Royal Wharf, E16

Royal Wharf, E16

By
Ballymore Group, Oxley Holdings
Ranked 45th out of 208 in East London
4.14 (based on 31 reviews) 4.14 (31 reviews)

Category Scores

4.06
Facilities
4.42
Design
4.03
Location
3.94
Value
3.97
Management

Excellent

23%

Very Good

74%

Average

3%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

The large Royal Wharf development overlooks the River Thames and is situated close to London City Airport. Built by Ballymore and designed by David Morley Architects, it comprises some 3,385 homes, as well as a high street, market square and waterfront park and walkway. For residents at Royal Wharf, London’s business districts of Canary Wharf and the City are within easy reach thanks to fast and frequent services from the nearby Pontoon Dock DLR station.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Flight noise

Review Date Mar 2018

If there is something I would like to change in Royal Wharf, Flight Noise Level is no. 1, no. 2 is wind tunnel in most of the places (windy most of the time).

The flight noise is very noticeable, doesn’t matter where you are, in flat, in townhouse, on the street, near the river, you can hear the plane noise very often. It’s extra annoying during the day, every 5~10mins you have a big flight flying above you. If your house/flat is quiet, even when the windows are closed, you can still hear them, but not too bad. In an empty flat/house, if you have all windows open, the flight noise is loud and strong enough that you can even feel the vibration. Once you have furniture in, it may be slightly better as things will absorb the vibration.

Don’t believe what others say that planes don’t take off towards the city, that’s just not true, it hasn’t been true for a long time. With the upcoming expansion of City Airport, I could only imagine things getting worst. Apparently, the expansion will also allow bigger planes to land and take off, so even louder noise.

If you have friends and family coming to visit you, try to schedule it on Sat afternoon, there are no flights on that day after 12 i think, all the other days, expect flight noise until 9~10pm.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Flight Noise is there, but when windows are mostly closed and you are inside, with full furniture to absorb some of the noise, it’s liveable, and not too bad. When you are outside or with windows open, there is no escape of the flight noise.

4
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Enjoying Royal Wharf living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2018

We moved in 6 months ago as one of the first tenants and are really enjoying Royal Wharf. The commute to the city is really easy and takes 20 minutes on the DLR, our flat is lovely and the design and layout of the development is fantastic. There were a few early small issues but they were quickly sorted and to be expected in a newly completed building. Our only disappointment has been in the lack of community facilities. With many parts of the development still being built these have not been completed yet and we feel the lack of community – a bar or other facilities would be of benefit to current residents though as buildings are completed I am sure this will improve over time.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The brochures said there would be a number of facilities available to residents but many of these have still not been completed. I wish I had known the timeline for these additional services in advance as the Sainsburys wasn’t completed until December, 4 months after we moved in. Many things haven’t been finished yet so ask for a timeline.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Be part of East London’s newest community

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2018

Very new, still a few hurdles that need ironing out, such as security but overall a very nice place to live! New gym and pool being built, shops and independent cafes opening up, really starting to look and feel like a community. No noise issues and neighbours are welcoming.

Flats are all built to the same specifications, look like they could last a long time.
Biggest issue is parking and receiving deliveries, but with enough reason these will hopefully stop being problems!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great DLR links to the city, not much choice of shops but Stratford and Woolwich are both very close.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bad cellphone signal, which can only be improved with time. WiFi calling is a must.

Some flat have terrible views, make sure you know what you’re getting into.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Problems with the heating

Review Date Mar 2018

Ongoing issues with the hot water since we moved in 9 months ago. For us it it’s a pressure issue where as we are on the top floor. The only way to get hot water is to have it on max temperature and volume. This isn’t acceptable to us as it will scald us and our children.
I believe that they are having issues with the energy centre and the pumps within our building. I notified aftercare of the issue and they performed some works and things seemed as though they were resolved but we’ve experienced the on off issue with water this weekend again. I had contractors come to check out my internal heating etc and it was concluded it was definitely the pumps below contributing to the problem. Unfortunately the communications from the aftercare team and Ballymore in general is non-existent when there are communal issues like this!

