• UKAA Award 2021

Mustard Wharf, LS1

By
Legal & General, Urbanbubble
1st
Ranked 1st out of 6 in Leeds
4.74 (38 reviews) 4.74 (38 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.74
Facilities
4.74
Design
4.89
Location
4.50
Value
4.79
Management

Excellent

82%

Very Good

16%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

3%

Mustard Wharf is a new development located a few minutes’ walk from Leeds train station. It consists of 247 rental apartments in total. All apartments are furnished with an option of 1,2 and 3 bedrooms. Also, all are pet friendly. In addition, residents are able to enjoy various facilities. Some of these include, a residents lounge, a gym, and a 24 hour front of house team.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£970 pcm
1 Bedroom Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
467 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info
£1,490 pcm
2 Bedroom Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
741 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info
£1,975 pcm
3 Bedroom Apartment
3 Bed
2 Bath
975 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info
£1,440 pcm
2 Bedroom Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
698 sq ft
Urbanbubble
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 38 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Beautiful Apartment Complex with Everything You Need

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The development is beautiful, modern, clean and well-designed. Gorgeous interiors and the communal spaces are convenient and thoughtfully designed and decorated. The front desk and staff are friendly and available 24/7. They’re able to collect any packages if you happen to not be at home. The southern aspect of the development faces onto a large construction site at the moment but the windows are sound-proof and noise-levels within the buildings are well-moderated. Noise has never been an issue. The communal areas include a gym, multiple lounge/office spaces for working-from-home and several al fresco areas (roof garden and courtyard). The gym itself is quite small but well-organized to fit in the amount of equipment (treadmills, bikes, weights, etc.). The modern design of the apartments don’t feel too cold and are easy to keep clean and tidy. It has everything you made need and more!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is close to the canal for those who enjoy running, biking or walks and there are plenty of local cafes, pubs and restaurants nearby. It is a 5-10 min walk to the train station and within a stones throw of the centre if you need any to do any shopping or errangs. For being so close to the centre, the area is still tranquil and peaceful, which is very much appreciated. If you’re looking to complete a larger grocery shop, bigger stores are further away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would take advantage of all the benefits that come with living in the building right away – communal areas, gym, community events, local area, transportation links, etc. It’s a beautiful neighbourhood, building concept and there’s alway a helping hand around should you need it.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes. They were able to respond to an appliance issue when first moving-in within 24 hours.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review, I am so glad you’re loving Mustard Wharf and everything it has to offer you and long may it continue.

If ever you need anything please come and speak to the team and or reach out to me directly.

Thanks,
Johnathan

10 mins walk for all your needs & hustle bustle of the city life.

Review Date Dec 2021

Facilities are wonderful, with a 24 hour concierge service and maintenance. Any issues they are just a call away to always assist you. This facility is a Pet lovers paradise in Leeds. There are not many apartments that allow pets in the building.
Quiet surroundings and building for people working from home. Also hosts a club house (common spaces) for people to comfortably work from.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

10 mins walk to Crown Point Shopping centre for all needs. A walk up the street takes you to some lively local pubs and restaurants. Mustard wharf itself host a coffee shop in the building if you need a place to hangout outside. City centre is also within a 10 min walk

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You might need to buy additional storage furniture as their apartments are designed for minimalistic lifestyle.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, they have attended all our calls regarding any issues or assistance with the facilities within the hour.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent Complex

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

The building is easy accessible but is very secure, everyone that works at Mustard Wharf is incredibly friendly and have been so helpful. The apartments themselves are well made, very well insulated and there are lots of spaces to work from throughout the complex if you work from home. The rooftop will be lovely in summer and there are great views throughout the building. Mustard Wharf’s facilities are all really well made, the gym is brand new, there is a coffee bar and the location is excellent if you want to live in the city.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location close to the train station and a 5 minute walk away from the city center. The wind does pick up close to the complex but it’s a minor issue. There are lots of bars, restaurants and services just around the corner so you don’t need to walk to the city center. The city center of Leeds with lots of bars, restaurants and shops is a 5 minute walk.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The furniture, particularly the sofa is quite small for 2 people.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have not had any issues so far but the building staff are excellent and very friendly.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great for a metropolitan lifestyle

