Royal Wharf, E16

By
Ballymore Group, Oxley Holdings
5th
Ranked 5th out of 16 in Royal Docks
3.70 (82 reviews) 3.70 (82 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.94
Facilities
4.01
Design
3.79
Location
3.52
Value
3.20
Management

The large Royal Wharf development overlooks the River Thames and is situated close to London City Airport. Built by Ballymore and designed by David Morley Architects, it comprises some 3,385 homes, as well as a high street, market square and waterfront park and walkway. For residents at Royal Wharf, London’s business districts of Canary Wharf and the City are within easy reach thanks to fast and frequent services from the nearby Pontoon Dock DLR station.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Verified
Showing 82 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

A truly encouraged global community

Review Date Jan 2021

We have lived in Royal Warf for the last 3 1/2 years and absolutely love the ambience, community, transportation links to the city and facilities within this development. The community has a great team managing the facility with staff at the concierge and friendly security staff at the main access points of the development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

From our local Sainsbury’s to Hudson café and triple six, along with silver clip, dream nails and the the local pub The Windjammer, all of which conveniently located within the development. We also have access to the the club house swimming pool sauna and gym, tennis courts, basketball courts, and two local parks. Furthermore, the O2 arena, London ExCel and London city airport are within 30 minus from the development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish there was more free pubic parking spaces.

What is the best feature of your home:

The view of the London city airport which I enjoy the sunrise form every morning.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Royal Wharf, E16
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Denvor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of living at Royal Wharf. It is lovely to read that you enjoy living on the development and that team on site are friendly and efficient.

I am sure you have seen Royal Wharf grow and develop over the years which has helped to create the community it has become. We hope in the near future to be able to hold more events, introduce more commercial units and offer more community activities.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I look forward to seeing you around.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Royal wharf

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Lovely area to live and the properties are built to a high standard. Community itself overall is also good but there are a large few who ruin for others with late night partying even during lockdown. Facilities are great and location although not amazing is close to a station.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the flat itself, dislike community as can be a lot of noise from other flats late at night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing. No surprises

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Johns&Co have been a great managing agent and I highly recommend them if you are looking to rent in Royal Wharf

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear James

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Comments are always looked into, this ensures that we continue to manage the development with the residents in mind.

If you are disturbed in the evenings, please do not hesitate to contact the 24/7 security team, who will be able to attend within minutes.

kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Love it

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Buildings are very attractive. Security is great and reassuring. Concierge is excellent. Gym is fantastic and maintained very well, always clean and pleasant. Gardens are very well maintained. Cleaners, gardeners, refuse collectors and security do an outstanding job.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good transport links, quiet and clean environment, nice areas to walk near river and docks, decent shops nearby. Could be more restaurants nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Can’t think of anything, it has all been really great so far.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Pretty well, they usually respond very quickly but there have been occasions which are slower

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Rebecca

Thank you very much for such positive feedback, we are always striving to exceed expectations and will continue to do so.

We hope to be able to allow more restaurants and commercial tenants into the community as soon as the restrictions are lifted.

If you do have any areas of feedback please feel free to contact the Residential Services Manager.

Thank you

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Disappointing “new” development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