I hate complaining as in general we are very happy here and the rerst of the development and facilities are great, but our experience has been overshadowed by this unfortunately and I know lots of people on top floors are having the same issues so be warned.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not to live on the top floor!

4
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Service charges are opaque

Review Date Mar 2018

In December I finally received a service charge demand from BAML.

Ours being a townhouse, the initial estimate was GBP1.59 per sq ft which would be about GBP2385 for our house. However, it seems the charges will in fact be somewhere close to double this amount. It was unclear from the bill how they have apportioned the cost and some seemed bizarre. I won’t go into all the detail here and I had many emails back and forth with BAML to explain why charges had been proportioned as they had.

The whole thing is much too opaque and it seems to be made intentionally difficult or impossible to check if they have made a mistake with the way the costs are being shared out. It is also frustrating to have such high charges when so much of the development – such as the leisure centre – haven’t been completed. Residents agreed to pay and now a Residents Association has been set up to challenge.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Don’t take estimations as actual. Visit the Royalwharf forum and hear from other residents.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

High standard quality living in suburban London

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2018

My overall impression on Royal Wharf is positive; a sizeable modern suburb in close proximity to two DLR stations (less than 3min walk) with professional Concierge services, a post room, local Sainsbury and Starbucks on site. The environment is clean, safe and quiet – even though parts of the development are still under construction the noise levels are minimal. However, you hear planes jetting off quite often throughout the day as the site is one tube stop away from London City Airport. Also, some residents complain about no mobile phone service despite being with various mobile networks providers. When it comes to the flat itself, had some minor issues when moving in (missing key, faulty light bulb) that were quickly fixed by my Estate Agent. Later on I always knew who to contact when experiencing other issues.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I had known the completion dates of the local facilities (e.g. Sainsbury, post room etc) as they were not present when I moved in.

3
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Pleased with my investment

Review Date Mar 2018

I have invested in a number of developments within London but am always delighted with the quality and output by Ballymore. The design of this development is laid out well and once complete I am confident of the community that will grow here and the reflection this will have on pricing. My flat was quickly rented out through my agent – the feedback I have had is that this is proving to be a popular alternative to the busy Canary Wharf. My tenants have been living there for 5 months and whilst I don’t have much direct contact with them there have only been a few minor teething issues and they have already expressed interest in extending their lease beyond the initial one year term. Overall I am very pleased with Royal Wharf as an investment considering the challenges of the current market.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in

As per some of the other reviews there has been a delay with onsite facilities being opened but building work is happening at a pace and I believe by the end of 2018 that this will no longer be an issue.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lack of communication

Review Date Mar 2018

With the lack of central facilities for a while (at the time I was furious about the delay to the supermarket) it has meant that it has been hard to meet neighbours. The Leisure centre was meant to be completed but I now hear from neighbours that it will be end of 2018 or maybe 2019. When you are a stay at home mum it is disappointing and there is a complete lack of communication on what ws happening. However it is improving and businesses on site are starting to open up.

The Royal Wharf news forum is amazing for updates and for finding out what is happening (quicker than the developer messaging you) There is also a residents facebook group (you need to ask to be invited) where people ask questions but there are also events and meet ups advertised (usually at the Starbucks) .

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A direct number to someone in the developers office! Probably realising that I could find out a lot from the forum on royalwharfnews and it would have saved me a lot of searching and emailing the developer

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely development – great location and build

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2018

I fell in love with this development since I’ve seen it the first time. There’s a local Starbucks, Sainsbury’s and a concierge at the moment – with a leisure centre (which is free for residents) and a bar opening before the end of the year. Overall, this development is coming along very nicely, lots of lovely people – there’s many new buildings finishing up soon so lots of opportunities for viewings. Only issue is that the postcode doesn’t show up everywhere if you’re doing loads of online shopping but I’m sure this will come along soon enough and there’s always a way around that anyways!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The only downside is that there’s still quite a lot of construction going on within the development – but the people and spirit within the community make up for it!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The water and gas is provided communally and you’re not able to switch gas providers due to this.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great spot

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

Secure, new development with lots of local amenities such as a gym and pharmacy, with further, including NHS health centre and nursery, opening soon. Also great day time transport links, with Pontoon Dock and West Silverton station both within c. 5 to 10 minutes (walking distance).

