Sailmakers, E14

By
Greystar
2nd
Ranked 2nd out of 43 in Canary Wharf
4.61 (based on 35 reviews) 4.61 (35 reviews)

Category Scores

4.66
Facilities
4.69
Design
4.40
Location
4.29
Value
4.59
Management

Excellent

74%

Very Good

23%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

3%

Greystar‘s Sailmakers is a Build to Rent scheme, which comprises of 327 units. It is within the mixed-use Galliard Homes development, Harbour Central. The site is situated on the Isle of Dogs close to the River Thames, and less than a 10-minute walk from the heart of Canary Wharf. In addition, transport links come courtesy of nearby South Quay DLR and Canary Wharf’s DLR and Underground services. Residents enjoy fast and frequent connections to the likes of Bank and Monument.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£2,146 pcm
Apartment 101
1 Bed
1 Bath
578 sq ft
Greystar
More info
£2,792 pcm
Apartment 1902
2 Bed
1 Bath
884 sq ft
Greystar
More info
£2,713 pcm
Apartment 1603
2 Bed
2 Bath
956 sq ft
Greystar
More info
£3,415 pcm
Apartment 401
3 Bed
2 Bath
1060 sq ft
Greystar
More info
£3,448 pcm
Apartment 1101
3 Bed
2 Bath
1060 sq ft
Greystar
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Showing 34 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Extremely high-spec apartments, excellent customer service and communication. Exceptional facilities.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

From the moment I first enquired about apartment availability, to the present day, my experience of Sailmakers has been outstanding. Communication has been quick and informative, and the level of attention to detail is very good. The design of the building is exquisite, with attention to detail being a huge plus point. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again, and all the clients I have placed here have been extremely happy.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The amenities are good, and the bars, shops, restaurants and transport of Canary Wharf are within a reasonable distance. It would be nice to see more green space outside the building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we had know that the actual concierge was not available after 5pm at weekends.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello, thanks for the glowing review! All your comments have been noted and will be shared with the team. Thanks again.

AVOID SAILMAKERS!!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

I moved into Sirocco Tower part of the Sailmakers development in Canary Wharf in August 2019 when the development had just been completed, and before the time of moving in I was given assurance that due to the property being run by the building itself rather than an individual landlord the overall experience and attentiveness would be far better than the other buildings in the area. Upon viewing the property I was shown all the residential amenities and facilities which would be made freely available for the residents to use and book for private events, however, in March 2020 they informed all residents that a charge would occur for any bookings made going forward from 1st April. Not only did they mislead me as a resident who signed a one year contract, but they also violated the terms of my contract where it was stated that the residential spaces were available to use and book free of charge.

Not long after living in the apartment, in January 2020 a hole formed in the kitchen sink due to no fault of mine which resulted in water leaking into the cupboard below it. I informed the buildings onsite maintenance team about the problem and after numerous emails, they then informed me that I would have to pay over £800 for the cost of replacing the entire kitchen counter because of a design flaw that required them to replace the marble countertop to remove and install a new sink. After several more emails justifying that the sink installed was a defective piece, the building eventually agreed to cover the cost of the replacement and informed me that it would take two weeks for a new sink to arrive before it could be installed. This was in February, six months ago, and till this day I have not heard when my kitchen sink will be replaced. Upon chasing them and asking when the new sink will arrive, they informed me time and time again of a delay with the delivery. It is now July and to this day I have not been able to use my kitchen sink due to the hole and it has resulted in me not being able to use a vital essential of any apartment. As a result, I have had to wash the dishes in a bathroom sink to prevent water from leaking into the cupboard below the kitchen sink. This has caused to be a severe inconvenience to my time living in the apartment, and not once have I been given any form of an update, nor have the building bothered to repair this despite the issue having initially been raised 6 months ago. I have been living this entire time without the use of my kitchen sink.

