Blackhorse Mills, E17

By
Legal & General, Urbanbubble
1st
Ranked 1st out of 12 in Walthamstow
4.49 (32 reviews) 4.49 (32 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.75
Facilities
4.72
Design
4.56
Location
4.28
Value
4.34
Management

Excellent

66%

Very Good

28%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

6%

Blackhorse Mills is more than just a home; it’s a way of life. Somewhere you can feel totally free. To paint the walls, bring your pets, swim in the lido, chill on the roof terrace, work out in the gym, host friends in the dining rooms, stretch in the yoga studio… And a whole lot more besides. 

Overlooking the wilds of Walthamstow Wetlands, yet just 20 minutes to Central London on the Victoria Line from Blackhorse Road station, Blackhorse Mills has nature and city life down.

Whether you’re after seclusion or connection, wildlife or a wild night, E17 is about balance and choice.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£1,615 pcm
26 Brookwell
1 Bed
1 Bath
551 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info
£1,990 pcm
64 Lockworks
2 Bed
2 Bath
755 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info
£2,670 pcm
72 Tideway
3 Bed
2 Bath
1026 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 32 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Incredible and friendly Front of House team – Blackhorse Mills is the best rented accommodation I will ever live in in London.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Beautiful flats with top quality furnishings and finishes. I don’t have a balcony but I have the most gorgeous view of the wetlands that is breathtaking. INCREDIBLE facilities – you will struggle to find this in London (pool, tennis court, gym, common room, private dining room, rooftop, bar area etc).

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love Walthamstow as a community as well as a location – fantastic transport links (Victoria line is incredibly efficient). The area reflects a strong melting pot of cultures where everyone and anyone can fit in, as well as lovely restaurants, parks and beautiful nature reserves.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Really friendly local Blackhorse community/fellow residents who all seem to really love animals – and come together with animals.

What is the best feature of your home:

My view and L-shaped kitchen with modern finishings

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Amber

What an INCREDIBLE review, thank you so much. It was great to read how much you love living at Blackhorse Mills and it sounds like you are really getting the most out it!

Thanks again,

Fab apartments

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

Property management team are the best we’ve come across so far! Facilities are fab and so close to the Victoria Line and Overground too. There are more blocks being built near by but we can’t hear any of the noise, or any of our neighbours too which is good. The design of the apartments are good as well, lots of storage space in a 2 bed and huge balcony. Love all the dogs 🙂

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The street seems good so far, have felt safe walking around during the ray and at night. There’s no parking available but you’re so close to the tube and overground!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Hmm I done my research and asked questions so there wasn’t many things I didn’t know. I guess right now all of the facilities are bookable which might come as a shock to some but this should change post covid.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

There isn’t anything I’d change to be honest. Slightly more kitchen storage maybe!

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Hannah

It was a joy to read your glowing review, thank you so much!

Best wishes,

Robert

Great place to balance life and work

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

Blackhorse Mills is a great development with outdoor heated pool, gym, shared spaces to work in, rooftop terraces, and a tennis courts (tennis court can be difficult to book though). Perfect for balancing working from home or freelancing and taking a cheeky mid afternoon swim. Location allows easy access to city life but with incredible views of the wetlands, feels like your are somewhere else.
Really friendly and helpful 24hr concierge always on hand too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the area! Beautiful surroundings, on the doorstep of Walthamstow Wetlands. Great for walks and cycling trips. Plenty of local shops and independent cafes to visit too. Super easy to get into London, Victoria & Overground line at Black Horse Road & Tottenham Hale not far to walk to.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Soundproofing in some flats seems to be different, could hear every stomp/footsteps from above very clearly and loudly, would go on well late into the night and early morning so we ended up switching flats.

What is the best feature of your home:

The stunning view of the wetlands from our balcony, beautiful sunsets reflected on the water!

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Sophie

It was great to read you are enjoying the local area now everything is back open & totally agree, we’ve got some fantastic options on our doorstep.

Love that you’re enjoying the work-life balance Blackhorse brings also.

I am glad the noise issue has been resolved for you & I hope you continue to enjoy your new apartment.

Kind regards,

Robert

Life @ Blackhorse Mills

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

Blackhorse Mills as a development has a lot going for it – the communal spaces, swimming pool and gym are all easily bookable and can be enjoyed. Unfortunately the tennis courts are always booked out, so I’d like to see some restrictions added to who/how to book those.