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice clean area; can be difficult to access past 12am as DLR stops running do nearest station is Canning Town

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Post room opening hours would differ from those of the concierge

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

Very nice designed new development and good community feel. It could do with more facilities which are slowly coming. The transport links need to be improved for the number of residents in area. The new Triple Two coffee place is nice. The airport can be too noisy.

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice area to live, nice being by river, needs some more shops and restaurants

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The airport is expanding and too much heavy industry nearby, that the pub isn’t opening until 2020, DLR is very busy in mornings

What is the best feature of your home:

The view of the park and river. The location. Its generally quiet at night.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great establishment, poor parking and kids facilities

Review Date Sep 2019

The development is great and one of the first of its kind within Newham. The facilities such as the clubhouse and concierge are an added bonus. The upcoming restaurants that are opening up soon will also increase the areas popularity. The 24 security was one of my initial attractions with the wharf.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are not enough facilities for children. Quality wise the buildings are quite below satisfaction in terms of cracks along the borders and the lack of sound proof walls.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The parking within the wharf is a joke. Family and friends are only entitled to free parking for 30 mins.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely development.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

The design of buildings is well done but things seem to have been rushed to complete on time. There has been lots of snagging since hand over and even lights missing.

The building management have been on top of this and commited to fix but some things take well over 6 months.

The area is nice but does attract boy racers and noisier types but we are still in east London. There is talk of a bus route going through which I seriously hope does not happen as it is unnecessary. Service charges are also extortionate and frankly a joke when it comes to their invoices over the last year. £12k for two Christmas trees.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It really feels like a community in the area and almost separate from the surrounding area. Transport links are very good. Food options should be increased in the future but this is within the plans.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Ballymore does not allow Airbnb and have threatened legal action to anyone who would like to rent a room. This was not conveyed and has reduced our income dramatically.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

There is no option to open two large windows in our living room. It’s seems ridiculous a Juliet balcony or window was not installed. I would also say it is worth delaying handover and ensuring everything is completed to a higher standard.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Positive experience living here

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2018

I really like that is is a very safe and quiet place to live. The flats are very modern and look amazing, both in the inside and outside! You are very close to the Pontoon Dock tube station and it is very easy to get to the center of London. There is a Sainsbury and a Starbucks really close so it is very convenient. The Concierge is very helpful and will help you out with anything you need. It is very good to have a Post box Service on site too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I didn’t know that we were going to have poor mobile signal because it was a relatively new construction. When the facilities were going to open as we thought that the leisure centre was going to be completed on summer 2017 and it still haven’t been completed. I wish I knew before that the DLR Service does not operate at night.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice modern development for young professionals

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

Great new area for young professionals and families, good crowd and lots of great amenities
We also have great views good services concierge and a mail room for parcels when you’re not in
Friendly staff and very safe

 

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Modern, young crowd
Gym

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How long the construction would take

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Local facilities and crowded transport.

Review Date Sep 2019

I like the area because it’s safe and secure. I also like local facilities we can use such as nail shop, hair shop & the Starbucks. Travelling is inconvenient as it’s always crowded, however its easy to get to central London. I think the local Sainsbury’s could be bigger as there are a lot of residents living nearby.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes: area is safe and secure, local shops for residents.
Dislikes: The transport is too crowded.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing as I did my research before moving in.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great spot

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

The property is fine. Majority of neighbours are pleasant however there are a few unlikable ones. There is not enough parking spaces and to buy a parking space in the underground car park can cost up to £20,000

 

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Dislike that there is a lot of noise from cars of a night and you can hear them revving their engines

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish i had known traffic can be quite bad and the trains do not come as frequent as i would of liked

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Kitchen lay out is not quite what i would have liked

