South London

For a long time, many of South London’s neighbourhoods had something of a bad name. But, this part of the capital has been heavily regenerated in recent years, and now has something for all backgrounds and budgets. It’s got transport links to write home about, with central big-hitters such as London Bridge and Victoria within easy reach, plus Gatwick Airport nearby. And thanks to its good connections and recent makeovers, it’s blossomed to become the capital’s residential destination du jour. Read on to discover developments that are rated the best places to live in South London. In addition, read reviews from residents who own or rent in South London.

The heavy investment has resulted in a new wave of contemporary property developments and workspaces; with an influx of creative agencies and tech start-ups setting up shop. Cue a young, professional crowd.

4.51
Average Location Score

Excellent

60%

Very Good

31%

Average

6%

Disappointing

1%

Very Poor

2%

Best places to live in South London

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

Richmond Park

South London regenerations

Croydon has seen one of the biggest transformations in the past few years. This once rough-around-the-edges district has welcomed countless new apartment buildings, has a brand-new Westfield mall in the works, and is home to street food mecca Boxpark. This giant shipping container holds a market with a brilliant soundtrack and an impressive list of cuisines, and follows hot on the heels of its Shoreditch original. Head here for everything from delicate French desserts to Vietnamese specialities.

Battersea Park

Nightlife

South London majors in quirky after-dark spots. Croydon is packed with night-time haunts, such as entrepreneur favourite, Matthew’s Yard 9 to 5. By day, this is a business centre but by night it transforms into a gallery and theatre.

In Lambeth, some of London’s most famous bar and music scenes can be found, courtesy of the pubs, clubs and also cocktail bars in nightlife titans like Clapham and Brixton. Meanwhile, try the South Lambeth riverside for authentic boozers serving up quality ale and Sunday roasts.

Battersea Power Station

South London’s family friendly hubs

At the other end of the South London spectrum, gems like Sutton need to be explored. Which sits on the lower slopes of the sprawling North Downs. Families drawn by the immaculate (and somewhat affordable) Edwardian homes and highly rated schools. Several parks occupy the area, too. Nonsuch is one of the best, with acres of space to picnic and play, leafy woodland walks and an 18th-century mansion. Manor Park is another – this one’s got a café for coffee and ice-cream stops.

Similarly, developers have cottoned on to the charms of Epsom. A pretty Surrey market town enveloped by countryside, just a 40-minute direct train ride from London’s Waterloo, and 45 minutes from Victoria.

Possibly South London’s biggest selling point is its something-for-all credentials. Its postcodes are eclectic, vibrant and home to all walks of life. Make a home here, and you can discover the capital in all its forms.

You can find out more about living in the area by reading reviews from residents. Click on the developments below to find out more about residents’ experiences and also, to discover the best places to live and rent in South London. Moreover, If there’s a property that you can’t see on HomeViews, you can add a new listing and leave your review here.

Reviews in South London

Write a Review

Work, rest and play in the heart of Croydon

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

Croydon is a vibrant area with shops, restaurants, green spaces and bars right on your doorstep, and it’s a perfect location for commuting to Victoria or London Bridge. Leon House is in the restaurant quarter of Croydon where you will find every type of cuisine you can think of, as well as upmarket cocktail bars and restaurants. Things can get a bit rowdy at the weekends but unless you’re on the lower floors it’s not particularly noisy. The only problem with the area is there are opportunists tailgating people into the building and car park, so despite the assumed security of the building, this is enabling them easy access.

Please review your development:

Leon House is beautiful and it feels like living in a hotel. The reception area is plush and well kept and enables hot desking as well as just chilling out. The roof garden is spacious and relaxing. There is also a meeting room you can book so the building is very much a work, rest and play development. The concierges are always really helpful and give the building a personal touch, and it’s really convenient to have parcels delivered downstairs so you don’t have to worry about being in. The one disappointment in the development is the carpets in the communal corridots. They are a pale grey which was a poor choice, and they are extremely damaged due to continuous building works going on, with lots of ladder marks. Unfortunately some residents / guests have also vomited in communal areas, including at the roof garden entance, and these stains will never come off. What was not acceptable was an extremely steep charge for carpet cleaning which was carried out with sub-standard machinery and made absolutely no difference. The carpets need to be replaced with darker hard’-wearing material and builders should be told to put sheets down before working in communal areas. The building management and property management has been the most disappointing aspect and it can take weeks to receive a response, or no response at all.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Unfortunately I moved from my previous location because of anti-social neighbours. Even in a new build in expensive houses with a more affluent demographic, some neighbours show no regard for others and expect people to clean up after them. I also wish I had known that the Westfield development would be shelved, as it is worrying to see the high street going downhill.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have had very little response and it feels like they treat the residents as entitled and an inconvenience. I do not even really know who I am supposed to contact as there are so many parties involved.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

An Insight into Leon House

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

Living in our street is not the best thing. The neighbours are problematic. They do what they complain about. It is not safe. Parking space is not available unless you pay for it. Bins are generally full. Traffic noise and the noise coming from the people outside can be unbearable.

Please review your development:

I wish the developers had given as much importance to the quality of the products they used in the flat as the design. In the end, you don’t know until you start living in the building. Most things are of bad quality. Even the ceiling is cracked. Property managers are there for ‘help’ if they want to.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Definitely the quality of the materials used while building these flat. They’re abysmal.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Whatever raised as an issue by us is not an issue for them. We stopped raising issues at some point.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely really

Review Date May 2022

Bad: loud. So so so loud. We can hear the cars, the people chatting on the streets, the fights, the 300 ambulances. It gets a bit better when the windows are completely shut but not much better at night. No parking available from the end of 2022 and no other suggestions. Not many recycling bins.
Good: really beautiful, staff is the most lovely and helpful at all times, lift always available and quite clean.

Please review your development:

Beautiful lovely place, the roof is nice but there’s literally no personality which is a shame since they could get locals to do some wall art upstairs. It’s a nice place to live tho. The Coworking space is a nice initiative but there are no standing desks and no signs to avoid people being extremely loud and shouting in calls (which it always happens).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That they would cancel parking completely and we wouldn’t have options. Price of Council tax.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We didn’t have electricity until the day of the moving but they managed to work it all out right before we got the keys and gave us a voucher to apologise

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A good property in a good location.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

Easy access to shops, restaurants and open spaces. Transport link is good too! This property is in the high street so a bit noisy.

Please review your development:

I would say overall it’s a good property in a good location. Property management could have given a bit more emphasis on the details like proper bin management as they put bins outside and during summer smell can be felt. Maintaining the windows is another point. They should clean it every year. Parking should be allowed free of charge for the home owners. They already charge huge service fee a year so parking should be included in that.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Read the contract carefully as there are small things like 4 percent raise in rent every year which could be unaffordable.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

This is a issue as property managers who is managed by Optivo are awful. They never answers to your queries and are very rude. They should remove Optivo as their service provider as seek alternative.

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Discover surrounding areas