Fizzy East16, E16

By
Fizzy Living, Greystar
3rd
Ranked 3rd out of 10 in Canning Town
3.14 (27 reviews) 3.14 (27 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.41
Facilities
3.70
Design
3.89
Location
3.19
Value
3.07
Management

Fizzy East16 is located only 30 seconds from Canning Town Station. It comprises of 292 apartments with a mix of studios and 1,2 and 3-beds available. In addition, residents have access to podium gardens, a co-working suite with a meeting room and resident lounges to meet, work and play. Likewise, the development is pet-friendly.

Read more Read less
Fizzy East16, E16 Available Properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£1,450 pcm
Studio AUF
1 Bed
1 Bath
418 sq ft
More info
£1,660 pcm
The Spaniel UF
1 Bed
1 Bath
576 sq ft
More info
£1,640 pcm
The Bulldog UF
1 Bed
1 Bath
568 sq ft
More info
£2,350 pcm
The Dalmatian UF
2 Bed
2 Bath
931 sq ft
More info
£2,335 pcm
The Labrador UF
2 Bed
2 Bath
908 sq ft
More info
£2,890 pcm
The Retriever UF
3 Bed
2 Bath
1058 sq ft
More info
£2,075 pcm
The Terrier F
1 Bed
1 Bath
562 sq ft
More info
£2,590 pcm
The Whippet
2 Bed
1 Bath
826 sq ft
More info

Fizzy East16, E16 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 27 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Fizzy is the best place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Not been here long but it’s been an amazing and smooth process so far – beautiful flat and everyone is always happy to help! I love how pet friendly Fizzy are and it just feels so safe with 24/7 security etc. I don’t have a bad word to say so far – thanks fizzy!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Can be quite loud but overall it’s a great place so close to the station and all of the amenities you would need.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I was given more info about the move in process – where to go when parking etc is confusing

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Always responded within 24 hours and so happy to help us.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hey Chantal, Welcome to FE16! Thank you for your glowing review! We really appreciate it. We hope you enjoy your stay with us.

Thank you!

Review Date May 2022

The flat was fab, very clean and modern. Our dog loved it too and spent most of its time on the balcony enjoying the views. Building management & property management were great at sorting out any concerns or issues we had; they also made the move out process easy and we also received our deposit back within good time. Thanks for a great stay at fizzy east 16, Jason, Mass and team!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to the train station & food shops with a couple of local restaurants to choose from.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Price of council tax!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They resolved any issues we had whilst we were living there

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

OVERPRICED AND UNDERDELIVERED

Review Date Mar 2022

FIZZY E16 Canning TOWN. So . If you want to see a live example of false advertising, overpriced mediocre apartments, overly promoted clubs and living , bare security and an extremely ignorant management with no sense of responsibility- welcome to fizzy or grey star .
Started living in may 2021 , false adverts by letting team , they have taken a proper advantage of Covid and virtual showing.Talk to them and you feel like they are renting out a 5 star property. They are always busy but the building is 25percent occupied. 1800 per month for an average place, fragile furniture . Add some 400 bucks and you get a much better place in Canary Wharf . F club is a joke . No coffee capsules in place , empty jars , no water or drinks or juice in refrigerator. The f club door broke down in the building 2 months back . But if you go into the manager offices, they are spotless. Even before they got new buildings , the management team would work less and party more . It’s like a group of toddlers running Around with keys to a whole building and no sense or professionalism. Your so called manager will only be seen on the day of moving in . After that you will never hear or see them .
PURCHASED RATINGS , FAKE REVIEWS on HOME VIEWS. BEWARE

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Noise due to the trains . Even on the higher floors

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Rather slowly or no response. First of all very cheap quality then no repairs

1
Facilities
1
Design
2
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Resident, We are extremely saddened to receive this review. Unfortunately, because you have not left your name we can not reach out to you directly. If you have any direct issues relating to your flat, furniture or indeed any staff member we do encourage you to report one of the onsite property managers like myself in the first instance. We are available to 9-5pm Monday to Friday in office space by The Hub, or can contact any of us via email on east16@fizzyliving.com and it will be escalated to Senior Management. Please be assured we are working with all parties involved in this development including Vistry, Greystar and any suppliers to improve the service and offering at East16 on a daily basis. If you would like to address anything with us directly we will be happy to assist you.

