Westminster

You’ll spot scenes of Westminster on most London postcards, and it’s little wonder. After all, this place hosts riverside icons like the House of Lords, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. Not to mention the black taxis and scarlet phone boxes synonymous with England’s capital. Some of the country’s best-preserved Georgian mansions can be found in its neighbourhoods, too, sitting pretty in the quiet, leafy streets of Maida Vale and Belgravia. Also, let’s not forget the glittering lights of the West End, the best place to catch dinner and a show. Read on to read reviews from residents living in some of the best places to live in Westminster.

4.67
Average Location Score

Excellent

71%

Very Good

22%

Average

7%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Best places to live in Westminster

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

Westminster birds eye view

Westminster’s famous landmarks

Despite its modest eight or so square miles, this slice of Central London positively packs in the tourist attractions. Walking tours run all year round, charting thousands of years of history to the delight of millions of visitors. Favourite stop-offs include the Churchill War Rooms, Westminster Cathedral and the Florence Nightingale Museum.

Art fans from all over flock to the Tate Britain on Westminster’s Millbank. The museum houses the world’s largest collection of British art, and residents of Berkeley’s Abell & Cleland development can count it as a neighbour. These stunning apartments were designed by award-winning architecture and interiors studio, Project Orange, and are tucked among landscaped grounds close-by.

There is also, Buckingham Palace, Britain’s most famous landmark of all needs little introduction. Those in-the-know avoid the awestruck crowds in its immediate vicinity, and admire it in the peace and quiet of neighbouring St James’ Park – a glorious 23 hectares of meadows and walkways.

Westminster residents

Naturally, living near the Queen is a privilege that doesn’t come cheap. With home prices here falling largely into the multimillion pound bracket, residents tend to be politicians, celebrities and those born into fortunes.

Just a stone’s throw from Buckingham Palace is Westminster Quarter, a collection of luxury apartments by Taylor Wimpey Central London spread over three different sites on Monck Street. There are 90 design-led units here, housed across three properties – 73 Great Peter Street, 1 Chadwick Street and Ashley House.

 

While some new developments strive to stand out both in height and appearance, the eight-storey Westminster Quarter quietly slots into its prestigious SW1 neighbourhood – a chic and classy addition to the streetscape. And on closer inspection its intricate brickwork façade, which looked to local architecture as its inspiration, adds further depth and interest to the building.” – HomeViews Property Pro

St James Park

Development in Victoria

The central Victoria neighbourhood is undergoing extensive regeneration. Once a cluster of tired office blocks, developers have breathed new life into the area with a shedload of contemporary apartments. A plethora of new bars, restaurants and stores have followed suit.

Right opposite Victoria Station, The Nova Building is turning heads. This Land Securities scheme features an ultra-modern exterior, complete with a pink angular front. Rated as one of the best places to live in Westminster, scroll down to read reviews from residents who rent in Westminster.

 

It offers up a wealth of luxury shopping and fine dining, including the likes of Aster by DandD London to Rail House Cafe by Adam White. Residents will also enjoy first-class amenities like a 24-hour concierge service, a private residents’ lounge, gym facilities, a cinema and a business centre. There’s also secure underground parking available for a fee of £85,000. Topping everything off, figuratively and literally, is the ninth floor roof garden and terrace, which affords residents views over the palace’s gardens and the capital’s cityscape. ” – HomeViews Property Pro on The Nova Building

 

Kings Gate is an alternative another Westminster base by Land Securities. This one’s got a prime spot on Victoria Street, and overlooks the Royal Parks and Westminster Cathedral. Its 100 private apartments have been designed by Patrick Lynch, Millier and Spinocchia Freund.

ving in some of the best places to live in Westminster. Alternatively, do you own or rent in Westminster? Click here to leave your review. 

Big Ben behind flowers

High-end living

Westminster’s local amenities tend to cater to the wealthy occupants. Expect top schools, members-only clubs, fine dining – including a reputable clutch of Michelin-starred restaurants – and designer boutiques. Bond Street, in particular, offers some of the biggest names in fashion. Chanel, Cartier and Dolce all have flagship stores here. Westminster is also the place to dip in and out of London’s finest establishments, like Harrods, Sotheby’s and The Ritz.

Soho & Covent Garden

It’s not all grandeur and glamour, though. Edgy Soho offers a great mix of laid-back bars, restaurants and live music venues, while Covent Garden is alive with quirky street performers and bohemian market stalls. For high street names like Zara and Topshop, there’s no beating Oxford Street. As well as this, traditional selections such olde-world shops and pubs are to be found in St James’s.

