West Yorkshire

HomeViews collects verified resident reviews for new build homes across the UK. The rankings below are calculated based on the overall star ratings for each development. However, the HomeViews Transparency Rating also affects a development’s ranking, as this indicates how recent its reviews are and how many it has received. Explore the best new homes developments in this region below, then click on the developments to see detailed reviews and ratings for Design, Management, Location, Value and Facilities for each.

4.12
Average Location Score

Excellent

46%

Very Good

28%

Average

19%

Disappointing

4%

Very Poor

3%

Best places to live in West Yorkshire

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

Reviews in West Yorkshire

Write a Review

Our house design is perfect for us

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Plenty of nearby shops and restaurants, even more so when the new retail park is built. Close links to the motorway. Lovely street to live on, plenty of parking and no traffic noise.

Please review your development:

Our house design is perfect for us. When we first moved in there were problems with a couple of our paid upgrades, which Bellway quickly sorted. During the development there were some issues on the street (poorly laid road, lack of parking etc) but everything is fine now our phase has been complete.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we knew we wouldn’t of had an outside tap! That caused real issues getting fitted.
Also, don’t sign off until everything that needs sorting has been done! (Kitchen worktops)

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

When we first moved in Bellway missed a couple of our paid upgrades, but quickly sorted within a couple of week. We were promised someone would come to sort our kitchen worktops, although this never happened…

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely estate, terrible management company

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Not many quick local corner shops within walking distance. Soon to be big supermarket though. Nice pubs nearby, good golf course. Not many restaurants. Great transport links, near motorway and good bus routes. Street is good, not much parking available. Severely missing paths, nowhere to walk and can be dangerous.

Please review your development:

Design of houses lovely. Estate looks nice and tidy, very uniform. Like the variation of houses. Buying process was smooth. Final fix finish to house was quite poor, mismatched sockets, unplumbed washing machine causing leak, media panel on wrong wall to plans. Property management is a complete joke, RMG have not done any of the work claimed in their contract and have hiked the prices up by over £100 from what we were initially told.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wasn’t expecting to have no paths. Bit of a nightmare when walking dogs / prams etc.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slow to come out and fix any snags. Would’ve liked more aftercare but covid hit 6 weeks after completion.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Design of the estate feels good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Good distance from Wakefield city centre so good transport links and access to plenty of restaurants and bars. A short drive away from the nearest shops (about a 5-10 min drive to aldi or Sainsburys) but missing a convenience store on city fields! Parking on the estate feels fine, always somewhere to park and not had any issues before. Street lighting on the estate is okay but could be better as the estate is expanding. Bin collections are good and consistent. Traffic noise is okay, hear some noise from the main road at city fields but nothing that’s concerning. Traffic feels okay around city fields but is quite bad on Bar Lane, particularly at peak times. Alternative routes feel limited and is annoying to access snow hill. Heard of car thefts on the estate which was concerning but apart from that the estate feels relatively safe. Really friendly community on the estate.

Please review your development:

Design of the estate feels good, easy access to roads, plenty of parking and easy to get around. There always appears to be issues around road markings and confusion on give way junctions as markings aren’t there. The quality of the plants and grass on the estate isn’t great in comparison with other developments such as Miller and Redrow. Bellway were great when I faced problems in the property within the warranty period, they were helpful and very reactive to solve the issues. However, RMG who manage the estate are terrible. I don’t actually know what they do. I’ve not seen them once (and I work from home) and the grass and shrubs on the estate are dying and some overgrown. This is making the estate look messy.cx

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I’m really happy that I chose to live in city fields and can’t see myself moving anytime soon. Especially due to the upcoming plans to build a gym, morrisons, pubs and GP’s. Though, given current traffic issues on Bar lane, I am concerned about the extra traffic this may generate

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

As mentioned, any issues we had within the house were dealt with very quickly by Bellway. Really friendly, quick to find a solution and responsive.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The building are nice, modern and spacious

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

Quite quiet area. Homes have lots of snags. The developer was not always very helpful to resolve them immediately. Nice area but issues are very disappointing.

Please review your development:

The building are nice, modern and spacious. Some od the areas of the estate are quite busy. Roads seem to be very narrow in some places. It is difficult to manouver. Area is placed near quite busy roads therefore it is becoming loud. The Property Management for the estate is very disappoiting. RMG should be replaced.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The Sales person sold us differently arranged kitchen furniture.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Some and some were unresolved causing financial losses.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report