Royal Wharf, E16

By
Ballymore Group, Oxley Holdings
5th
Ranked 5th out of 16 in Royal Docks
3.69 (83 reviews) 3.69 (83 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.93
Facilities
4.01
Design
3.80
Location
3.52
Value
3.17
Management

The large Royal Wharf development overlooks the River Thames and is situated close to London City Airport. Built by Ballymore and designed by David Morley Architects, it comprises some 3,385 homes, as well as a high street, market square and waterfront park and walkway. For residents at Royal Wharf, London’s business districts of Canary Wharf and the City are within easy reach thanks to fast and frequent services from the nearby Pontoon Dock DLR station.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Verified
Showing 83 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

A truly encouraged global community

Review Date Jan 2021

We have lived in Royal Warf for the last 3 1/2 years and absolutely love the ambience, community, transportation links to the city and facilities within this development. The community has a great team managing the facility with staff at the concierge and friendly security staff at the main access points of the development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

From our local Sainsbury’s to Hudson café and triple six, along with silver clip, dream nails and the the local pub The Windjammer, all of which conveniently located within the development. We also have access to the the club house swimming pool sauna and gym, tennis courts, basketball courts, and two local parks. Furthermore, the O2 arena, London ExCel and London city airport are within 30 minus from the development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish there was more free pubic parking spaces.

What is the best feature of your home:

The view of the London city airport which I enjoy the sunrise form every morning.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Royal Wharf, E16
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Denvor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of living at Royal Wharf. It is lovely to read that you enjoy living on the development and that team on site are friendly and efficient.

I am sure you have seen Royal Wharf grow and develop over the years which has helped to create the community it has become. We hope in the near future to be able to hold more events, introduce more commercial units and offer more community activities.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I look forward to seeing you around.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Generally good but needs to be better managed

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Generally, Royal Wharf is a nice place to live, unfortunately, it has not reached its full potential, mainly due to lack of care.
The property prices and service charge, which goes up every single year, cannot be justified by the build or service quality. The management is unfortunately quite incompetent and not fit for running the development of this size. Issues raised by residents take months to be actioned and it requires a lot of nudging to get anything done. Most of the items need to be escalated to the Resort Director to be taken seriously. Quality of repairs is almost always poor, and, ironically, those repairs usually leave things much worse than they were. I don’t think there are any quality checks in place to ensure that contractors’ work is of an acceptable quality (an elevator maintenance visit resulted in holes in the walls and paint damage on all floors in a brand new building – still not properly resolved since November last year). It is painful to see how some very basic works are getting botched time and time again.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Positive – proximity to the river, gym, Sainsbury’s
Negative – the single DLR line that serves the area is getting over-crowded with the ever-growing number of residential developments being erected at E16

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the property is not managed by an indepentent agency

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

– Better door and wall insulation
– Better property management

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear PN,

Thank you for your review on Royal Wharf, we use all feedback to offer the best possible service to all residents.

We have employed a maintenance operative who is available to carry out minor works, and they have been issued a consolidated schedule of works. We hope to be able to carry out an updating programme for the development in the next few months, this will assist us all in offering additional transparency to all internal decoration.

Thank you again

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Royal wharf

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Lovely area to live and the properties are built to a high standard. Community itself overall is also good but there are a large few who ruin for others with late night partying even during lockdown. Facilities are great and location although not amazing is close to a station.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the flat itself, dislike community as can be a lot of noise from other flats late at night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing. No surprises

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Johns&Co have been a great managing agent and I highly recommend them if you are looking to rent in Royal Wharf

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear James

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Comments are always looked into, this ensures that we continue to manage the development with the residents in mind.

If you are disturbed in the evenings, please do not hesitate to contact the 24/7 security team, who will be able to attend within minutes.

kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Love it

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Buildings are very attractive. Security is great and reassuring. Concierge is excellent. Gym is fantastic and maintained very well, always clean and pleasant. Gardens are very well maintained. Cleaners, gardeners, refuse collectors and security do an outstanding job.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good transport links, quiet and clean environment, nice areas to walk near river and docks, decent shops nearby. Could be more restaurants nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Can’t think of anything, it has all been really great so far.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Pretty well, they usually respond very quickly but there have been occasions which are slower

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Rebecca

Thank you very much for such positive feedback, we are always striving to exceed expectations and will continue to do so.

We hope to be able to allow more restaurants and commercial tenants into the community as soon as the restrictions are lifted.

