West Sussex

West Sussex is a county that has something for everyone. Whether you love the hustle and bustle of London and want somewhere in easy commuting distance, or prefer the peace and tranquillity of rural life, West Sussex has it all! There are many different towns and villages scattered across this beautiful county. From Eastbourne to Worthing, there is no shortage of charming little places with great schools, shopping centres, local amenities and lots more!

4.43
Average Location Score

Excellent

56%

Very Good

32%

Average

11%

Disappointing

1%

Very Poor

0%

Best places to live in West Sussex

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

Chichester outdoor museum

Where is West Sussex?

West Sussex is located in the south of England, bordering Hampshire to the north, Surrey and Kent to the east, and East Sussex to the south. It is a large county, measuring almost 900 square miles!

Areas in West Sussex

There are many different areas in West Sussex that prospective home buyers might be interested in. Here is a brief overview of some of the most popular:

The South Downs Area – this area is over 500 square miles and stretches all the way from Hampshire to Eastbourne. It has some beautiful countryside, rolling hills and plenty of spectacular views on offer! There are many quaint villages within its boundaries as well as picturesque market towns such as Midhurst.

Eastbourne – Eastbourne is situated on the south coast of England near Brighton. It has beautiful beaches with wonderful views over the English Channel, popular day trips out including historical sites such as Beachy Head & Birling Gap or castles like Bodiam Castle.

 

Chichester Cathedral

Worthing – Worthing is the largest town in West Sussex. It has a wonderful beach, plenty of shopping opportunities along its high street and lots of events & shows taking place throughout the year. The town is also home to Pallant House Gallery which houses an extensive collection of artwork by modern British artists.

Universities in West Sussex

West Sussex is home to a number of universities, including:

The University of Sussex – Located in Brighton, the University of Sussex is a highly respected university with over 12,000 students. The university specialises in a number of areas, including social sciences, law, business & management and the arts.

The University of Chichester – With campuses in the city of Chichester and nearby Bognor Regis, the University of Chichester offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses in a range of subjects, including arts, humanities, business & management, sciences and sport.

Brighton & Sussex Medical School – One of the most well regarded medical schools in the UK, Brighton & Sussex Medical School is a joint venture between the University of Sussex and the University of Brighton.

Top Schools in West Sussex

Countryside in West Sussex

There are also a number of top schools located in the county, including:

The Weald School (Horsham) – A state school for boys and girls aged from 11 to 18, the Weald has a reputation for excellence and regularly features in top national school league tables.

Steyning Grammar School (Steyning) – A former specialist Arts College, the school also places emphasis on STEM subjects such as maths, science and technology to ensure students are well equipped with key skills needed by employers.

Forest School (Worthing) – A co-educational, non-selective school that takes pupils from the ages of four to 18. Forest School is one of the UK’s most eco-friendly schools, with an onsite lake and woodland area.

Kitebrook School (Ascot) – An independent day school for girls aged three to 18 years old that aims to prepare students for their future lives as successful women. The school also offers boarding facilities for pupils who live out of the area.

Population of West Sussex

West Sussex is home to a population of just over 900,000 people. While the south and east of the county are more densely populated, there are plenty of rural areas in West Sussex, which are popular with families because of the low crime rates and excellent schools.

 

Reviews in West Sussex

Write a Review

Very very poor customer service.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

Town centre location

Please review your development:

I have lived here for a couple of years and the quality of service and support and customer service has quite frankly collapsed. Platform do not seem to grasp the notion of customer service at all. My digital aerial has not been working in my apartment for over 4 months now and nothing is being done . The concierge are just as useless as they cannot tell me when it will be fixed. To add insult to injury we have sporadic days of having no hot water and when maintenance was being done outside my window at 7 YES 7am they didn’t even inform me about it. Now they have just increased my rent by £80!!!They are providing a terrible service and want me to pay more. If you are thinking of moving here DO NOT. Once again DO NOT live here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I just wish I had never moved in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The management gave me a fire stick but it’s completely useless as anything decent on it you have to pay extra for..

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great community

Review Date Aug 2022

Forge Wood is a lovely, family friendly area with some lovely walks, children’s play areas and fields close by. It is quiet, clean and an amazing place to be during holidays – Christmas, Halloween, bonfire night etc. The whole community gets together and the area looks incredible. There is an outstanding school on Forge woods doorstep within walking distance as well as multiple nurseries and pre-schools. Tesco express is a 4 minute drive away and the number 3 bus runs from healthy farm pub every 30 minutes to three Bridges Station (takes 8 mins) and Gatwick airport. It’d be great if it was more regular however! But great and easy links to London and for holidays abroad!
There still isn’t a small Tesco or shops close by but apparently they will be built by the end of this year. Including a community centre.

Please review your development:

Most of the houses in forge Wood look good, some better than others. The 4-5 bedrooms look like they have more character. But like all new build homes they’re very square and there’s nothing unique about the bedrooms. From speaking to neighbours, there was a lot of issues with snagging which took years for Persimmon to come and repair. We’ve been in our house over 3 years and ours still aren’t finished. You can tell some/most jobs are rushed or haven’t been finished to the highest standard. Houses are fitted wit the most basic/cheap appliances which break a lot. We’ve had to replace most of ours. Persimmon are not good to get hold of and even worse at getting things fixed. But aside from that I’m very happy here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Inspect EVERYTHING. From behind the sink to the gutters and the loft. Get a professional to come in and check the house before you buy or straight after. Also if you want the developer to do anything. Even if it’s to fix a broken sink (snagging) chase and chase some more until they come and do it.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There’s been what feels like hundreds of emails and phone calls over the last 3 years trying to get them to come and fix issues with the house. Management has changed a lot and we’ve had to do so much chasing to get things fixed. Look after your buyers and the houses!

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A good place to be part of.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

Good public transportation connections via Metrobus ( just few yards away from the building) and National Railway just minutes away. Lots of pubs and restaurants in the vicinity. Downside is that at times some of the patrons of the nearby restaurants and pubs keep forgetting that The Boulevard is not just a street but a residential area and screaming and singing at 03:00 AM ain’t that much appreciated. Other than that , overall it’s a good place to be.

Please review your development:

Building management has improved recently, which we consider is a HUGE plus. Facilities are in good condition ( highlighting the gym and lounge areas ) cleaned and tidied up regularly. Overall, there’s always room for improvement but as mentioned before the management approach has significantly changed for the better so let’s hope that the good work to make this establishment a wonderful place continues.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Noise at night during the summer period if apartments windows are kept open.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Recently very effective and efficiently in a very very timely manner.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Building was clearly built to a tight budget.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

There are no local shops, bars etc.

Please review your development:

There is a BBQ area which we are not allowed to use, health & safety. A very small gym with a very limited area to use. David does his best with any maintenance related problems. Building was clearly built to a tight budget.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were told there would be on site stores, 5 years down the line still nothing. The team don’t seem to do much in ways of helping tenants, they just pass on any problems. Told construction was going on for 12-18 months, still ongoing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are reviewed and acknowledged, but are contracted out to external team who are not accommodating and takes a long to complete.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report