Blackhorse Mills, E17

By
Legal & General, Urbanbubble
1st
Ranked 1st out of 9 in Walthamstow
4.55 (46 reviews) 4.55 (46 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.80
Facilities
4.65
Design
4.50
Location
4.33
Value
4.39
Management

Blackhorse Mills is more than just a home; it’s a way of life. Somewhere you can feel totally free. To paint the walls, bring your pets, swim in the lido, chill on the roof terrace, work out in the gym, host friends in the dining rooms, stretch in the yoga studio… And a whole lot more besides. 

Overlooking the wilds of Walthamstow Wetlands, yet just 20 minutes to Central London on the Victoria Line from Blackhorse Road station, Blackhorse Mills has nature and city life down.

Whether you’re after seclusion or connection, wildlife or a wild night, E17 is about balance and choice.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£1,615 pcm
26 Brookwell
1 Bed
1 Bath
551 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info
£1,990 pcm
64 Lockworks
2 Bed
2 Bath
755 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info
£2,670 pcm
72 Tideway
3 Bed
2 Bath
1026 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 46 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Blackhorse Mills is Hard to Beat!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

Blackhorse Mills is a lovely, uplifting place to live with outstanding facilities, services and environmental awareness at the heart of it’s ethos.

All staff from management, front of house, to the cleaning & maintenance team and night porters are friendly, professional, extremely helpful and keen to meet tenants’ needs and help create a warm, harmonious community feel. A special shout out to Anna, Darek, Dalila, Roza, Mike and Denis!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent. A few minutes walk from the Victoria line and Overground.

Nice local shops at St James Street and you can see that the area is slowly changing, without losing its original charm.

Very lucky to have the wetlands and marshes on our doorstep, and Epping Forest nearby too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are only a very small of unfurnished apartments at BHM, so if you have your own furniture and want to change apartments sometime down the line, you’ll be a bit limited with choice.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Charging & parking provision for zero emission electric vehicles, which wouldn’t negatively impact on the area of conservation.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Pam

Thank you for capturing the community feel of the development so well and for your kind words about the team!

Kind regards,

Robert

Living in BHM

Review Date Jan 2022

The facilities at BHM are great, with gym, swimming pool, work rooms and more to offer. It has enough places to relax in and change your environment especially if you are working from home. The property management is great, everyone is very friendly, helpful and professional. We have been shown around and introduced to all the amenities and when there has been issues in the flat, they have been urgently resolved. Darek and Dennis are especially great, always ready to help.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A quiet neighbourhood with convenient access to the city via underground, overground and bus. I like the blend between nature, whilst living in a modern build.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Walthamstow is not as far as it looks, easily walkable distance, although I do wish there was a bigger grocery shop around besides co-op.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The urgent issues are always solved promptly. However, the smaller, non-urgent request do take a little bit of time.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Blackhorse Mills, E17
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent facilities management.

Review Date Jan 2022

Facilities management is excellent. Denis does a great job in managing the process. He is responsive and does the follow up that is required without needing to be chased. He communicates well, is polite and thoughtful. He ensured the works were completed with no hassle. Thank you!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We had a broken washer at the flat and I have to say the person who dealt with it — Denis — did an excellent job. He was responsive and followed up with very timely and clear communications. I was both happy and impressed with how Denis resolved the issue.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Outstanding building management: Denis in particular was excellent. He was responsive and managed the process well.

5
Facilities
3
Design
2
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A gem in Waltham Forest

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

We’re really enjoying living in Blackhorse Mills! The front desk staff are always so helpful. Tommy & Darek check in often to see how everything’s going + are always super friendly to residents + visitors alike. Andy in the maintenance team has helped with a number of small issues efficiently + with a smile. There’s currently (Jan 2022) quite a bit of construction around the area, but with the sound-proofing, you rarely hear very much when the windows are shut. The place was spotless when we moved in, and the fact we were able to collect the keys on a Sunday made it even better! The Pool & Gym are great, and we’re really enjoying the local area with Blackhorse Road station a couple of minutes away. There’s a cafe in the complex, a yoga studio, F45, and hopefully a bar + pizza place setting up soon !

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good:
– Staff are great + Friendly
– Location right by the station
– Communal areas are always kept tidy
– Gym has all the latest equipment
– Pool is warm + clean
– Community events, food-trucks every weekend, and more.
– Pet friendly (for a fee)

Bad:
– Very few parking spaces (and ~£200 per month for the ones that are available), and not a lot of parking close-by for guests
– Quite a walk to access the Wetlands, although it’s right next door, it’s nearly a 10 min walk to access the entrance

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

– Very few parking spaces (and ~£200 per month for the ones that are available), and not a lot of parking close-by for guests
– Quite a walk to access the Wetlands, although it’s right next door, it’s nearly a 10 min walk to access the entrance

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes – the team here have been quick with any issues we’ve had and dealt with them professionally

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of  Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of  Blackhorse Mills, E17
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Ayman

Fantastic review, thank you very much!

Great to read you’re enjoying living at Blackhorse and some really insightful points for anyone considering moving here.