If you do have any areas of feedback please feel free to contact the Residential Services Manager.

Thank you

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Disappointing “new” development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

I was looking forward to move in Royal Wharf as it was a new development in an area that I well know. After 3 years living in the development, I’m now looking forward to move out.
The flat itself had lots of flaws despite being brand new: water leakage resulting in mould, windows poorly fit so got water in the flat when it was raining, balconies poorly made (gaps between flooring slats so water go through when it rains making it often unusable or hard to keep furniture on it), very dusty place even when cleaning regularly (not great when you have respiratory problems), water very very hard (need a good water softener system)…
Be aware, the development uses district heating, with a company (SW energy) having the monopoly, so prices can be extortionate, especially in winter, and be prepared to have regularly no hot water .
The gym is nice, good equipments and s great pool. Can be very crowded at peak hours and weekends.
Staff at concierge/postroom are very friendly. Security staff try their best to keep the area safe, even if they don’t have that much power. Management however is really poor, everything will be made to suit Ballymore (the developer) rather than the residents. Their communication is also really poor.
The RW area is not pedestrian friendly, some crossing are dangerous (especially as lots of drivers think they are on a racing track).
I wish there were more restaurants or shops, many units are still empty.
The development is relatively safe, but lots of thefts of parcels have been reported and some misdemeanor too, including the inevitable selfish residents who think they live alone here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I’ve been living in this area for 8 years, was a great local community but now the area is really crowded and I don’t see it becoming better. If you don’t have a car (and if you have one, good luck to find a parking space), the transport network is not good, currently only the DLR, packed during peak hours (need to let several trains go before boarding one), and not enough buses. It will become worse as lots of new developments are being built in the area.
Also a lorry distribution park is planned to be built in the area and will bring more trucks on the road and more pollution. The air is already very bad here.
Shops are almost inexistent, only three small shops (Sainsbury’s, Nisa, BV Market) within reasonable walking distance, don’t understand why they don’t plan a bigger supermarket in the area.
Positive note: the West Silverton Foundation provides good activities for residents of all ages.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Before moving in I read multiple positive comments, mainly from landlords. But landlords are generally more positive about a place because they invested money in. I’m glad I didn’t buy here as they are better places, even in this area. Lots of new developments are being built in the area so I advise to wait before choosing to live here, maybe there will be better chance and probably the prices will go down (already are). And if the property developer is Ballymore, avoid, they are the worse people to deal with (and use cheap material).

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Our property manager did good job to send the relevant contractors to deal with the multiple issues we had in our brand new flats.

2
Facilities
2
Design
2
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear F P L

Thank you for your feedback on Royal Wharf and I am sorry that you feel that our communication is not to the standards expected. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you and to share your ideas on how we can improve. Please contact me via the b.life app.

Regarding commercial units, this has slowed considerably due to the pandemic, but we sincerely hope that as soon as the restriction allows we will be able to welcome restaurants, tea shops, and other stores to Royal Wharf.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director

Better security and maintenance needed

Review Date Feb 2021

+:
1. New building
2. Gum and swimming pool on site
3. Park
4.Pharmacy and GP

-:
1. No big supermarket nearby
2. Some buildings are older than others and nobody really takes looks after them
3. No post room nearby
4. Security is very poor, somebody stole my packaging with Apple products inside and staff was unhelpful although they know who took the parcel, because they watched CCTV

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the neighborhood, however I think the company and staff should do a better job

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No hot water every week
Poor security
Staff isn’t helpful

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Better cleaning after previous tenants including repairs and repainting the walls

5
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sender,

Thank you for your review, we read and use all reviews to enhance the standards and training of the staff at the development.

If you forward me the details of your letting agent, I can raise the issue of better cleaning of the apartment.

I’m sorry to hear regarding a lost parcel, please let me know what the post room security reference number is and we will look into this. If it was not delivered to the post room, we have advised both couriers and residents that no mail should be left in communal areas, and there are signs to show this in all buildings.

If you have any feedback regarding the management of the development or the staff please contact the Residential Services Manager.

Thank you

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

*average living in E16*

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

it is very noisy and post issued with deliveries etc
smell from toilets
the building and the landscape is very convenient
the follow up department is very swift, had a good experience with them
overall very nice area with doctors, dentist and supermarket, which is very nice

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

n/a

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

there is nothing I need to add here.
we had all necessary information here

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

the design of the radiator shall be reviewed and the ventilation system needs a makeover

4
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Stefan,

Thank you for your feedback,

If you are experiencing any noise issues, please contact the concierge team who are available 24 hours a day and they will be able to react immediately to resolve this issue.

