Royal Wharf, E16

By
Ballymore Group, Oxley Holdings
Ranked 11th out of 15 in Royal Docks
3.77 (106 reviews) 3.77 (106 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.91
Facilities
4.06
Design
3.79
Location
3.56
Value
3.27
Management

The Royal Wharf development overlooks the River Thames and is located close to London City Airport. It comprises of 3,385 homes, as well as a high street, market square and waterfront park and walkway. For residents, London’s business districts of Canary Wharf and the City are within easy reach. This is thanks to nearby Pontoon Dock DLR station.

Read more Read less

Royal Wharf, E16 Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Showing 105 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Upkeep of buildings

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

Excellent design and facilities. Love the cafes and pub and nail bar and shop. Sometimes the building flower beds look scruffy and unkempt. Entrance hall is also scruffy but is being painted this week which is good. The glass on outside of balcony could be cleaned once in a while!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I wish there was more spaces for walks , especially along the river in either direction. I used to live in isle of dogs and had an amazing river path for a run

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I realised that even though we live on the river banks , we cannot walk along it is it’s blocked off in both directions

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I’ve actually never had to raise an issue but the reception seem friendly and responsive

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Poor management.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

Even though you are paying extremely high management fee for the estate, the concierge, aftercare and management team are unhelpful in resolving issues. It is very disappointing. The worse is that they kept lying and gave you fake promises that they will pass the case on to the senior manager and nothing happened for the past 2 years.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I lived at the royal wharf estate for the past 3 years. Voiced multiple issues with the management or concierge, and they are unfortunately very not helpful.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bought the flat for a river view, ended up looking at neighbours bin all the time.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No. I have raised an issue over the past two years about an unhygienic matter with a neighbour that violated the home user guide. The management has just completely ignored it.

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
User submitted image of  Royal Wharf, E16
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Would recommend the Royal Wharf!

Review Date May 2022

The set up of the Royal Wharf is fantastic – a bustling “mini village” with everything from hairdressers and dentists to local coffee shops and our own spa! Jacuzzi included.

The community & people I have met have been incredible too – lots of like minded people, great activities & events, and a great food market on a regular basis.

I haven’t had too many issues with property management – the pool/spa can be closed at times for maintenance but nothing too strenuous. The gardens & parks are kept in great shape and there’s a high number of security personnel at all times.

Location is quite far out for Central London lovers but apart from that I would certainly recommend!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

+ gym is amazing
+ pool & spa is great
+ amazing community feel – I’ve met incredible people
+ staff are friendly & always helpful
+ amazing boat links
+ great views

– gym can get busy
– it’s on the DLR, far for people to get to and visit
– increases in price are getting ridiculous, which is why a lot of people are leaving
– my flat is showing wear & tear, and it’s not even been 2 years

Apart from that, not too many negatives

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Look at 2 beds too – the cost difference between a one and a 2 bed is small, yet they are much more roomy and a better price per person

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

So far no issues to report – hopefully they would be dealt with swiftly.

5
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

After several years still a great place to live

Review Date May 2022

Living here feels both modern and homely, due to the way this area and the individual buildings have been designed. The layout of the streets is not predictable and dull but playful, and functional at the same time. The variety of outer materials and colour schemes of the various buildings makes for no two streets looking the same, yet they clearly carry a shared identity of the development as a whole. People here are from various cultural backgrounds so somehow this all seems to go together really well. Of course there may be the odd noise or littering issue occasionally, but usually these are quickly and professionally dealt with by the property management, who overall are doing a great job keeping up the living standards as a whole – often well beyond their job description, which emphasizes the high standard of their services. If all this sounds almost too positive – well, having lived here for several years now I still find this to be a very enjoyable spot.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This place has both a quiet residential area feel to it as well as a laid back urban vibe. The residents are kind and helpful and sociable, and there seems to be a shared care for the area. Post-pandemic we’re seeing more and more shops and restaurants opening up, which is definitely a plus. Accessibility to public transport is good, with for example Canary Wharf only 20 mins traveling time and even less to get to City airport. Public parking is limited which is actually a good thing considering traffic safety and air pollution.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If there’s one thing that might be improved, it’s the train capacity during morning rush hours. Even though this is not for the property management but for TFL to fix, it can sometimes be a bit trying when the early morning trains are just so busy with fellow commuters. However, outside rush hours it’s great to be so well connected to Central London etc.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The standard of the property is such that there aren’t any major issues that have popped up, but whenever something needs to be done or questions answered, the building management are always happy to assist.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good place with safe environment

