Fizzy East16, E16

By
Fizzy Living, Greystar
2nd
Ranked 2nd out of 9 in Canning Town
3.67 (55 reviews) 3.67 (55 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.73
Facilities
3.87
Design
4.00
Location
3.44
Value
3.56
Management

Fizzy East16 is located only 30 seconds from Canning Town Station. It comprises of 292 apartments with a mix of studios and 1,2 and 3-beds available. In addition, residents have access to podium gardens, a co-working suite with a meeting room and resident lounges to meet, work and play. Likewise, the development is pet-friendly.

Read more Read less
Fizzy East16, E16 Available Properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£1,450 pcm
Studio AUF
1 Bed
1 Bath
418 sq ft
More info
£1,660 pcm
The Spaniel UF
1 Bed
1 Bath
576 sq ft
More info
£1,640 pcm
The Bulldog UF
1 Bed
1 Bath
568 sq ft
More info
£2,350 pcm
The Dalmatian UF
2 Bed
2 Bath
931 sq ft
More info
£2,335 pcm
The Labrador UF
2 Bed
2 Bath
908 sq ft
More info
£2,890 pcm
The Retriever UF
3 Bed
2 Bath
1058 sq ft
More info
£2,075 pcm
The Terrier F
1 Bed
1 Bath
562 sq ft
More info
£2,590 pcm
The Whippet
2 Bed
1 Bath
826 sq ft
More info

Fizzy East16, E16 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 5 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

OVERPRICED AND UNDERDELIVERED

Review Date Mar 2022

FIZZY E16 Canning TOWN. So . If you want to see a live example of false advertising, overpriced mediocre apartments, overly promoted clubs and living , bare security and an extremely ignorant management with no sense of responsibility- welcome to fizzy or grey star .
Started living in may 2021 , false adverts by letting team , they have taken a proper advantage of Covid and virtual showing.Talk to them and you feel like they are renting out a 5 star property. They are always busy but the building is 25percent occupied. 1800 per month for an average place, fragile furniture . Add some 400 bucks and you get a much better place in Canary Wharf . F club is a joke . No coffee capsules in place , empty jars , no water or drinks or juice in refrigerator. The f club door broke down in the building 2 months back . But if you go into the manager offices, they are spotless. Even before they got new buildings , the management team would work less and party more . It’s like a group of toddlers running Around with keys to a whole building and no sense or professionalism. Your so called manager will only be seen on the day of moving in . After that you will never hear or see them .
PURCHASED RATINGS , FAKE REVIEWS on HOME VIEWS. BEWARE

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Noise due to the trains . Even on the higher floors

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Rather slowly or no response. First of all very cheap quality then no repairs

1
Facilities
1
Design
2
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Resident, We are extremely saddened to receive this review. Unfortunately, because you have not left your name we can not reach out to you directly. If you have any direct issues relating to your flat, furniture or indeed any staff member we do encourage you to report one of the onsite property managers like myself in the first instance. We are available to 9-5pm Monday to Friday in office space by The Hub, or can contact any of us via email on east16@fizzyliving.com and it will be escalated to Senior Management. Please be assured we are working with all parties involved in this development including Vistry, Greystar and any suppliers to improve the service and offering at East16 on a daily basis. If you would like to address anything with us directly we will be happy to assist you.

Disappointing and would not recommend

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

I moved into Fizzy E16 in August 2021. We moved from the Fizzy Canning Town building due to problems we were having with our neighbours having loud parties every night. I will say that the Fizzy management team were helpful in facilitating the move, however I unfortunately now feel that it is necessary to leave this review due to the incredibly disappointing experience we have had here since August. I can’t in good faith allow prospective tenants to move in without knowing how difficult it is to live here.

Security is the primary issue. Parcels are frequently stolen and there are insufficient lockers for packages. More importantly, non-residents have gained access to the building and on some occasions have been able to get into tenants’ homes and steal belongings. Bikes have also been stolen from the secure bike store. Generally, tenants feel unsafe. When moving into the flat, we were told a concierge would be at the front desk, however there was no concierge service and only after constant chasing and lobbying by the tenants was a concierge / security put in place (with no guarantees of how long this would be available). The shared communal space has been broken into, with items stolen on numerous occasions.