Review Date Dec 2021

Mustard Wharf and the adjacent apartment blocks are very innovative in design, with flexible work areas in communal facilities which is great if you work from home like me and want a change of scene. Also the use of a private kitchen and dinning room is really handy for larger dinner parties. I would definitely recommend this development if you are looking for modern, flexible and centrally located metropolitan living.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Mustard Wharf is located right in the heart of Leeds. It couldn’t be closer to the railway station and by car it doesn’t take long to access the main roads out of the city. It’s very quiet so I haven’t seen or heard any antisocial behaviour. The shops are a short walk away including access to restaurants, nightlife and the city’s LGBT village.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Loading bay

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All questions responded to within a few hours and with helpful advice.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A friendly and stress free city-centre development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

I have recently relocated back to the area and Louise couldn’t have made the process any smoother right from viewing through to move in, she went out of her way to ensure my move was hassle free. The team are friendly and approachable and make it feel like home.

I love the private dining room and hope to be utilising that very soon.

The apartments are modern and a decent size and moving into them is hassle and stress free.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I eat out regularly and find being in Granary Wharf a perfect spot. There are a number of pubs, bars and restaurants really near by (Livin’Italy being one of my favourites) then the plethora of establishments the City Centre has to offer just a short walk away.

Mustard Wharf couldn’t be much closer to the train station so ideal for travelling for work which I do a lot.

Considering the central location, the development is quiet.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I think I was made aware of everything before I moved in and so don’t feel there could be any improvements

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have only had to approach them about 1 issue and this was dealt with swiftly

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

hi Andrew,

Thank you for your review and your great feedback, we’re really happy that you’re enjoying your time with us.

If you need anything, please let myself or any of the on site team know.

Regards
Johnathan

Honest Mustard Wharf Review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Dec 2021

I’m going to give an extensive, real review of what it’s like to live at Mustard Wharf; something I wish I had seen before moving here. I lived in the Lockside building from May until November 2021.

Pros:
-It looks nice from the outside
-The roof terrace has great views
-The apartments are incredibly well insulated
-The concierge who is on at night (Andrew) is a warm person, very likeable
-The appliances are what you’d expect for the price of rent, all Samsung and all new
-Free WIFI (about 100 down, 10 up)

