Borough of Tower Hamlets

Diverse, vibrant and with its finger well and truly on the pulse – that’s London’s Tower Hamlets. It’s what we like to call the Selfridges of the capital’s boroughs, in that it truly offers something for everyone. Art lover? Foodie? Or Fitness fanatic? Read on to discover developments that are rated the best places to live in Tower Hamlets. In addition, read reviews from residents who own or rent in Tower Hamlets.

4.47
Average Location Score

Excellent

57%

Very Good

33%

Average

8%

Disappointing

1%

Very Poor

1%

Best places to live in Borough of Tower Hamlets

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

Dock in Tower Hamlets

Regeneration in Tower Hamlets

This portion of the capitals seen much in the way of regeneration and innovation. In the past decade, this area of East London has been heavily invested in – from the celebrated Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park to its slick property developments. And the highly anticipated arrival of Crossrail will revolutionise the area even further.

East End history

Tower Hamlets covers a large chunk of London’s historic East End, and so it’s easy to journey back in time here. Characterised by 19th-century docks, Victorian townhouses and tales of Jack the Ripper. Walking tours that tell the story of the area’s heritage come highly recommended.

View of Canary Warf's skyline

Modern pursuits

Perhaps the capital’s biggest oxymoron, Tower Hamlets offers just as many contemporary faces as it does traditional ones. In sought-after districts like Shoreditch, Bow and Stepney Green; modern galleries and work spaces share the roadsides with trendy cocktail bars, street food stalls and also pie and mash shops. These postcodes are hotspots for creative professionals, who frequent the artisan coffee shops by day, and enjoy the cutting-edge live music venues by night.

HomeViews reviewer says…
“Bow is a trendy neighbourhood with a good pub and café scene.”

DLR

Shopping in Tower Hamlets

The retail therapy scene is just as varied. Tower Hamlets offers everything from vintage clothes stores to treasure-trove antique dens. And residents are spoilt for choice when it comes to markets. Courtesy of big-hitters like Old Spitalfields, Brick Lane and the Colombia Road Flower Market. Hands down, these are the best places in the city to experience the authentic sights and sounds of the East End.

Tips from HomeViews reviewers…
“Chrisp Street market one of the area’s highlights, packed with everything from fruit and vegetables to clothing. Billingsgate Market is another London institution with an abundance of net-fresh and budget-friendly seafood.”

“Close to the (Whitechapel) station is Whitechapel Road Market, between Vallance Road and Cambridge Heath Road. The area has a large British Bangladeshi community, and you’ll find all manner of Asian spices and cooking ingredients for sale at this authentic street market.”

You can find out more about living in the area by reading reviews from residents. Click on the developments below to find out more about residents’ experiences and also, to discover the best places to live and rent in Tower Hamlets. Moreover, If there’s a property that you can’t see on HomeViews, you can add a new listing and leave your review here.

Reviews in Borough of Tower Hamlets

Write a Review

Lots of drug users in this building, please do not stay!

Review Date Nov 2022

Lots of people smoking weed in the apartments, stinks throughout especially since all units have balconies.

Please review your development:

There was once where there was no hot water for a couple of days – this was during autumn so was poor timing. It was fixed after a while though. Building design is bad as weed stench can float from one balcony to another and there are a lot of weed users in this building

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Lots of inconsiderate neighbours doing weed which stinks up the flat and other communal areas.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management does not care about weed users.

3
Facilities
1
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Regretting move in

Review Date Nov 2022

1. The building moves during wind and the worst part is one will hear cracking sound that prevent them from falling asleep.
2. The lift is horrible. 1/4 always in maintenance. There’s a long line to wait. No separation from lower and higher floor.
3. The entrance smells trash all the time.
4. There’s no swimming pool or cinema room. It’s not pet friendly or party friendly.
5. The management team doesn’t care about to solve any present issues. The residents meeting is pretentious.