Further to this, there has been a problem with the air conditioning unit for my apartment and despite another set of emails and communication with the management team, this has still not been resolved. It has been three stressful months and the AC unit has still not been repaired. After multiple complaints, other than providing me with a small fan and a couple of emails to say they’re working on a repair, they have not been vigilant in assuring that the AC unit for my apartment is fixed. I have had to chase the management numerous with occasions where no response was sent to my emails. I first informed them of the AC not working on March 13th and going on from that period to this day they have failed to inform me on when the AC would be working again. It is unbearable trying to live and work from home given the circumstances of COVID-19 with the implications that this has had as the apartment is incredibly hot and humid. I find myself taking two or three showers a day just to get over the sticky feeling of living in my own home! The building claims to have an on-site maintenance and management team however they have substantially failed to deliver on their part.

Only after writing a google review about the building do the management team begin the process of attending to the repairs at the end of June. Two days in a row they showed up at my apartment unannounced with no prior notice. Not only does this show indecency on their part, but it put me as a young female resident in an uncomfortable position. Following this event, I was fed up of chasing them so I arranged a meeting with the building’s new manager and assistant manager to discuss the ongoing problems which I have been dealing with since the beginning of this year. The building manager informed me that having only joined in April she was unaware of the problem with my kitchen sink, and only found out through the google review which I had written a day earlier. It is unbelievable that a building which claims to put their residents first is unaware of the problems they are facing, and do nothing to help fix the situation. Even after discussing my problems with both the managers they did not say when my kitchen sink will be fixed! I made clear that I expect to be compensated for the on-going issues which I have had to deal with during my stay at Sailmakers and that I wanted to hear back from them within a week.

Upon serving notice, I was informed that the management would not compensate me in any way nor would they reduce my rent, should I choose to stay, despite similar apartments in the same building being listed at much lower guide prices online. It has been made clear that existing residents don’t receive any preferential treatment and due to strong competition and the current housing market the building is lowering its rent to compete but not offering these lower rates to their existing residents. Ridiculous! You would expect that paying £700+ a week would come with a certain level of expectation and service which unfortunately I have not found living at Sailmakers. Not only had I paid my full rent before these incidents occurred, but due to being locked in a one year contract with the building, I have found myself being stuck here unable to leave.

The building management contacted me after raising these issues and informed me that they refuse to compensate me in any form, as they do not believe it is a matter which needs to be compensated for.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Canary Wharf as an area has a large number of restaurants and shops within walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known the level of unprofessionalism which Sailmakers provide.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management contacted me after raising these issues and informed me that they refuse to compensate me in any form, as they do not believe it is a matter which needs to be compensated for.

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi There,

Thank you for your homeview review.

First and foremost, I would like to extend my most sincere apologies regarding the issues you have faced. Please allow me to outline some of the points you have raised and if given the opportunity to arrange another meeting with yourself to further discuss the issues you have raised and rectify anything you feel is outstanding.

Our amenity spaces are free for our residents to use, there was going to be a fee introduced for a private function use of the cinema room, dinning room or meeting rooms, however due to the pandemic we have made the decision to waiver these fees until the new year.

With regards to the sink the order was made but there were delays with the delivery and unfortunately with the world pandemic this delayed the order furthermore despite the maintenance team continuously chasing. Commencing the ease off on lockdown we were able to get through to the suppliers and have the sink arranged for delivery.

I completely understand and sympathise with you as this can be very stressful, again we were very unfortune to have experienced the comfort cooling system issue during COVID -19 which resulted in a delay getting this fixed which is why in that period we offered fans to the residents. I can confirm this issue was resolved on the 26th of June and comms have gone out to the residents.

We are currently operating special offers only on selected units I am more than happy to discuss any current promotions with you if you have some time.

Our time at Sailmakers E14

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

The building is very modern, great design and always clean and tidy with residents that care about each other. Modern gym and rest areas, as well as a lovely cinema which can be booked. All staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them to resolve.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great community feel and great location for canary wharf and transport links.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking is very limited and slightly expensive, however this is only an issue if you have a car.

What is the best feature of your home:

View from the 21st Floor and the sound proofing and comfort climate system.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Matt, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are glad to hear that you like the modern design of the build and the facilities. The team will be thrilled with your feedback and the positive affect they have had, I will be sure to share this with all the team at Sailmakers. If there is anything else we can do please do let us know.
Have a wonderful day.

