Bedfordshire

Located in the East of England, Bedfordshire is a county known for its rural scenery and attractive market towns. A place where you can find some excellent schools and universities, as well as great entertainment facilities – like theatres and cinemas. The population currently stands at just over half a million residents who enjoy living in this thriving community!

4.56
Average Location Score

Excellent

67%

Very Good

21%

Average

10%

Disappointing

3%

Very Poor

0%

Best places to live in Bedfordshire

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

Bedfordshire Countryside

Where is Bedfordshire?

Bedfordshire is a county in the East of England. It has a population of around half a million people and occupies an area of approximately 1,600 km2. It is bordered by Cambridgeshire to the East, Northamptonshire to the South and West, Hertfordshire to the south-west and London (Greater London) to the southwest.

Areas in Bedfordshire

Bedfordshire is famous for its historic county town, Bedford. There are also numerous towns in this area that are popular with home buyers, including Ampthill, Biggleswade, Leighton Buzzard and Sandy.

Bedford – Bedford is the county town of Bedfordshire and one of the most popular destinations in the area for those looking to buy a home. With its excellent range of local amenities, good schools and strong transport links, Bedford is perfect for those who want to be close to everything they need.

Ampthill – situated in the north of Bedfordshire, Ampthill is home to a large number of businesses, has a thriving community and is popular with home buyers looking for a town with plenty of amenities.

Park in Bedford

Biggleswade – located in the east of Bedfordshire, Biggleswade is a market town that is attracting an increasing number of home buyers because of its good transport links and range of local amenities, making it a popular commuter town for those looking for easy access to the larger towns and cities in the area.

Leighton Buzzard – situated in the south of Bedfordshire, Leighton Buzzard is a very popular location for homebuyers because of its excellent transport links to London and other major UK cities. As well as being close to Luton Airport, this town has an incredibly rich history in aviation which continues today with the presence of local engineering firm Marshall Aerospace and Defence Group.

Sandy – located in the north of Bedfordshire, Sandy is a market town that is home to a number of small businesses and independent retailers. It also has good transport links to both Luton Airport and Cambridge, making it an ideal location for those looking for easy access to both urban and rural areas.

Universities in Bedfordshire

Bedfordshire is home to The University of Bedfordshire, which is primarily based in Luton and Bedford. It offers a range of courses, most notably within the field of engineering and technology.

The Bedford campus of The University of Bedfordshire also offers a number of teacher training courses, making it an attractive choice for those looking to start their teaching career.

Top Schools in Bedfordshire

Bedford Marina

There are a number of excellent schools located throughout Bedfordshire, many of which have been awarded ‘outstanding’ ratings by Ofsted. The most notable schools include:

Ranelagh School for girls – located in Leighton Buzzard, the Ranelagh School for girls is a highly respected independent school that offers excellent academic results

The Priory School – located in Bedford, The Priory School is a co-educational comprehensive school that has been awarded an ‘outstanding’ rating by Ofsted for its provision of secondary education

Biddenham International School – also located in Bedford, Biddenham International School is a co-educational day and boarding school which offers an international curriculum with a focus on English, Maths and Science

Queens’ College for boys – located in Bedford, Queens’ College offers a traditional all-boys education with the option of boarding. The school has been ranked as one of the top 100 co-educational independent schools for GCSE results by the Sunday Times

Population of Bedfordshire

As of the 2019 census, Bedfordshire has a population of 669,338, mostly centred around the county’s main towns and cities, such as Bedford and Leighton Buzzard. Bedfordshire is the tenth most populous county in England.

Reviews in Bedfordshire

Write a Review

Well done Bellway

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2022

Local area is quiet with local amenities including Sainsbury. There is a local GP surgery and schools are aplenty.

Please review your development:

The best thing about our Bellway home is the ground floor which had high ceilings. Any minor snags have been dealt with in a efficient and friendly manner. Having owned a David Wilson home, I would say the build quality is better and the support is superior.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we had known the options for upgrading the kitchen appliances

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quickly and efficiently. All issues were small and quite minor

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely home and area, shame about the management!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

This is a lovely quiet area, although we do have idiots on motorcycles that enjoy reviving their engines and driving up and down to the quarry! Local shops are not in walking distance, although there seems to be a development of shops being built which should open later this year! As long as you have a car there are plenty of shops to choose from. Parking is a joke at times, when people have 2 allocated spaces but don’t use them, or have more than 2 cars. But that said you can generally find somewhere to park, and it’s not a major problem. Bin collection day is Wednesday and seems good, there is a site just 5 minutes drive that you can use to recycle and dispose of your items. Have noticed over the last week that our neighbour had there food bin stolen, another had there hanging basket stolen, so hoping this is just a one off and not going down the road to anti social behaviour.