Review Date Apr 2022

Very good place to stay.
Just that the swimming facilities are closed all too often. Also the new developments coming up are too close. They need to leave some spaces open and not construct tall buildings all the time everywhere.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location: very well connected to central london
Local shops : limited, though home delivery caters perfectly after covid

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The size of the clubhouse and future developments coming 🔝

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

None raised as yet as we moved in not too long ago

2
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

Lovely place to live, the whole development is beautiful and feels very modern and safe. Love living here. Not had to deal with property management much as I am only a tenant and not an owner. Concierge and parcel facilities good. Love having access to a pool

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport links ok but not great. Poor availability of parking and very expensive. Love having access to the pool

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I can’t think of anything I wish I’d have known. Everything is great

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have not had to raise any issues with the building management yet

3
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

I wouldn’t advise living here

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2022

I think that the development grounds are maintained well. Very little rubbish and the gardens are very well kept. Unfortunately the building on the inside aren’t well maintained.

Very shabby now, lack of repainting and ‘touch ups’.

The people who live here are for the most part well behaved. However there are some awful people living here. Complete scum with no care but themselves.

I think that the service charge is completely overpriced !!

The gym, pool and spa area are finished to a high standard but the gym area is smaller than a three bedroom flat.

It’s tiny and completely overcrowded – they made a huge mistake on the design of the gym and didn’t anticipate how popular it would be.

The biggest problem is they’re extending royal wharf and not changing the gym. So it will get even worst.

The pool and spa are elegant however have consistent issues.

This development has so much potential but it’s managed poorly and they don’t listen to their occupants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Gym is tiny and overcrowded at all times. Service charge is one of the most expensive I’ve witnessed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Mostly. But with a poor attitude.

You never seem to get an honest answer – always too much trouble

1
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear T Cole,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback for Royal Wharf.

We are pleased to hear that you feel the Landscaping is both well maintained and litter free, we will ensure this feedback is provided to both our Head Gardener and Housekeeping teams.

We also appreciate your feedback on the internal communal areas of your building, sadly not all residents, visitors and couriers take the level of care and attention as you would hope and therefore at times you will find damage and marks to the walls and woodwork within these communal landings and lobbies.

Within most lease agreements there is a minimum term of 5 years for communal redecorations, however we understand and see the need to ensure our buildings look as good as possible aside for any planned major redecorations. As such we have adapted our parcel delivery strategy for the development, ensuring less mess and damage is caused by couriers as well as providing better security with parcels predominately going to our central parcel office.

Now that this change in parcel strategy has been rolled out, we have instructed a lobby redecoration programme, which will commence from 1st April and will see all communal lobbies painted within the development. Further to this we are also recruiting for an additional maintenance operative, who will spend most of their time on site as a painter and decorator and as part of the role will look to carry out redecoration works and repairs within the various communal lobbies, when scratches, marks and damage occur.

We hope to have someone appointed in this role within the next 8-12 weeks and have already started purchasing all the required tools and materials, ready for when they start.

Hopefully this provides some assurance that these matters are important to us and the steps are already in motion to make the necessary improvements.

Should you have any further areas of concern to discuss, simply raise a ticket via b.life, for the attention of the management team and we will be sure to respond to you.

Kind regards,

Royal Wharf Management Team

Great location.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

Excellent location! If you live in a block of flats by the river, you have a view of the water every day, you can hear the sound of the waves and seagulls. You can feel like you are at the seaside. A great feeling and at the same time relax. In winter, from the blocks overlooking the river, you can see the sunrise and sunset every day. And the sun that passes over the horizon in the winter warms the south side of your building all day long and warms your apartment. It really gets very warm in the apartment on a sunny day. I recommend buildings that have windows to the south.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Pros:
Excellent location.
A great place for walks along the river and around ExCel and the City Airport. The Barrier Park nearby, currently modernized. Security day and night.
Very good transport to central London (DLR – Pontoon Dock station).
The Uber Boat service available from Royal Wharf – great idea!
Available a gym, a pool, Sainsbury’s Local, Pharmacy.
Some nice restaurants. Now even fish and chips are available to residents every Tuesday and Friday. Great idea. Just well done.
Concierge. They are very friendly. Their work is commendable.
Underground parking available for some of the flats.

