The Fold, CR0

By
Urbanbubble, Legal & General
4.12 (10 reviews) 4.12 (10 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.90
Facilities
4.40
Design
3.90
Location
3.70
Value
4.00
Management

The Fold is a Build to Rent development by Urbanbubble that sits in the heart of Croydon. The Fold offers 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments, each with their own balcony. Additionally, the development is a short walk from BOXPARK and East Croydon station. Furthermore, residents benefit from private and communal dining spaces, a residents’ lounge, coworking spaces and meeting rooms.

Read more Read less

The Fold, CR0 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 10 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Overall very pleased

Review Date Nov 2022

Management has been great, any issues we have occurred has been dealt with swiftly and with a smile. The design in great, we love the communal working space and spend a lot of time there. As freelancers it is great to be able to work out of the house and its just downstairs.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good social spots locally, especially the games cafe around the corner. No superstores close by but as expected being central in Croydon. Lots of shopping accessible locally. Nice and quick into London, both to Victoria and London Bridge in less than 20 mins.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were informed permit parking is an option for us but that has been proven difficulty.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quickly and with no hesitation. They are generally always happy to help

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A bit “meh.” Fingers crossed for improvement over time!

Review Date Nov 2022

The development is brand new and really lovely in terms of aesthetics. I really like my flat – it feels nice spacious (though I do agree about someone’s point on the entry halls being really narrow). The people also seem pretty fine – a mix of young adults and some families.

Theoretically I like that there’s 24 hour staff, but unfortunately compared to some people here, I haven’t found them to be the most pleasant. With some, I get a bright smile and a hello, but there are others who have blatantly ignored me (and not in an ‘oops, i didn’t see you’ way. in a ‘i know you’re there but i don’t care’ way). It’s really depressing and uncomfortable to be made to feel like I’m causing them a problem just by asking a question or for help. I know they likely have a draining job dealing with peoples’ complaints, but I don’t see it as an excuse to take it out on individuals. I think they needed more time to get everything up to scratch before allowing people to move in, because the onboarding process was pretty poor.

I also dislike having to use the fob to access your floor. Theoretically, it sounds great and safe, but in reality, it means you can’t get anything delivered to your door and have to go down every time to let in deliveries, food, friends, in which is super inconvenient. This also really sucks when you’re having a large item delivered, and when you’re moving in. It also kind of defeats the purpose of the concierge, because they’re ideally supposed to be the second stage of security after you enter the building, anyway. I almost wish they’d completely scrap having to use the fob to access the lift, because it wastes time and never works quite well. You have to push the button for your floor three to four times to get the lift to register it after you tap the keypad with your fob.

Overall, the quality of the flat for the price is really good, but the staff/management let it down a bit. I’ve seen some changes most recently, but I hope that over time the place finds its feet and gets better, otherwise I’ll probably look somewhere else for a nicer, more cost-effective experience.

Good – bike storage, nice new flats with good amenities, private
Bad – some building staff can be rude, management was initially pretty unresponsive to concerns, poor welcome to the building

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I think people have a weirdly negative perception of Croydon for some reason. I’ve lived in central London for eight years, and after moving here recently have never felt unsafe. Unfortunately, I think a lot of social bias slips in because honestly, I don’t feel there’s any more drug selling or violence or anti-social behaviour than some of the more ‘trendy’ places in East London, for example. The letdown, however, is that there really isn’t much going on in the area. It feels like they’re slowly trying to build it up, but I just feel it’s going to take years. Lots of empty shops/buildings that can make it seem a bit like a ghost town in some areas.

There isn’t really a big main grocery store nearby, and the Waitrose that I liked just closed and I have no idea what they’re going to replace it with. The sainsburys and tescos that are near the flat are all “locals,” so really small and overpriced, which is disappointing. There’s a big mall, but it’s so oddly empty with half the shops closed. There are also some staple chain restaurants and fast food nearby, but I wish there were more local, “off the beaten path” things to see/do, but maybe in the future.

I love that the flats are really close to the station, and on a good day the train trip into central london is quick and I can get a seat. However, both the thameslink and southern are delayed (at the very least) five minutes every single day. I really don’t get it, and it can be rage-inducing when you have to be somewhere o time and the trains are your only chance because there’s no tube and the bus will take you five years.

Street noise isn’t bad, but it’s winter and my windows are always closed. Not sure how things will play out in the summer when they’re open, because it’s really close to traffic. There’s really no convenient parking available, and even though I don’t drive, it makes things really stressful for moving in, because you need to arrange some sort of street suspension.

Summary:

Good – building and area feels safe. really modern and trendy flats. very close to east croydon station.