As for the actual flats, they are designed modernly and give off a good feel/look. They offer a good amount of storage, and while some of the furniture choices aren’t to my taste, they do fit the style/decor of BHM as a whole. The soundproofing between flats seems to be inconsistent, with some tenants reporting issues and others not – maybe just a case of being unfortunate with who lives above/around you. The views of the wetlands (if you’re lucky enough to have a wetlands facing view) is fantastic but does come with a spider/bug warning!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Blackhorse Mills is pretty well positioned for all transport links and while the development is lacking a few shops at the moment, there are rumours that a pizza place and a coffee shop are coming.

The lack of visitor parking (or even an option to buy/pay by the hour for short term visitation) is a negative, especially for when friends (or in my case, family) tries to visit.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The availability of the flats – admittedly our viewing took place during COVID so we could only view one flat, but it would have been nice to have known what other flats were available – instead we were told that our one was one of a select few, when in fact roughly half the development was vacant around the time we moved in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The staff on the whole are really good – the FoH staff are very much ‘jack of all trades’ and appear to always been relatively rushed off their feet, but do so with a smile. I’ve had good interactions with Anna, Dennis, Derek and Luke too.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Kyle

Thanks for the review!

I am glad you are enjoying all of the amenities and that the changes to the tennis court booking system now mean you are able to enjoy this also.

Great to hear you’ve had good interactions with the team and I am sorry if there was any miscommunication when you moved in.

Kind regards,

Robert

Blackhorse Mills

Review Date May 2021

Amazing design and facilities…
Great staff
Pool
Gym
Pool table
Kids playground
Close to tube and central London
Close to town centre
Close to retail Park
Amazing apartments…

Just missing a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Amazing and friendly team here at Blackhorse Mills, – Luke, Anna and the rest of the team are a great support. Blackhorse Mills is the best rented accommodation I will ever live in in London.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How long the building work is going on next door

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have fixed any issue we had promptly first time

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Charlie

Thank you for your fantastic review & a great shout on the jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room – would be a lovely addition!

Regarding the building work in the surrounding area, unfortunately, covid has caused some delays but the student accommodation on Forest Lane is now complete and of the 2 sites opposite us, one is mostly complete ready for an autumn opening and one has launched the sale of its apartments for completion later in the year.

Great to read the team has been responsive to any issues you’ve had also.

Kind regards,

Robert

Modern and cozy apartment with a great view

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

The apartments have a modern design, with high-quality furniture and great sound and thermal insulation. The ones facing towards the west and south also provide gorgeous views of the wetlands and the city. Overall, the development gives a luxury hotel vibe, with multiple common areas and lounges, both indoors and outdoors, a communal gym, tennis court and swimming pool. The building management team is available throughout the day and does a great job of addressing the residents’ requests. Derek, Anna, Rosa, Delilah, Mike and the whole team have made sure that our stay at BHM has been pleasant and problem-free

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is charming—a lot of greenery and opportunities for long walks. Plenty of breweries nearby, which work as open air bars during the summer. The tube station is close by, which is a big plus, 20 minutes with Victoria Line and you are already in the centre! The only thing missing is parking in front of the building and the surrounding areas. So if you have a car, you need to think about where to park.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are a lot of insects (spiders, mosquitoes etc.) during the warmer days, which makes sense being next to the wetlands.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issues have been addressed in a timely manner by the management

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Maya & Manos

What a brilliant review! It was great to read you’re enjoying life at Blackhorse Mills and we are always on hand for any future requests.

Kind regards,

Robert

Feels home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

The apartments are very good and super comfortable – the thermal insulation is also nice. The building is new and it has all that it is expected from a new building (usb sockets everywhere, efficient home appliances and modern furniture).

The public amenities are incredible. The gym and the tennis court are very good, and the open heated pool is just amazing. Everything is also very well maintained and cleaned.

Despite all of those incredible things I think that what matters the most for me is the staff. They are out of this world. Whenever we need something or we have a question regarding our flat they are very fast and efficient in solving. Luke, Darek, Victoria and (specially) Dennis are outstanding. I really love living here, and they make me feel home.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is very good, with the Wetlands next to the building and a lot of green spaces. The area is also very well connected (the tube station is just 2min from the building).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I didn’t know that there are so many places to run near the wetlands.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

If there is just one thing that I would change I would say just the sound isolation because sometimes we can hear the neighbours.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Carlos

Thank you so much for your kind words about the team, we couldn’t wish for more than that!

Kind regards,

Robert

Blackhorse Mills is Hard to Beat!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

Blackhorse Mills is a lovely, uplifting place to live with outstanding facilities, services and environmental awareness at the heart of it’s ethos.

