Borough of Lewisham

Lewisham lies just a few miles south-east of Central London. A borough given a little more than just a fresh coat of paint in recent years. In fact, this area has seen plenty in the way of renovation. Including, a transformation of the town centre and a brand-new riverside park. As such, it moved at lightning-speed into the ‘up-and-comer’ category a couple of years back. Then, in the blink of an eye, it became highly sought-after, courtesy of its affordable homes and fantastic transport links. Read on to discover developments that are rated the best places to live in Lewisham. In addition, read reviews from residents who own or rent in Lewisham.

4.56
Average Location Score

Excellent

65%

Very Good

27%

Average

7%

Disappointing

1%

Very Poor

1%

Best places to live in Borough of Lewisham

HomeViews Top Rated Development ranking takes into account the Star Rating and HomeViews Transparency Rating of every development in the area

Street Art

Cutting-edge bars and eateries

It might come as a surprise, but Lewisham embodies the sort of hipster cool more readily associated with places like Shoreditch and Hackney. The vibrant high streets are full of independent cafés, brunch pop-ups, and pocket-sized restaurants serving the A to Z of cuisines. After dark, there are lively pubs with on-stage happenings every weekend, plus a good clutch of nightclubs. One of the area’s most popular night-time haunts is Model Market, a street food fiesta that kicks off around 5pm on Fridays and Saturdays and goes on until late. Lip-smacking, around-the-world flavours here include succulent Argentinian meats, fiery Jamaican jerk chicken and thin and crispy Neapolitan pizzas.

New flats in Lewisham

Lewisham’s shopping scene

Lewisham’s daytime markets are just as good, and include Lewisham Farmers’ Market, Brockley Market, and Lewisham Open Market. Fresh flowers? Charcuterie? Pillow-soft donuts? All here. And if you’re more into high street brands, there’s a shopping mall in the middle of town packed with household names like M&S, Next and H&M.

Lewisham skyline at night

Lewisham residents

Lewisham’s residents are spirited and diverse. Artsy types are flocking to the Deptford district. Families favour the roomy period homes in the Ladywell area, where’s there’s also a good supply of picnic and playing space thanks to Ladywell and Hilly Fields. Young professionals, meanwhile, love Lewisham Gateway – a regenerated neighbourhood of contemporary apartments, right by Lewisham DLR Station (direct links to London Bridge, Canary Wharf and Bank). All great places to rent in Lewisham. There’s also a number of students in the area, living in converted Victorian and Edwardian flats. Thanks to Goldsmiths, University of London in New Cross, there’s real demand here for accommodation for pupils – something worth remembering for those looking to invest.

Verdicts from HomeViews reviewers…
“Area is a Mecca for families and young couples given it’s good value and zone 3 location. Good cafes and small local shops around, though a little more limited in number compared to other areas. Zone 3 location with regular services to London Central stations.”

“If you’re a foodie, don’t miss Model Market, a night-time street food extravaganza. It’s also really easy to reach the renowned Greenwich Park from Lewisham. Wander the flower and herb gardens, stop for tea and cake at the Pavilion Café, and soak up the scenery from one of London’s best viewpoints.”

“Artsy, fun-loving Deptford (is) a south-east pocket of London packed with restaurants, bars and galleries. It’s close to historical Greenwich and foodie-haven Bermondsey, and has great transport links for getting further afield.”

You can find out more about living in the area by reading reviews from residents. Click on the developments below to find out more about residents’ experiences and also, to discover the best places to live and rent in Lewisham. Moreover, If there’s a property that you can’t see on HomeViews,  you can add a new listing and leave your review here.

Reviews in Borough of Lewisham

Write a Review

It was quite a seamless and beautiful moving in experience.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2024

Moving in and living here is quite amazing with easy access to train, bus stations and different supermarkets which are a walking distance

Please review your development:

The property is well designed with inclusion of recreational amenities that are well equipped.This is an added advantage as you have different activities that also improve your mental wellbeing.The building is quite beautiful, accessible,well maintained and the staff are quite professional and friendly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The latest changes to the car entry route where I found some newly installed barriers but got additional assistance to enable entry.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they have quite professionally. I highly commend Emma for her assistance from the moment of enquiry upto move in and Daniel at the concierge for his assistance during move in day and orientation into the building

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Rose,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and all your kind words.

The whole team at Bale & Anchor are absolutely delighted and very much grateful to you for the positive experience you attest to have received at Bale and Anchor. Including Emma and Daniel who were especially delighted by your most kind note directed to them.

