Lovell Homes

Number of Developments

19

Ratings

3.97 Rating

Rating (based on 316 reviews)

Excellent

30.06%

Very Good

47.15%

Average

17.09%

Disappointing

3.48%

Very Poor

2.22%

Lovell Homes is a UK property developer that creates new-build apartments and houses across the country. Lovell seeks to help first-time buyers get on the property ladder with a range of incentives that make purchasing a property more affordable. With a focus on sustainability, quality design and customer service, Lovell aims to build not just homes, but communities.

Lovell Homes developments

Trinity Walk is a Lovell Homes property in London’s Woolwich, close to Woolwich Arsenal station and the new Crossrail station. The development features 445 apartments and 13 townhouses.

Trinity Walk is fabulous for first time buyers. A modern space in green surroundings suits us to a tee! The move in was swift and smooth with a helpful team on hand to guide us through.” – Anonymous, verified resident at Trinity Walk

Lovell Homes reviews

“It’s a nice development that has replaced a horrible estate. The apartments are spacious and there a sufficient amount of greenery. The saddest thing is that there is no parking.” – DS, verified resident at Trinity Walk

You can read more reviews from Lovell Homes residents on HomeViews. Are you a Lovell Homes resident? Click here to leave your review and you could help someone considering your development. Can’t find a Lovell Homes development on HomeViews? Submit a new listing here.

Award winner

Residents have rated this company an award winner! Select a development below to see which awards it has won.

Developments

Showing all 19 developments

MAP

Lovell Homes reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 316 reviews

House is lovely! Aftercare is useless

We brought our house nearly two years ago as first time buyers. As soon as you’ve brought the house the aftercare is awful and slow. The builders on site have been really good and anything we need we’ve gone directly to them! Lovell have been disappointing especially with the balancing pond situation, our garden, roads and mess. The pond was sold to us by the sales lady as a beautiful wildflower and wildlife pond which has a use of, however it’s clay and weeds. The so called work was meant to haVe started off in March 2021 it is now August and nothing has been started, after follow up emails it’s just becoming a joke now. It’s awful and not what we were sold. Secondly pur garden is soo uneven. I don’t understand why they didn’t ask us if we wanted our garden levelled off for an extra cost. Because it’s actually a trip hazard with the hidden dips in the garden it isn’t good!
Moving on, the roads which I half understand lovell are waiting for the phase to be finished but some of the roads have already been finished house wise so why not finish the actual roads off on those streets? The mess and mud it leaves on the streets isn’t great either. Lastly how they hVe dealt with the small entry road off Lambeth drive in our development is appalling. Again once they have sold the house they do not care about any after effects! 2 small speed signs do not make a difference to people who don’t already care about it. Communication is KEY and it’s only us who live here who are communicating with the management and they never tell us what’s happening we have to ask!
However….
We do love our house very much so. The size the plot and the garden size. We do like the layout of our house and the layout of the development too. Our house size is very big and 3 double bedrooms is a great size for any first time buyers!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops are ok, Telford town just a couple of miles away great links. I do a 50 mile round trip a day to get to work so can just jump on the motorway. Lots of nice restaurants locally!
Parking is ok for us but I hate people parking on the side of the road when they have more than the amount of cars that they fit on there driveway. Bin collections hVe been fine. Anti social behaviour has been awful and reported to a number of times and not much been done about it but I don’t expect lovell to do anything as they literally don’t care. The problems we had were mentioned multiple times by multiple people and nothing has really been done.
Traffic noise is fine and we are waiting for the other big road to open up on the next street for the traffic to go through there which will be much better for us.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Check everything ask questions ask loads. We have 2 extra man hole covers in our garden from our housing Plan and never got a response why they were there. Some upgrades may be worth it, eg bathroom! We’re getting our bathroom redone as the finish isn’t to our taste but if we had to option to choosen our bathroom we would have done so!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No, not really, we were in touch with the manager but he said he would get in contact with us and shock horror we haven’t had any contact from his own back I’ve had to ask him for updates and they haven’t been useful at all. (Regarding the pond)