Cons:
Noises from neighbors are quite audible in the buildings in this estate in my opinion.
It is understandable that the so-called normal life causes noise.
However, when you hear that your neighbor is closing a wardrobe, or he is shuffling the chair on the wooden floor, and if you are sensitive to noiseit may be disturbing.
It is worth making sure before you finalize contracts that such noises will not disturb you if for example you intend to work from home.
It might help: if you have a table and chairs in the living room on a wooden floor, please put on the legs of tables and chairs the felt pads.
This reduces unnecessary noise heard from your flat or others. All the neighbors around you will enjoy it.

Smokers on the balconies. During the summer period might be difficult to enjoy the nice weather on your balcony because if there are smokers below your apartment who smoke on the balcony, you can no longer sit on it because you would have to inhale the cigarette smoke.
Often you may be forced to close the balcony and also the windows. During the spring and summer this can be disappointing. The buildings by the river have a really beautiful view from the balcony, but
If you do not smoke I advise to take the above fact into consideration.
In such a situation, perhaps the best option is the lowest apartment.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Check as much as possible if it is reasonably quiet in the apartment during the day and especially at night.
(To visit a prospective home at different times of the day to check on noise. To ask neighbors for their observations).

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There were several breakdowns in the apartment. However, these defects were always quickly repaired.
If the landlord’s consent was required to exchange something, the landlord responded immediately. It was very helpful.
I used the concierge a few times. Reason: parties at neighbors, or excessive noise, loud music, etc. The concierge was always responsive and reliable.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent property with a good potential for investment and living

Review Date Feb 2022

The design is state of the art, it has good ventilation throughout the building; the facilities are thoughtful and there is no unnecessary facilities that lead to overpriced fees. The property management so far is friendly although sometime it’s overpriced.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The good aspect is it’s in quite a tight knit community – people around are friendly; it has its own clubhouse including swimming pool and gym. The bad thing is probably its location – it only has 1 mid sized supermarket despite the large community around and its at zone 3.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is only 1 mid sized supermarket near the estate with a 5 year monopoly.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management responds to problems fairly quickly as they are responsive via emails.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice houses for remote working professionals

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The houses are too similar one to the other in my opinion and this is a bit tiering after a while. However, the facades and the design overall are quite nice. The construction of Riverscape will help get a bit more variety hopefully and it will end up in a longer promenade as well so that’s quite welcome. Property management is the only real problem here because most of the times it’s either insufficient or disappointing. In my building the fob entrance has been broken for a month almost, and nobody seems to care even if the issue has been raised several times.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There aren’t many shops yet (clearly due to the pandemic). The gym/swimming pool are amazing, a bit overcrowded though and the hot tub is usually broken. The location is decent but compared to the close Canning Town area there are 10 mins of extra commute for everywhere essentially.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I didn’t know there was an “outdoor gym” on the promenade, and that was very useful during the various lockdowns. It should be advertised more and possibly improved as well.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It really depends on the issue. Sometimes it’s been quick and easy but other times very long waits and disappointing.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Davide,

Thank you for your feedback.

I want to offer the contact detail of the Residential Service Manager on site who is available most days to answer any queries or issues you may find, please contact her, and she will investigate the fob reader issue, as we have a robust system for measuring the KPI and SLA of our contractor’s nad if this is a contractual issue we will address.

This is a lovely development, and the commercial units are slowly opening, with Osiu, Yi Fang and Macaroni Penguin to name the ones in the last and upcoming month.

RSM@royalwharfe16.net

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Ballymore Group

Location

Number of developments 1

3.76

Average rating based on 106 reviews

View company
Ballymore Group
Number of developments 15

4.16

Average rating based on 554 reviews

View company