If you continue to have any delivery issues please contact the Residential Services Manager, who oversees the post room staff and is in direct contact with the couriers.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Nice looking but not great

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

In general it looks good. There are many issues with security, broken doors, streets that go for days without light, bicycles being stolen as well as parcels. Lobbies look really simple and date. Nothing like you would expect for the prices charged. It would be great if the had any kind of decoration or simple furniture like on other developments.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the proximity to the water. I’m not happy with the lack of shops and the size of the gym which is way to small for such a development

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I should have done more research before moving here.

What is the best feature of your home:

Service is average. It takes ages to get anything solved or fixed when reported as broken.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Eli R,

Thank you for your feedback.

There are currently plans to revamp the lobby areas, that have just received a clean lick of paint., as we all agree that these areas have a lot of potential as does the entire development with its location and setting.

We have recently employed a maintenance operative who is cutting the delay from reporting to the final rectification dramatically as we are not tied to having to wait for the contractor’s attendance.

If you have any further comments, please feel free to contact the Residential Services Manager or myself.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Not reached its full potential – yet.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

A modern and architecturally pleasing development, with mostly respectful and quiet neighbours. The development is yet to reach its full potential, with a lot of vacant commercial units.

The Thames side location is ideal with regular boats into the city. The location will shortly benefit from crossrail on the other side of the royal docks in addition to the already frequent DLR.

The surrounding area is awaiting developments to rise from the ashes of the old docklands; with a few on their way to completion. The are two good parks either side of the development, which have been amazing whilst in lockdown. Most properties have balconies and shared outdoor spaces too.

The interior spec is to a high standard, mostly sharing a common apartment footprint with varying exterior architectural designs.

Would I recommend it? Yes, as more great things are to come once commercial units are filled and there is more to do in the surrounding area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Dislike Lack of local restaurants and bars, choice of shops other than Sainsbury’s.
Love the gym and the open spaces, Ballymore should encourage more restaurants/bars by allowing them to set up rent free/lowered rent whilst we’re in the pandemic – better than an empty unit. it’s quiet in the evenings and love the Thames side location – crossrail across the dock will be a bonus soon too!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Ballymore can organise parking permits to help moving in and protection in the lifts. Most of the commercial units on the high street advertising as opening soon are not e.g. Kaboom lounge, Asian Supermarket, Creams bakery, french restaurant and Japanese/Sushi restaurant – the life/dream advertised hasn’t come to fruition yet…

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Not a lot in all honesty – maybe a window that fully opens in the bedroom.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear TD,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Royal Wharf.

There are still plans for restaurants to move to the site, however since March 2020, the commercial and hospitality businesses have been under pressure and unable to move to the development, we welcomed Silverclip in between lockdown 1 and 2, and hope that later this year the commercial enterprises will be offered a window to be able to move to Royal wharf, as I feel this will be welcomed, by the residents, staff and the owners of the units themselves.

The Royal Wharf residents are renowned for keeping things local, as the farmers market is one of the most profitable for the stallholders in London, so I do not doubt when the units do open they will be a success.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Could be great, but just misses the mark in almost every possible way

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Some of the flats have really big design flaws. For instance, the only place that logically you can put a sofa in our flat blocks the radiator, and also then blocks the inward opening patio door.

The wardrobes are really badly designed and with outward facing doors as opposed to sliding, mean they take up a vast amount of space in already small rooms.

The development is also missing a few key facilities – a post office or similar for instance, and the dentist is private only meaning you’re looking elsewhere for NHS dental facilities.

It’s a nice development, but it seems to just miss the mark on every possible point leading to disappointment.

The abusive SW energy system is the biggest flaw and because you have no choice but to stay with them, there is no help available.

We’re also now currently over a month with no royal mail letter deliveries, which seems exclusive to the resort when talking to others within the immediate off site area.

Lastly, there is a horrific lack of parking leading those with allocated spaces to hike prices knowing full well there’s the demand there.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The homes themselves are much like any other similar development. Where Royal Wharf falls down is it’s use of SW Energy and their horrific pricing and attitude. Many residents are waiting 5 months plus for accounts to finally be set up, and those that have them set up are finding bills of £120+ a month for a 1 bed flat (for heating and hot water only). The council tax bands are also horrifically unfair, placing 1 bed apartments in E band.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

SWs incompetence and abusive pricing. This is a reason alone to avoid renting or buying a home here and instead focus your search on one of the other sites under a different district heating company.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They’ve dismissed residents concerns in terms of both postal issues and SW taking months to set up accounts and then over charging.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sender,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience with Royal Wharf.