Over promised, under delivered

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2022

Well designed layout with good storage and lovely views. Spoiled however by shoddy workmanship and everything being done on the cheap. Paint constantly flakes, lots of leaks and wrong paint used within the kitchen which isnt waterproof.

It’s also not sound proofed well at all and you’re constantly fighting off dust.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of money pumped in and some nice restaurants. However, it’s an expensive place to live with naff security and everything always breaks so its constantly a target for theft.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I’d recommend avoiding it. Me and my partner felt we had to go for Fizzy as we have a dog, however the place is only partially dog friendly and you have to pay a fee on top of your rent. There are places at a similar or lower price in much nicer areas.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Flat out ignoring them, or picking it up very slowly. We had a leak that damaged the floor, this saga went 2 months all in all.

1
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
User submitted image of  Fizzy East16, E16
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Sorry to read your review Aaron. As you are aware we are in discussion with our residents in East16 and have implemented lots of changes and these are also ongoing. Please do feel free to contact us on east16@fizzyliving.com to discuss your personal circumstances further. Thanks

Fizzy Living Is Barely Living At All

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

Frankly, I couldn’t in good faith suggest anyone move here. I got this apartment because it was a new build, and I thought I’d be paying for excellent customer service and convenience. Also, the other Fizzy developments have excellent reviews. It turns out, you’re just paying too much and not getting a whole lot in return (fun fact: the construction company used for this building is different to their other ones aka cheaper). To start, the referencing process was an absolute nightmare (I was moving to the UK from the USA and didn’t get my final confirmation until 3 days before my flight on my apartment on a process I started over 6 weeks prior), and I was lucky to get responses to my emails and calls half the time. I chalked it up to being international and some teething problems. Fine, it sucked, but I made it.

Then there’s the general malaise and disdain that management gave me in trying to help resolve my problems. I didn’t have internet for nearly a week (management was supposed to set it up), and the solution provided was that I fix the problem myself, except the issue was they never registered my apartment. My bathroom door lock was broken and wasn’t fixed for about 2.5 months, when the repairman showed up, completely unannounced, to take a look. The building is in the 1 year warranty period, where a 3rd party is responsible for all repairs, and I interpret that as a hand-washing of any responsibility to get issues fixed. My balcony door was also unable to lock for about 2 months, and no one particularly cared about fixing it. With all the break-ins and thievery of packages in the building (we were promised a concierge we never got until recently, after a spat of robberies in the building), it didn’t inspire a lot of confidence that they were fine to keep my balcony door unchecked. I actually think I’ve been fairly lucky to not have any packages stolen as many other residents have complained about having theirs taken.

On top of this, I was shown an apartment on a higher floor and promised the train noises wouldn’t be a problem. Spoiler alert – it’s a huge issue, and if it weren’t for the two month free rent, I would have left here as soon as my lease allowed me to. It’s a consistent theme where the sales people promise you ease and simplicity, but you find out what you were promised and what was delivered are very different. When I brought up these issues, they were ignored for weeks, and I asked to be escalated to the manager of multiple properties. Even getting a call back from her took about 3 weeks, with a possible resolution of moving me to another unit in the new building that was opening. Lo and behold, the sales agents claimed they were never told of this and leased up most of the building before I even got a chance to look at any units (the manager claims she told them, so someone was lying to me). Also, I found out that if I moved too much higher I’d be charged higher rent, even though I was originally shown an apartment on a higher floor. The apartments are significantly overpriced for basically no amenities, mediocre build quality, and horrible management.