The flats are all new and in my opinion, quite spacious, however there are a number of design faults, for example, the paint constantly chips and there are issues with the flooring separating (amongst other things). Some of the issues are understandable new build snagging problems, but unfortunately these don’t get resolved despite multiple requests. Our hot water has cut out on multiple occasions, sometimes for several days. On the times we have tried out of hours services, they have been uncontactable. Generally, repairs are slow and require numerous follow ups on the tenant side to ensure these actually take place.

There are some helpful property managers in the property management team, however often they are unable to resolve issues due to reasons which are said to be outside of their control. I do understand this to an extent, but unfortunately as a tenant it means you are left without any resolution to material problems.

I dislike having to leave a bad review of anything, but it truly feels necessary in this instance. I wouldn’t recommend moving into this building.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I’ve lived in the area for around five years and like the convenience of being so close to central London. I will say however that there has been increasing construction works and noise over the past few years, and also traffic. Whilst there are some good parks, and Royal Victoria is lovely in the summer time, I wouldn’t choose this area if you like a more peaceful / quiet location. Having the large Morrisons is great, but you are limited in cafe and restaurant options nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had understood the security issues we would be facing and the fact that we wouldn’t be provided with a concierge as promised, as I don’t think I would have moved in if I was aware of this at the outset.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management responsiveness is an issue. The tenants have had to group together and arrange meetings with Fizzy management to try and get answers / resolutions to important concerns and issues. Despite this, real improvement has not been forthcoming and it has been left to the tenants to continually chase for updates and actions.

2
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Vanessa, we are very sorry to hear of your experience with us at East16. We have had at tough road over the past year, however we hope that we are now turning the corner. We remain in open and direct communication with yourself and your other resident reps from the building. Please be assured we are working hard to implement changes as best we can and to communicate with residents directly on individual issues or for the wider group via the app. Please do let the management team know of any further issues or concerns and we will be happy to address them. Thank you Fizzy Senior Management team

All fizz & no pop.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

TLDR: Fizzy/ Greystar will overpromise and underdeliver, and will not accept responsibility for anything. Maintenance is a mess, stealing from the building is like taking candy from a baby, and most of the amenities they advertised are either nonexistent or inaccessible. If you’re looking for no hassle luxury service, look elsewhere. Terrible company ethos and culture wrapped up in a deceptive package. AVOID Fizzy/ Greystar!

I feel like I’ve aged three years since I moved to East16 in September 2021, because it sure has been one rollercoaster of a ride.

[VIEWING]

Let me start at the beginning. First of all, when we first got in touch to do a viewing, it was almost impossible to get ahold of anyone in the lettings teams. I called multiple times and sent countless emails over many days, only to be ignored or told it was a bad time and that I’d get a call back. When I finally managed to secure a viewing, we fell in love with the flat itself (on the surface, it seemed perfect…) We quickly found out that only 4 floors in Falconbrook Gardens are actually pet friendly, despite the adverting saying the entire building is. Our options were thus very limited in choosing a unit. The website also did not (and still does not) state that there are any extra charges for a pets — but, having worked in real estate, I sensed there might be some trickery afoot. The lettings agent played coy with us and said they’d check about the pet fee; meanwhile, we put down our non-refundable deposit. Shortly afterwards, we got a call saying it would cost £50 for a dog (£25 for a cat, £40 for two cats, and £75 for two dogs I believe). We agreed as it had been difficult to find somewhere pet friendly and we loved the property.

