Lovell Homes

Number of Developments

36

Ratings

3.96 Rating

Rating (based on 462 reviews)

Excellent

31.39%

Very Good

44.37%

Average

17.10%

Disappointing

4.33%

Very Poor

3.03%

Lovell Homes is a UK property developer that creates new-build apartments and houses across the country. Lovell seeks to help first-time buyers get on the property ladder with a range of incentives that make purchasing a property more affordable. With a focus on sustainability, quality design and customer service, Lovell aims to build not just homes, but communities.

Lovell Homes developments

Trinity Walk is a Lovell Homes property in London’s Woolwich, close to Woolwich Arsenal station and the new Crossrail station. The development features 445 apartments and 13 townhouses.

Trinity Walk is fabulous for first time buyers. A modern space in green surroundings suits us to a tee! The move in was swift and smooth with a helpful team on hand to guide us through.” – Anonymous, verified resident at Trinity Walk

Lovell Homes reviews

“It’s a nice development that has replaced a horrible estate. The apartments are spacious and there a sufficient amount of greenery. The saddest thing is that there is no parking.” – DS, verified resident at Trinity Walk

You can read more reviews from Lovell Homes residents on HomeViews. Are you a Lovell Homes resident? Click here to leave your review and you could help someone considering your development. Can’t find a Lovell Homes development on HomeViews? Submit a new listing here.

Award winner

Residents have rated this company an award winner! Select a development below to see which awards it has won.

Developments

Showing all 36 developments

MAP

Lovell Homes reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 463 reviews

Love this development & builder!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

My house has been well designed, finished to a great standard and the snagging issues (all to be expected with a new build!) we’re dealt with within 2 weeks.
I had 10 small issues and all were noted & fixed within that time. The site management have been so nice, helpful and quick to respond. The workers that have been in to fix the snagging have all been respectful of the new home, shoes off etc, friendly and happy to see the job done.
I’ve read some other reviews here saying aftercare wasn’t great but this has not been my experience at all & couldn’t rate them higher! I’d definitely recommend Lovell & would buy another one myself in future.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Absolutely love my new home & the location! Homes are well spaced apart unlike many new build estates, landscaping & design makes it look great too. Once finished the play park and paths into the woodland walks will be perfect to make the most of the stunning views around here.
Ten minute walk to the train station – train times are a bit weird though thanks ScotRail! Close to the coastal path for lovely walks/trail runs and the beach so close is worth the move alone.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

When out for a walk, the only way home is up a hill!
This is genuinely a nice area, good surroundings, lots of dog walks and very welcoming

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I had 10 small issues and all were noted & fixed within that time. The site management have been so nice, helpful and quick to respond. The workers that have been in to fix the snagging have all been respectful of the new home, shoes off etc, friendly and happy to see the job done.
I’ve read some other reviews here saying aftercare wasn’t great but this has not been my experience at all & couldn’t rate them higher! I’d definitely recommend Lovell & would buy another one myself in future.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely house, troublesome garden

Our house is well built and designed, with large rooms and an attractive exterior. The fixtures and fittings are good quality and we haven’t had any major snags with the house itself, including hardly any cracks. In summer it’s nice and cool, and in winter it’s warm, so we really notice the energy efficiency. The inclusion of Hive smart heating also helps with this. Compared to other developers we feel we got excellent value for money and everyone who visits our house says how nice it is. The most major issues we’ve had are: the bathroom not being built as per the drawings (one wall did not continue to the ceiling where it was meant to), but that was rectified within days and you’d never know now that it was wrong initially – and the front door frame being misaligned.
We have however had endless issues with the garden due to a badly designed retaining wall, lack of sufficient drainage and very uneven ground. This has resulted in lots of work by Lovell including complete re-turfing of the garden, addition of drainage and moving of the fence. After 18 months we are still having regular meetings with the site team, contractors and the build manager about this.
Customer services were very difficult to deal with for the first year as our emails went unanswered for long periods. Once a new lady started as our contact however we’ve had excellent service and now we only have a few small snags left.
The management company have been excellent with good communication and good work carried out. It’s just a shame that a lot of our phase of the development still hasn’t been handed over to them so we have to chase Lovell to carry out the maintenance instead.
Also 18 months in and on a totally completed street, the road and pavement is still not finished and apparently won’t be until the entire development is complete. This makes it hard to park on certain kerbs and has left raised ironworks on the path which pedestrians frequently trip over. I have seen many worse roads however on other unfinished developments.
Overall we are very pleased with our house, not pleased with the garden, and not so pleased with the development as a whole – we are hoping that that will improve once it’s fully finished.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good:
– Priorslee is the nicest area of Telford
– There are lovely lakes and parks nearby so walking in the area is nice
– There is a pub nearby and a farm shop on the estate
– The town centre is a 5 minute drive away
– The street will be quiet once the larger adjacent street is opened up (not sure why it’s still barriered off as all houses are finished and occupied)
Bad:
– Very badly designed courtyard of 7 housing association properties causes endless issues with anti social behaviour, dangerous driving, bin lorries driving up what is essentially a private drive which isn’t built for that purpose.
– A select few housing association tenants really spoil the area unfortunately with fly tipping, screaming and shouting, foul language, drugs, loud music, etc.
– The balancing ponds are not maintained until we complain to Lovell (they have not been handed over to the management company yet due to further work being required by the water company), so they are unsightly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

