Wardian London, E14

By
EcoWorld, Ballymore Group
3rd
Ranked 3rd out of 24 in Canary Wharf
4.51 (117 reviews) 4.51 (117 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.62
Facilities
4.70
Design
4.78
Location
4.26
Value
4.30
Management

Wardian London is a unique residential development from EcoWorld and Ballymore. The development offers Studio – Penthouse apartments. Additionally, these are all close to Canary Wharf’s Jubilee line, DLR, and London City Airport. Furthermore, residents will have access to a cinema, a pool and a gym, as well as other facilities.

Read more Read less
Wardian London, E14 Available Properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
From £616,000
ballymore
Studio Apartment
0 Bed
1 Bath
389 sq ft
Ballymore
More info
From £700,500
1 Bedroom Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
548 sq ft
Ballymore
More info
From £1,042,750
2 Bedroom Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
845 sq ft
Ballymore
More info
£1,850,000
Penthouse Apartment
2 Bed
3 Bath
1268 sq ft
Ballymore
More info

Wardian London, E14 Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 114 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Like living in a tropical paradise

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

The facilities are amazing, top notch especially the outdoor pool. I feel like I am on a topical holiday. Love the greens in the development. Sky bar is the perfect place for chilling with friends with amazing views and drink menu. Reception area is just wowww. Views on high floors are amazing. Built quality is good and aftercare is responsive. I am very happy living here. I have viewed all new buildings in canary wharf (sqp, Landmark Pinnacle and one park drive 2 bedroom etc) and ultimately decided to buy at Wardian. Mainly because of its huge balcony (a huge unique selling point) and first class facilities and sky bar.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Extremely convenient and safe. You don’t need to go beyond canary wharf to get everything you need!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If you are a very light sleeper, DLR noise can be annoying but it is a problem across developments around South quay. Once you close the windows you can barely hear, but still a tiny bit of noise.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very responsive and helpful. Nothing to complain about, which is rare for a huge development!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Kaylie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an excellent review, it means a lot to the entire team to know that residents are happy at Wardian.

It’s great to see that you are making the most of the amenity spaces and I hope you have been enjoying some of the events we have been holding in the Observatory bar and the cinema.

Should you ever have any issues or suggestions, please raise a ticket via the app and the relevant member of the team will get back to you as soon as they can.

Kind regards,
Curtis Bannister-Pond
Residential Services Manager

points of improvement

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2023

Design and facilities are great
Management side could be improved – the cinema has spent a long time out of use lately and throughout the year and I have been unable to use it since moving in April 2021 (my one booking was overridden for a sports booking without informing me). The pool has also spent a long time out of use and this should be dealt with more promptly.
The staff at the Wardian are all very pleasant and polite.
The handle to the Hobart building entrance is also slightly loose and moves when pulled which should be looked in to if not flagged. I believe there is a similar issue with the door to the Observatory.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good location
Transport links strong
Parking is now difficult for quick stops at the Wardian to drop off items for the flat etc which is a pain

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew more about the potential downtime of key facilities

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

N/a – I have not had to flag issues but I have spoken to the concierge on a number of occasions to query when issues will finally be resolved.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear JH,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an in-depth review, it is much appreciated and very useful.

We understand your frustrations with some facilities being out of order which sometimes are for a little longer than expected and would like to offer some explanation as to why this is.

As Wardian is such a new building, the majority of the equipment used in our facilities falls under warranty, which means that when an issue arises we are required to follow up with the companies that installed each piece of equipment, to carry out investigations before a solution can be offered.
As a result, the process to resolve an issue can take longer than we would like, however, it is essential to ensure that the service charge is not negatively impacted the appropriate providers are engaged with. Please be assured that we work to ensure our service providers keep lead times as short as possible.

Following the warranty period, resolution times for any issues should be much quicker. Moving forward, should you have any concerns, or issues to raise, please raise a ticket on Wardian Life for the and the relevant will get back to you as soon as they can.

Kind regards,

Curtis Bannister-Pond
Residential Services Manager

Wonderful management team

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

The management is very helpful. Rodrigo has been excellent in addressing any issues that were brought up along side coming up with solutions in a a timely manner. He was also very professional and accommodating! Overall, most concierges are also good at answering any questions or concerns.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There’s a lot to do in the area, most facilities are at a walking distance. The transport is also super close.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I’ve recently started using the amenities at the building, i think I would’ve used them a lot more right from the beginning if there was a property tour done during the viewing but I was given one once I moved in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The management team is wonderful… they are quick with communicating through email, phone or in person regarding any issues and follow up with solutions.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Anu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a positive review of your experience at Wardian.

