Newfoundland, E14

By
Vertus
Ranked 6th out of 24 in Canary Wharf
4.17 (54 reviews) 4.17 (54 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.15
Facilities
4.39
Design
4.69
Location
3.93
Value
3.85
Management

Newfoundland offers 636 apartments. Residents can choose to look out over Canary Wharf, or the Thames and the City. Also, residents have access to private resident amenities including a gym, lounge, terrace and children’s play area.

Read more Read less
Newfoundland, E14 Available Properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£2,150 pcm
Studio Apartment
0 Bed
1 Bath
441 sq ft
Vertus
More info
£2,550 pcm
1 Bed Apartment
1 Bed
2 Bath
808 sq ft
Vertus
More info
£3,400 pcm
2 Bed Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
1275 sq ft
Vertus
More info
From £6,500 pcm
3 Bedroom Apartment
3 Bed
3 Bath
1749 sq ft
Vertus
More info

Newfoundland, E14 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Verified
Showing 54 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Newfoundland!!!! The ideal home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The management of the building is of most efficient ones I’ve seen my life, they are on top of your every needs. They are constantly striving to give us a good stay at the property. Building facilities on top is like cherry on a cake.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The building is located right at the heart of Canary wharf, witha spectacular view of the river and the canary wharf.
Everything is walking distance from the building, be it bars, restaurants, tube station, park. Newfoundland is the definition of an ideal home

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I didn’t know about the facilities that the building offered properly, as it was very difficult it judge something over pictures. But when you actually know about the facilities and amenities it has to offer, you’re mind blown.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

With sheer urgency on ever matter, be it small or big

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Suraj,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback, our Building Management team will be so pleased to hear your kind words. At Vertus, we strive to exceed our Resident’s expectations with both our product and service delivery and we are delighted that you love the building amenities on offer. If there is anything else we can do to help, please let us know.

The crown jewel for Canary Wharf

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2023

It is a beautiful building with spectacular views.
I love the gym facilities and the communal spaces are well designed.
The downstairs pantry was a welcome addition and came in very handy on many occasions.
Parcel delivery service is excellent as well.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The staff are absolutely amazing and everything you need is within walking distance. The place has a lot to offer in terms so shops, restaurants and social activities.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The main road can get noisy in summer when your windows are open.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They tried their best to resolve matters. I think due to the volume of requests, it is challenging to meet all expectations the tenants might have during the peak periods.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Eshwar,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review.

Our on-site team will be thrilled with your comments and to know you are enjoying the amenities Newfoundland and the wider Canary Wharf Estate has to offer.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave a review.

Kind regards.

Team Vertus

The most horrible Managment I have ever seen. Never ever deal with them!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2022

Never ever should you consider renting a Newfouldand apartment

1. The management is useless. They lie, and they try to screw you. Finally, they are just so unprofessional. I have proof of everything I say. (How we were wrongly accused of not paying the rent because they could not find the payment, so we had to figure everything out, How a management dude lied to us, that we can not work with Zerodeposit company and have to give the deposit it cash, finally, we were able to solve the issues, but we had to study every single word in the contract and “fight” with the management)

2. Lifts never work. Nothing works. It’s sad. Unhappy people everywhere. The building is making strange noises when it’s windy outside.

3. Our rent went up 500£ PER MONTH after first year of tenancy. We already paid a PREMIUM PRICE before. So never trust Newfoundland, they won’t negotiate

4. Today we had an illegal visit to our apartment. It was someone, who was supposed to check our door. Funny fact: he actually broke our door at the end. Verts did not get our permission for this visit.

5. Apartments are cute though, but I promise you – you will find better things out there. So many people are unhappy in Vertus

6. When we moved in, the oven was broken. We asked them to fix it, but they never did. They never replied. When I complained, they said it was our fault. We ended up fixing it ourselves.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is great! I love Canary Wharf. Unfortunately, I had to live in Newfoundland, Vertus. Do nor destroy tour Canary Wharf experience

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Everything from my review. Especially the management.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They never do anything. They never ever reply if you raise an issue

1
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Amalia,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry to hear you feel you have had a negative experience with Vertus. We will address each of your points below and in addition our Building Manager Graeme will be in touch with you today.

Vertus receives high quantities of rental payments and if these have been made without the tenancy specific reference then there can be delays in allocating the payments; our Building Management team will always reach out to our Residents if this has happened.

Zero Deposits are a third party provider we work with to hold our resident’s deposits and they have a number of eligibility criteria which determines an applicant’s ability to utilise their deposit holding service, these are criteria Zero Deposits dictate, not Vertus.

The lifts at Newfoundland are undergoing an intensive maintenance programme, the timing of which we have tried wherever possible to keep to out of hours to avoid disruption. We have taken active steps to improve communication between Vertus and our residents on the status of these lift works and want to assure you the lifts are safe.

