Tower Hamlets

Diverse, vibrant and with its finger well and truly on the pulse – that’s London’s Tower Hamlets. It’s what we like to call the Selfridges of the capital’s boroughs, in that it truly offers something for everyone. Art lover? Foodie? Or Fitness fanatic? Read on to discover developments that are rated the best places to live in Tower Hamlets. In addition, read reviews from residents who own or rent in Tower Hamlets.

4.48
Average Location Score

Excellent

57%

Very Good

33%

Average

8%

Disappointing

1%

Very Poor

0%

Best places to live in Tower Hamlets

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

Dock in Tower Hamlets

Regeneration in Tower Hamlets

This portion of the capitals seen much in the way of regeneration and innovation. In the past decade, this area of East London has been heavily invested in – from the celebrated Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park to its slick property developments. And the highly anticipated arrival of Crossrail will revolutionise the area even further.

East End history

Tower Hamlets covers a large chunk of London’s historic East End, and so it’s easy to journey back in time here. Characterised by 19th-century docks, Victorian townhouses and tales of Jack the Ripper. Walking tours that tell the story of the area’s heritage come highly recommended.

View of Canary Warf's skyline

Modern pursuits

Perhaps the capital’s biggest oxymoron, Tower Hamlets offers just as many contemporary faces as it does traditional ones. In sought-after districts like Shoreditch, Bow and Stepney Green; modern galleries and work spaces share the roadsides with trendy cocktail bars, street food stalls and also pie and mash shops. These postcodes are hotspots for creative professionals, who frequent the artisan coffee shops by day, and enjoy the cutting-edge live music venues by night.

HomeViews reviewer says…
“Bow is a trendy neighbourhood with a good pub and café scene.”

DLR

Shopping in Tower Hamlets

The retail therapy scene is just as varied. Tower Hamlets offers everything from vintage clothes stores to treasure-trove antique dens. And residents are spoilt for choice when it comes to markets. Courtesy of big-hitters like Old Spitalfields, Brick Lane and the Colombia Road Flower Market. Hands down, these are the best places in the city to experience the authentic sights and sounds of the East End.

Tips from HomeViews reviewers…
“Chrisp Street market one of the area’s highlights, packed with everything from fruit and vegetables to clothing. Billingsgate Market is another London institution with an abundance of net-fresh and budget-friendly seafood.”

“Close to the (Whitechapel) station is Whitechapel Road Market, between Vallance Road and Cambridge Heath Road. The area has a large British Bangladeshi community, and you’ll find all manner of Asian spices and cooking ingredients for sale at this authentic street market.”

You can find out more about living in the area by reading reviews from residents. Click on the developments below to find out more about residents’ experiences and also, to discover the best places to live and rent in Tower Hamlets. Moreover, If there’s a property that you can’t see on HomeViews, you can add a new listing and leave your review here.

Reviews in Tower Hamlets

Write a Review

Excellent living at Sirocco Tower

Review Date Jan 2022

Everything is perfect, maybe could be better if it is closer to the station.
And I would really appreciate if there is a self-service common area with free tea/xoffee

Please review your development:

I loved it, everything looks very new. I like the furniture and design itself, everything looks good. I would appraciate if additional services such Cinema would be free of charge, that was a bit disappointing aa I am student. And I just wish it could have a pool, that would make the development 10/10.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

For now everything is fine.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Joanna always answered my emails within 15 minutes with a detailed answer to my question.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live

Review Date Jan 2022

The area combines the best of all aspects of living: lots of green spaces to recharge, city life with ample shopping and dining opportunities, and quiet and picturesque corners for a long walk.

Please review your development:

Great development and friendly staff. The maintenance team is amazing. They have a friendly word and solution any time you run into them. Dean is especially helpful and fast, and there is nothing that this team cannot fix. Thank you for making our life so comfortable at Sailmakers, Dean.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Free sports classes, so I would bot habe signed up for other things.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes. Great management, very friendly and welcoming.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Annika,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. I am so happy to hear you love our development and that the team have made you feel welcome. I will be sure to share your review with the Sailmakers Team and Dean who will be absolutely thrilled with your review.

So happy you chose Sailmakers to be your new home : )

Unorganised

Review Date Dec 2021

Nice building but very unorganised.

Please review your development:

The gym is tiny or else everything is as you would expect.

I was promised parking which hadn’t been arranged when I moved in and was charged. There was no one to really help and the concierges were useless. The place seems very unorganised and no one seems to want to help once you sign the lease.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The 24/7 maintenance are usually not available and visit at random hours.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

When raising maintenance issues I seem to have to keep chasing up through the concierge if I want any result. The app doesn’t work.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear JJ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry you feel you have not had the best leasing experience with us.

At Vertus we strive to exceed our resident’s expectations and deliver the highest levels of customer service, could you please get in touch at Hello@thisisvertus.com and we can address any issues you have and we will do our best to resolve them.

Thanks.

Team Vertus

Average and misleading advertising

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

Worst property management experience after living in London for a decade

Please review your development:

The building itself is fine, a bit old and run down in parts but overall okay. The location is good and the park nearby is nice. The rent is just overpriced and fizzy advertise a level of service that in reality they just don’t provide. You don’t have an attentive friendly Bob there to help you- you’re lucky to get a response to any calls or emails. Unpleasant staff who obviously don’t care about the tenants

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No support from Fizzy whatsoever
Don’t expect anyone to be on site

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Slowly, if at all. Had to send multiple emails and leave multiple voice messages before getting a response, and usually the response contained no actual answer or helpful info

1
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Ash, we are of course disappointed about your review and hear of your experience at Poplar, this is not we want for any resident at Fizzy. Unfortunately we have had some staffing challenges, and our flexi BOBS have stepped in to support. We hope this has now been resolved. If you need anything further, please contact the team at hello@fizzyliving.com All the best and Happy Christmas – Fizzy Management

Discover surrounding areas