It is great to see that you are pleased with the building and the service being delivered.

Should you ever have any queries or concerns, please do not hesitate to raise a ticket via Wardian Life, where a relevant member of the team will get back to you as soon as they can.

Kind regards,

Curtis Bannister-Pond
Residential Services Manager

Excellent despite shortcomings

Review Date Nov 2022

Building is very beautiful and generally of very high quality. A few stupid mistakes such as lack of parking, too shallow pool, badly utilised basement spaces etc. management company is unfortunately of bad reputation for raising service charges and costs as they please. Staff very good and friendly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location, excellent building and design. Beautiful
Terrible lack of parking, not even for guests or short dropoffs.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Ballymores reputation elsewhere for raising management fees arbitrarily

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, the reception staff do a great job of helping.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear EU,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.

We appreciate your comments regarding the availability of parking at Wardian. Due to the design of the building, and the size of the plot, parking space at Wardian is very limited, however, this space has been maximised by the installation of state-of-the-art car stacker systems.

Although this does not give us the function to be able to offer guest parking, it has certainly made the most of the available space.

It is great to hear that you are happy with the concierge team and the services being offered by onsite staff, as this s something we pride ourselves on and are always looking at ways to improve and enhance our resident experience.

As always, should you have any queries or concerns, please raise a ticket via Wardian Life, or visit the concierge desk for assistance.

Kind regards,

Curtis Bannister-Pond
Residential Services Manager

Loving the Wardian experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The building has very modern design, which manages to make everyone feel at home – not an easy accomplishment. The facilities offer very good working spaces, an amazing rooftop bar, gym, pool, sauna and a cinema. Above all, the 24h building management has vorher most friendly and helpful people, which really made THE difference for me personally. Especially Rodrigo consistently makes an extra effort to be of the best help for everybody and sort out any issues as quick as possible.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Are is perfectly situated in between a vast selection of supermarkets and places. In addition, the transport links and the way to those are perfect, as it’s a lovely walk across a bridge, so you get to see the water every morning. Transport consists of DLR, Jubilee and Elizabeth line, which will get you anywhere fast.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Two areas that would be an amazing improvement: 24h gym opening times and at a guest parking spot when needed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management is very helpful and genuinely concerned, when any issue is raised and will do their very best to sort those out as quick as possible. The kindness and reliability they display is invaluable. As mentioned before, Rodrigo really rises to the occasion when anything comes up, which is a rare thing these days.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Wardian London, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an in-depth and positive review, it really is appreciated.

I’m very glad to hear that you are having such a positive experience at Wardian, and we will do our utmost to ensure that this continues!

Please do be sure to raise a ticket on Wardian Life should you ever have issues or would like to provide feedback, and the relevant member of the management team will get back to you.

Kind regards,
The Wardian Management Team

The staff at the wardian are exceptional

Review Date Oct 2022

The design is great, the gym and spa facilities are amazing and the gym staff are always supportive and happy to help with any enquiry

The concierge are great too always attentive and make sure to make you feel comfortable

The security dona great job in monitoring the doors and welcoming you on arrival or departure, they have a strong presence and always are polite
Shah has gone above and beyond for me in some cases and I really appreciate that from him

Thank you to him and the wardian team

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent shops like Tesco, Asda & the Canary Wharf shopping centre
Lovely restaurants from nandos to guacho
Great transport links train stations, bus stops and driving routes

Downside is you can hear developments and demolitions of buildings around you 6 days a week in the morning

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be aware of the development around the area
Great travel connections

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I had a problem with my light under the cupboard it was fixed but happen again

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Kk,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such an in-depth review, it really is much appreciated.

It’s great to hear that your experience at Wardian is so positive and that the team are matching your expectations with an excellent level of service.

Just to clarify, the onsite management team are not responsible for any issues that within your apartment, it is advised that you contact the Aftercare team, who are best placed to assist.

Should you ever have any suggestions or concerns, please do not hesitate to raise a ticket via Wardian Life and the relevant member of the team will get back to you.