Cons:
-You get no mobile service in the building. I had to use WIFI calling for the entire time I lived there.
-It’s been a while since I’ve been at school getting a telling off, but Mustard Wharf brought me right back. It is managed like a school in some circumstances. For example: if someone didn’t put something in the bins correctly, all the residents would receive an Email in a tone that suggests they’re telling you off. I had a good chuckle at these Emails.
-They monitor the guests you bring with you to your own apartment.
-The apartments feel like IKEA show rooms. Lovely to look at, but after a short while you realise that they do not feel homely.
-Since the apartments are now almost full, people congregate outside some nights at 1/2am being loud freely. I grew up on a council estate and it really brought me back to my roots for £990 per month.
-My apartment had been professionally cleaned before I moved in. The professional cleaners must have forgot that a floor needs a clean too. I spent 2 hours mopping and hoovering the floor of a brand new apartment. To add insult to injury, I left the apartment CLEANER than it was when I moved in, and I was still charged a £180 cleaning bill from my deposit.
-Speaking of the deposit, you won’t get yours back. Of my £980 deposit, I have been offered £7.50 back. A chippy tea in return for 1k. I left the mattress and a shelf in the bathroom damaged – both of which total £340, therefore £340 would be a fair deposit deduction. Instead, they decided to charge me for extensive cleaning, they charged me to repaint the walls (the walls were untouched), and they charged to patch holes in the walls where I put small pins in to hang pictures up. Now bare in mind, on Mustard Wharf’s Instagram page, they advertise these apartments by telling you that you can decorate them how you like. They just don’t tell you that your deposit will be used to bring it all back to the way it was – even if you didn’t decorate!
I’ve lived in a few apartments and I’ve always had at least 70% of my deposit returned, so trust me when I say, they will do anything to drain your deposit. They even charged me £3.50 to replace a light bulb that wasn’t working the day I moved in. You can only laugh can’t you.
-The gym isn’t 24 hours (6am – 10pm), not an issue for most, just something to be mindful of
-Not enough bins for the amount of residents. Bins ALWAYS full
-The daytime concierge’s (who are often chartered from other companies) can be very cold. Really depends who’s on though.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is nice. Right by the canal, not too far from a small Tesco and a 10 minute walk into the centre. It’s not as central as other city centre apartments that you can get for a tad cheaper if being in the centre is what you’re after, but the location is still pleasant. Since Mustard Wharf has became full, people are often congregating outside making noise – although the location is nice to look at, the noise became much more prevalent as more people moved in, and the noise was most of the time unchecked.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I’d have given Mustard Wharf 3 stars if it wasn’t for the scandalous deposit deductions. I usually pass a review off when someone bases an element of their review on a personal problem (deposit), but given that my apartment was left in a very reasonable condition and Mustard Wharf decided they’d pay for my dinner instead of paying me back my deposit, I can safely say that you will probably encounter a similar issue. If I knew the deposit was going to be drained from me as it was, I would not have moved here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Mustard Wharf has taken almost a month to return less than 1% of my deposit to me.

2
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Brad,

Thank you for your review and I’m sorry that your cons outweigh the pros whilst you were living here.

I appreciate your comments, however I’m a little disappointed that you didn’t raise any whilst you were living here so we could address anything in person, in fact we actively tried to help you with your circumstances to stay at Mustard Wharf which I know was your preferred choice.

Some of the comments you’ve made in your review have no context to them, such as “They monitor the guests you bring with you to your own apartment” – I think you’re referring to when we were in lockdown and we wanted to ensure that residents had access to their bubbles, or are you referring to general security so that every resident and their apartments remain safe?

Each building has a double door entry system so we’re also always there to assist visitors that may struggle.

“-Since the apartments are now almost full, people congregate outside some nights at 1/2am being loud freely. I grew up on a council estate and it really brought me back to my roots for £990 per month” – We try and encourage an active open community here at Mustard Wharf, our 24/7 on site team are also there to break up the seldom party goers that enjoy themselves in the early hours, but again, you never raised this as a concern whilst you lived with us Brad?

“My apartment had been professionally cleaned before I moved in. The professional cleaners must have forgot that a floor needs a clean too. I spent 2 hours mopping and hoovering the floor of a brand new apartment” – We all have different opinions on the level of cleanliness, I can assure you that the apartment was sparkling upon your move in, as captured in the inventory, if you had said upon move in that you weren’t happy we would have gladly revisited the clean for you.

“Speaking of the deposit, you won’t get yours back. Of my £980 deposit, I have been offered £7.50 back. A chippy tea in return for 1k. I left the mattress and a shelf in the bathroom damaged – both of which total £340, therefore £340 would be a fair deposit deduction. Instead, they decided to charge me for extensive cleaning” – The apartment was left in a condition that went against the agreement of your tenancy agreement, the apartment was not left with just “wear and tear”, and you must know that! We are not in the business of taking deposits from our residents, we want residents to move on and be happy, you must acknowledge that the total deducted from your deposit is a fair representative of how you left it when you moved out?

We won’t get into the ins and outs of the apartment condition upon move in V’s your move out as we know that both conditions have been captured in the inventory and the checkout report, which show very different conditions between the two. It also worth remembering that you were the first to ever live in that apartment so it was brand new on your arrival.

Your deposit situation is being managed in house, however we all have different ideas on what “damaged” is in relation to your comments re the mattress and the bathroom counter.

We do have enough bins and the onsite team are constantly working to ensure that they are kept clean and organised.