I found out they’ve started implementing some positive changes (hiring security, getting rid of the rats near the bins), but that’s only because the tenants literally formed a union to force some positive change.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The bad:
The train noise is incessant and becomes like a bad nightmare after a while. I bought a white noise machine, which helps, and thankfully, the tube usually stops around 1 am, but it starts right back up around 530. Don’t expect to sleep in much.
The trash bins/recycling are frequently not picked up which is frustrating, but I’m not sure who’s at fault on that one. Traffic noise is ok, but there is a lot of construction going on which can be distracting and close streets nearby.

The good:
You have good accessibility to the Canning Town station, so it isn’t too bad to get into central London (the Jubilee and DLR are relatively well connected). There is a nice Morrison’s and some decent cafes/restaurants around (nothing major yet but there is definitely some investment on this going on). Green space is lacking, but City Island is a nice walk and there’s a small park nearby there.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there would be multiple burglaries, the concierge promised wouldn’t exist, the furniture in the apartments is quite mediocre, and that management would do as close to nothing as possible to resolve the issues.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Most of my issues have taken at least 5 follow-ups and never gotten a quick resolution. I’d say my average time between raising an issue and getting it resolved is somewhere between 1-3 months.

1
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

We are sorry to hear your feedback and feelings. We have since made changes to the way we are operating and have communicated this with our tenants via the app and we do hope you can see the positive changes and efforts that are being made. Should you like to discuss anything further then please do email hello@fizzyliving.com

Disappointing and would not recommend

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

I moved into Fizzy E16 in August 2021. We moved from the Fizzy Canning Town building due to problems we were having with our neighbours having loud parties every night. I will say that the Fizzy management team were helpful in facilitating the move, however I unfortunately now feel that it is necessary to leave this review due to the incredibly disappointing experience we have had here since August. I can’t in good faith allow prospective tenants to move in without knowing how difficult it is to live here.

Security is the primary issue. Parcels are frequently stolen and there are insufficient lockers for packages. More importantly, non-residents have gained access to the building and on some occasions have been able to get into tenants’ homes and steal belongings. Bikes have also been stolen from the secure bike store. Generally, tenants feel unsafe. When moving into the flat, we were told a concierge would be at the front desk, however there was no concierge service and only after constant chasing and lobbying by the tenants was a concierge / security put in place (with no guarantees of how long this would be available). The shared communal space has been broken into, with items stolen on numerous occasions.

The flats are all new and in my opinion, quite spacious, however there are a number of design faults, for example, the paint constantly chips and there are issues with the flooring separating (amongst other things). Some of the issues are understandable new build snagging problems, but unfortunately these don’t get resolved despite multiple requests. Our hot water has cut out on multiple occasions, sometimes for several days. On the times we have tried out of hours services, they have been uncontactable. Generally, repairs are slow and require numerous follow ups on the tenant side to ensure these actually take place.

There are some helpful property managers in the property management team, however often they are unable to resolve issues due to reasons which are said to be outside of their control. I do understand this to an extent, but unfortunately as a tenant it means you are left without any resolution to material problems.

I dislike having to leave a bad review of anything, but it truly feels necessary in this instance. I wouldn’t recommend moving into this building.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I’ve lived in the area for around five years and like the convenience of being so close to central London. I will say however that there has been increasing construction works and noise over the past few years, and also traffic. Whilst there are some good parks, and Royal Victoria is lovely in the summer time, I wouldn’t choose this area if you like a more peaceful / quiet location. Having the large Morrisons is great, but you are limited in cafe and restaurant options nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had understood the security issues we would be facing and the fact that we wouldn’t be provided with a concierge as promised, as I don’t think I would have moved in if I was aware of this at the outset.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management responsiveness is an issue. The tenants have had to group together and arrange meetings with Fizzy management to try and get answers / resolutions to important concerns and issues. Despite this, real improvement has not been forthcoming and it has been left to the tenants to continually chase for updates and actions.