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Okay first home

We have enjoyed living here as the space is good, on the whole people are friendly (there’s a few ignorant ones!) but generally it has been pleasant. The gardens have been a good size and we absolutely love our home. Noise has taught us that we would never buy a semi detached house again as you can hear next door- especially when they play bass music on repeat! However, that is expected in a semi and not exclusive to this development. There are a lot of young buyers on the development.
I know they are in the process of building a sports pavilion and we are keeping the field and lakes behind the development which is a positive. The rented apartments are maintained by an external agency who mow the lawns regularly and on the whole it is a tidy and pleasant place.
Our only downfalls are the lack of communication with developers and some of the neighbours living under the impression that they don’t have neighbours 🙃

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We have lots of lovely fields around us which are being kept as fields as well as good sporting facilities locally. There are good schools nearby also, and we aren’t too far from the motorway or train station.

In terms of living on the development, you cannot hear the motorway but occasionally the train very quietly. The parking is awful as for some reason the houses were built with limited parking and everyone that moved in brought more vehicles than there are spaces. Equally there currently seems to be parties with loud music at the weekends but little is done to solve this.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we hadn’t bought a semi detached home as you can hear the neighbours and their music everyday. I would also suggest buying a house with a distance between you and all other houses as people on this estate like parties and music outdoors so you will hear this.
Also try and find the properties with the right amount of parking spaces for your vehicles! You won’t be able to park anywhere else as all spaces are already filled! 😓

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

On the whole they were very fast to begin with. However after the immediate 2 weeks, you get passed over to customer care who throughout covid have basically not existed. We raised a concern over drainage in our garden and we received an email to say they had acknowledged our concern, then had nothing for 3 months- by which point we had paid for a resolution ourselves! There was no communication or urgency. This is our home and nobody appeared to care once they had our money.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent Location, Excellent House – Let Down by Poor Planning &; Terrible Customer Service

We really like the development layout – not 100% convinced on some of the designs but is a bit more interesting at least. There is categorically not enough parking for the allocated houses. We are a 3 bed semi and have only one parking spot. Whilst not a massive issue for us with one car, it is clearly an issue for affected houses with more occupants. Some houses have two, some don’t so there is no consistency on this. There is however quite an issue with cars being parked on the road and making manoeuvring down some of the narrower roads, difficult. Poor planning for this aspect.

We were particularly sold on our plot for the “balancing pool” that was pitched to us as a nature spot/pond. The reality is it is a dirt hole, that weeds grow in. It is not a filled pond. When the weeds grew considerably and I started to appreciate the “nature” this was strimmed down poorly (leaving the weed mess on my garden) and obliterated any diversity that had built up. Now it is a stubbly, grassy hole.

There are no facilities to mention. There is no park, no additional amenities – just the houses themselves. A massive development to not even have one park in for the children. I cant see how the schools and doctors will be able to accommodate everyone and I doubt they do (rumblings already). There should have been even SOME investment in this area. Very disappointing.

Property management – always a scam with new builds. We have paid two installments already for…. the above strimming to be the only time I have seen anyone. Done so poorly as well that a lot of mess migrated to my garden (they attempted to gesture a clean up but did a terrible job). As there is no park, no communal areas – I fail to see what we are paying for? We don’t even have our road down yet…

The development is also built on a clay based soil. This should be a massive consideration. They have not considered drainage very well. I have already had my garage flooded and damage incrued, as well as my garden being 1m height difference sloping down to my house which then puddles considerably. I did raise this and was shrugged at. Should drain away to the “pond” I was told. It doesnt. because its clay. Which also makes any attempt to garden very difficult. I also find issue with the landscaping provided with the house. Thrown bark ontop of clay without thought. Lots of weeds coming through and very hard work to sort out with the ground being so hard.