Please allow me to address your points raised one at a time;

The design and construction points will be passed to the relevant companies.
The parking on the development is reliant n what the local councils allow the construction team to build, there is a restrictive amount of spaces that can be built on any development in London, this is linked to encouraging people to use public transport. the development has as many spaces as it is permitted, I can only apologise that other residents are raising the costs of renting bays, but we do not have any control over such transactions.

The SWE costs were tendered last year and SWE was the most cost-effective to the residents at Royal Wharf, the tariffs are not set by SWE, and the costs have reduced over the past 2 years and the standing charges have also been reduced. We are dedicated to ensuring eth best value for money for the residents, and currently, SWE is the most cost-effective.

SW energy contracts are not a part of the management company responsibility as these are a private agreement between you the user and the company, I have passed on your concern regarding the long amount of time it took to set up the account and they may be in touch directly.

The issue with Royal Mail delivery does not have any reflection on the service levels offered by the management, the postcodes are registered at the time of planning and are updated and sent by Royal Mail on completions, the issue, in this case, was that Royal Mail had errors on their computer system and it would not allow them to change, this was highlighted, communicated and addressed as soon as they could, I will pass your feedback to them

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I look forward to seeing you around the Royal Wharf.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Grateful I rented before purchasing!!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The design of the buildings is visually appealing but poorly executed. For example floor to ceiling windows look great, but are poorly fitted with drafts which are written off as “by design” by the after”care” team.
The finish is also cheap, with poor quality flooring and paintwork throughout. The facilities promised have not yet come to fruition 3 years after moving to the development. The onsite supermarket is woefully undersized and there are extremely limited other amenities. Building management is appalling. Constant hot water outages, broken lifts, broken access doors, leaks into apartments and general substandard quality for the money paid. Reported issues are not dealt with efficiently, for example, when isolating due to Covid, I was informed my broken access buzzer was “not a priority” leaving me in my flat with no means to permit access for food deliveries. Water leaking through electrical outlets has also been deemed “minor” and put in the non-priority queue.
It looks so beautiful from the outside, but it’s not acceptable for the price.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like: the location is good for Canary Wharf and City Airport, and proximity to Thames Barrier Park is great
Dislike: we are a target for thieves as the surrounding area is not very affluent, so the estate is targeted daily by thieves. There is also significant drug use in the area, with detritus from drug use all over the streets, and the smell is often nauseatingly strong.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We should have been informed that the heating and hot water is tied into a monopoly which is approximately 2 x the cost of other service providers and cannot be changed. Residents have no autonomy over selecting provider for this service and pay a hefty bill as a result.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would move the flat to a less deprived area so that it felt safe to walk from the flat to the train station by myself.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Hayley

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Royal Wharf and we welcome all feedback.

I am sorry that your stay at Royal Wharf has not been as expected, I will pass on all the relevant feedback to the construction, design, and aftercare teams, to ensure that lessons can be learned.

I do not expect anyone to have had so many issues within one apartment, I do encourage you to contact the Residential Services Manager, who will be more than happy to answer any questions regarding, services, service delivery, and communication.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Value for money rental

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Property management can improve a lot, building management has been great so far for my experience. There are some minor flaws in the design such as the laundry machine fitting, facilities wise I love the gym and spa area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the new fittings and amnesties – the gym, pool and concierge. However, I do hope they open more commercial businesses around here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That a lot of commercial businesses meant to be open was not confirmed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slow response and sometimes rude, i have had issues witb the washing machine and it has taken more than 1 month now.

4
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sofia,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about Royal Wharf and glad you enjoy the amenities the development has to offer.

Please allow me to apologise for anyone associated with Royal Wharf being rude and I hope that this is not repeated. If you feel this is the case in the future please contact the Residential Services Manager, who will address this with any of the team or pass it on to the relevant managers if they belong to a different management structure.

Regard commercial units, we are all within the COVD-19 web, as soon as we can all break the web, we do have commercial units waiting in the wings to move onto the development.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you around Royal Wharf.

Best regard,

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Experience of residing in a sizable construction site

Review Date Feb 2021

Royal Wharf is a sizable residential development in East London and it can accommodate over 3,000 households when the last phase of the development is completed. My apartment is a two bedroom direct river facing apartment on a high floor of Laker House. I have been totally satisfied with the design and the layout plan of the apartment and have enjoyed looking at the lovely River Thames from inside the apartment.