“The daytime concierge’s (who are often chartered from other companies) can be very cold. Really depends who’s on though” This is really disappointing to hear, the Resident Services’ Team who work on Front of House always have very high standards who are instinctively friendly and pleasant to all resident like, so again this surprises me that you didn’t let me know that this was the case before you moved out.

Since your move out, we have tried to work with you with regards to your deposit dispute, this was the only reason it’s been delayed, and that and having to gather all the quotes and figures to put right how you left the apartment.
Hopefully we can resolve this matter soon, however we are still wanting to resolve the matter with no communication received from yourself even with our ongoing attempts, in the meantime I wish you all the best in your new home.

Kind regards
Johnathan

Expensive, but worth it.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

The development is really modern and rather gorgeous. It is a bit pricey overall, but there are a lot of amenities and benefits to renting here. Access to a free gym is great and the common workspaces are all quite beautiful and relaxing. I feel really secure living here, as the area is relatively well lit, there are a lot of cameras around, and there’s reception assistance 24/7. The staff is really helpful and do their best to help you as fast as possible. I also appreciate that all packages are first received by reception, that way I never miss a delivery.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There’s a lot of restaurants and other businesses nearby. The location is also less than 10 minutes away from the city centre, so everything is really close by.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Council tax cost.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There were some issues with my apartment when I moved in. However, staff moved fast and immediately did their best to fix the problem.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Evangelia,

Thank you for your review and comments, its must appreciated.

I’m always open to listening to my residents feedback so I’m happy to arrange a get together over coffee so I can further understand your ratings and why they are 4’s across the board when you’ve given such lovely commentary.

Nevertheless, thank you for your review and as always, if you need anything please reach out to me directly and or my wonderful on site team anytime.

Regards
Johnathan.

Great place to live in the city center

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

This is a brand new building, with nicely decorated apartments and good shared facilities. I live in a one bedroom with a balcony. The living room has a decent size for a one bed flat. The kitchen is equipped with really good quality home appliances. The furniture is of good design and makes it very easy to decorate and make the space look like a home. The only downsides for me are: the space in the living area is not properly used, as I have a lot of space left in the kitchen area while the living is a bit crowded, which annoys me. This makes a difference when you live in a small flat. I also enjoy cooking a lot and feel like doing it less that I’d normally do because there is really few space for cooking (maybe a 60cm2 piece of bench between the hob and the sink). None of those things are actually big issues and do not prevent me having a good time here. Apart from that, the building is very well located, the staff is really friendly and supportive, the building is well organized and looked after, there is a nice atmosphere around. If you are looking for a good place to live in the city center, I really recommend Mustard Wharf.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

This is an amazing location to be in Leeds because it’s very close to the city center and I can walk pretty much everywhere to the main restaurants, bars, theaters, and shops. Still it’s sufficiently far from the main crowded areas in town and very close to the canal. A 10 minutes walk away from the building takes you to a very calm and relaxing area. To me it’s a great combination of both worlds. Only caveat is the proximity to the train station, which makes it handy, but also means train noise all day long. The door provides a good noise isolation, but it’s not a complete silence environment if that is an issue for you.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The constant noise of the train station. I have to keep the door closed for most of the time when I’m home to keep the noise controlled as my flat is literally facing the train line. I’m positively surprised with how nicely warm the flat is.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The staff is really friendly, supportive and effective. I had great and very quick responses every time I needed.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello Antonio,

Thank you for your review, I’m really pleased that you love living at Mustard Wharf so much.

I’m sorry to hear that you don’t feel there is enough room for you to cook, our kitchens are quite spacious but don’t for get that you you access to the private dining room for those times you want to really spread out and impress!

As always, its a pleasure having you as a Mustard Wharf resident and I hope to see you at more of our resident events in the future that we’ll be hosting.

If you need anything you know where we are, thanks again and see you soon.