2
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Vanessa, we are very sorry to hear of your experience with us at East16. We have had at tough road over the past year, however we hope that we are now turning the corner. We remain in open and direct communication with yourself and your other resident reps from the building. Please be assured we are working hard to implement changes as best we can and to communicate with residents directly on individual issues or for the wider group via the app. Please do let the management team know of any further issues or concerns and we will be happy to address them. Thank you Fizzy Senior Management team

Anything but Hassle Free Living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

Where to start? When we first moved in (May 2021) we were asked to write a Homereview for a bottle of Prosecco, but we couldn’t bear to lie about our poor experience for some bubbly. We were hoping a lot of our issues would be dealt with and understood that it was a new development, but sadly that has not been the case. We were told that our flat would be professionally cleaned before move in, however that was not the case. It was covered in a thick layer of dust and the floor boards were covered in installation glue. After hours of cleaning, around 2am we discovered that we had no hot water. This issue persisted for 3 of the 4 weekends the first month we lived here. We were very unsatisfied with the furnishings (which we did not get the chance to see before move in) and they did work with us on that a bit. We were able to buy our own mattress. Several members of staff said the rest could be removed but alas top management said we would have to move to another flat to go unfurnished, as well as reapply for a flat. We are on our second, brand new sofa, and it creeks to high heaven when sit or lay on it.

Upon viewing we were told that we would have a concierge serve M-F 9-5, it happened for a couple of weeks and then nada. A few months ago they moved the Concierge desk over to the newly opened second building, and just recently brought it back. They are currently having BOBs take turns manning the lobby after months of stolen packages and vandalism throughout the building. This issue extends to the parcel lockers and fob system. The lockers often glitch and residents won’t get notified there is a delivery, assuming the delivery men use them at all. The fob system also glitches, you get random calls with no one there, or the call doesn’t come through. It also made it so that they had to remove the lock on the security door for several weeks as it had malfunctioned to the point that residents could not enter or exit the building.

Also upon viewing we were told that certain amenities would be made available to us, and given the hefty price-tag they were selling points before we signed our lease. Now, they have been removed from the website after they were unable to maintain them. Fizzy will say that it’s it is because of their requisition by Greystar, but these issues started before that. We were told that we would be able to book out the trendy FClub for events fee free, however, there is now a laundry list of fees and deposits you have to put down in spit of the fact that Fizzy has a card on file for everyone (in case of damages).

Communal spaces are run by HML that sort of do a good job… they do have cleaners come in weekly, but often times you can find the lifts a mess, and the lobby walls are dirty and not as impressive as they were upon moving. We do expect some wear and tear, but with the additional construction on-site it is terrible. Windows are currently only cleaned twice a year, so the beautiful view is often obstructed by copious amounts of dust.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

As Canning Town is an up and coming area, and Fizzy East16 is a literal stones throw away from Canning Town Station, transpo is fantastic. However this makes the building prone to break-ins and package theft, will touch on this more later. Shops are convenient and we are looking forward to more restaurants opening up in the area. The train noise is loud if you’re in a unit facing the tracks and the traffic can make the street noise unbearable if you’re on the other side of the building. There is parking available for a fee, but it is down the street, and would strongly suggest being vehicle free if you’re planning on moving here. Our bin room is always over flowing as there are not enough bins or collection times. There is also a family of rats that have taken up residence here.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Great:
-The view is actually pretty tremendous! Our cat loves chirping at the birds that fly by.
-There is a pretty solid group that lives here, always willing to share a LFT, a cup of sugar, or babysit pets.
-The pets are the most good looking you can find in all of London.
-Some staff are quite friendly and take the fact that this is our home seriously.
-Proximity to transpo and shops

Bad:
-The finishes are not as luxury as they appear. The paint chips with a slight breeze. The backsplash in the kitchen is water soluble, and impossible to keep clean.
-Noise can be an issue if you’re a light sleeper.
-Repairs can take forever, though they do seem to be stepping up their game.
-It gets unbearably hot in summer, the beautiful, large windows basically turn your flat into a green house, and with the construction going on in the area, dust is a beast if you open your windows (will say that there is Air-con in the Fclub).