Bad – not much to do, trains are ALWAYS delayed, not many interesting places to have food and drink, not a good variety of grocery stores, street noise can be a bit much

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d spoken to some other tenants, or knew more about how the staff/building management interacted with people. A lack of service and hostility is really awful to deal with in your own home.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Since I’ve been here, I’ve noticed the lifts have broken multiple times (it seems like there’s always one lift out of order) which is a bit anxiety-inducing. They get fixed, but it tends to take a while, unfortunately. I get that these things happen, but the building is so new that it gives me pause. Same for a leak that apparently caused the most recent instance of the lifts breaking. They’re fine now, but I didn’t expect all the trouble with a new build.

2
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice flat, definitely recommending

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

Nice interior design, the room is spacious. Complete and convenient facilities. The household appliances in the room are of good quality. The staffs at reception are all very friendly and helpful. The security management of the building is also very good.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of shops nearby. Great transport: close to East Croydon station and some bus and tram stations.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The fire alarms in the room are very sensitive, sometimes even the steam from bathroom (after a hot shower) will trigger the alarm

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, the problem got fixed after I raised it to the team

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great Staff

Review Date Nov 2022

Building management is easy to reach out too and extraordinarily nice and helpful, especially Krina and Michelle . These two are exceptionally reliable and will help you with anything you can think of. Maintenance is quick and effective.
The referencing agency is a pain though.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Neighbourhood is very friendly and safe, 6 mins from East Croydon Station, lots of restaurants, shops, and more. Litterally everything you need is down the road. Halal butchers and gym included. Only thing is only national rail at east croydon station so if they are on strike, hard to get to central london, but lots of alternative and only 1 stop to london bridge on national rail.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Its going to take a lot of time to get through with the referencing companies, took us a whole month to finish referencing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Krina was really helpful during the entire process, made sure to take the time to explain to us everything. Michelle is always a friendly face at the reception and is quick and helpful with any queries.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good community

Review Date Nov 2022

This is a spacious building and good development. The only lacking thing is it doesn’t have a gym. The rent is also little expensive. There is always someone at the front desk who helps whenever needed. They maintenance is good and we have a good work space, louge and rooftop area. Another good thing is that they have rental agreement starting from 6months.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is near to all the shops. This is very near to the east croydon station. The bus bay is also near by. You have a park just by the side of appartment

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I have enquired everything upfront, so i done have any to list.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, i had an issue with the rest room door. They responded and cleared the issue.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good Vibrant Property

Review Date Nov 2022

Good Vibrant Property. Really great environment for young professionals and even families!
Good Facilities and Brilliant Location close to the town centre and train stations.
great commute to centre london which makes it quite easy to live a bit further outside

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good
Good Location, Friendly Staff, Good Communal Spaces, Good Apartments,Spacious Balconies with some nice views, Free good internet!
Bad
Lifts Not Sufficient, Apartment Snags left unaddressed, quality of finishing is not great, Bin Store needs better extract it becomes very smelly, little bit expensive, hard to plan finances because bills are not clear

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The property has storage beds! this was a pleasant surprise!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes. BM has responded to some of the issues we reported. others remain unadressed

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great reception staff but still under construction

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

The Fold is a brand new development in one of the only green areas of central Croydon. The sleek black exterior paves way to some lovely shared spaces and quite possibly the defining feature, the fantastic reception staff. The fantastic team of reception staff are always on hand to assist with any issues such a post or information on the local area. Not only that but you can’t help but feel welcome with the smiling faces of these wonderful people behind the desk. The building features many shared working areas and lounges as well as a resident’s dining room and media room that can be booked out free of charge. There is also some amazing views available to all tenants from the rooftop sky garden. The bulding is secured by an intercom and fob system which prevents outsiders and other tenants from accessing your floor. However, with the lifts and stairwells being secured this does mean that you can let guests in the front door but will still need to go down to collect them. The flats feature lots of storage space, free gigabyte internet, modern appliances (including a dishwasher), floor to ceiling windows and a private balcony. These flats do however suffer from very narrow hallways which leads to an awkward jostle of bodies to get through the front door.