I was looking forward to move in Royal Wharf as it was a new development in an area that I well know. After 3 years living in the development, I’m now looking forward to move out.
The flat itself had lots of flaws despite being brand new: water leakage resulting in mould, windows poorly fit so got water in the flat when it was raining, balconies poorly made (gaps between flooring slats so water go through when it rains making it often unusable or hard to keep furniture on it), very dusty place even when cleaning regularly (not great when you have respiratory problems), water very very hard (need a good water softener system)…
Be aware, the development uses district heating, with a company (SW energy) having the monopoly, so prices can be extortionate, especially in winter, and be prepared to have regularly no hot water .
The gym is nice, good equipments and s great pool. Can be very crowded at peak hours and weekends.
Staff at concierge/postroom are very friendly. Security staff try their best to keep the area safe, even if they don’t have that much power. Management however is really poor, everything will be made to suit Ballymore (the developer) rather than the residents. Their communication is also really poor.
The RW area is not pedestrian friendly, some crossing are dangerous (especially as lots of drivers think they are on a racing track).
I wish there were more restaurants or shops, many units are still empty.
The development is relatively safe, but lots of thefts of parcels have been reported and some misdemeanor too, including the inevitable selfish residents who think they live alone here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I’ve been living in this area for 8 years, was a great local community but now the area is really crowded and I don’t see it becoming better. If you don’t have a car (and if you have one, good luck to find a parking space), the transport network is not good, currently only the DLR, packed during peak hours (need to let several trains go before boarding one), and not enough buses. It will become worse as lots of new developments are being built in the area.
Also a lorry distribution park is planned to be built in the area and will bring more trucks on the road and more pollution. The air is already very bad here.
Shops are almost inexistent, only three small shops (Sainsbury’s, Nisa, BV Market) within reasonable walking distance, don’t understand why they don’t plan a bigger supermarket in the area.
Positive note: the West Silverton Foundation provides good activities for residents of all ages.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Before moving in I read multiple positive comments, mainly from landlords. But landlords are generally more positive about a place because they invested money in. I’m glad I didn’t buy here as they are better places, even in this area. Lots of new developments are being built in the area so I advise to wait before choosing to live here, maybe there will be better chance and probably the prices will go down (already are). And if the property developer is Ballymore, avoid, they are the worse people to deal with (and use cheap material).

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Our property manager did good job to send the relevant contractors to deal with the multiple issues we had in our brand new flats.

2
Facilities
2
Design
2
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear F P L

Thank you for your feedback on Royal Wharf and I am sorry that you feel that our communication is not to the standards expected. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you and to share your ideas on how we can improve. Please contact me via the b.life app.

Regarding commercial units, this has slowed considerably due to the pandemic, but we sincerely hope that as soon as the restriction allows we will be able to welcome restaurants, tea shops, and other stores to Royal Wharf.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director

Better security and maintenance needed

Review Date Feb 2021

+:
1. New building
2. Gum and swimming pool on site
3. Park
4.Pharmacy and GP

-:
1. No big supermarket nearby
2. Some buildings are older than others and nobody really takes looks after them
3. No post room nearby
4. Security is very poor, somebody stole my packaging with Apple products inside and staff was unhelpful although they know who took the parcel, because they watched CCTV

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the neighborhood, however I think the company and staff should do a better job

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No hot water every week
Poor security
Staff isn’t helpful

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Better cleaning after previous tenants including repairs and repainting the walls

5
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sender,

Thank you for your review, we read and use all reviews to enhance the standards and training of the staff at the development.

If you forward me the details of your letting agent, I can raise the issue of better cleaning of the apartment.

I’m sorry to hear regarding a lost parcel, please let me know what the post room security reference number is and we will look into this. If it was not delivered to the post room, we have advised both couriers and residents that no mail should be left in communal areas, and there are signs to show this in all buildings.

If you have any feedback regarding the management of the development or the staff please contact the Residential Services Manager.

Thank you

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

*average living in E16*

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

it is very noisy and post issued with deliveries etc
smell from toilets
the building and the landscape is very convenient
the follow up department is very swift, had a good experience with them
overall very nice area with doctors, dentist and supermarket, which is very nice

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

n/a

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

there is nothing I need to add here.
we had all necessary information here

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

the design of the radiator shall be reviewed and the ventilation system needs a makeover

4
Facilities
2
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Stefan,

Thank you for your feedback,

If you are experiencing any noise issues, please contact the concierge team who are available 24 hours a day and they will be able to react immediately to resolve this issue.

If you continue to have any delivery issues please contact the Residential Services Manager, who oversees the post room staff and is in direct contact with the couriers.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Nice looking but not great

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

In general it looks good. There are many issues with security, broken doors, streets that go for days without light, bicycles being stolen as well as parcels. Lobbies look really simple and date. Nothing like you would expect for the prices charged. It would be great if the had any kind of decoration or simple furniture like on other developments.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the proximity to the water. I’m not happy with the lack of shops and the size of the gym which is way to small for such a development

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I should have done more research before moving here.

What is the best feature of your home:

Service is average. It takes ages to get anything solved or fixed when reported as broken.