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have had a myriad of repairs done, but we are often waiting around for hours for an engineer and no one will show up. Makes scheduling meetings a nightmare. I thin, I calculated something like a weeks worth of time just sitting waiting for a ghost to show up. Definitely don’t feel as though Fizzy takes it’s residents time seriously.

There was a leak from an improperly installed dishwasher above us, and it took out our hall closet for over a month with mold. Luckily, we didn’t sustain much in damages, but we were unable to use that space and it effectively wiped out our ability to use one of our loos, as we had to use it as storage until repairs were completed. Of which they first sent out a plumber (for mold) and didn’t follow up with afterwards. We eventually chased staff down in the office as a last ditch effort before going to the council.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Bobbie, thank for your updated review on East16. It is shame to let good prosecco to go to waste, we hope you were able to enjoy it regardless. As you are aware we are in open & direct correspondence with yourself and other residents and we are working hard to implement positive action & changes at East16 at pace. The full onsite and management team are working tirelessly to turn things around each day and we hope this transpires over the coming days and weeks and we can get to a place where you have a more positive living experience with us. Thank you. Fizzy Senior Management.

Nice location but very poor security and management

Review Date Feb 2022

The design of the building is fine. However the quality of the interior design and furnitures are really bad. When we just moved in, there were a lot of small problems with the door handle and lock of the toilet. Door can’t be closed, handles and lock keep falling from the door. Reported to the management team. they say they would fix it but they never send anyone. Eventually we learned how to fix it on YouTube LMAO
Also the wall paint is just a thin layer of lime, even in the kitchen. When we use the kitchen spray to wash the kitchen, the wall paint just melted bc of the soda crystal in the solution, showing the grey wall inside.

The management is poor, especially with the constant rising security issues. There were a lot of things stolen in the building, even their employees’ laptop, but they never upgraded the security. Eventually our flat got broken in by a stranger and laptop is stolen. There were other people saw the person broke in their flat while there were literally sitting in the living room, which is very scary.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is nice and convenient especially for people who are not British, plenty of Indian supermarket and European supermarket. Sainsbury & Morrison’s are just few steps away. The tube station is right behind the building. But the problem is it’s VERY NOISY bc of the tube.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The security is simply bad. Buy your own cctv and doorstops if you really want to move in here. The concierge is doing nothing.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The management is really poor. They never fixed the things we reported. And the security issues are constantly ignored.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Kristina, thank for your review. We will be sure to share your review with the developer Vistry who are in charge of the delivery of the buildings and its finishes. We understand this can be frustrating. We have faced some issues with the Customer Care team from Vistry but hopefully they will be able to improve their service for residents for defect repairs. The Fizzy team are aware off the security issues and working tirelessly to turn things around each day and it improves your living experience with us. We ask that you keep an eye out on updates via the resident app, including one which updated residents to permanent night security. The onsite team are doing their best to ensure only residents with fobs or those that have been buzzed into the building are coming in. Thank you Fizzy Management

All fizz & no pop.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

TLDR: Fizzy/ Greystar will overpromise and underdeliver, and will not accept responsibility for anything. Maintenance is a mess, stealing from the building is like taking candy from a baby, and most of the amenities they advertised are either nonexistent or inaccessible. If you’re looking for no hassle luxury service, look elsewhere. Terrible company ethos and culture wrapped up in a deceptive package. AVOID Fizzy/ Greystar!

I feel like I’ve aged three years since I moved to East16 in September 2021, because it sure has been one rollercoaster of a ride.