The actual house we love. Whilst there have been niggles to be expected with a new build (wholly let down by the customer service team and NOT the builders) – the build spec of the house is great. We love the floorplan layout and the quality of the finishing touches (HIVE controlled heating, nice doors and handles, storage etc). Nice big windows so very light and airy.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is lovely. Priorslee is a nice part of Telford with great schools, a nearby lake, great access to travel routes and local supermarkets. 5/10 mins out of the centre of Telford where there is a great selection of restaurants and bars, whilst being 10 mins out from Newport – a local town with good food, nightlife and a canal. There are a lot of developments going on at the moment, so there is roadworks to contend with but appreciate this is temporary.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the access to my road would be blocked off by barriers for 7 months longer than they promised me…

Excellent sales techniques to get you in and then they don’t care.

Physical house is built to a beautiful specification.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

9/10 months on I am still getting snags fixed. I am getting ignored by the customer care team. I have asked twice for a complaint to be logged in their system and was ignored. I had to go via the sales office to chase and get ANOTHER request in. I have not heard anything since. I tweeted them…..nothing. I’ve emailed….nothing. Called and got fobbed off and lied to. Abysmal service. Based on that alone I have no idea how they are still in business. Worse than Keepmoat and thats saying something!

The trade people that actually turn up to fix the problems (if I get that far) are great. The guys on site are great. Its the commercial side that they should be ashamed of.

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely house, troublesome garden

Our house is well built and designed, with large rooms and an attractive exterior. The fixtures and fittings are good quality and we haven’t had any major snags with the house itself, including hardly any cracks. In summer it’s nice and cool, and in winter it’s warm, so we really notice the energy efficiency. The inclusion of Hive smart heating also helps with this. Compared to other developers we feel we got excellent value for money and everyone who visits our house says how nice it is. The most major issues we’ve had are: the bathroom not being built as per the drawings (one wall did not continue to the ceiling where it was meant to), but that was rectified within days and you’d never know now that it was wrong initially – and the front door frame being misaligned.
We have however had endless issues with the garden due to a badly designed retaining wall, lack of sufficient drainage and very uneven ground. This has resulted in lots of work by Lovell including complete re-turfing of the garden, addition of drainage and moving of the fence. After 18 months we are still having regular meetings with the site team, contractors and the build manager about this.
Customer services were very difficult to deal with for the first year as our emails went unanswered for long periods. Once a new lady started as our contact however we’ve had excellent service and now we only have a few small snags left.
The management company have been excellent with good communication and good work carried out. It’s just a shame that a lot of our phase of the development still hasn’t been handed over to them so we have to chase Lovell to carry out the maintenance instead.
Also 18 months in and on a totally completed street, the road and pavement is still not finished and apparently won’t be until the entire development is complete. This makes it hard to park on certain kerbs and has left raised ironworks on the path which pedestrians frequently trip over. I have seen many worse roads however on other unfinished developments.
Overall we are very pleased with our house, not pleased with the garden, and not so pleased with the development as a whole – we are hoping that that will improve once it’s fully finished.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good:
– Priorslee is the nicest area of Telford
– There are lovely lakes and parks nearby so walking in the area is nice
– There is a pub nearby and a farm shop on the estate
– The town centre is a 5 minute drive away
– The street will be quiet once the larger adjacent street is opened up (not sure why it’s still barriered off as all houses are finished and occupied)
Bad:
– Very badly designed courtyard of 7 housing association properties causes endless issues with anti social behaviour, dangerous driving, bin lorries driving up what is essentially a private drive which isn’t built for that purpose.
– A select few housing association tenants really spoil the area unfortunately with fly tipping, screaming and shouting, foul language, drugs, loud music, etc.
– The balancing ponds are not maintained until we complain to Lovell (they have not been handed over to the management company yet due to further work being required by the water company), so they are unsightly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

My top two tips for buyers are:
– Pick up every single snag with both the house and garden. You wouldn’t put up with imperfections on a car so don’t put up with it on a house either – and push and push until everything is rectified.
– Consider the location of your plot very carefully. I really wish I didn’t have to say this, but our experience here has put us off buying anywhere near housing association properties again, due to the lack of respect that some tenants have for their neighbours, property, local area and even the law.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The build manager for the area was very responsive and arranged for multiple works to be carried out to fix the issues with our garden. We did have to argue with him and his team (including the site manager) at times to convince them of certain things, which they later admitted we were right about, which was frustrating. The Chasetown contractors have been great.

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More