As Laker House was one of those buildings completed in the first phase of Royal Wharf, the experience of residing in Laker House in the first two/three years was to certain extent quite adversely affected by the on-going construction works including the construction dust and noise. Considering the total population and the number of high rise buildings in Royal Wharf, more trees should be planted at strategic locations of the development to enhance the living environment.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is along the River Thames. The residents can always walk on the river bank to enjoy the beautiful river view. The shops seem to have been occupied too slow despite of the fact that those buildings of the first phase of Royal Wharf were actually occupied in early 2017. Moreover, there are still not enough number of restaurants in Royal Wharf considering the population size in this residential development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The public transport services available.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management has been professional and responsive. There were not too many problems/issues encountered. Problems/issues were resolved promptly and satisfactorily by the building management anyway!

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Alexander,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Royal Wharf and we welcome all feedback.

The Royal wharf development is now completed over 3300 apartments and the construction team has now left, so I believe that any construction noise will have been dramatically reduced.

We do pride ourselves on the community spaces and with that, we have planted over 150 small bushes and over 200 saplings over the past 2 months, in strategic areas on the development, all of which were provided at no cost to the residents and were planted as a community event, this included the nursery school and the Royal Wharf Gardening club. These being saplings will take a while to bed in, but the future of Royal wharf regarding beauty, tranquility, and green areas is a positive one.

The lack of commercial units completing, has no reflection on the development but is due to the Covid-19 pandemic, we have several units awaiting the go-ahead to move onto site, and they have been for over a year now, we do sincerely hope that the pandemic does not have any further impact on the current and future commercial and hospitality businesses at Royal Wharf.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Lovely and luxurious

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

I’ve lived in my flat since 2017 and as one of the first residents to move in ive seen Royal Wharf evolve dramatically but still feels clean and quiet. There is a growing community here and the facilities such as the clubhouse and concierge make it feel like a luxurious place to live.
I love the design of my flat and it feels very high spec. Apart from painting a few walls to add my own personality to it I haven’t changed a thing

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Its a very well connected area with the DLR, the clipper and buses. Its next to an excellent park, has a few nice places to get coffee and has a good school and nursery. Its a little quiet at the moment as we await more restaurants and shops to hopefully open in the next couple of years but it has everything you need.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

All the major supermarkets can deliver here , and you can get restaurants deliver here from as far away as canary wharf

What is the best feature of your home:

The thick carpets which are still lovely to walk on after 3 years and the thick walls.. I never hear my neighbours in corsair house

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Kerry,
Thank you for taking to the time to share your experience of Royal Wharf. It must have been wonderful to see the development evolve and grow into a community over the years and that your love for the development has not diminished.

We hope that we will be able to introduce more restaurants and stores as soon as the government allows.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Great development with room for improvement

Review Date Jan 2021

Design is nice. Gym and pool good. Post room convenient. Walls are thin. Property management sometimes not very responsive to queries. Not good that we can’t change heating and hot water supplier as SW energy prices are extortionate

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Next to dlr station and bus stop. Nice grounds to walk on. Very clean. limited amenities close by- needs a post office supermarket and more restaurants

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Not allowed to choose your own hot water/ energy supplier. No post office or printing on site/ nearby.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Slow or not been willing to help. Response to hot water issues not good.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear SAS,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about Royal Wharf, it’s great to read that you love the design and the leisure facilities.

As you are maybe aware, we recently tendered the heating billing contract, which has resulted in an approximate 2p per KWH rate reduction, we remain dedicated to ensuring the services offered by contractors and management is value for money.

We are in the process of arranging a printing service however, the pandemic has stalled the supply, please keep an eye out for a b.life announcement shortly regarding this.

Thank you again for your valued feedback.

Best regards,

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal wharf

Great location but could be improved

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

Really nice development close to the river front with good views of the city. Security is not very good in the area and the building quality let it down massively which is a shame. Area will be much better when they eventually fill all the empty retail units.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good mix of food outlets and amenities in the area. The only issue is a very small Sainsbury’s for the size of the development

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Great local cafe in triple 2

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Better build quality and security – far to many thefts in the area and constant poor build quality leads to the same things being dug up and re done

4
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Joshua,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Royal Wharf, we will take on all your valued points raised and will use these to ensure that we continue to improve the service.