[VIEWING]

Let me start at the beginning. First of all, when we first got in touch to do a viewing, it was almost impossible to get ahold of anyone in the lettings teams. I called multiple times and sent countless emails over many days, only to be ignored or told it was a bad time and that I’d get a call back. When I finally managed to secure a viewing, we fell in love with the flat itself (on the surface, it seemed perfect…) We quickly found out that only 4 floors in Falconbrook Gardens are actually pet friendly, despite the adverting saying the entire building is. Our options were thus very limited in choosing a unit. The website also did not (and still does not) state that there are any extra charges for a pets — but, having worked in real estate, I sensed there might be some trickery afoot. The lettings agent played coy with us and said they’d check about the pet fee; meanwhile, we put down our non-refundable deposit. Shortly afterwards, we got a call saying it would cost £50 for a dog (£25 for a cat, £40 for two cats, and £75 for two dogs I believe). We agreed as it had been difficult to find somewhere pet friendly and we loved the property.

[REFERENCING]

The dreaded referencing process began. We had the rudest and most incompetent BoB property managers conducting our referencing process, who kept pushing for us to pay 6 months upfront and finding any possible reason to force the matter (the one that landed was my probation period). I tried to suggest proof of savings or an alternative method, as we wanted to keep our money in our accounts. We were made to feel like scum throughout the referencing process (for context, I am a Project Manager in the Civil Service, and my partner is an engineer in the Defence sector, so we hardly have unstable jobs). Nevertheless, we agreed to pay upfront as we were in too deep at this point. The referencing checks were supposedly complete and the contract would soon follow.

A month later, and 1 week to move-in monies being due, we still had no contract. I chased the BoB over and over again, and was fobbed off each time with promises of it being sent in a few days. I finally reached out to another staff member, who informed me that his colleague didn’t complete the referencing process properly, despite us having been told it had been. Thankfully, he sped through it and we were able to move in — but if I hadn’t have chased so intently, we would have ended up in a hotel paying out of pocket like other residents did.

[MOVE-IN DAY]

The move in day finally came. Although we picked a Saturday and we were told this would be fine, the BoB changed their mind about working on a weekend and forced me to come in for handover on Friday. This was a 2 hour journey there and back as we were living in Kent at the time, not to mention being in the middle of the stressful moving process. They refused to be flexible and do it earlier in the week, when I was already going to be in London. That same Friday, they handed me a pet agreement — which I had not been sighted on — with a long list of things we couldn’t do with our pet (including put a bed for them on the balcony).

We finally moved in and thought all our troubles were behind us. Little did we know, they were only just beginning.

Our “professionally cleaned” flat had a thick layer of dust over every surface including the windows, bird poo on the balcony, and glue/ paint splattered all over the floor. The quality of the finishings, it became quickly clear, is terrible. The trims, doorframes, and kitchen walls are painted with water-soluble paint, meaning it chips and rubs off with the slightest provocation. The 52-page inventory with 100s of photos (with the pixelation of an early 2000s Nokia) conveniently missed all of this.

Our toilet was overflowing from day one and it took 106 days, 6 planned visits, 4 attended visits, and possibly 8 billion emails to fix this leak, which accounted for over half of our water bill during this period. And we are the lucky ones — the building’s management, which is supposed to be more convenient as it is on-site, is vastly oversubscribed and badly managed.

The first night we couldn’t sleep due the train noise (which was advertised as being silent), so if you’re a light sleeper you need not even read on to find out about about all of the other BS we’ve had to deal with…

[POST-MOVE]

Perhaps most worryingly, both buildings have been rife with security issues. One of the two doors to the flats was broken for weeks, and clearly accessible due to the lock being removed for most of that time. It took weeks of begging to get it fixed. Unsurprisingly, we have had thefts of countless packages and personal property, as well as Fizzy’s own TVs and laptops. We have had multiple break-ins, none of which Fizzy has notified us about (instead, we found out through word-of-mouth that Fizzy laptops containing our personal data were stolen).