Please review your development:

The development looks pleasant, the roads are a joke, and all they seem to do is dig more holes in them. The dust in the air is ridiculous, but I’m sure once building has stopped then this will improve! Disappointed there are no bins for rubbish, no dog bins either. This is very poor.
The house is good, I agree with other comments that you should be able to look before you agree to rent, and you should have someone meet you on your move in day, and not do an inventory online! What a waste, when you find something and you then have to take pictures and then it’s chased! This could all be done on the day with a representative, and then much more personal!
Also failure to follow up on reported issues on fixflo! It gives you a date this should be carried out but then your advised 28 days! One issue I raised on the 15th June, has still yet to be actioned, and I’ve had to chase Hannah (agent) to be told “hopefully” this will be done soon! This is a appalling and very unprofessional. Well “hopefully” this will be actioned soon!
Also rubbish left by the builders inside the house, just disposed of as would have taken too long to resolve otherwise. The usual cracks have appeared which is to be expected of a new build, so hopefully this can be checked when they inspect on the 6 months check, that’s if they hopefully can do this!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How bad the management company is.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Poorly, not chased with the developers enough, and to be told hopefully this will be soon is appalling.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Kaz,

Thank you for your review.

We can confirm that it is our standard practice at your development for James to meet residents and show them around the property on move in day. We always accommodate residents in this way as best we can. We apologise if for whatever reason, this wasn’t in place on your development when you moved in. It is standard practice for residents to fill out the inventory online – often residents want to get moved in and have more time to thoroughly check the property before submitting any comments on the inventory.

We have attempted to identify your records based on the information available to us in your review. We can see that you have had 5 issues since moving in, three of which were closed within 5 days, one outstanding tenant damage repair (ordinarily this is to be fixed by the resident, however we have said we will repair on your behalf on this occasion) and one housebuilder action to remove debris left. We are sorry for the delay on the housebuilder action. Please rest assured that the team are aware of this and they are continuing to chase the housebuilder to get this rectified as soon as possible for you.

Area OK needs facilities.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

We have lived here for a year and there are still no shops, parks or facilities available to use on site. We live opposite housing association which are fine don’t cause any problems except the police being called once.

Please review your development:

The houses are nice, we live in a nicely designed property with brilliant kitchen and garden. We have experienced minor problems with water pressure and locks nothing major at this point. Property management are OK, we’ve had a few problems nothing major but they have been slow to respond. We were promised gardeners to maintain the front garden but haven’t seen one yet a year on.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there would have been no shops or parks available one year on.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slow to respond. Constant chasing required and are normally passed on to chase the contractor.

1
Facilities
5
Design
2
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Hannah,

Thank you for your recommendation of Simple Life.

We will give the feedback internally around response times, so thank you for flagging. We’re also pleased to confirm that our contractor is instructed to maintain the front gardens every 2 weeks and have been doing so since we took handover of properties on that development. If you don’t feel this has been the case, or that your property has been missed, please could you report this to your Asset Manager so they can identify your property and ensure that it is seen to during their next visit.

Disgusted

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

Poor workmanship throughout the whole property. Falling apart within 6 months.

Please review your development:

dishwasher washing machine water comes out upstairs taps. Can’t have both running at the same time, garden has no drain off points so when you clean the patio the water just puddles and no where to run the neighbours runs into ours also. Could go on.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How poorly everything was built

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They didn’t tell us we had manky water coming out tap

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jack,

Thank you for your feedback.

We believe we have been able to identify you based on the information provided on your review. We have checked your records and we can see that all issues you have raised to date have been fixed promptly. We cannot see any issue raised regarding manky water, however this is likely to be a problem with your water supplier. We’re also unable to see any issue raised to us regarding your garden. Following your review one of the team will be contacting you to find out a bit more information so we can assist in whichever way we can.