Royal Wharf has CCTV cameras across the whole of the development, with 24-hour recording and cover by a team of security staff based at the management centre, any evidence found is relayed directly to the local police and this has resulted in 3 convictions, which has resulted in lower crime numbers. As with any new development, there can be some teething issues that we will continue to communicate with the construction teams.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback and if you have any further feedback please feel free to contact the Residential Services Manager.

Best regards,

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Not worth it

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

This place is all about the looks and keeping the gardens green but has no essence. Things break and don’t get repaired.
Residents get overcharged for heating with SW for which we are captive and cant opt out.
There is a lack of stores and just one small supermarket. Also the gym is not adequate for the size of the development and amount of people living here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice path to walk on by the river. Other than that there is a lack of stores in the area and it’s a hot spot for crime.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I should have talked to residents to get more insight before moving here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It takes ages to get a response and it’s always “deal with aftercare”. Tired of raising issues with doors not working. With not having hot water. My parcels being stolen.

3
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Peter

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experiences with Ballymore. I’m concerned to read your comments and would welcome the opportunity to personally discuss these in more detail.

Please feel free to contact me via the b.life app so we can arrange a mutually convenient time to go through these together.

Kind Regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Comfy but needs further developments

Review Date Jan 2021

The area lacks developments such as restaurants, shops. It is not very well connected to the centre of London and traveling takes time. I still have to try the facilities without the whole covid situation. Path along the Thames should be prolonged. Very quiet

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lack of development and limited connection to London centre

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No info before moving in

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Unhappy with agency. Doesn’t answer emails not provides me with reliable information

4
Facilities
5
Design
2
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Tanguy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Royal Wharf.

If you would like to contact the Residential Services Manager, she will be able to offer further information regarding the different methods of commuting to central London, Boat, DLR, Tube, Bus. The main station is only 5 minutes away- Canning town with direct links to the jubilee line and Stratford central line.

The commercial and hospitality areas have taken a big hit over the past 12 months, but as soon as the government allows, I do expect further commercial units to move onto the development.

The concierge team are onsite to assist where they can, so please feel free to contact them.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Not good

Review Date Jan 2021

Poorly made flats, the walls are like paper, I can hear everything. In the hallways, above, to the sides it’s constant. Concierge don’t care either and tell you it’s normal apartment living. It seriously is not… I have lived in older buildings and never heard a sound. Upkeep is awful too, the gardens often a mess, weeds etc and cigarette butts, broken street lights etc

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like: being by the water, 222 coffee shop, the gym
I don’t like: poor quality of the flats, very unhelpful concierge and director when you have any issues

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The noise I would hear from neighbours, I really struggle to sleep at night. Our upstairs neighbours are night owls and tend to be very noisy which I hear loud and clear every night

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Better quality walls!! They are like paper! It’s shocking!!

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sender,

Thank you for your valued feedback, we use all feedback to seek to improve. I’m sorry you feel the team are unhelpful and I urge you to email the Residential Services Manager with your concerns so we can train and improve. In relation to noise from your neighbours, we are happy to assist you with this, please contact us on the b.life app.

Thank you

Phillip Minns
Resort Director

Nice looking but not worth it

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The development was designed to look attractive but it’s finished with poor quality.
I’ve lived here for 2 years and it gets worse with time. Most of the doors are broken, flat has poor insulation and heating is provided by SW energy at a high price.

There are constant issues with lack of water and heating during winter time across all the development.

The area is also a hot spot for crime. Broken doors allow people stealing parcels from lobbies. Bikes get stolen as well.

Lobbies are of a very poor quality and badly kept. Far from what you would expect in a so called Resort paying premium prices. Paint is damaged. No decoration at all. They look like the service entrance of an office block.

During summer time the amount of anti social behavior and use of drugs is incredible.

Overall i’d say it looks nice, close to parks but definitely not worth what they charge for and it’s a pain dealing with repairs and management.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice water front walkway. There’s a lack of shops in the area. Sainsbury’s has a monopoly in the development. Their store is small and during hot days their refrigerators stop working.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish i had done more research and checked the residents facebook group. That would have gave me an idea of the things residents have to deal with when living here.

What is the best feature of your home:

Close to a park and waterfront other than that lots of issues with the poor quality building, services and management.

2
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Jay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Royal Wharf, we will take on all your valued points raised and will use these to ensure that we continue to improve the service.