Great choice, definitely recommend.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

The design is minimal but also posh and very well done. The cinema, lounges and work areas have been a delight as I am using them as much as possible. The gym is unreal, I have never been to a 36th-floor gym with a 360 view and so modern. The management team always on call and active to help you out in matter of minutes.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Sailmakers have created the perfect renting/living experience in London. I love the amenities, the social gatherings, the private cinema, the modern stylish flat, and the great response from the management team.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If you can find an available apartment, make sure you offer as fast as you can.

What is the best feature of your home:

The amenities and the modern structure of the apartment. Soundproof, new, modern, and energy-efficient.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Achilles, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are thrilled to hear that you are happy with our facilities and making full use of them especially the Gym and the incredible views. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team. If there is anything else we can do please let us know.
Have a wonderful day.

Amazing experience

Review Date Nov 2019

I love my flat— it feels simultaneously modern and cozy. I moved here with my cat and I feel so lucky to have found such a beautiful, pet-friendly building. The staff who work reception are always helpful and amiable, and have made me feel comfortable and welcome.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

In a convenient location and a lovely neighborhood. I feel safe walking from my bus stop to my flat when I’m coming home from a long day of classes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Was not expecting such friendly service. When I first moved in, Michael was kind enough to show me how to work the amenities. When I needed to print something last minute, I emailed reception and Phoebe printed it for me within five minutes. When I had trouble carrying a package Steph came to my rescue. Alex helped me book the dining room for a dinner party I’m hosting. Anything you need, just ask. Everyone at Sailmakers is really thoughtful and helpful.

What is the best feature of your home:

There are so many aspects of my home that I love, but I particularly adore my balcony, the friendly service, and all the doggies I’ve gotten to meet in the elevators and lobby.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Kellie, Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your Sailmakers experience with us – we are over the moon to hear that you and your cat have settled in well. Please let us know if there is ever anything else we can do for you!

A unique experience in city living.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

An excellent development catering for a wide range of tenants from young business professionals, families, students, dog owners and couples returning to city living having spent far too long in the suburbs. This mix is one of the attractions of Sailmakers. The Sailmakers team could not be more helpful and their humour and professionalism have made our move here easy. The gym is fabulous – the 360 degrees views over London are a great distraction. The cinema room and business centre are an added bonus. The parcel room means you can just pop down and pick up any parcels on receipt of a code – no more waiting in on a delivery company. There have been a few teething problems with a lift and the entrance doors which are yet to be resolved. Similarly, the developer’s slow response in replacing cracked window panes is just a little infuriating. Sailmakers represents reasonable value for money if you make good use of the facilities. The location could not be better – just a few minutes from Canary Wharf with its fine collection of excellent restaurants and shops. The lack of traffic and fresh air here make it one of the most agreeable places to live in London. Views over The Thames, Greenwich, the City and Vauxhall are breathtaking. If you come here with an image of Canary Wharf in its infancy, you are in for a surprise.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

As the owner of an old labrador not used to living in a city apartment, I was worried about moving here. It turns out that this place is very dog-friendly. There are dog parks, lots of traffic free walks along The Thames or the wharves or I can walk to Greenwich through the foot tunnel. The DLR has retained its futuristic feel and you can take dogs on it. The Clipper boat service is excellent and the Jubilee Line makes getting to central London a short jaunt. There are so many good restaurants to cater for all budgets. In short, you could quite happily stay in CW as it really has evolved over the years into a destination in itself. The added security in CW means that it feels safe if you are new to big city living.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would like to have tested the sound insulation quality when viewing the property.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Sailmakers, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Brenda, wow we really appreciate the great review. Lovely to hear the positive effect the team have had on experience. All your comments will be shared with the team hear at Sailmakers. Thanks again (we love the photo!)

Great experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The building is brand new as well as all the facilities and furnitures. The design is modern at the same time minimal, which is what I like. The location is perfect for someone who works in Canary Wharf and it is a huge plus that there are supermarkets nearby.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Supermarkets nearby, close to offices in Canary Wharf. Not many restaurants in the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The bills.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello Henry, thanks for sharing your experience. Glad to hear your making use of the great location.

Great experience, especially tower management system

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Design, stuff, developer customer care, good caring and nice smelling

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Shops,restaurants,underground,clean area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Post code is difficult to find by taxis

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  Sailmakers, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello El, thank you for your review. It’s great to hear your positive feedback, we will be sharing your comments with our team. Lovely photo!