Being brand new youd expect everything to go smoothly from the start, however, this is where the cracks begin to form, both physically and metaphoricaly. Despite being filled with tenants there is still a lot of the building that is yet to be functional or has been broken from the start. Maintenance has yet to really even be established. There is no reporting portal, works happen whenever often with little or no notice, timescales for works range from whenever an engineer is in to who knows when, parts of the building are still under construction, even things such as the residents media room are still non functional. In addition to the physical problems you also have the social side, youd think with the high rental price this world be lessened but no, within days of the building filling up isdues are arrising. Vetting for tenants seems to have been a bit hit and miss. While some have had quite strict vetting others seem to have had none at all. So far there doesn’t seem to of been any management or control of tenants. It seems every time i try to take the bins out im greeted with rubbish all over the floor next to the numerous “please do not litter” signs and to my usual annoyance, someone had jammed the bin chute with another unflatpacked box. With antisocial behaviour on the roof and being asked if i want to buy drugs in the lift i often question if im living in a private rent or a council estate. While there certainly are problems to address, for now the simple good morning from a friendly face behind the front desk and the nicely decorated shared living spaces you can assure any guest, whose only seeing the surface, will think you live in luxuary.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good transport, variety of food outlets and the usual high street staples but if you’ve ever heard of croydon, i can guarantee it’s never been for a good reason. Sky high crime, awful to no parking and a horrendous one way system to book. Croydon is to the UK what Detroit is to the US.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The building probably could have done with a few more months before letting people in, still some work to do and kinks to iron out.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Front desk staff are very understanding and despite the abuse they seem to get, being the face of the business, are always willing to help. However once the problem goes up the flagpole it seems to stop. Maintenance is almost non existent and management’s soloution to things seems to be little more than putting a sign up on things.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
2
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  The Fold, CR0
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Facilities and building management at the fold is great

Review Date Nov 2022

Facilities and building management at the fold is great. The 24 hour concierge provides great service around the clock with whatever request you may need. The furnished flats have good quality furniture insuring moving in is seamless. Another good advantage of the fold is the flexibility of mounting photos and TVs on walls, which can also be helped arranged from reception.

All in all a very pleasant place to live with a number of internal events for residence on the top floor.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is central and ideal to commuting to central London within 15 minutes by train. It is also local to a range of delicacies within the area and offers boxpark in close distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Due to the fire safety engineering in the building the lifts can be reliable so be mindful when looking to rent at higher floors.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

A tenant portal is in place for any work orders needed. However management does take a while to respond and action these.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

POOR MANAGEMENT that will leave you without things like a Fridge for MONTHS

Review Date Oct 2022

This place is an actual joke.

DO NOT MOVE HERE IF YOU WANT A FUNCTIONING APARTMENT

I loved into the fold nearly 7 weeks ago. When moving in the staff were so complacent about my onboarding process that I only got confirmation of moving in the day before I arrived, causing serious stress.

After I moved in, I immediately noticed that my Fridge was not working, the dining room seats would snap as you sat on them and a number of other issues of a new build.

The problem is, its nearly been two months, Ive complained multiple times and THERE’S NOTHING TO SHOW FOR IT! Ive heard people without electricity, multiple complaints on moving in and generic ‘teething’ issues is what they call them.

Still not got a Fridge after two months and only today have i found that the alternative theyve given me, is now being used by another person whos moved in.

SHOCKINGLY POOR MANAGEMENT.

Its shiny and new but god its terribly run.

Really unhappy here and would NOT recommend moving in.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good aspects is that is nice and clean development with the staff being decent when you talk to them.
Bad is just constantly developing, people not having electricity, myself not having a fridge for months,waste management being an absolute catastrophe where bags are stacked in the chute room.

Really disappointing and unhappy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

To expect constant disappointment from them. I simply would not have moved here had I known the constant barrage of bull that is being thrown at a place where I have to spend 1550 a month.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They’ve said that these were ‘teething issues’, its not.

2
Facilities
4
Design
2
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very good.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Design is ok, maybe too much blue, but it’s cool. Building management is fine, front desk is very helpful and passionate. However, we don’t have a gym on site , which is very disappointing, also parcel room doesn’t seem to be open anytime soon, kinda slow. I notice front desk team is having very long shifts, wondering if this is any good for management efficiency and basic human need to rest.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

shops are bit far, traffic noises are huge, have to shut the balcony door all the time, but building is clean and decent, front desk is extremely helpful, feel safe live in here, streets could be a little scary at night tho

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No gym on site; and supermarket is far; traffic noise is unbelievable; key is actually keys, not digital card or fingerprint door lock.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Front desk and maintenance team are both very helpful and good at their work.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  The Fold, CR0
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Fold, CR0
User submitted image of The Fold, CR0

Facilities

Balcony

Balcony

Coworking

Coworking

Lounge

Lounge

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Private Dining

Private Dining

Location

Legal & General
Number of developments 11

4.66

Average rating based on 757 reviews

View company
Urbanbubble
Number of developments 12

4.66

Average rating based on 781 reviews

View company