It’s impressive, actually, how many burglaries occur considering no one can actually find the buildings, which are identical and next to one another. They both have the same Fizzy East16 marketing plastered all over them, but no one thought it would be a good idea to post clear signage with the official block names, as in our addresses. So, even when packages aren’t stolen, they’re constantly delivered to the wrong block or returned to sender. Recently (again, after months of complaining — notice a theme?) they put up a teeny A4 plaque on the side of the building with the block names on it. Needless to say, I doubt emergency services will be able to see that even if they stand right in front of it, let alone from the street. My engineer’s boyfriend’s quick calculations estimate the sign-to-building ratio is approximately that of an ant to a human.

All of these issues would be readily resolvable if we actually had the 24/7 concierge that they advertised. When we had our viewing, there was someone at the desk. Unsurprisingly, this is yet another promise Fizzy has broken and for months there has been no one downstairs. In fact, they moved the desk and chair from our building over to the other one to keep making the same claim to new viewers. Once again after countless complaints, they’ve put a BoB in one of the buildings’ lobbies during working hours. Clearly, this does little to fix all of the aforementioned security and delivery issues, especially as their presence is patchy at best.

Moreover, the gorgeous common spaces which incentivised us to move here, and which are meant to be free for residents to book for private events, are now a chargeable service. Never mind that we are already paying market value with amenities embedded into our rent: if you want to book the Fizzy Club for a few hours it will now cost you hundreds of pounds in fees/ cleaning costs plus a hefty deposit (if, that is, anyone even responds to your booking request in the first place). And if you want to do yoga, be sure to book the room days in advance to give them enough time to manually send you the door’s code. But anyways, who needs yoga with all these hoops you get to jump through?

[PRESENT DAY]

To top it all off, we have been in regular talks with management and the Head of Marketing and Sales specifically has been a nightmare. She is rude, thoroughly unapologetic, and simply unpleasant. She clearly has no understanding of basic customer service nor any idea how to deescalate a situation of, at least in part, her own making through failures in management. Her favourite game to play is “how far away from me can I throw the blame?”

The only ray of light in an otherwise gloomy fizzy world are some of the BoBs, specifically Jason and Tyrra, who are both really genuine people who really do their best to help us, and the only ones who have actually taken responsibility for anything (although most of it is out of their control). If someone would just give them the keys to the kingdom, that would probably solve a lot of our issues. But alas…

Anyway, if you’re thinking of moving here… just, don’t. The only thing unique Fizzy/ Greystar offer is “pet friendliness” which is limited to only a few floors; the rest is the same old BS of every other London landlord. The only way they are “reinventing” renting is with how much they can charge you to deliver a substandard service. All they care about is money and couldn’t give a monkey’s about their tenants.

Prospective renters: You have been warned.

Sorry, not sorry, Fizzy/ Greystar (look, that’s a non-apology apology I picked up from your Head of Marketing)… There’s only so far a half-hearted bottle of cheap Prosecco can get you.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is great, if you stay on the main road. It gets a bit dodgy otherwise. Lots of shops & supermarkets and the area is clearly in the process of being gentrified.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

To be honest, most of it is bad and was uncovered after moving in and this is covered in my review.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Hannah is the only member of senior management who has made a real attempt to respond in a kind and helpful way. Unfortunately, we are going to need a lot more than that to get this building back on track and a lot of the damage has already been done.

3
Facilities
2
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Ria, as per our previous correspondance, you are aware of what we are working on to improve your living expereince with Fizzy.

Disappointing – be cautious and do extra due diligence

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

It’s a real shame to write this review because I want to love it and focus on the positives as much as possible – it is my home after all! And there are things I love such as the simple design, the concept of the amenities, the residents and the view. However there are not enough positives to outweigh the negative to keep me here long term unfortunately unless the price reduces or issues are addressed.

The main disappointment with Fizzy is the disparity between what is sold and what is delivered – the marketing is totally out of alignment with the experience and to anyone considering moving in, go through your requirements with a fine tooth comb and get EVERYTHING in writing.

Fizzy is not a terrible place to live, but if you take their word for what they are marketing (hassle free renting, we are different approach) then you’ll be disappointed.