On your point raised regarding the wind-induced noise recently experienced in the building, as per the communication recently posted on our Resident App, all tall buildings are designed to move in response to variation in wind loads. In recognition of the inconvenience this causes to our residents, particularly during adverse weather, Vertus are undertaking works to mitigate the noise which we hope to have completed by the end of this year.

At the point our Residents come to renew their tenancy with Vertus, any rent increases are based on RPI and are agreed to by both Tenant and Landlord prior to the agreement of a renewal itself.

If Contractors are ever required to visit an apartment adequate notice will always be communicated to our Residents; Graeme will be in touch today specifically on this point.

With regards to your point about a faulty oven, we have checked our Helpdesk and cannot see that a maintenance ticket has been raised for this; please do raise a ticket on the Resident’s app and we will schedule an Engineer to attend.

We would like to assure you Team Vertus value our resident’s feedback and aim to give superlative customer service to all residents, thank you for your feedback and your points have all been taken on board.

Team Vertus

Nice facade, terrible inside

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2022

My internet was disconnected due to dispute with the vendor, 1NFL management failed to get me another connection or even pay for that despite this being part of contract.
Common area is either occupied by some group or left stinking after parties. It is always booked (i believe some residents use it more than others), but it is unusable after their use.
Lifts are super dodgy and risky perhaps.
Building design is bad, there is freaking wind noise 24×7, hard to explain
Apartment wood flooring gets scratched easily, bathroom tiles cant be cleaned, stays dirty
Management performance is terrible
utlities overpriced, whether you use heating or cooling or not, they extort the same price each month, wish there was a negative score on these points
Washing machine was fixed after 1.5 months and manager had started bullying me

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Except location of the building, shiny facade and conceirge staff, everything else is terrible. Management is rude and incompetent

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Window noise,
Poor management
high utility price.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Staff keeps changing, not competent enough to resolve any problem at all

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Vandana,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry to hear you feel you have had a negative experience with Vertus. We will address each of your points below but please do reach out to our Building Manager Graeme who will be more than happy to talk to you.

Virgin Media are the internet providers at Newfoundland and unfortunately Vertus are unable to assist with an account disconnect that has resulted from a supplier / end user dispute.

The amenity spaces at Newfoundland are for the use and enjoyment of all our residents and the cleaning regime of these areas have been increased to accommodate this. In addition the Snug is only bookable now for Vertus led events to ensure the space is available for all our residents to use as often as possible.

The lifts at Newfoundland are undergoing an intensive maintenance programme, the timing of which we have tried wherever possible to keep to out of hours to avoid disruption. We have taken active steps to improve communication between Vertus and our residents on the status of these lift works and want to assure you the lifts are safe.

On your point raised regarding the wind-induced noise recently experienced in the building, as per the communication recently posted on our Resident App, all tall buildings are designed to move in response to variation in wind loads. In recognition of the inconvenience this causes to our residents, particularly during adverse weather, Vertus are undertaking works to mitigate the noise which we hope to have completed by the end of this year.

Management are aware of the difficulties around cleaning the bathroom tiles and are planning on implementing a solution to this in the early part of 2023, updates will follow via the Resident app.

Following feedback from our Residents regarding issues with the utility billing agent Vertus Management have pushed for a Vertus Resident dedicated helpdesk number which has now been implemented and communicated to our Residents via the app; this will enable our Residents to speak with an adviser from the utility billing agent and hopefully resolve any issues they have in a timely manner.

We would like to assure you Team Vertus value our resident’s feedback and aim to give superlative customer service to all residents, thank you for your feedback and your points have all been taken on board.

Team Vertus

Regretting move in

Review Date Nov 2022

Multiple accidents have happened in the lift. Some people got stuck for an hour at midnight, some fall on the ground and got injured when the lift lost control and raced up and down 58 floors in several second, etc. But the management never responds to complain emails leaving along solving them.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

1. The building moves during wind and the worst part is one will hear cracking sound that prevent them from falling asleep.
2. The lift is horrible. 1/4 always in maintenance. There’s a long line to wait. No separation from lower and higher floor.
3. The entrance smells trash all the time.
4. There’s no swimming pool or cinema room. It’s not pet friendly or party friendly.
5. The management team doesn’t care about to solve any present issues. The residents meeting is pretentious.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The cracking sound of the building during wind can be scary and many people cannot fall asleep.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They don’t care and discriminate against certain groups of residents.

1
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Jocelyn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry to hear you feel you have had a negative experience with Vertus. We will address each of your points below but please do reach out to our Building Manager Graeme who will be more than happy to talk with you.

