A monthly Famer’s Market and a good number of delicatessens offer a wider choice of finer foods and drinks.

Sutton is one of the greenest London boroughs, offering plenty of green spaces. The large Oak Park to the south includes a sport centre, café and even a golf course. In the north west of the Borough you’ll find Beddington Park – beautiful grounds and lake attached to a 16th century manor house.

no.16 sutton court road

Resident reviews

Before moving, we meticulously researched places where school offsted scores should be high and where crime rates should be low. Sutton came out from many resources.
Mehmet Ozaksu, Verified Resident – No. 16 Sutton Court, May 2020

The local transport links are perfect for our commutes into London and work. We are a couple of minutes walk away from the town centre which is ideal.
Daniel H, Verified Resident – No. 16 Sutton Court, Aug 2019

Good place, supermarket close to proximity, great shopping area and food places. Transport is nearby and so is the local gym.
Cozaciuc, Verified Resident – Old Gas Works SM1, Jul 2019

It is a green area, conveniently located, only takes 30 minutes to get to Victoria.
Liam, Verified Resident – Northumberland House SM2, Jul 2019

The area is great; two minutes’ walk to the High Street and everything you need very close by, with excellent transport links into town, a bus ride to the Northern line at Morden, always a way to get home. The only thing Sutton is missing is a theatre.
Natbat, Verified Resident – Seventeen SM1, Apr 2020

Reviews in Borough of Sutton

Write a Review

it’s disappointing!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The location of the building is so good close to high street that you can find many restaurants and bar and shops, you have access to bus stops and train station by walk just a few minutes, there no bin collection

Please review your development:

this is my third review of Sienna House, unfortunately, the building situation is so disappointing these days, the new management team couldn’t manage the building properly, one of the lifts is not working (more than two months!!!!) and just one of the lifts has access to the basement if you want to go to the refused room or parking area and I believe two lifts is not enough for 165 flats and we have to wait for a lift most of the time, they don’t arrange for cleaning the building properly and I have mentioned the problems to the management several times they asked me to send them an email and I did it but nothing is changed, they don’t clean gym properly and there is dirt everywhere!! I have shown them personally but they don’t care and after weeks everything is the same!! And it’s so disappointing, They are not only fixing the problems but they increased the amount of rent at the same time! While you can rent a flat in a new brand building in the same street cheaper…

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I have rent the flat furnished but the bed size was not suitable for me 140*190cm while I am a tall man and when I asked to change it they couldn’t manage it!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very poor! I believe they don’t supervise the building properly and they don’t respond to any problems or issues I have raised till I ask them next time, finally they said we have forwarded everything to Savills (landlord) and we can’t do anything more!

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I feel depressed.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

Bad management. Lift and front entrance breaks all the time, month to get fixed. Bad security, thefts on delivery items. I’d avoid if you can. Many families are stuck in here as the management used to be slightly better and rent was increased recently with no improvement. AVOID.

Please review your development:

They want to build more flats on already badly managed poorly treated building. Insane money making. No consideration for the current tenants.
Tied to all the pre-selected companies for water, electricity and internet not good enough internet to wfh

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How bad the management is. And some flat are much bigger than others, same price.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Took long time or never every excuse is due to Covid…

1
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Sienna House is one of the best in this area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2022

I would like to let you know Sienna House is so close to Sutton high street which you can access to ranges of shops, coffee shops and bars and restaurants and you have only 3 minutes walk to Morrisons that you can shops your daily needs also you have access to Sainsbury’s and Lidl and Asda by 13 minutes walk and you have local grocery stores around as well, in another word you can find whatever you want in the Sutton high street, the B&Q is in front of the building and you have less than 5 minutes walk to access Sutton rail station and bus stations, the building has its parking and if you have more than one car the manager can figure it out for you around (you should pay separately), most of the time we have not heavy traffic around and if you are living upper floors you have not noisy atmosphere and you can enjoy the brilliant view…

Please review your development:

If you like to live in a modern and minimal building with good facilities the Sienna House is one of the best in this area for sure, the building management team recently changed and it seems they are not as professional as the previous team, I hope they are improving and can keep brilliant our brand new building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If you are looking for living in the modern new brand building with good facilities in very good location in Sutton Sienna House would be one of the best

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I am satisfied at last, they did their best to solve the problem.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice apartment very closed to station but price little bit expensive

Review Date Jun 2022

The location is just 5-minute walk from Sutton station, it’s also closed to high street with 5 minute walk. The building is new.

The staff is always busy and hard to get a reply when you send an email. The rent is expensive.

Please review your development:

The location of this residential building is good. As the building is new, someone who likes a new built home may love it. However, there are still some drawbacks for a new built, occasionally there was water leakage in particular flats.

The rental fee is little bit expensive and you will need to pay 100 extra pounds for basic furniture such as sofa, dining table and beds.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I still recommend someone who likes new built and want to move it quickly. But you need to take the staff service and price into consider.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It takes few days to receive the reply from building management.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report