My top two tips for buyers are:
– Pick up every single snag with both the house and garden. You wouldn’t put up with imperfections on a car so don’t put up with it on a house either – and push and push until everything is rectified.
– Consider the location of your plot very carefully. I really wish I didn’t have to say this, but our experience here has put us off buying anywhere near housing association properties again, due to the lack of respect that some tenants have for their neighbours, property, local area and even the law.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The build manager for the area was very responsive and arranged for multiple works to be carried out to fix the issues with our garden. We did have to argue with him and his team (including the site manager) at times to convince them of certain things, which they later admitted we were right about, which was frustrating. The Chasetown contractors have been great.

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Slowly but surely this house is becoming a wonderful home

My house is a brick and flint which was a big decider as to whether we purchased a wensum Grange house and we were not disappointed with how it looked outside. We had to wait a fair bit longer than anticipated to move in due to covid and weather, flowed by a bit of a rush job to get us in before our mortgage application expired. The garage and garden were yet to be compemted however the site manager Matt accommodated us and our dog
to make sure we could move i securly with storage provided. Our 4 bed has a lovely sized lounge and garden, and bedrooms are fair. The master bedroom layout does make it difficult to have drawers and/or a TV in the room due to where the ensuit and other cupboard doors our. The kitchen personally isn’t big enough for my liking considering the house and would have been better if the stove island was not there and the entire kitchen had built in cupboards. There is not enough storage to fit all the food pots and pans in and I would dread to think how I would cope with a bigger family. I have to put all my electrical kitchenware and bakewell in the garage. The utility seems a wast of extendable space personally. The kitchen cupboards are nice. The fridge freezer seems small for a four bed too so we have another in the garage. LOTS of stages upon moving in and 4 1/2 months later we are yet to have them all recified however the home care team are working hard on this e.g Mark and Paul have gone above and beyond for me.
Matt the site manager was the golden egg, doing everything he could to help us settle in and went FAR beyond his job role to put things right rather than wait for the homecare team to deal with it. Such a friendly helpful man and was great with my son. Hailey marks Burton was also a gem helping us with the purchase and personalising the house. Very patient and understanding.
We pay a yearly maintenance fee for the site of which they took a part payment for to take us till the end of the year. I will be discussing a refund of this however as no site maintenance has been done yet as building works are still being done and we don’t have road signs yet which has led to tracking down wrongly delivered mail. All in all I am very happy with the house and the management teams, helping us make this house a home and would recommend purchasing ro friends and family

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Fakenham has a little bit of everything with food and clothes shops plus a fair range of supermarkets and petrol stations. Very little franchise shops regarding clothes but has shops full of character and some lovely food hubs for all taste buds. Fajenham is a great place to be situated being in the centre to tavel to a bigger town, city or all the lovely coastal towns. Bus routes are good and lots of parking in town too. The new estate is about 15 minute walk to the town and is beautiful designed. Works are sill going on so its not fully landscaped yet but I can imagine a very pretty finish. The brick and flint homes scattered bring lots of character to the estate and its peaceful. Barring drive ways there’s no other available parking but you are able to park on the roads outside the houses and drive past with some ease. Bin collections are good for general waste and recycling, however we have not had our garden bin collected in the couple of months we have had it but thats a council issue. No antisocial behaviour. Looking forward to builders finishing to enjoy quieter mornings and a bit more privacy

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would have pushed harder for a viewing before moving in as initially promised to fix all the snags before we moved in. Council tax wasn’t revealed until 2 months in and that was a shocker so would have been nice for lovely to give forecasts on this to potential customers. Also how long the building was going to be continuing as we probably would have rented for another month or two to minimise stress.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes most have been recified with some ongoing or needing chasing up again. Lengthy process but its about learning who to go to, to get the jobs booked in and done in good time.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