Kind regards,
Curtis Bannister-Pond
Residential Services Manager

A children friendly development

Review Date Oct 2022

This is the only building with wraparound balconies with amazing views. Great for families with children as they have everything in one building – gymn, sauna, jacuzzi, pool, Cinema, Lounge, meeting rooms, working area. The children play facilities are very well!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The good thing about living in a financial district is that it is quiet on the weekends. Great for families with children.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Some of my friends are scared of hights. So they cannot really enjoy the view from the Skybar!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Rodrigo, the concierge is very resourceful and friendly! He solves everything!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. It is great to hear that you are having such a positive experience with us at Wardian.

Should you ever have any issues or suggestions, please raise a ticket via Wardian Life and the relevant member of the team will get back to you.

Kind regards,
Curtis Bannister-Pond
Residential Services Manager.

the wonderful wardian

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

The wardian is a beautiful place to live no doubt. There is a huge sense of community here and the amenities are amazing. The only problem really is the length of time it has and is still taking to management to finally finish the building to the standard promises. Ie, the park is still to be opened which we are almost 2 years into now. This is the final thing tho. The rest is amazing.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is perfect. In the heart of Canary Wharf, transport options for tube or DLR are great. Close to mall and loads of bars and restaurants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The squeaking noice from living inside a high rise when it is very windy!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Usually very fast to respond and can manage on the app. Local on site properly management

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear J RD,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, it really is appreciated. The level 2 podium area is still not open as the management team have not accepted handover of this space. The reason for this is that there a couple of adjustments that need to be made in order make safe this space.

We hope to have this work completed before the end of the year and this space will come to life. Thank you for your ongoing patience while we get the issues with this space rectified.

Should you have any issues or suggestions please raise a ticket via the app and the relevant member of the team will get back to you as soon as they can.

Kind regards,
Curtis Bannister-Pond
Residential Services Manager

Great building, great area, great connections

Review Date Apr 2022

The building is really well designed, with the finishings of a really high standard. The communal areas, such as the lobby, lifts, corridors, and mail room are really well designed and functional spaces. The attention to detail and the environmentally conscious nature of the design is a really great feature and means you can live somewhere great without compromising your ethical / environmental values.

The facilities continue on from this theme of good design. The gym and pool have really excellent facilities, with modern equipment, in a way that makes the space nicer to exercise in than a regular gym. The observatory (roof bar/club) is the perfect space to meet neighbours for drinks, and the view of London particularly at night is breathtaking. You can see the Olympic Park, Central London, the O2, Maritime Greenwich and much more from the roof while enjoying a great cocktail.

The building is really well managed, and residents receive updates on maintenance, issues, events, and reminders via the Wardian App. This app is our one stop shop to book spaces, register for events, register vehicles and guests, and contact the concierge for items. It also helpfully alerts you when a package is ready to collect from the Post Room. Maintenance is frequently preformed and the building is frequently cleaned by a really great team.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is a great selection of local bars, shops, and restaurants in Canary Wharf (less than 5 minutes away). Within 10 minutes there are 4 large supermarkets (Waitrose, M&S, Tesco Metro, and Asda) as well as several Tesco Express and Coop stores.

The transport links are great, we have access to the DLR, Jubilee Line and Crossrail/Elizabeth Line (when it opens later this year). Additionally, there are several local buses to different parts of the area, access to eScooters and Bike Sharing Schemes, and we’re a 6 minute ride from the Cycleway (CS3) linking us to Bank and Westminster in the West and Canning Town and Barking in the East. The addition of cycle parking in the building, and lots of local bike parking makes cycling an attractive transport option.

The pier is a 10 minute walk, particularly useful for getting into the city during a strike on the tube (have personally used it a few times in the last 6 months). And the road network is good making it easy to access major roads such as the A12 and A13 to get to the M11/M25 in about 30 minutes.

The local area is nice, but there is a lot of construction which can cause a bit of noise and air pollution. But the working hours are usually between 08:00 and 18:00 Mon-Fri so it’s not an issue all of the time. Once the building is complete, the local area will be a lot more pleasant, and help ease local traffic.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how much could be managed digitally, and all the facilities we have access too. We didn’t realise there was so much on offer.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We’re able to have maintenance issues resolved quickly and it’s easy to raise a request if we need to. So far we’ve had very few issues and requests have just been to change the meter to a smart meter.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Wardian London, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear L J,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an in-depth and positive review, it really is appreciated.

It is great to hear that you are making the most of the facilities and are attending some of the events we have been offering and we are pleased to know that you are happy with the service being provided by our team.

We are always looking for ways to improve so if you ever have any suggestions or issues, please log these via Wardian Life and a member of the team will get back to you as soon as they can.