On your point raised regarding the wind-induced noise recently experienced in the building, as per the communication recently posted on our Resident App, all tall buildings are designed to move in response to variation in wind loads. In recognition of the inconvenience this causes to our residents, particularly during adverse weather, Vertus are undertaking works to mitigate the noise which we hope to have completed by the end of this year.

The lifts at Newfoundland are undergoing an intensive maintenance programme, the timing of which we have tried wherever possible to keep to out of hours to avoid disruption. We have taken active steps to improve communication between Vertus and our residents on the status of these lift works and want to assure you the lifts are safe.

With reference to your point on hygiene / unpleasant smells, we have implemented an increased cleaning regime in the space and intend on improving and increasing the fragrancing of this area also.

The amenity offering at Newfoundland does not include a swimming pool however the Snug is a screening room which is available for residents to book out for hosting movie nights etc. with their friends. The bookable spaces within Club Vertus are there for our residents to use and enjoy however limitations around the types of events are in place to ensure the enjoyment of the space for all residents.

We would like to assure you Team Vertus value our resident’s feedback and aim to give superlative customer service to all residents, thank you for your feedback and your points have all been taken on board.

Team Vertus

From foreign to Londoner the same day.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

The apartment was assigned to me in perfect, absolute perfect, conditions. I felt guilty for violating its cleanness because of the presence of my body and its microbiome. The apartment is furnished and equipped with appliances at the highest standard. I must praise the AC efficiency, it should move anyone having engineering at heart: it’s quiet and effective, the bathrobe dried a few minutes after the shower. Generous provisions of electric sockets and wired Ethernet, those are important for a computer scientist needing to be productive the first day. The backup public wifi is efficient. The quality of works done in the apartment doesn’t offer any rationale for critics. Big spaces for wardrobe, bigger than average rooms. I walked in the challenging days of the dusk of a Queen and the dawn of a King, I was ready to expect some kind of disservice, I didn’t experience any. I landed in Heathrow, I moved in, I unpacked my things, I began my life as a Londoner. the same day.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are not many places worldwide that can compete with Canary Wharf in terms of quality of life, public transports, shops, restaurants, and social life. Not the Silicon Valley where I worked before. This place frees you from the burden to own a car, the traffic is restricted, the noise – if any – negligible. Everything I need is 10 minutes from the doorstep, and I’m not anymore a fast pace walking rampant yuppie. Perfect for social people, families, but also for nerd hermits like myself, happy to work and study day and night with minimal waste of time for other activities. The efficiency in terms of time I save because I live here is the main reason I moved to Canary Wharf.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The manuals of everything installed in the apartment should be sent via e-mail before receiving the keys, but I’m sure this didn’t happen because of the exceptional circumstances of the days I moved in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I don’t remember I had reason to raise any meaningful issue. I couldn’t find where the switches to power up the fridge, so the receptionists helped me immediately. Ms. Niamh Fennessey helped me to find the apartment I needed and organized my move in, Ms. Olivia Purdue managed the administrative aspects. I could do everything before I arrived in London.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Luca,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review on Vertus and Newfoundland.

We are so pleased to hear you are enjoying your apartment and it’s appliances and also the quality of life afforded to you by living on the Canary Wharf Estate.

Manuals for all the appliances within your apartment can be found via the Resident handbook which is available on the Resident’s app but of course if you have any questions please get in touch with the 24/7 Concierge.

Thanks so much once again.

Team Vertus

One of the best buildings to live in Canary Wharf!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

NFL is rather expensive but I think you get a lot of value from it when you compare to other housings in the center of London (much more expensive, apartment is not as nice, and if there are building amenities then generally it is sub-par). One of the key selling point of NFL is the connectivity of the area with the Jubilee line taking you into central London under 10 minutes and even more accessible now with the Elizabeth line. Apartment wise, the rooms have a very clean modern finish to it and the view you get when you’re west facing is breathtaking and gets better the higher you are. There are some minor design flaws that comes with the big building such as getting cracks on the wall but it is negligible. The building comes with a Technogym equipped gym and does not get very crowded which is an added bonus. Next to the main gym, you also have a spinning room and a private studio which hosts classes ranging from Pilates, barre, to cycling.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Canary Wharf has always had a bad rep for being a boring lifeless corporate area, but I think that’s not the case anymore. With developments coming to completion around the estate, new restaurants and shops are opening doors and there is a lot more to do now. You have a range of different supermarkets around the estate catering to different price ranges (Waitrose, M&S, Tesco). There are more events throughout the year hosted by the Canary Wharf Group and with the new Elizabeth line opening making the area more accessible, it has made Canary Wharf much more livelier and vibrant. What I like most about living in Canary Wharf is the safety that comes with a private estate. There are always people around and security around the premise which makes feel more at ease walking around especially when it is darker.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was told Vertus stopped renting out units to students but I did not realize there were still some students living in the building. This is obviously a generalization and does not apply to all students living in NFL, however, some can be irresponsible which can affect the quality of living in the building. E.g., leaving trash in the trash room when the chute is full which causes bad smell and leaks and taking coffee mugs and glassware from the common area back to their apartment and not returning it. It has gotten to a point where Vertus stopped providing mugs which is a real shame as the common area provides free coffee and tea.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All problems/issues need to be ticketed through the Vertus app which does take a bit of time (a couple days) to get a response but eventually you will get one. Definitely improvements can be made in regards to response time.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Hina,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review.

