The Green, Hartlepool, TS26

The Green, Hartlepool, TS26

By
PlaceFirst
2nd
Ranked 2nd out of 7 in Durham
4.08 (12 reviews) 4.08 (12 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.25
Facilities
4.25
Design
3.33
Location
3.42
Value
3.50
Management

Excellent

67%

Very Good

8%

Average

25%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

The Green is a development of build-to-rent homes in the port town of Hartlepool on the North East coast of England. The developer, PlaceFirst, has refurbished three streets of Victorian terrace houses close to the town centre.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Great Value for Money and Pet Friendly

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The property is well designed and well laid out, making the most of the space and light and it’s hard to believe it’s actually an old house and not a brand new purpose-built one. On the whole, the landlords have been great, and though it is slightly more expensive than other properties on the street (and with the pet fee) it is still great value for what you get. I wish there were more developments like this one, especially in other areas and in areas where properties are run down. They are by far the best landlord I’ve ever had.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Overall, I’m really happy with my home, especially given how hard it can be to find pet-friendly and affordable, good quality homes these days. It was like moving into a brand new home and it actually feels like a home for once. It’s close enough to the town and in one of the better parts of Hartlepool. The houses look lovely from the outside and the development is well maintained.

I really only have two main disappointments. Firstly, there has been a lot of anti-social behaviour from local kids setting fire to fences, banging on doors, and smashing windows. Placefirst have been great at dealing with this, as have the police, it is a local problem to the whole area, but has made living here pretty miserable at times, especially during lockdown when kids were not in school. As a result of the repairs from damage caused by the kids, and from the pandemic as a whole, rents have recently gone up. Secondly, the maintenance firms have changed a few times, so reported incidents haven’t been dealt with as quickly as they could have been and you can be left waiting all day for an 8 am appointment then no one shows up until 5 pm. That’s very irritating.

One annoyance with my property is that there is a draft from somewhere so it can get very cold and expensive to heat in winter and could be a lot more efficient. I no longer use the downstairs because of the kids banging on the windows all the time and it being so cold, but I think it could be fixed easily enough, it just needs some insulation work. I don’t think other properties have this issue, mine just happens to be an end of terrace and I have private neighbours and empty homes next to me.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known about the anti-social behaviour and how little sunlight my property would get, I would have chosen one of the different properties and avoided these issues. Sadly, it’s not possible to move to a bigger property or to move to a different property or development unless you go through a whole new application. I think that’s a real shame, especially for folks who move in, then meet someone, change jobs and work from home, or who decide to start a family. If you’ve been a long-standing tenant, it seems silly to have to go through the whole application process again from scratch, especially since this impacts your credit file. A lot of folks will likely move off the development rather than stay as a result.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I’ve been disappointed by the management side, the repair reporting is nice and easy, but the repairs have been very slow. I’m also clinically vulnerable and shielding so asked that the boiler man wear PPE, he didn’t have adequate PPE just a neck gaiter, no sanitiser. I waited three weeks for the boiler being broken which was supposed to be an urgent repair. I’ve also lost work days waiting around for inspections that never happened, so that feels like the management couldn’t care less. Which is a real shame, because the property is great otherwise.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It has its flaws.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The design of the house interior is nice to the eye. But unfortunately there are a lot issues with the build quality, with cubords falling off, plaster falling off of walls, locks not working on back door or gate and pipes leaking.

Space in rooms is a little small, bathroom is good but the windows are still see through.
Management of the properties are excellent, all staff are friendly and kind and super helpful.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops make it easy to shop. Bin collection is always on time.
There can be quite a lot of some anti-social behaviour, children will brake the lights in the park and kick balls off of the walls quite a lot. Very close to the town and facilities.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bathroom windows are see through to neighbours. It’s always either super warm or super cold. The boiler falters regularly.
There are rats in the alleys.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management have acted upon any issues brought up fast and effectively, unfortunately many issues with the building is down to the initial build.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely build, just disappointing in other areas

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The house is decorated lovely and neutral, the kitchen is practical, and being able to add a fridge freezer add on or dishwasher was a good idea. And it just was added to your rent until it was paid.
Found it to be difficult when we had issues within the house, we had a leak and took nearly 3 months to get someone out. And was constantly told someone would turn up one day, and to be let down. Could not have the water turned on all the time because of the leak, and didn’t want to cause any further damage. Still waiting for someone to plaster over the hole they made to fix the leak also.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area isn’t great, could be said that the rent is overpriced for the area also.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish we’d have known that the rent would be put up in the midst of a pandemic. Can’t be helped but was a shock to see it raised when so many people were struggling.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They did respond, but it wasn’t instantly and constantly having to chase it up.