Kind regards,

Curtis Bannister-Pond
Residential Services Manager

Wardian, best development in London

Review Date Apr 2022

The units are amazing, finished to the highest standards. Great size with huge balcony space. Facilities are second to none and run by a friendly and competent management and front of house team.

Location is convenient to the wharf and transport links. Parking available is the underground stacker system.

Highly recommended to anyone who wants to live and work around the wharf.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

High spec finish and appliances in the flat. Massive balcony. Great location. Convenient car park. Excellent team. Communal facilities are by far the best I and any of my guests have seen in uk and Singapore.
Only thing I don’t like is the door from the second bedroom into the living room. Completely pointless and lose space because of it.

Whilst it noise is an issue when it’s very windy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Upstairs bar was great especially with the dog but annoyingly dogs have recently been banned.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very responsive. App is very useful and convenient

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of  Wardian London, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Darren,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an excellent review, it really is appreciated. It is great to hear that you are happy with the facilities here at Wardian and with the service being provided by our team.

We aim to offer a ‘Best in class’ service and are always looking for ways to improve, should you ever have any issues or suggestions, please log these on the Wardian.life App and the relevant member of the team will get back to you as soon as they can.

Kind regards,
Curtis Bannister-Pond
Residential Services Manager

Great building

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

The building is very attractive and the flats are well designed and spacious with good storage and the terrraces/balconies are wonderfully large. The facilites are excellent with meeting rooms, pool, great gym cinema etc.
The staff are delighful both front of house, housekeeping, the gym, aftercare and so on. The property management team are helpful but sadly the building is let down by the owners who will not replace faulty original items so however good the managemen team are they are in fact helpless in many respects.
Security is a major issue as the fobbed security access doors leading into the residential towers from the lobby have not worked properly since day 1….18 months ago!! The doors do not self close and the staff in the lobby cannot be expected to deal with visitors, couriers etc and watch the doors at the same time.
Automatic lights of the landing do not come on until residents are halfway along the landing….a health and safety risk. These have supposedly been fixed but I am told the lights are poor quality, rather like the doors. This is so disappointing; Ballymore/Ecoworld need to get their act together as they are becoming known for poor build quality.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great place to live. Close to amenities with wide variety of shops, bars and restaurants on the doorstep. Transport links are second to none. No ASB yet. This will depend on the council’s approach to planning in the area which currently does not fill one with hope. Parking unless purchased with an apartment is not too bad as the large shopping malls have availability and some local buildings will provide parking.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Security is poor and until lobby doors are fixed and something is done about the huge number of delivery people free to wander throughout the building nothing will improve.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The Aftercare Team in the office have been wonderful; everything that was faulty or went wrong or leaked has been fixed. The work was done quickly by Adam and Ionel and Steve; they are a credit to the company. Management as you will be aware was in short supply in the first months at the Wardian. Toby was very good and his departure was a loss to the building. Ray is capable and efficient as I hope the new people will be. I do doubt if they are able to actually change anything because nothing has changed yet and it is certainly not for the lack of asking.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear PSJ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an in-depth review, it really is appreciated.

It is great to hear that you are making the most of the Wardian facilities and I am also very happy to hear that you are pleased with the level of service being offered by the front of house team.

In regard to the security issues you have mentioned, we currently have a report being completed, which should help to identify the possible causes of the doors not self-closing when it is windy. We are also in discussions to implement the fob activation of all lifts in the building which will add an extra level of security to our building.

As a management team we are now back to full strength and will be sure to have a better line of communication with residents; a perfect example of this is in our monthly resident surgeries that give us time to sit down with residents and discuss any issues they may have, along with any positives too.

We are always open to suggestions as to how we can improve so if you ever have any issues or suggestions, please log these via Wardian Life and a member of the team will get back to you as soon as they can.

Kind regards,

Curtis Bannister-Pond
Residential Services Manager

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14
User submitted image of Wardian London, E14

Facilities

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

On Site Cafe

On Site Cafe

Cinema

Cinema

Concierge

Concierge

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Play Area

Play Area

Resident Events

Resident Events

Retail on Site

Retail on Site

Security

Security

Spa

Spa

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by EcoWorld

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Ballymore Group

Location

Ballymore Group
Number of developments 15

4.17

Average rating based on 570 reviews

View company
EcoWorld
Number of developments 3

4.27

Average rating based on 373 reviews

View company