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Eli R,

Thank you for your feedback.

There are currently plans to revamp the lobby areas, that have just received a clean lick of paint., as we all agree that these areas have a lot of potential as does the entire development with its location and setting.

We have recently employed a maintenance operative who is cutting the delay from reporting to the final rectification dramatically as we are not tied to having to wait for the contractor’s attendance.

If you have any further comments, please feel free to contact the Residential Services Manager or myself.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Not reached its full potential – yet.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

A modern and architecturally pleasing development, with mostly respectful and quiet neighbours. The development is yet to reach its full potential, with a lot of vacant commercial units.

The Thames side location is ideal with regular boats into the city. The location will shortly benefit from crossrail on the other side of the royal docks in addition to the already frequent DLR.

The surrounding area is awaiting developments to rise from the ashes of the old docklands; with a few on their way to completion. The are two good parks either side of the development, which have been amazing whilst in lockdown. Most properties have balconies and shared outdoor spaces too.

The interior spec is to a high standard, mostly sharing a common apartment footprint with varying exterior architectural designs.

Would I recommend it? Yes, as more great things are to come once commercial units are filled and there is more to do in the surrounding area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Dislike Lack of local restaurants and bars, choice of shops other than Sainsbury’s.
Love the gym and the open spaces, Ballymore should encourage more restaurants/bars by allowing them to set up rent free/lowered rent whilst we’re in the pandemic – better than an empty unit. it’s quiet in the evenings and love the Thames side location – crossrail across the dock will be a bonus soon too!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Ballymore can organise parking permits to help moving in and protection in the lifts. Most of the commercial units on the high street advertising as opening soon are not e.g. Kaboom lounge, Asian Supermarket, Creams bakery, french restaurant and Japanese/Sushi restaurant – the life/dream advertised hasn’t come to fruition yet…

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Not a lot in all honesty – maybe a window that fully opens in the bedroom.

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear TD,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Royal Wharf.

There are still plans for restaurants to move to the site, however since March 2020, the commercial and hospitality businesses have been under pressure and unable to move to the development, we welcomed Silverclip in between lockdown 1 and 2, and hope that later this year the commercial enterprises will be offered a window to be able to move to Royal wharf, as I feel this will be welcomed, by the residents, staff and the owners of the units themselves.

The Royal Wharf residents are renowned for keeping things local, as the farmers market is one of the most profitable for the stallholders in London, so I do not doubt when the units do open they will be a success.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Could be great, but just misses the mark in almost every possible way

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Some of the flats have really big design flaws. For instance, the only place that logically you can put a sofa in our flat blocks the radiator, and also then blocks the inward opening patio door.

The wardrobes are really badly designed and with outward facing doors as opposed to sliding, mean they take up a vast amount of space in already small rooms.

The development is also missing a few key facilities – a post office or similar for instance, and the dentist is private only meaning you’re looking elsewhere for NHS dental facilities.

It’s a nice development, but it seems to just miss the mark on every possible point leading to disappointment.

The abusive SW energy system is the biggest flaw and because you have no choice but to stay with them, there is no help available.

We’re also now currently over a month with no royal mail letter deliveries, which seems exclusive to the resort when talking to others within the immediate off site area.

Lastly, there is a horrific lack of parking leading those with allocated spaces to hike prices knowing full well there’s the demand there.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The homes themselves are much like any other similar development. Where Royal Wharf falls down is it’s use of SW Energy and their horrific pricing and attitude. Many residents are waiting 5 months plus for accounts to finally be set up, and those that have them set up are finding bills of £120+ a month for a 1 bed flat (for heating and hot water only). The council tax bands are also horrifically unfair, placing 1 bed apartments in E band.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

SWs incompetence and abusive pricing. This is a reason alone to avoid renting or buying a home here and instead focus your search on one of the other sites under a different district heating company.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They’ve dismissed residents concerns in terms of both postal issues and SW taking months to set up accounts and then over charging.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sender,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience with Royal Wharf.