Read more about living in Westminster. Click on the developments below for reviews from residents li

Reviews in Westminster

Write a Review

Used to be good, but not any more.

Review Date Aug 2021

Pimlico is lovely – is fairly quiet, even with the Academy across the road and not too much traffic once you’re off Grosvenor Road. Plenty of small restaurants (Tapas place over the way is amazing!) You’ve got a local Tesco and a large Sainsbury’s within walking distance and post office. Parking is fine – I’ve never had a problem finding a space and permits are reasonable from Westminster Council. There’s also a decent bus service and the tube is very close. I can’t fault Pimlico – it is lovely, convenient location and has everything you need.

Please review your development:

This is the third time I have lived in Dolphin Square and it will definitely be the last! The first time was under the old management and then, it was amazing and I couldn’t believe my luck. The management team were lovely, helpful, organised and they encouraged an inclusive and friendly neighbourhood. The second time was a few years back when we were between properties and then it was OK but management not great.

This time has been nothing short of miserable for me right from the beginning. The process of getting contracts sorted etc, was chaotic and inefficient. Since living here, I have had to complain about noise so often I am now keeping a spreadsheet as seriously considering legal action. My first two times here, I never had a problem with noise at all, so not sure why this time is so different. But to put it into perspective, I spent most of this last weekend in my bedroom because the neighbour downstairs had a party one night and his music on a loop the next. I can’t say it was loud-loud, but it was loud enough that I couldn’t listen to the TV without turning the volume up really high, in which case I would have been annoying neighbours around me. I called security to ask them to call him (there’s an internal phone system) and ask him to keep it down, but they did nothing to help – and yet it’s their job to do this! In the end, I gave up and went to bed at 8pm on a Friday night!

Workmen turn up as and when they please, drilling and banging for hours at a time. Under tenancy agreements, you are supposed to be given notice of any works going on in flats around you, but the management team show no courtesy and do not let you know in advance work is going to be happening. I’m not unreasonable and l know work has to be done in a development this size, but why a little bit of consideration cannot be shown to residents is beyond me. I was on a video conference today when interrupted by drilling on the other side of the wall. How is this acceptable?? Had I been told, I could have made arrangements to go to the office or a friends house, but wasn’t given the chance to sort anything.

I can honestly say, there is barely a day goes by that I’m not disturbed by someone.

The building is actually lovely to look and the gardens are beautifully maintained. Someone else on this site reviewed DS as modern but it is not – a lot of the fabric and workings of the building are not fit for purpose. For example, the water tanks in one of the buildings broke down a couple of months ago – we had weeks of tankers arriving at all hours – once at 2.30am in the morning – pumping water into the basement for 1-2 hours at a time. There are supposed to be 2 working lifts per building, but in at least one of the buildings, the lift hasn’t been working for almost a year, so you have circa 100 flats sharing one lift!

These days, Dolphin Square is overpriced for what it is and the management team frankly need to sort themselves out.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I’d definitely recommend not to take a flat around the outside of the building, and only take a flat overlooking the garden as the noise from lorries, vans and cars is pretty constant, plus you have rubbish trucks arriving to empty the bins every morning which are quite loud. The best side in my opinion would be the West Side, overlooking the gardens, which would avoid so much noise and also, as the flats do turn into saunas when the sun comes out, you would avoid overheating too.

And live on as high a floor as you can get.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I’m afraid it’s all words and no action. They make promises to deal with things but don’t – it is either left to drag on and you’re chasing for weeks or you are ignored completely. I went into the tenancy office a couple of months ago to enquire about something, only to receive a sarcastic response.

3
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, bad management

Review Date Mar 2021

Pimlico is a lovely area with great transport links.

Please review your development:

I stayed here previously with my boyfriend. Beware of the renewals each year. They do not tell you in advance about their very strict inflexible renewal terms.

An automtatic price increase is applied no matter what … even if it makes your rent higher than market rates. If you don’t agree to their unfair terms they will evict you with a s21 notice. They insist on you signing up on their non negotiable terms every 12 months – take it or leave it. Then after you leave you will see your flat is rented out at a lower rent than what you were paying due to the unreasonable annual increases.

There is no flexibility to negotiate anything like you would do with a normal Landlord. For instance no flexibility on the length of the contract, no breakclause, unreasonable rent increases are all dictated. Even something minor like extending or reducing the 12 months by one or two months is not possible … nothing is possible except everything on their terms. No one tells you this when you sign on. Their lettings team are all very nice at the start, but you deal with different people upon renewal.