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Mobile phone reception

Review Date Mar 2018

I can’t get any mobile phone reception in my flat. I have been told by neighbours and my agent that this is really common in new build properties due to all the steel but being new to new build something I wasn’t aware of. It is a pain as have to facetime or whatsapp call but get lots of missed calls.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No mobile phone signal in my flat

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Royal Docks

Review Date Sep 2019

I like the area and the fact that we are getting more services around. Its very well linked with central London. However, the DLR is getting very busy due to the over populated are. I feel the new development is crowded and the buildings are too tall. This has drastically impacted the landscape.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The buildings are TOO tall.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

They where developing tall buildings.

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great view

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

Development is really nice and has lots of potential. We have an amazing view from our property, but there are developments going up in front soon. Bars, restaurants and shops are not open yet. Lots of promise but slow progress. Concierge is really handy.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Pressures on the DLR in the morning are difficult, but i have an amazing view from my balcony of canary wharf and Greenwich

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

When the restaurants and bars would be open.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A great place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

Everything is fresh, new, well maintained and feels secure and safe. The leisure centre is so good! The design of the buildings is nice and contemporary. The location is great next to the river, park and DLR.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A real sense of community, and great facilities

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How much was going to be developed, pubs, shops etc.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Royal Wharf is a great Community

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2019

I like that its very modern and that it is a young and professional area , the only thing I dislike is that sometimes it can be noisy with all the construction work, I would also be great to have more shops here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The transport links are great , the bus services could be improved , the amenties are on its way , alot of new shops and cafes are opening up

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The mobile phone reception is bad, parking is very expensive

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing Views

Review Date Feb 2019

Really love the views of the surrounding area, the quality of life has improved dramatically in recent years and the Royal Wharf is a welcome addition to the area and I am now a proud tenant of a 2 bed apartment.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are wonderful community amenities all very local to the royal whalf, and all very affordable too. I have recently started eating at a wonderful new salad bar which opened on the dock last month.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I just wish I had purchased a higher flat, as i imagine the views would be incredible higher up. Also the floorboards in the above me are very creaky, that is the only downside to be honest. Apart from that I am very happy.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lack of updates

Review Date Mar 2018

I love my flat and living here but it has been annoying how little we hear about the timeline for completion of services. I was hoping the leisure centre would be ready this summer but people are now saying 2019. My landlord said he is chasing for more information.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Lack of updates from developers

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good Experience and Nice place to stay…

Review Date Jan 2020

There is a Tesco and a Morrisons really close so it is very convenient. The Concierge is very helpful and will help you out with anything you need. It is very good to have a Post box Service on site too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I really like that is is a very safe and quiet place to live. The flats are very modern and look amazing, both in the inside and outside! You are very close to tube station and it is very easy to get to the center of London.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Poor build quality

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2018

It seems like the development has been rushed, yet looks good at first glance. However, with time there has been things popping-up, such as leaking shower, cracks on ceilings etc.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Additionally, there is no mobile service inside, meaning that having a call is difficult from your own home.

3
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Banyon court

Review Date Sep 2019

I’ve lived here for just under a year and really like the experience so far. The park and the shops are very convenient and accessible. Very close to the Thames which is very nice and you can get fresh air.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the park, the small community set up and the diversity of people and pets

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

What times shops close

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Luxury corner

Review Date Sep 2019

Its a 5 star development, with all the facilities you want and need. Gym, bars, supermarket and surrounded by nice parks. I definitely would recommend living here. Looking forward for new facilities to arrive.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is quiet, clean and has any service that you need.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish i knew that the concierge is so picky and harsh!

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

About Oxley Holdings

Oxley Holdings is an award-winning developer based in Singapore, and active across 12 markets including the UK, Cyprus, Australia, Malaysia,…
Number of developments 1

4.14

Average rating based on 31 reviews

View company

About Ballymore Group

The Ballymore Group is an award-winning international property developer based in Ireland, and founded in 1982. The company is behind…
Number of developments 13

4.29

Average rating based on 186 reviews

View company