Your review truly reflects the service standards and high-level experiences we all at Bale & Anchor work and strive to deliver everyday to ensure our community receive the greatest residential experiences in the market, and that those are delivered in professionally and differentiated manner.

It is our great pleasure to have you at Bale & Anchor and as member of our treasured residential community!

Thank you!

Poor operations and management!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2024

The area directly surrounding the flats is OK as it’s nice and modern, however when you walk to the dlr the streets are dirty. Lewisham centre is OK and convenient having shops such as Boots and M&S nearby.

Please review your development:

– For some reason tenants have to submit meter readings to concierge via WhatsApp. Homebox (the 3rd party bills provider) also asks for meter readings. Why on earth must the tenant do this twice? I have never experienced this when renting
– The second communal door does not work, meaning if you have guests or a delivery you need to go downstairs to let them in. Far from ideal
– Good luck receiving responses from concierge and management if you have a problem. They are so slow with emails and concierge only respond to WhatsApp when they are requesting or chasing meter readings!
– The bills are extremely overpriced as managed through a third party, you can’t go direct to the supplier. This is extremely annoying and unfair on tenants during a cost of living crisis. On top of this, the heaters in the flats are poor during winter so it definitely isn’t worth the money
-Water pressure in the kitchen sink is ridiculously high – not sure if this is a common issue or not
– When moving out they tried to tell me that the deposit release would take around 3 weeks. Legally this isn’t allowed, so I am not sure why they were advising this in the first place
-Overall for the money, you are better off getting a flat in a more established development for peace of mind (and a lower price). Personally i won’t be going near an urbanbubble property again. I just wish I had read reviews on google first!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The sky-high electricity bills through an external company (Homebox). Also the fact that the second communal door does not work so you have to go and collect visitors from downstairs if you have deliveries/guests!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Concierge never respond. They just view your WhatsApp and ignore it. The only time they respond is when they are chasing for meter readings. Good luck sending emails to them too, they don’t respond until you chase 2-3 times.

1
Facilities
3
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear former resident,

We are sorry that you were discontent with some of the services supplied at B&A.

However, please be assured that the addressed points have been duly noted and the whole team at Bale & Anchor will keep working diligently to deliver the high standard of services and differentiated residential experiences that our residential communities expect from us.

All our residents are duly informed of all in-house services and operating protocols established at Bale & Anchor. Beyond that, we are always available to clarify on any queries that our existent residents, or indeed putative (pre-tenancy) residents, present to us. In fact, it our great pleasure and duty to do so.

Additionally, all our residents receive a fully elaborated and comprehensive Welcome Pack as part of our residents onboarding process where all our operating service delivery processes are stated.

We have an elaborate and rather efficient communicating system with all our residents via different available channels and CRM tools and we have no record of related complaints.
Despite that, we assure all our residents that we do re-assess team and services efficiency output periodically as a systematic operating practice, and will keep working to consistently improve systems and processes that benefit our residents’ service experience at Bale & Anchor.

The internal communal Door/area you mentioned has been set as such per original design to ensure that no unauthorised access into the residential and amenities’ areas take place.

Our residents safety and security are at the top of our priorities and we are sorry that you have interpreted such structural design in different manner.

Wishing you all the best!

Thank you.

Very happy tenants. Would not have left if not for relocating for work

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2024

Pros:
-Excellent central London location with great train and bus connectivity. London City Airport is also very close by via DLR.
– The Southeastern trains that serve Lewisham station run very frequently and getting to work in the morning has never been an issue.
– The DLR is extremely useful to get to Bank, Canary Wharf, London City Airport, Greenwich, Woolwich Arsenal etc. The trains are very frequent ( 3-5mins) and they originate from Lewisham.
– There is no resident car parking for this building. If you do own a car there are many parking spots available for rent in the area on various parking apps like Parklet or JustPark. That said there are 4 parking spaces for servicing the building and the property managers were very helpful in reserving that space for us for removal services and other contractor visits. It was hassle free.
– Open spaces are adequate considering the central location. There is a small lawn in front of the apartment which is great if you have a dog. There is also a fairly big patch of green just 2mins walk away near Lewisham Glass Mill Leisure Centre. Blackheath is about 10-15mins walk away and if you go a bit further then you’d reach Greenwich park. You can either walk or take Bus 380 from Lewisham to get to Greenwich park in less than 15mins.
– There aren’t many options for restaurants and bars in the area. There is Maggie’s which serves breakfast and Payiz Mediterranean restaurant which are both across the street. There are a few takeaway outlets in and around Lewisham shopping centre which is a 5mins walkaway. But with train station just in front of the building, you could pretty much go anywhere.
– Bin collections: There is a bin room in the ground floor which has separate refuse and recycling bins for us to drop of garbage bags. Collections have never been affected as far as I can remember and the place is kept clean.
– Anti-social behaviour – Lewisham has had it share of it being a central London area as we see from the news but we never had any issue living here. The building is access controlled via an intercom with camera and any visitors/ delivery persons need to get through two such doors before reaching the lift that leads to apartments. The concierge and office are staffed by lovely Tyrra and Jonathan during working hours and there is a security guard after hours. In our experience the immediate neighbourhood has been safe, always well lit and we used to take the dog out at night often without running into any issues. It is also great that the building is right next to the station so if you arrive by train you can easily be inside your building in an instant.
There are also secure storage lockers for receiving deliveries that was a life saver!