[REFERENCING]

The dreaded referencing process began. We had the rudest and most incompetent BoB property managers conducting our referencing process, who kept pushing for us to pay 6 months upfront and finding any possible reason to force the matter (the one that landed was my probation period). I tried to suggest proof of savings or an alternative method, as we wanted to keep our money in our accounts. We were made to feel like scum throughout the referencing process (for context, I am a Project Manager in the Civil Service, and my partner is an engineer in the Defence sector, so we hardly have unstable jobs). Nevertheless, we agreed to pay upfront as we were in too deep at this point. The referencing checks were supposedly complete and the contract would soon follow.

A month later, and 1 week to move-in monies being due, we still had no contract. I chased the BoB over and over again, and was fobbed off each time with promises of it being sent in a few days. I finally reached out to another staff member, who informed me that his colleague didn’t complete the referencing process properly, despite us having been told it had been. Thankfully, he sped through it and we were able to move in — but if I hadn’t have chased so intently, we would have ended up in a hotel paying out of pocket like other residents did.

[MOVE-IN DAY]

The move in day finally came. Although we picked a Saturday and we were told this would be fine, the BoB changed their mind about working on a weekend and forced me to come in for handover on Friday. This was a 2 hour journey there and back as we were living in Kent at the time, not to mention being in the middle of the stressful moving process. They refused to be flexible and do it earlier in the week, when I was already going to be in London. That same Friday, they handed me a pet agreement — which I had not been sighted on — with a long list of things we couldn’t do with our pet (including put a bed for them on the balcony).

We finally moved in and thought all our troubles were behind us. Little did we know, they were only just beginning.

Our “professionally cleaned” flat had a thick layer of dust over every surface including the windows, bird poo on the balcony, and glue/ paint splattered all over the floor. The quality of the finishings, it became quickly clear, is terrible. The trims, doorframes, and kitchen walls are painted with water-soluble paint, meaning it chips and rubs off with the slightest provocation. The 52-page inventory with 100s of photos (with the pixelation of an early 2000s Nokia) conveniently missed all of this.

Our toilet was overflowing from day one and it took 106 days, 6 planned visits, 4 attended visits, and possibly 8 billion emails to fix this leak, which accounted for over half of our water bill during this period. And we are the lucky ones — the building’s management, which is supposed to be more convenient as it is on-site, is vastly oversubscribed and badly managed.

The first night we couldn’t sleep due the train noise (which was advertised as being silent), so if you’re a light sleeper you need not even read on to find out about about all of the other BS we’ve had to deal with…

[POST-MOVE]

Perhaps most worryingly, both buildings have been rife with security issues. One of the two doors to the flats was broken for weeks, and clearly accessible due to the lock being removed for most of that time. It took weeks of begging to get it fixed. Unsurprisingly, we have had thefts of countless packages and personal property, as well as Fizzy’s own TVs and laptops. We have had multiple break-ins, none of which Fizzy has notified us about (instead, we found out through word-of-mouth that Fizzy laptops containing our personal data were stolen).

It’s impressive, actually, how many burglaries occur considering no one can actually find the buildings, which are identical and next to one another. They both have the same Fizzy East16 marketing plastered all over them, but no one thought it would be a good idea to post clear signage with the official block names, as in our addresses. So, even when packages aren’t stolen, they’re constantly delivered to the wrong block or returned to sender. Recently (again, after months of complaining — notice a theme?) they put up a teeny A4 plaque on the side of the building with the block names on it. Needless to say, I doubt emergency services will be able to see that even if they stand right in front of it, let alone from the street. My engineer’s boyfriend’s quick calculations estimate the sign-to-building ratio is approximately that of an ant to a human.

All of these issues would be readily resolvable if we actually had the 24/7 concierge that they advertised. When we had our viewing, there was someone at the desk. Unsurprisingly, this is yet another promise Fizzy has broken and for months there has been no one downstairs. In fact, they moved the desk and chair from our building over to the other one to keep making the same claim to new viewers. Once again after countless complaints, they’ve put a BoB in one of the buildings’ lobbies during working hours. Clearly, this does little to fix all of the aforementioned security and delivery issues, especially as their presence is patchy at best.