House is lovely! Aftercare is useless

We brought our house nearly two years ago as first time buyers. As soon as you’ve brought the house the aftercare is awful and slow. The builders on site have been really good and anything we need we’ve gone directly to them! Lovell have been disappointing especially with the balancing pond situation, our garden, roads and mess. The pond was sold to us by the sales lady as a beautiful wildflower and wildlife pond which has a use of, however it’s clay and weeds. The so called work was meant to haVe started off in March 2021 it is now August and nothing has been started, after follow up emails it’s just becoming a joke now. It’s awful and not what we were sold. Secondly pur garden is soo uneven. I don’t understand why they didn’t ask us if we wanted our garden levelled off for an extra cost. Because it’s actually a trip hazard with the hidden dips in the garden it isn’t good!
Moving on, the roads which I half understand lovell are waiting for the phase to be finished but some of the roads have already been finished house wise so why not finish the actual roads off on those streets? The mess and mud it leaves on the streets isn’t great either. Lastly how they hVe dealt with the small entry road off Lambeth drive in our development is appalling. Again once they have sold the house they do not care about any after effects! 2 small speed signs do not make a difference to people who don’t already care about it. Communication is KEY and it’s only us who live here who are communicating with the management and they never tell us what’s happening we have to ask!
However….
We do love our house very much so. The size the plot and the garden size. We do like the layout of our house and the layout of the development too. Our house size is very big and 3 double bedrooms is a great size for any first time buyers!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops are ok, Telford town just a couple of miles away great links. I do a 50 mile round trip a day to get to work so can just jump on the motorway. Lots of nice restaurants locally!
Parking is ok for us but I hate people parking on the side of the road when they have more than the amount of cars that they fit on there driveway. Bin collections hVe been fine. Anti social behaviour has been awful and reported to a number of times and not much been done about it but I don’t expect lovell to do anything as they literally don’t care. The problems we had were mentioned multiple times by multiple people and nothing has really been done.
Traffic noise is fine and we are waiting for the other big road to open up on the next street for the traffic to go through there which will be much better for us.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Check everything ask questions ask loads. We have 2 extra man hole covers in our garden from our housing Plan and never got a response why they were there. Some upgrades may be worth it, eg bathroom! We’re getting our bathroom redone as the finish isn’t to our taste but if we had to option to choosen our bathroom we would have done so!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No, not really, we were in touch with the manager but he said he would get in contact with us and shock horror we haven’t had any contact from his own back I’ve had to ask him for updates and they haven’t been useful at all. (Regarding the pond)

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A beautifully designed fresh home ☺️

I think that the houses are designed well and are a nice layout. I am in a 2 bed with my daughter and it’s the perfect size for us. (Although it would be nice with a little conservatory or orangery on the back as a play room.) Also the doorways are wider than most houses, which is great as my daughter is disabled and as she gets older I will be to bring her wheelchair through. It’s also nice having a downstairs toilet available. The houses are really well insulated, I rarely have the heating on and the windows are open a lot of the time. The only thing I would change with my property is the garden sloaps down hill slightly, so it would be better if there was some more flags so half of the garden was even. However this is something I am looking into for the future. The houses are very bright, and have wide opening windows. If there have been any problems or repairs that have needed doing Lovell have dealt with this in a timely manner. The houses are designed nicely. I am in a 2 bedroom house, and have a decent size lounge, a good sized kitchen/diner, a downstairs toilet, 2 big bedrooms upstairs and a bathroom with a bath and shower(over the bath). There is one spacious storage cupboard in the smaller bedroom, however it would be good if there was some storage downstairs. However the downstairs toilet is big enough to store some things in like your Hoover, mop, ironing board, coats and shoes ect. A good sized back garden, with a small area off grass at the front next to the drive, and a double drive. They are also building a park on the development which is good for those with children.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I drive so I don’t mind the development being more out of the way, in fact I like being out of the way! Although i can see it being more difficult for people who don’t drive, however I believe there is public transport available. I like my house because mine and my neighbours are set back alone with our own drives, where as some of the others are in rows. Sometimes it can be abit noisy with children playing out, which I don’t mind but when it’s not raining they play out until quite late at night with no parents outside watching them which is a concern. I have witnessed and believe there is some anti-social behaviour going on however I am aware this is being dealt with.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The houses are actually more spacious than they look! When I first come to look outside the house I thought it looked quite small – I didn’t even think I would fit my sofa in the living room, however once you have your flooring down and start to move in you realise there is plenty of room☺️ If I’m doubt bring your tape measure!

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
5
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Shawbrook Manor, PR26
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More