My main issues personally:

Security – multiple break ins, lack of concierge, damages to communal areas, parcels stolen etc.

Parking – absolute chaos due to the ongoing roadworks. You essentially have to hike round unlit building sites to get to it . Was not made aware of this until after paying for 6 months up front and now trying to get refunded.

Repairs – be prepared to stay home all day for people not to turn up and then not to get updated. BOBs will offer to provide access to your flat if you can’t be home but then you are relying on their translation of the issue by not being present.

Noise – was not warned of the train noise levels – this is on me I never asked to view my specific flat as I was in a rush to move however again would’ve expected more transparency and maybe even the choice of flat location given I was the first person to move into the block.

Benefits:
– residents are amazing and a lovely community
– I like the big windows (lol)
– Rolling leases (though I won’t be surprised if a hidden clause somewhere means I’m stuck forever)

All in all, I don’t think this is a hellish place to live. The issues we as residents face are not dissimilar to the common renting experience in London so I am not saying you’ll have an awful time or that it’s carnage. There’s one or two lovely staff members, cute dogs, nice modern flats and a lovely community.

The let down for me is that Fizzy claim to provide a unique and better experience than you’re used to and we all feel a little played for buying into what is just basic marketing tactics.

In conclusion – if you can handle the probability of a break in and are accepting you’ll have the odd parcel stolen, don’t mind waiting forever for repairs and all else mentioned above, it’s not the worst ever, but if you’re expecting what you have been sold and have made decision based on any of the value adds you will probably be let down.

There are definitely other flats in London with equal or more value for less money.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to the station, easily commutable to everywhere. New amenities are popping up and close to the river. Certainly a more industrial area of London and there is lots of construction work but not a bad base for zipping about the city.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That it’s not hassle free renting you can’t trust the sales process you absolutely should question everything 6 times. They will promise stuff then take it off the website when you complain. And the trains are LOUD.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There has been high level response to residents concerns but they are not consistent and individual repairs take far too long for the hassle free promise. The reason is we are in year one of the development but that shouldn’t be residents problem.

1
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
1
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for taking the time to review your home – Please be advised that we are looking into comments and we are liasing with tenants daily with updates.

Updated review after 5 months…

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2022

The property looks beautiful but unfortunately management let it down. Any repairs required both in the flat and the communal spaces are incredibly long and complicated, with Fizzy refusing to take responsibility for these and blaming external contractors / the management company. Some of the BOBs are good, but some are incredibly rude and act like you’re inconveniencing them.

Windows have been cleaned once since September, which is such a shame as the view is beautiful.
Rental prices are high for the area, considering the lack of concierge and gym, and the facilities promised on the website don’t exist (eg free beer and wine fridge and yoga studio is so difficult to book most tenants don’t bother).
The app to operate the Intercom barely works, and unfortunately many areas of the building suffer with slow WiFi.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We’re really close to the tube and DLR, which would be great if soundproofing was up to scratch – unfortunately it isn’t so trains can be heard incredibly loudly within the flat constantly.

There’s been several break ins to the building, and packages get stolen regularly. It doesn’t feel like a safe area to live, and the building management don’t seem to care unfortunately. Fizzys office in the building was even broken into! The advise from Fizzy was that tenants should challenge tailgators into the building.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How bad the noise from the train tracks is and how rude management are.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very slowly! When we had a leak in the utility cupboard we had to have contractors out three times before it was repaired and made good. This took several weeks.

2
Facilities
2
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

We appreciate your feedback. Please keep an eye out for correspondance from management with updates and improvements.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16
User submitted image of Fizzy East16, E16

Facilities

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Central

Central

Coworking

Coworking

Indoor Golf

Indoor Golf

Laundry Facilities

Laundry Facilities

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Resident Events

Resident Events

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Service

Service

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Greystar
Number of developments 22

4.35

Average rating based on 1787 reviews

View company
Fizzy Living
Number of developments 8

4.34

Average rating based on 1217 reviews

View company