All staff from management, front of house, to the cleaning & maintenance team and night porters are friendly, professional, extremely helpful and keen to meet tenants’ needs and help create a warm, harmonious community feel. A special shout out to Anna, Darek, Dalila, Roza, Mike and Denis!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent. A few minutes walk from the Victoria line and Overground.

Nice local shops at St James Street and you can see that the area is slowly changing, without losing its original charm.

Very lucky to have the wetlands and marshes on our doorstep, and Epping Forest nearby too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are only a very small of unfurnished apartments at BHM, so if you have your own furniture and want to change apartments sometime down the line, you’ll be a bit limited with choice.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Charging & parking provision for zero emission electric vehicles, which wouldn’t negatively impact on the area of conservation.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Pam

Thank you for capturing the community feel of the development so well and for your kind words about the team!

Kind regards,

Robert

Blackhorse Mills

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

We moved into Blackhorse Mills in September 2020. The rental was really easy to set up, even though we were coming back to London from living abroad. The apartment was exactly like we expected based on the online viewing. We like the open plan living, modern furniture and kitchen facilities. The facilities are good and we mostly use the gym, pool and shared workspace. The neighbours in the development are friendly and we have got to know lots of the dogs and their humans while walking around the area. Management staff are friendly and have been really helpful when extending our lease so we can stay a bit longer!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We love the local area. Our apartment has a beautiful view of the Walthamstow Wetlands. Nearby there are a few parks for walking our dog. Transport links are super easy with Blackhorse Road just around the corner.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Dogs aren’t allowed in Walthamstow Wetlands, but there are lots of other areas to walk including along the canal.

What is the best feature of your home:

Friendly atmosphere, good for dogs and lots of great facilities on site.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Paul

It was really great to read that Blackhorse Mills lived up to your virtual viewing and that you’re enjoying the community aspect of the development!

Kind regards,

Robert

If you can afford it just go for it, is worth

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Love the aesthetics, good facilities and fixtures, people are also friendly.
Just be careful that a recurring cleaning habit is required to keep everything clean, especially the kitchen fixtures. The balconies are great and spacious, overall a really nice place

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great place to live, a bit pricey but all the amenities are great, be careful about the pet license fee to as is a monthly fee. Good proximity to the tube, but the best thing by far is the view!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Pet feeee, is like 35£ a month, found out just before signing

What is the best feature of your home:

View, gym, swimming pool, washing machine and dryer and dishwasher

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Fran

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It sounds like you are really enjoying your apartment and all of the amenities, not forgetting the amazing view!

Kind regards,

Robert

Another level of living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The development has been designed/finished to a high standard with a modern feel and finish throughout the buildings. Building management is good, all public areas are kept clean and tidy. Very convenient having 24hr concierge on site.
Facilities are varied and excited to be able to use them post Covid.
Dennis have been very helpful and accommodating the day we moved in and the whole team are really friendly and welcoming.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Really nice area with lots of lovely walks / bike rides etc. Lots of countryside feel whilst living in the city! Great transport links into the city.
Downfall is no parking on site even though there is empty parking spaces not being used.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish we had of known about the guest passes to the health-club being very limited.

What is the best feature of your home:

Lots of natural light – floor to ceiling window in living area.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Emma

Thank you for the fantastic review and for name-checking Denis for being so helpful and accommodating.

I totally agree with you about the location, it’s such a great balance, the wetlands in particular are a hidden gem!

Thanks also for the feedback in relation to the guest passes, we will make sure this is clearer.

Kind regards,

Robert

On the expensive side, but you get what you pay for!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Amazing modern design, everything is taken care of with attention to detail. We haven’t been able to use swimming pool or gym (because of the lockdown) but Front of House team have been great. A big shout-out to Denis, always available, kind and willing to help.

We look forward to the end of the lockdown to try the swimming pool and the gym 🙂

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Despite being in lockdown, we are having a great time. Very close to the tube, a lot of parks around if you want to go for a stroll or a run. Walthamstow really feels like a community (rare in London!).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

1. The nature around is amazing. We love the parks and the wetlands.
2. Heating with eON is quite expensive and you can’t change provider.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No concerns. We didn’t have much to be fixed, but when we called (or emailed), everything was taken care of in no time.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Salvo

Thank you for the brilliant review!

It was fantastic to read that in spite of the lockdown you were still enjoying life at Blackhorse Mills and I trust you are enjoying all of the facilities now.

Kind regards,

Robert

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Coworking

Coworking

Concierge

Concierge

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Retail on Site

Retail on Site

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Service

Service

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Legal & General
Number of developments 9

4.59

Average rating based on 357 reviews

View company
Urbanbubble
Number of developments 10

4.60

Average rating based on 388 reviews

View company