Please allow me to address your points raised one at a time;

The design and construction points will be passed to the relevant companies.
The parking on the development is reliant n what the local councils allow the construction team to build, there is a restrictive amount of spaces that can be built on any development in London, this is linked to encouraging people to use public transport. the development has as many spaces as it is permitted, I can only apologise that other residents are raising the costs of renting bays, but we do not have any control over such transactions.

The SWE costs were tendered last year and SWE was the most cost-effective to the residents at Royal Wharf, the tariffs are not set by SWE, and the costs have reduced over the past 2 years and the standing charges have also been reduced. We are dedicated to ensuring eth best value for money for the residents, and currently, SWE is the most cost-effective.

SW energy contracts are not a part of the management company responsibility as these are a private agreement between you the user and the company, I have passed on your concern regarding the long amount of time it took to set up the account and they may be in touch directly.

The issue with Royal Mail delivery does not have any reflection on the service levels offered by the management, the postcodes are registered at the time of planning and are updated and sent by Royal Mail on completions, the issue, in this case, was that Royal Mail had errors on their computer system and it would not allow them to change, this was highlighted, communicated and addressed as soon as they could, I will pass your feedback to them

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I look forward to seeing you around the Royal Wharf.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Grateful I rented before purchasing!!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The design of the buildings is visually appealing but poorly executed. For example floor to ceiling windows look great, but are poorly fitted with drafts which are written off as “by design” by the after”care” team.
The finish is also cheap, with poor quality flooring and paintwork throughout. The facilities promised have not yet come to fruition 3 years after moving to the development. The onsite supermarket is woefully undersized and there are extremely limited other amenities. Building management is appalling. Constant hot water outages, broken lifts, broken access doors, leaks into apartments and general substandard quality for the money paid. Reported issues are not dealt with efficiently, for example, when isolating due to Covid, I was informed my broken access buzzer was “not a priority” leaving me in my flat with no means to permit access for food deliveries. Water leaking through electrical outlets has also been deemed “minor” and put in the non-priority queue.
It looks so beautiful from the outside, but it’s not acceptable for the price.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like: the location is good for Canary Wharf and City Airport, and proximity to Thames Barrier Park is great
Dislike: we are a target for thieves as the surrounding area is not very affluent, so the estate is targeted daily by thieves. There is also significant drug use in the area, with detritus from drug use all over the streets, and the smell is often nauseatingly strong.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We should have been informed that the heating and hot water is tied into a monopoly which is approximately 2 x the cost of other service providers and cannot be changed. Residents have no autonomy over selecting provider for this service and pay a hefty bill as a result.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would move the flat to a less deprived area so that it felt safe to walk from the flat to the train station by myself.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Hayley

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Royal Wharf and we welcome all feedback.

I am sorry that your stay at Royal Wharf has not been as expected, I will pass on all the relevant feedback to the construction, design, and aftercare teams, to ensure that lessons can be learned.

I do not expect anyone to have had so many issues within one apartment, I do encourage you to contact the Residential Services Manager, who will be more than happy to answer any questions regarding, services, service delivery, and communication.

Kind regards

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

Value for money rental

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Property management can improve a lot, building management has been great so far for my experience. There are some minor flaws in the design such as the laundry machine fitting, facilities wise I love the gym and spa area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the new fittings and amnesties – the gym, pool and concierge. However, I do hope they open more commercial businesses around here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That a lot of commercial businesses meant to be open was not confirmed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slow response and sometimes rude, i have had issues witb the washing machine and it has taken more than 1 month now.

4
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sofia,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about Royal Wharf and glad you enjoy the amenities the development has to offer.

Please allow me to apologise for anyone associated with Royal Wharf being rude and I hope that this is not repeated. If you feel this is the case in the future please contact the Residential Services Manager, who will address this with any of the team or pass it on to the relevant managers if they belong to a different management structure.

Regard commercial units, we are all within the COVD-19 web, as soon as we can all break the web, we do have commercial units waiting in the wings to move onto the development.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you around Royal Wharf.

Best regard,

Phillip Minns
Resort Director
Royal Wharf

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16
User submitted image of Royal Wharf, E16

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Ballymore Group

Location

Number of developments 1

3.70

Average rating based on 82 reviews

View company
Ballymore Group
Number of developments 13

4.07

Average rating based on 278 reviews

View company