Easy and excellent attention

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The building has a magnificent construction quality, every detail is perfectly maintained, the common areas are beautiful and it is a relief day by day. The gym is my favorite area, with incredible views and the machinery is the best in quality.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

the area was something that worried me when I decided to move but I am happy with its location as far as the subway, there are around several restaurants. about 10 minutes walk is a waitrose supermarket that is very important for me to be close.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

In the area there is no party atmosphere on weekends, the atmosphere is concentrated on working days

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello, thanks for the five-star review! We’re glad you’re happy in your new home, all your comments will be shared with the team.

Amazing Experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I think I was the first person that moved into this building. My experience has just being amazing since the beginning. Last year I was living in another place, I was spending the same amount of money but I didn’t have any facilities. No gym, no common rooms, no study rooms… I didn’t have any concierge and if I had a problem I had to wait for the maintenance for months… Here is totally different, fabulous common spaces amazingly designed, concierges super helpful, patient and kind and the maintenance guys are super quick and always available. The gym is super ! With a great view and plus there is the possibility to get a pt and to join classes. The common rooms with the terraces are great and the screening room is super cute. The building is always clean and kept with care. Plus in case you want to have a party or an event you can book the common spaces without paying any fee. For sure I’m gonna stay here next year as well. I would definitely recommend Sailmakers. The best experience ever !

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

canary wharf is a really nice area, always clean and safe at night as well, I’m a young girl and I’ve never had any problem at night. The dlr is really close and the tube station as well. The shop center is really well furnished with a wide range of shops. There are even parks to chill. The only thing that is missing is a corner shop in case I need something at night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Since I live in the first floor and in front of my terrace are building I would have chose another flat or another floor, but to be honest is not this big of a deal

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Sailmakers, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Margherita, thank you for your great review and recommendation. It’s so nice to hear your positive feedback, we will be sharing your comments amongst our team. Love the photo too!

Seamless from start to finish

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

We have found the Sailmakers experience to be completely seamless from start to finish. When looking to move we were offered multiple viewings to ensure that we were confident in our choice. All reference checks were completed in a modern and quick manner that did not require multiple rounds of paperwork. All our queries before moving in were promptly responded to. Since moving in we have also had a great experience. The on site team are very friendly and it is clear they make a big effort to connect with residents on a personal level. My husband even received a birthday card from the team! Any minor issues we have faced with the flat have been sorted out immediately through the maintenance team. Not only have issues been resolved quickly but the team consistently remember to take into consideration that we have a young baby at home so when work has been carried out it has been done during reasonable hours and taking all health and safety precautions necessary (e.g. opening windows if using sprays and closing doors). Finally, the on site facilities are top notch and we make regular use of the gym and resident lounge. We are incredibly happy in our new home and rate the experience we have had to date with Sailmakers very highly!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is really versatile. You are minutes away from key transport links including the DLR, Jubilee Line and in the near future Crossrail. The surrounding area of Canary Wharf offers shopping and entertainment as well as nurseries and a variety of exercise classes such as Barry’s Bootcamp. It is also a lovely short walk over to Greenwich!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A couple things that I have found amazing and consider really unique selling points so should definitely be talked about include:
1- the air condiotining
2- inclusive gym classes

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Sailmakers, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi. Wow, we’re pleased you’re enjoying your new home. Thanks so much for sharing this glowing review, our team will be very pleased to hear the positive experience they have had on your move with us. Great to hear you’re making used of the gym classes too! Thanks again.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

Image of Sailmakers, E14
Image of Sailmakers, E14
Image of Sailmakers, E14
Image of Sailmakers, E14
Image of Sailmakers, E14
Image of Sailmakers, E14
Image of Sailmakers, E14
Image of Sailmakers, E14
Image of Sailmakers, E14

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Gym

Gym

Communal work area/lounge

Communal work area/lounge

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Location

Greystar

About Greystar

Greystar is a global leader in rental housing. They focus on providing beautiful environments and world-class service that enhance the…
Number of developments 9

4.49

Average rating based on 99 reviews

View company