Thanks
Johnathan

Great place to live, would recommend to anyone

Review Date Nov 2021

Amazing staff. Very friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much
Lots of amenities. Gym is perfect, often very quiet and has everything you need. Communal area spaces perfect for work and are aesthetically pleasing
Flats are the perfect size and have very good appliances
Option to have flats cleaned at an extra cost

Only downside is that the sofa and bed are very hard. At the start of my tenancy, I felt like I was lying on a plank of wood when on my bed so I had to get another mattress topper as well as using the one they provided when I first arrived. I am used to it now so is fine

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Positives:
Really good location i.e. right next to the train station so great transport links and 10 minute walk into town
A nice collection of restaurants and bars right next to the development
Feel extremely safe here which is important to me
Designated area in building to put all the waste. Very easy
Negatives:
Can hear building works all through the day Monday-Friday. No chance of a lie in without wearing ear plugs or headphones unfortunately. I also choose not to open my blinds because there are constantly builders outside
Could not use the building car park as is full so have had to buy a permit elsewhere

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Ongoing building works not ideal. Pets are allowed which is a great advantage

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Problem with dishwasher. Dealt with quite slowly but think it was due to supplier. Other than that everything dealt with quickly. Would constantly phone the reception asking questions at the beginning of my stay and they dealt with all my queries.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Tabby,

Thanks for your comments, I’m so pleased that you love living at Mustard wharf and that everything is working for you.

As always, if you ever need anything please give me or the on site team a shout.

Regards
Johnathan

Building facilities and on-site team are great

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2021

Building facilities and on-site team are great – any snagging issues sorted very quickly. Gym and communal spares superb and always clean – never had any issues.
The only major down side is that the apartments & buildings in the summer months are extremely hot.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location to the city centre and train station

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

n/a

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any problems or issues (not that we’ve had many) have always been resolved quickly

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Billy

Thanks for your comments and feedback, I’m so glad that you enjoy living here at Mustard Wharf.

Sorry to hear about the heat too, it was a crazy hot heat wave this summer, very rare for UK! but we will be monitoring this moving forward.

Thanks again and if you need anything as always please reach out to myself and or one of the on site team.

Thanks
Johnathan

LA to Leeds

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

The apartments are well designed, eco friendly and concrete so I rarely hear my neighbours or the construction outside. It’s such a well thought out space. If you want luxury living, good neighbours, great staff and a fantastic location you will love it here. I travel for work often so I appreciate the 24hr concierge service they provide exceptional service. I thought Mustard Wharf was too good to be true but it’s exceeded all my expectations. Property management is by far the best in Leeds.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

After spending a lot of time in America, I was in search of a home that could provide me with the customer service and attention to detail I was use to. I had never seen an apartment buidling in Leeds that had the amenities and design that matched what I was use to in LA. My home was move in ready and was so easy with the help of the staff at Mustard Wharf. It is diverse from families to working professional which allows me to have community here. Parking can be tricky for guests but there is paid parking a short walk away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking is challenging.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Immediately! Always resolved I never really have problems here.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Kem,

Thank you for your review, it was really important to me that you felt at home straight away, it was a long road to get you in but I was determined to find you the best new home and I’m so pleased that we did and you’re settled!

As always if you need anything please reach out to me or my team and we will always help where we can & we’ll see you at the next residents event, coming soon!

Regards
Johnathan

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Mustard Wharf, LS1
User submitted image of Mustard Wharf, LS1
User submitted image of Mustard Wharf, LS1
User submitted image of Mustard Wharf, LS1
User submitted image of Mustard Wharf, LS1
User submitted image of Mustard Wharf, LS1
User submitted image of Mustard Wharf, LS1
User submitted image of Mustard Wharf, LS1
User submitted image of Mustard Wharf, LS1

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Central

Central

Coworking

Coworking

Concierge

Concierge

Gym

Gym

Laundry Facilities

Laundry Facilities

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Legal & General
Number of developments 9

4.62

Average rating based on 440 reviews

View company
Urbanbubble
Number of developments 9

4.63

Average rating based on 456 reviews

View company