You don’t find out any of this until it is time to renew. Notice the positive reviews on here are only from people who have just signed up or who have not had to renew yet. There are also the lucky long standing option B tenants who are protected by their own long standing contracts.

Management are extremely unpleasant to deal with. One in particular is very rude, unprofessional, nasty and condescending. We were told these unfair and inflexble policies were only put in place when she arrived by her.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How inflexible the lettings team are and how unreasonable the price increases are each year.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We could not get any face to face meetings with them. They issued a s21 notice and evicted us but we were looking to leave anyway but they did not allow us to leave early. The landlord is extremely inflexible and uncaring.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Rude staff, unreliable facilities, and overpriced… the one place in Pimlico to avoid!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2020

Pimlico is a lovely quiet area with good shops and transport links.

Please review your development:

If you are considering living in Pimlico, do not live in Dolphin Square.

It is incredibly overpriced, and facilities frequently break down. I lost hot (and sometimes cold) water and/or heating on a number of days last year, often in winter. There has been a concerning dripping sound in the pipes in the wall of my bedroom for months; it keeps me awake at night, but, despite several requests, they are yet to send a maintenance person to come and look into it.

The lift in my building has been broken for six months, and they claim it will take another three months to fix. I only found this out after chasing them by email for weeks for status updates. It simply does not take this long to fix a lift. There are almost never any engineers in the lift shaft, so I don’t know what they are doing.

Staff are rude—one told me to go away when I complained about bad smells from the floor below, and claimed I was a timewaster. The lettings team will lie to you outright: they deliberately misrepresented their position when we asked for a small reduction in our rent due to the pandemic, claiming all the flats were full and that they had a long waiting list, so I would be evicted (yes, they said evicted) if I did not agree to an enormous rent increase by the end of the week. Needless to say, I have subsequently found out that this is not true, and they have hundreds of empty flats, probably because of the reasons I have outlined in this review.

On top of that, it is worth noting that management are heartless bullies: I asked to end my lease a few months early because I couldn’t bear the constant loss of hot water, the nonstop dripping, or the strange smells that would often linger for days… and, instead of agreeing to discuss this possibility with me, I instead received a cease and desist letter from the solicitors that represent Dolphin Square. I long suspected none of them ever really cared about customer service, given how hard it is to get through to them (even pre-covid), but was not expecting to be bulldozed by a lawyer when I brought up legitimate complaints and politely enquired if it might be possible to leave a few months early after having been a paying tenant for nearly five years.

So, in short, it’s not worth the money, or the hassle. It sounds attractive, and the website makes it look idyllic, but I can promise you, as someone who has lived there for nearly some time now, it is truly dreadful.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how bad the facilities were, or how nasty the staff can be. It’s just not a pleasant experience living here. There are plenty of lovely places to live in and around Pimlico for less money, and probably with landlords who actually care about you. Please avoid this place and go to one of them instead!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All the complaints I have raised have been ignored, even after multiple follow-ups.

1
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Poor quality of accommodation and tenant experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2020

Pimlico is a great area to live in. There are a number of cafés, delis and restaurants, and it’s well connected to many other parts of London. There are a few big parks within walking distance, including Battersea Park and St James’ Park.

Please review your development:

I wouldn’t recommend living in Dolphin Square, due to the numerous issues we’ve had while living here. We’ve had lots of disruption to our hot and cold water supply, including two stretches of five and six days respectively with no hot water. Our flat is not in a great condition, with a brown stain forming on the ceiling in the main bedroom, the windowsills flaking and falling apart and a very loud clicking/dripping noise from the pipework keeping us awake at night. The aging water infrastructure is a common theme in the issues at Dolphin Square, with cases of Legionnaires’ disease also having been reported within the last couple of years.

The lifts in our building have been intermittently out of service for months, sometimes leaving us having to walk up or down seven flights of stairs.

I have raised our complaints with the management, asking for a rent reduction or early surrender based on these issues, but was sent a strongly worded letter from a solicitor telling me that my complaints were “misconceived” and a refusal to discuss the matter any further.

We can’t wait to be able to move out when our lease is over and would strongly advise anyone looking for accommodation in Pimlico to look elsewhere.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would totally modernise the water infrastructure – the hot water supply, the sinks, the creaky pipework.

What is the best feature of your home:

The location is the best thing about the flat – we have enjoyed exploring the area and it was convenient for getting to the office before lockdown hit in early 2020.

1
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Articles about Westminster

Discover surrounding areas