Moreover, the gorgeous common spaces which incentivised us to move here, and which are meant to be free for residents to book for private events, are now a chargeable service. Never mind that we are already paying market value with amenities embedded into our rent: if you want to book the Fizzy Club for a few hours it will now cost you hundreds of pounds in fees/ cleaning costs plus a hefty deposit (if, that is, anyone even responds to your booking request in the first place). And if you want to do yoga, be sure to book the room days in advance to give them enough time to manually send you the door’s code. But anyways, who needs yoga with all these hoops you get to jump through?

[PRESENT DAY]

To top it all off, we have been in regular talks with management and the Head of Marketing and Sales specifically has been a nightmare. She is rude, thoroughly unapologetic, and simply unpleasant. She clearly has no understanding of basic customer service nor any idea how to deescalate a situation of, at least in part, her own making through failures in management. Her favourite game to play is “how far away from me can I throw the blame?”

The only ray of light in an otherwise gloomy fizzy world are some of the BoBs, specifically Jason and Tyrra, who are both really genuine people who really do their best to help us, and the only ones who have actually taken responsibility for anything (although most of it is out of their control). If someone would just give them the keys to the kingdom, that would probably solve a lot of our issues. But alas…

Anyway, if you’re thinking of moving here… just, don’t. The only thing unique Fizzy/ Greystar offer is “pet friendliness” which is limited to only a few floors; the rest is the same old BS of every other London landlord. The only way they are “reinventing” renting is with how much they can charge you to deliver a substandard service. All they care about is money and couldn’t give a monkey’s about their tenants.

Prospective renters: You have been warned.

Sorry, not sorry, Fizzy/ Greystar (look, that’s a non-apology apology I picked up from your Head of Marketing)… There’s only so far a half-hearted bottle of cheap Prosecco can get you.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is great, if you stay on the main road. It gets a bit dodgy otherwise. Lots of shops & supermarkets and the area is clearly in the process of being gentrified.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

To be honest, most of it is bad and was uncovered after moving in and this is covered in my review.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Hannah is the only member of senior management who has made a real attempt to respond in a kind and helpful way. Unfortunately, we are going to need a lot more than that to get this building back on track and a lot of the damage has already been done.

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Ria, as per our previous correspondance, you are aware of what we are working on to improve your living expereince with Fizzy.

Updated review after 5 months…

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The property looks beautiful but unfortunately management let it down. Any repairs required both in the flat and the communal spaces are incredibly long and complicated, with Fizzy refusing to take responsibility for these and blaming external contractors / the management company. Some of the BOBs are good, but some are incredibly rude and act like you’re inconveniencing them.

Windows have been cleaned once since September, which is such a shame as the view is beautiful.
Rental prices are high for the area, considering the lack of concierge and gym, and the facilities promised on the website don’t exist (eg free beer and wine fridge and yoga studio is so difficult to book most tenants don’t bother).
The app to operate the Intercom barely works, and unfortunately many areas of the building suffer with slow WiFi.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We’re really close to the tube and DLR, which would be great if soundproofing was up to scratch – unfortunately it isn’t so trains can be heard incredibly loudly within the flat constantly.

There’s been several break ins to the building, and packages get stolen regularly. It doesn’t feel like a safe area to live, and the building management don’t seem to care unfortunately. Fizzys office in the building was even broken into! The advise from Fizzy was that tenants should challenge tailgators into the building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How bad the noise from the train tracks is and how rude management are.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slowly! When we had a leak in the utility cupboard we had to have contractors out three times before it was repaired and made good. This took several weeks.

2
Facilities
2
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

We appreciate your feedback. Please keep an eye out for correspondance from management with updates and improvements.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16

Facilities

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Central

Central

Coworking

Coworking

Indoor Golf

Indoor Golf

Laundry Facilities

Laundry Facilities

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Resident Events

Resident Events

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Service

Service

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Greystar
Number of developments 23

4.32

Average rating based on 2102 reviews

View company
Fizzy Living
Number of developments 8

4.31

Average rating based on 1303 reviews

View company