We are so pleased to hear you are enjoying the views from your apartment and the offerings of the private Canary Wharf Estate.

We thank you for your feedback re. response times from the Helpdesk and this is something we are actively addressing to ensure our residents are responded to in a timely manner. Please note however the Helpdesk is open Monday – Friday 8am – 5pm but we also have 24/7 Concierge on hand to assist in any way they can.

Thanks again.

Team Vertus

Great place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

It would be considered for the tenant if the management could arrange to deliver the parcel to the residents’ door with advanced notification.

Besides, can a collection point of cleaning clothing services be established in this building management?

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport links are very convenient, and onsite services are available to respond quickly to my default report.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

New Building with furniture, TV and WIFI license included

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I am satisfied with the building management’s response to any problems or issues I have raised

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Jianjian,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us.

Newfoundland has a Loading Bay which receives all parcels and the Loading Bay is staffed 7am – 7pm daily for the collection of parcels. Outside of these hours the Concierge are on site to also assist with the collection of parcels.

Vertus also partner with 2 laundry / dry cleaning companies so please do get in touch with the Concierge who can provide further details.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave us a review.

Team Vertus

Decent

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

The lounge area on ground floor is abit small. The bathroom needs a better lighting. There should also be more facilities such as pool, sauna, cinema room etc.. in the apartment complex considering the price. However, the flat size is perfect and the overall design for the flat is decent.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Everything is great in this area. There are plenty of restaurant, easy access to transportation and a very safe and secure community.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I didn’t get to review my flat personally. The flat and the apartment complex is good in general. However, I would prefer more facilities such as pool, sauna, cinema room…etc.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management team is very good in general.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Rodin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review.

We are so pleased to hear you are enjoying the use of your apartment and the offerings of the wider Canary Wharf Estate.

Thank you for your comments on the amenity space offering at Newfoundland – whilst the building has a variety of amenity spaces including screening room, lounge, private dining room, terrace and indoor co-working space we welcome Resident’s feedback on these spaces and will always where possible look to implement such feedback for the greater benefit of our residents.

Thank you once again.

Team Vertus

Newfoundland is quite worth it

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

The building management is poor and hard to reach to when in need although there is a 24/7 concierge but they are not helpful at all since they only maintain and inspect the ground floor. There is only gym here in newfoundland nothing else no swimming pool no spa no nothing compared to other buildings at a lower price in this area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is quiet to stay for long term since it does not have any annoying sound from police or ambulance. The area is near to jubilee line but quite too far from elizabeth line. There are quite various restaurants to reach for nearby. The location is safe and quite vibrant at the same time which i love it. The view from my flat is splendid. I can see the whole city view which worth the price i paid for compare the ones in city

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If only i knew the maintenance service is so poor i would not stay here since there is not much in the building beside beautiful floorplan and splendid river view from my flat. But i paid a ton for that.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They took a few days to get back and slow to respond as usual.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry you feel the service you have received has not met your expectations.

At Vertus we strive to exceed our residents expectations and so are sorry to hear you feel this has not been the case, our Building Management team will be in touch to understand how we can resolve any outstanding issues you have with us.

Thanks again.

Team Vertus

The new way of living

Review Date Sep 2022

Newfoundland is what I like to call ‘house as a service’. You get value for the money when residing in Newfoundland. The amazing design, the amenities, the restaurant, the concierge and all the services offered are truly valuable. Is a combination of achieved experience and customer needs that makes the whole a great place to live in.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Canary Wharf is a vibrant City into the City. Food, drinks, events, art, name it you have it. Everything in Canary Wharf is at the highest standards. And more, everything can be reached by a short walk.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew there was not possible to add shelves in the wardrobe considering there are no drawers in the premise and no space to locate a chest of drawers.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are always prompt and trying to do their best to solve the issues.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Mary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review.

We are so pleased you are enjoying the amenities of both Newfoundland and the wider Canary Wharf Estate. Our onsite team will be thrilled with your kind words.

Thanks again.

Team Vertus

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14
User submitted image of Newfoundland, E14

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Coworking

Coworking

Concierge

Concierge

Gym

Gym

Laundry Facilities

Laundry Facilities

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Play Area

Play Area

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Secure Storage

Secure Storage

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Vertus
Number of developments 3

4.36

Average rating based on 150 reviews

View company