4
Facilities
5
Design
2
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The homes look great! Modern and Upto date. The property/ building management side of things is ok, I’ve very little reason to contact them which can’t be a bad thing. Local park is a nice edition but the lack of choice means no one uses it, it’s not very good.

I don’t plan on moving anytime soon. Happy with my home surroundings.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local pub near by. Transport is close by and accessible. Bin collections are easy! Very quiet place with very little anti social behaviour. Small traffic noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Accessibility for resources like SKY, VIRGIN MEDIA etc isn’t straight forward. Most houses have to go through a communal channel which it’s a nightmare to get the company out to connect you.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management has been great. Anything I need doing, is done as quickly as possible. No issues, just straight to it.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The design could be improved as the 2 bed yards are really small.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The design could be improved as the 2 bed yards are really small. The bathrooms don’t have windows either so the shower hot boxes the room.
There’s no way of putting a safety gate from front room to kitchen either.
I do like the bedroom space because it comes in really handy as they’re quite large. The flooring does show milk spillages for a while as for some reason it seems to stick to it even when you’ve cleaned it.

The play area is nice however it attracts the wrong crowds and has been vandalised before.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Our local area is quite rough and ready. It’s a nice development however the outskirts will never change. An old lady’s house has been vandalised and a rude object has been drawn on her window in permanent marker.
The virgin boxes have all been kicked off also.
The parking is an issue because when pools play everyone parks down our road and we’ve had windmirrows broke etc.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the area is havoc

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Pretty well.
We’ve had some issues with our boiler lately and it’s been fixed

5
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The design is very good.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The design is very good. Well done to the construction company that refurbished the area. however it could have included a downstairs toilet. We have not found a need to call for maintenance, so we cannot in honesty citic the property management although we have noted that the maintenence telephone number is a Manchester number and it would be necessary to contact the local Property Manager if we were to need any emergency maintenence.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of good things, handy pub and nearby shops, buses at the end of the street and near to town centre shops. The property is faultless and very well presented with a good layout with solid wood flooring downstairs and carpeted stairs and bedrooms altogether a lovely place to live. There are however a few negatives: The local kids keep knocking on the door and running away, there is also some vandalism such as breaking all the outside cable TV boxes and we have had our doobell stolen twice. There are some very noisy people living at the other end of the street – they don’t bother us too much but we feel sorry for those living closer to them.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The green is an upgraded development surrounded by squalid downmarket properties (just two streets away). There is little the landlord can do about this, apart from buying more houses and refurbishing them to improve a larger area.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

As previously mentioned we have never had a problem with the property and have not needed to call maintenence

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall lovely house with poor management and awful surroundings

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The house itself is really nice and has a lovely design however, for the price of the property I don’t see the maintenance side as good as it should be at all. I am still waiting for a new tap to be put in my bathroom and every time I call to chase it up, I am advised I will receive a call and it never happens. The lack of storage is a bit of a problem too seeing as though we are unable to use the loft space.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The houses backing onto my house are disgusting and they dump litter in the back alley which causes problems with rats every week.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how awful and disgusting the backing neighbours were and I wish I knew how poorly managed the maintenance of the properties were.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

When I first raised the issue about the leaking tap(at least 6 month ago), they were brilliant and responded quick. However, when it came down to coming out to replace the tap, the maintenance company called to say they had to reschedule and since then I have had no correspondence from them despite chasing the issue multiple times.

3
Facilities
5
Design
1
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The green, fantastic place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

My home is very spacious and caters to all my needs as a single person. Would reccomend to anyone.
I have everything I need here and it caters very well to my work-from-home lifestyle as I have easy access to the town centre and to many additional services.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I’m having an excellent time living here, everything is running like clockwork and have no problems. The area is very homely and it feels like a well supported community.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about the lack of a loft space prior to moving in but it isn’t a huge issue for me as space is abundant.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All my problems have been addressed straight away through direct contact with the letting agents.

5
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The design of the development is great

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The design of the development is great, the facilities such as the park that is located in the green right outside the door is idealwith family’s with kids, sometimes it is very hard to get hold of the property management to be able to report any problems,

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development has a park in the middle which is great for the kids. Alot of cars don’t listen to the one way road and drive the wrong way.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Hard to get hold of property management about any problems

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not very good as things haven’t been looked at or done.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Everything is outstanding, from the open plan to the big back gardens

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Everything is outstanding, from the open plan to the big back gardens. Property management is poor as when putting in reports to the local manager nothing is being handled well or pushed to be done urgently. Building management is again outstanding and very smart.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The shops are local and at the end of the street. As well as the pub is very local and practically on my doorstep.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d of known that the house suffers with a lot of damp issues

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We’ve had a problem with a plug socket and it was neutralised. But still awaiting repair from roughly a year ago.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 4

3.54

Average rating based on 57 reviews

View company