Traffic noise- Can expect ambulance /police sirens but one gets used to it. We were on the 8th floor and traffic noise was not a problem. When we moved in two years ago there was a lot of construction noise from the new development next door but that settled down as that project is now almost complete.

Shopping- There is a Tesco superstore just across the street which has been a blessing. There are a few big outlets like M&S and Boots in Lewisham Shopping Centre which is a few minutes walk away.

Please review your development:

There is nothing special to say about design- most of the built-to-rent apartments look so similar. I have to say it was reasonably spacious for a 1 bedroom flat in central London. Ours was unfurnished and we bought Ikea furniture which fit in well with the modern and minimalist aesthetic of the apartment. They have made good use of the space available with household appliances that are sleek and fit in well without taking too much space.

The building and property management is easily the best we have seen in our ten years of renting apartments. We will miss living in such a well managed apartment. Tyrra and Jonathan have been very proactive and always warm and approachable. They have been very responsive whenever we have had to contact them and we have always gotten solutions to our issues. As with any big development, there is maintenance work and other servicing tasks like window washings, boiler inspections etc that happen and we were always kept up to date with everything that was happening and everything used to get done right on time. The property is well-kept and the common areas area always clean and tidy.

I have to mention the regular social events like breakfasts and sporting events telecast which are organized them- this was the first apartment that we have lived where they tried so seriously to bring the residents together in such social events and bring a sense of community. We only managed to attend very few due to our shift work pattern. But this was the first apartment that we rented where we ended up knowing everyone else who lives on the floor and a few others in the building!

The building is dog-friendly and they go out of their way to make pets feel welcome! Personally this was the best part of living here as we had a puppy. There is a lawn just behind the building if you quickly need to take your dog outside or for a short walk. The reception area is always stocked with poo-bags and tushie wipes for any accidents and there is always dog /cat treats and toys kept in the reception. And of course, always a bowl of water as well! During summers they even gave away free dog ice -creams to passing resident pets. We cannot express how thankful we are to Tyrra and Jonathan for such extensive measures that made pets and pet parents feel so welcome. We doubt if we will ever get to rent in such a pet-welcoming environment.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It is a great place public transport connectivity wise. We had to travel all over London for work and there was always a good route to get wherever we wanted to go from Lewisham. Maintaining a car is difficult- no parking available with building. We have to rent spaces nearby at additional cost. While there are many spots available, it can get quite expensive. Morning traffic can be very bad in the Lewisham area if you are driving and will always need to budget additional time to avoid running late.

Lovely management – we have relocated outside the city for work reasons and this is the part we miss the most!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Always quick to act on any issues raised. We received timely communications and maintenance works were done on time. Whenever routine issues arose, we were always kept informed of progress and they were rectified in good time.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

All good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2024

Close to the station and easy to walk into town. No free parking but guess that’s a planning permission thing

Please review your development:

Super clean with friendly staff, easy to chat to everyone and get problems solved quickly.
Concierge and Joe especially go the extra mile to keep things running smoothly.
Simple design with good outdoor space, gym and social space will be great when finished

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Train noise can sometimes be overwhelming which means windows and external doors need closing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, super quick resolution to anything raised. All done friendly and efficiently.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear resident,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and all your kind words.

The whole team at Bale & Anchor are absolutely delighted and very much grateful to you for the positive experience you attest to have received at Bale and Anchor.

This truly reflects the service standards and high-level experiences we all at Bale & Anchor work and strive to deliver everyday to ensure our community receive the greatest residential experiences in the market, and that those are delivered in professionally and differentiated manner.

It is our great pleasure to have you at Bale & Anchor!

With kind regards,