Being in London or any city we will attract some sort of criminal activities, especially as the development is pristine, however in compassion to the UK average Royal Wharf is not classed as a hot spot and within London, Royal Wharf has one of the lowest crime statistics. We are however in regular communication with the police and we do work closely with them and residents to prevent issues as quickly as possible.

Sainsbury’s on-site is one of the most successful in the Sainsbury portfolio, however, we understand it is a small unit and there are other retails units waiting to complete as soon as the pandemic allows. We are relatively close to other stores and many of the superstores are all within a 10-15 min bus or 5-10 min car journey.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback and if you have any further feedback please feel free to contact the Residential Services Manager.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Road safety and CCTV

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

Road safety management and CCTV monitoring should be improved.
Cleaning of the area is very good.
Sainsbury’s food store,
Triple 2 coffee shop Highly recommended .
Club house ++++
Windjammer +++
Starbucks
Little Hudson 👏🏼
Pharmacy
GP center coming soon

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Many things to improve security

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Uber boats stop very rare at RW pier
Needs more restaurants and another food store( maybe better than Sainsbury’s)

What is the best feature of your home:

Bathroom+++
Kitchen +++
Bedroom ++++
Garden +++++
Atmosphere 👌🏼

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Paolo

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Royal Wharf. We appreciate all comments and feedback.

Royal Wharf has CCTV cameras across the whole of the development, with 24-hour recording and cover by a team of security staff based at the management centre. We are working with local service partners and the council to place traffic calming measures including, placing more bollards to protect the public, mirrors on blind corners, and discussing the implementation of zebra crossings and speed reduction equipment.

Sadly, the riverboat service has been hit like many businesses by the COVID-19 pandemic, the average footfall from our pier in peak times is good, and we are all hoping that this service will resume as soon as it is safe. The same goes for the commercial units due to move onto the development.

Thanks again for your comments and if you would like to discuss this or anything further, please feel free to contact the Residential Services Manager.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Love it but needs attention from staff

Review Date Jan 2021

Design is great. I love my apartment. I have a mental heath disability which requires a need to need to feel safe.

I don’t appreciate randoms walking about the area. Some complaints have been made about thieves in the area which had made me feel a little unsafe. Which is not why I Moved in the area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love the development, but I do feel staff could be more helpful and knowledgable about questions regarding the area and properties.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More info on the car parking situation- wasn’t very clear regarding parking in the area

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Everyone apart from one enquiry regarding the towel heater in my bathroom will not power on! Still don’t know why it’s not working….

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Lou,

Thank you for your valued feedback which we find key to ensuring the development remains safe, secure and a friendly place. The development is open to members of the public so that they can visit the shops, cafes and restaurants and so not everyone visiting the area is a resident.

We do however have 24/7 staffing which has helped Royal Wharf to become one of the lowest crime areas in the borough. This and our relationship with the local authorities helps us deliver on our security aims. We will continue to seek to improve and I thank you again for your valued feedback.

Kind Regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director

Lovely development, some places have wonderful views. Good travel options.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The place is well kept as far as cleanliness, and landscaping. It is still under development there are still buildings being built. Noise is to be expected with this many residents in a close area. There are still growing pains with the development. But it’s a great little community

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love the location as the distance from work to downtown, to travel. However, it is Newham, and it’s an industrial area. Restaurants are in need, and serious shopping would be helpful

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More details on the services provided with the flat

What is the best feature of your home:

Location, and balcony. Updated fixtures, nice flooring, and when the windows and doors are closed, SILENT to outside noise.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sender,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you are enjoying the community as this is something we are proud of at Royal Wharf. The pandemic has strengthened our sense of community, helping and caring for each other and with the implementation of the farmers market and other initiatives our community continues to grow.

We are hopeful that more commercial units will be able to open in 2021, including restaurants to provide a variety of local choices for the community.

We will be sure to pass on the feedback regarding the apartment to the sales teams.

Thank you once again

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director

Pretty underwhelming for price

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The development is managed fairly poorly. No aftercare in the flats (impossible to get in touch with and never actually fix anything) broken gates and front doors around the development that never seem to get fixed. Flats are poorly built – common sewage system means entire blocks stink, hot water and heating is constantly failing and communal heating provider is extremely expensive

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very few shops/restaurants in the area, the DLR is fantastic

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known that Ballymore were pretty poor and unresponsive with regards to getting problems fixed

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The seals around the doors have broken so they’re essentially not double glazed. I would get this fixed