All the best,

Robert

Security & Space all in one place

Review Date Jan 2022

Blackhorse Mills provides security, space plus more all in one place. Fob access is granted only to your particular floor there is added security with cctv. With both home living and communal spaces, it provides the perfect blend to be able to work from home and connect with community. The addition of bookable dining rooms also means you can entertain right at home. Not to mention that the wetlands are a short stroll away and a heated pool is available.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The wetlands are just a stroll away and with dedicated cycle lanes and the canals nearby, there’s plenty of open space to live a healthy lifestyle.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Unfortunately you can’t take dogs walking in the wetlands area as it’s a sanctuary for the birds. Saying that, Lloyd Park is a good stroll with an enclosed area and most residents use a local company who will take your dog out to a field for a day to run about in a group.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have not had any issues within my flat, however have always found all staff to be approachable and friendly whenever I have had queries.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jasmine

Thank you for your great review!

There are some really helpful points in there for future residents also.

All the best,

Robert

The best place to live in London!!!

Review Date Dec 2021

We just have good things to say about the development everything is good looking and appears to be good quality.
All the common area is always spotless.
The management is really good everyone is friendly, available and effective to help in all situations we need.
Specially Darek and Tommy who are extra mill care with us. Anna and Salman are very good too.
It has been amazing to living here for these last two months we are feeling very comfortable and happy.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We really like this area. There are plenty of shops and supermarkets near by. There is also a amazing Scottish butcher and fresh fish everyday only 15 minutes walking from our place. The Sunday market is a very good place also near by.
The neighbourhood are very friendly.
We love to walk around the lakes and the canals.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The rooftop.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We just had few things to repair and was done on the same day.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of  Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of  Blackhorse Mills, E17
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your amazing review and stunning pictures! The sunsets are amazing from the rooftop.

Really pleased to read the team have always been on hand to assist you and I’ll be sure to feed this back to them. Great to see you’ve found some local gems to get your meat and fish from also.

All the best,

Robert

Friendly and fancy

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

Great complex with a friendly community and loads of dogs. Staff are friendly and helpful, particularly Tommy who has even looked after our pooch briefly when we really needed someone. Facilities are great, feels like living in a hotel with the pool and tennis courts.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good breweries nearby, not loads of restaurants but more things are opening up in the complex (e.g. pizza place and coffee shop). Transport is excellent.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Dogs aren’t allowed on the wetlands 😭

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The staff always respond promptly to concerns/maintenance issues

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Blackhorse Mills is a lovely, uplifting place to live with outstanding facilities.

Review Date Nov 2021

Blackhorse Mills is a lovely, uplifting place to live with outstanding facilities.
All the staff is amazing. Especially Darek and Anna. Darek is really good at helping us get sorted every step of the way with great friendly service. He help us from the begining.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

All is ok.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Lack of cabinets without shelves.
Lack of space and hangers for outdoor clothes at the entrance.
The refrigerator cools the food badly, until it freezes.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All are serious. We loved to use the common areas and the living rooms

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Alina

It was so nice to read your comment that Blackhorse is “a lovely, uplifting place to live”.

I have also raised a work order for your fridge issue in case it is still playing up.

Fantastic to hear the team have been looking after you so well also and thank you for the valuable feedback in relation to the cabinets and space for hangers.

All the best,

Robert

We love living at Blackhorse Mills!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

Spacious flats, great in-built storage areas.

Beautiful view, looking at the Wetlands from many different accessible angles.

Very clean, modern and stylish, high quality interior design in both the flats and communal area.

The communal areas are huge, with various locations where you can always find both of your quiet or socialising needs.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great area.
Super close to the tube station.
Unfortunately, there are limited parking spaces available thus it is difficult to have guests parking nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Difficult to book dinning room because it is always super busy.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management team here is always very helpful with positive attitude.

So far, any request that we’ve made were quickly resolved.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Loving it here!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

So far I am loving living here, it has everything I need and more and have to remind myself to actually leave sometimes!
Luke and Anna were so patient with me with my millions of questions before moving in which was incredibly helpful. Since moving in, everyone has been so accommodating, kind and helpful and everyone I’ve met so far super friendly. It does really feel like a community! Tommy is always to help and Luke has gone above and beyond to make sure my experience has been the best it could be. I recently had a heating issue and that was fixed super fast.

My flat is so silent and peaceful and I love having a view of the water. The outdoor pool was so warm and relaxing to swim in on a very cold day!! I have no complaints and very happy here so far. 🙂

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location of Blackhorse Mills is amazing. Such a quick walk to and from the station making every journey so much quicker and on the super speedy Victoria line! Also really good at night as it’s not far to walk back if you are on your own which was a requirement for me to feel safe. It’s also so silent here in the day and night which is bliss! The local Co-op isn’t amazing for being well stocked but I can get past that with everything else being so good. There are lots of lovely coffee shops to choose from too!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More parking options for friends and family would be amazing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

When raised, I had a really fast response and my issue was fixed.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great option for a 2 dorms long stay

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

Goods: Apartment quality, great support staff, great water view, PET FRIENDLY was my main positive characteristic
Cons: Heating is not very effective and it is difficult to setup a standard program to let this working, have a huge spider invasion in the windows.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Goods: quiet, cozy and intimist
Cons: Walthamstow is a little limited, need more shops and supermarkets & pubs

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bad: Spider invasion is massive on the windows.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very quick and focused, I only had to contact the front office and they gave me the directions

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17
User submitted image of Blackhorse Mills, E17

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Coworking

Coworking

Concierge

Concierge

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Retail on Site

Retail on Site

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Service

Service

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Legal & General
Number of developments 9

4.62

Average rating based on 440 reviews

View company
Urbanbubble
Number of developments 9

4.63

Average rating based on 456 reviews

View company