Please review your development:

Multiple accidents have happened in the lift. Some people got stuck for an hour at midnight, some fall on the ground and got injured when the lift lost control and raced up and down 58 floors in several second, etc. But the management never responds to complain emails leaving along solving them.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The cracking sound of the building during wind can be scary and many people cannot fall asleep.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They don’t care and discriminate against certain groups of residents.

1
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Jocelyn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry to hear you feel you have had a negative experience with Vertus. We will address each of your points below but please do reach out to our Building Manager Graeme who will be more than happy to talk with you.

On your point raised regarding the wind-induced noise recently experienced in the building, as per the communication recently posted on our Resident App, all tall buildings are designed to move in response to variation in wind loads. In recognition of the inconvenience this causes to our residents, particularly during adverse weather, Vertus are undertaking works to mitigate the noise which we hope to have completed by the end of this year.

The lifts at Newfoundland are undergoing an intensive maintenance programme, the timing of which we have tried wherever possible to keep to out of hours to avoid disruption. We have taken active steps to improve communication between Vertus and our residents on the status of these lift works and want to assure you the lifts are safe.

With reference to your point on hygiene / unpleasant smells, we have implemented an increased cleaning regime in the space and intend on improving and increasing the fragrancing of this area also.

The amenity offering at Newfoundland does not include a swimming pool however the Snug is a screening room which is available for residents to book out for hosting movie nights etc. with their friends. The bookable spaces within Club Vertus are there for our residents to use and enjoy however limitations around the types of events are in place to ensure the enjoyment of the space for all residents.

We would like to assure you Team Vertus value our resident’s feedback and aim to give superlative customer service to all residents, thank you for your feedback and your points have all been taken on board.

Team Vertus

total disaster since moving in and poor construction and property management, not recommended.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

the only good thing is the proximity of a local Sainsbury. apartment is too close to the railway even with all the windows closed the noise is still noticeable. the tunnel that goes to cable street is dark at night, stinks and has many pot holes. parking disobeyed daily with the white Ferrari always parking illegally.

Please review your development:

my apartment design is ok and probably the only good thing i can say about this place. building entrance design is tight and poor especially the 2nd entrance door, should make a back entrance so can easily get the bikes through, having the single disabled parking is a waste, the space here could be more useful. now the property management, its appalling with my numerous issues it takes forever to get fix and the team tends to fob off the issues you really need to scream and shout before they actually do anything. the issues ive had with the development, washing machine pipes wasn’t connected and caused leakages, toilet pipes wasn’t connected and installed properly and now the water damage has now damaged the walls and 3 areas, still pending to be fixed. not doubt there will be more issues. so i don’t recommend anyone to buy this place or from NHG builders.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

avoid due to the many above issues, but hard to know before moving in tbh

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

yes they do eventually only by shouting and then its super slow and with out care or empathy

2
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice development, nice building; but the management is well below what it used to be

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Good: Plenty of green spaces nearby, great walking/running/cycling routes. Dog-friendly. Not too far from the city centre. There’s a great bakery nearby (great bread, coffee, and breakfast/lunch)
Bad: other than bus, transport links are a bit far away

Please review your development:

Recently built, in a good condition. Very well insulated. We rarely have to turn the heating on throughout the winter.

It has good/fast internet although occasionally I find it slightly unreliable for online gaming (you probably could pay to upgrade the connection and it would probably be reliable then).

There’s a decent gym which has frequent users but is usually not too packed. (The gym is shared between multiple buildings).

The bike garage is silly because it is downstairs and you can’t get a key to the garage door unless you have a car. So you either take the fire stairs or the lift (which you are not allowed to do with a bike but I won’t blame you).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Enjoy the initial management while you can. Yikes.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Poorly. First problems are ignored. After several escalations someone comes to fix the problem but they aren’t allowed to purchase any parts they need to fix so they will come several times (each time taking several emails to actually materialise). Eventually, if we don’t give up, they finally manage to buy the right part and do the proper fix but meanwhile we have wasted several weeks with non fixes.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report