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Urvashi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your comments regarding the Royal Wharf development. We take on board all feedback and use this to improve the service levels being offered.
As you are maybe aware, we recently tendered the heating billing contract, which has resulted in an approximate 2p per KWH rate reduction. As with any new development, there can be some teething issues that we will continue to communicate with the construction teams.
Should you experience any issues, you can contact a member of the team via the b.life app 24 hours a day who will be happy to assist, or if you would prefer, please feel free to contact the Residential Services Manager who would be more than happy to discuss any further feedback you may have.
Thank you again for your valued feedback.
Kind Regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Luxurious, spacious and cool vibe but don’t expect much help from the Concierge team!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The development at Ferdinand Magellan is gorgeous and the view of Canary Wharf is one of the best in the city. Good parking available in nearby block and the lifts always working. The design is luxurious and smart but the actually structural finish is fairly poor and cheap which has led to a few issues (leak in ceiling and boiler shutting off for a week).

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the design, view of the city and feel of the place. Very luxurious but with nice scenery and walks. Only drawback is the concierge office standard response to nearly any request/question is “we can’t help you with that” which is a real shame.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Would love for more shops/restaurant’s on site to open but totally expected with how the world is.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Our first agent at Folio was very poor, never responded and didn’t have a mobile number (helpful). But our most recent has been amazing, friendly and responsive!

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Josh,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Royal Wharf. It’s great to hear that you love the resort and its vibe, and we hope as we head into the year, we can bring more resident events such as the farmer markets to the resort for you to enjoy.

We aim to resolve any issues as quickly as possible and the easiest way to bring this to our attention is to raise a ticket via the b.life app.

Thank you for your feedback about the concierge, it would be great if we could discuss this in person so we can identify how we can improve the service offered. If you could send us a b.life message, with your contact details, I’ll arrange for the residential services manager to get in touch.

As we head into 2021, we are expecting the completion of more commercial units, however, with coronavirus still gripping the UK, these may be slightly delayed.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you around Royal Wharf.

Best regards,

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Very Charming And Delightful place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

Very good 24 hrs concierge and helping authorities
Very good design Structral buildings and landscapes and gardens.very delightful and charming views .
This amazing property is occupied with good people who are from all countries as well as local good Helpfull people and
All
Sainsbury
Silver clip
Nails spa
Primary school
Day care
Health swimming pool and Zim
Fantastic Barrier park Garden
Restaurent and shops
Pontoon dock health centre
Nearby
Petrol pump

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is very well situated Near to DLR And Thames water Transport and Near city airport.Very clean and good gardens amazing

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Good concept and well maintained property and safe place to live

What is the best feature of your home:

Very Good viewing and Near to All Helpfull transports and air road rail andwater transport availability

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Royal Wharf, E16
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Jay.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Royal Wharf. It’s great to hear that you love the community feel of the development and we hope to continue with our resident events in the coming months,

I look forward to seeing you around the development.

Best regards,

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Not Good.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

Poorly managed overall. A picture paints a thousand words. Look at the interior of each building block. Interiors remind me of a council estate quality – at Premium prices.
LCI looks better than here, for similar prices. Bonkers. Can you atleast re-do the rubbish paint job + replace the carpet? You guys sent a note out promising as such, why does it still look in such a ghastly state? Look at the developments by Berkeley Homes for high standards.
Would not recommend.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

– Way too overcharged for what you get, or rather, what you don’t get.
– They’ve made the concierge look good, but the interior buildings at RW is truely awful. It looks like a 5 year old came and did the paint job, grubby, old carpets. Cranky, old interiors. Run down and uninviting.
– SW Energy – charges abusive pricing. Nothing is done on it.
– Gym is closed yet we’re still charged for the non service.
– Stinky drainage that stinks out the place.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d knew the place was fraught with issues.

What is the best feature of your home:

Can’t think of any for now. There’s a Sainsburys. And parcel collection. I’m struggling to think of something, the design is a bit dated.

2
Facilities
2
Design
2
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sender,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Royal Wharf. I’m sorry to learn that you are not entirely happy with the development and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss these directly with you to see if we can resolve them. If you would like to send a b.life message with your details, I will contact you.

To pick up on a few points, the buildings are all under 4 years old and the carpets have all been deep cleaned and replaced were necessary for 2020. Whilst the gym is closed due to the COVID pandemic, any savings will be credited to your service charge account.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to speaking with you.

Best regards,

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Ballymore Group

Location

Number of developments 1

3.69

Average rating based on 83 reviews

View company
Ballymore Group
Number of developments 13

4.07

Average rating based on 302 reviews

View company