Embassy Gardens, SW8

By
EcoWorld, Ballymore Group
2nd
Ranked 2nd out of 16 in Nine Elms
4.04 (108 reviews) 4.04 (108 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.29
Facilities
4.34
Design
4.21
Location
3.74
Value
3.42
Management

Embassy Gardens is a mixed-use EcoWorld and Ballymore development, featuring luxury apartments and commercial units and designed by HAL Architects and Sir Terry Farrell CBE. It’s got a prime setting in the waterfront Nine Elms district, close to the River Thames and the US Embassy. In addition, the site is walkable from Vauxhall, Battersea and the in-construction Nine Elms stations. Likewise, it is close to the Southbank Centre and London Bridge.

Read more Read less

Embassy Gardens, SW8 Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Verified
Showing 108 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Amazing place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2022

All the facilities you need are here. There is really no need to leave the premises. There is a private cinema, pool, gym, sauna, steam room and everything else included. You can really call this place a home and feel relaxed and safe.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

First I was greeted by some of the nicest people at the concierge, very welcoming. The hospitality was great, the rooms were convenient and comfortable, clean and cozy, with great view of the city. The security was very polite even while doing their job. Loved our experience and we had such good time staying there.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That parking cannot be arranged by concierge.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been very patient and well informed. Service was friendly and if we had any issues, the staff were very attentive to our concerns.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello Nadia,

On behalf of the team here at Embassy Gardens, we would like to thank you for your very positive review.

We are so pleased to hear that you have made our development your home and your experiences have been to your satisfaction.

Should you have any feedback or suggestions on how we can further improve life at Embassy Gardens, please feel free to raise a ticket on Eg:Life or speak to a member of the team.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

Overall lovely place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

The design of the building is a bit odd; you need to take two separate lifts to access most flats. This makes it confusing for delivery drivers getting access. The sky pool is what everyone sees, but really it’s just impractical for London. The indoor pool is a really great. For the most part, the folks who work at the concierge desk are lovely, but our favorite person is the cleaner, Jose, who greets us with a friendly smile and hello every morning.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The neighborhood has changed massively in the last few years with many new amenities and shops opening. It has completely changed now with the official opening of the Battersea Power Station. We like their seasonal displays and events. Since the tube extension opened in 2021, transport is also really accessible. They promised more green space, which we are yet to see (unclear when), but hopefully that will come soon.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The flat itself is well built and designed and sturdy, however a lot of the extra facilities often have break downs needing repair. The cinema has been closed frequently off and on, and the steam room and shower in the indoor pool have been closed for months with no known details on when they will be fixed or reopen.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Difficulty with resolving hot water issues was a major frustration this year. It went on for months and was a wider issues affecting the entire block that couldn’t be resolved individually. I was frankly shocked they wouldn’t work faster to fix a very important service for that long – I was so tired of waking up to cold and luke warm showers.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

lovvee the building and the facilities and the staff and how it really feels like home !

Review Date Nov 2022

lovvee the building and the facilities and the staff and how it really feels like home !

Ahmad the egyptian security in legacy building he is a very helpful guy and a very nice guy and very respectful and he’s always there to help and he knows how to communicate with the residents very well and he really is the best from embassy garden’s staff! he’s really 10/10 and him being here keeps me less worried cause me knowing that someone like Ahmad works here and he can help me with whatever i want related to embassy gardens makes it much easier and much relieved . He deserves the best 👌🏼👌🏼

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

it’s a very good area to live in and a very nice community , but since there is a lot of constructions around it’s a bit noisy

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There’s not a certain thing i wished i knew before moving in here , it’s just that i hope they fix the entrance and the elevators for the modern building since it’s so not clean.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management responded very well with some issues i had in my apartment.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Brilliant

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

Great development. The best in London !
Great service especially Ibrahim Alamin always helpful and always gives us a 5* service.
The Skypool is unique. Such a great place to live. So central. Everyone in the development is so friendly and the staff is excellent.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location !amazing amenities !
The gyms, swimming pools, amazing parking, private cinema and are great. Is also very very safe!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Is actually even better than I imagined. Nothing bad in my opinion

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Great service. Solved my little issues I had in 1-2 days

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Embassy Gardens, SW8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon Genovieve,

Thank you for your amazing positive feedback on Embassy Gardens, we are so happy that you call EG your home. We will of course pass on your wonderful feedback to our teams

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

Great place to live

Review Date Oct 2022

Maintenance isn’t up to what it should be and some facilities are closed for weeks. But it’s an amazing development.

Car valet is a winner.

Pools are great

Daniel on concierge makes the development better and always appreciate his first class help.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Proximity to the city and powerstation is great. The new tube link makes access to central London very easy

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the prices would go up so quickly! And no limit on number of flats investors can buy that ramps pricing

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they have and all sorted issues with the flat

At times they have been slow on wider estate mattes

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Tom,

Thank you for your feedback and positive review.

We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Daniel, who I am sure will be very happy to hear it.

With regards to the Amenities, we ask that you please check Eg Life regularly for announcement, as we issue updates via this channel with as much information as possible related to closures and/or maintenance works. We always strive to open them as quickly as possible after work is completed.

Should you have any further feedback or suggestions, please feel free to get in touch by raising a ticket via the app or speaking to a member of the team.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson,
Residential Service Manager

The Highs & Lows of Developments

Review Date May 2022

The architecture of the buildings is not very comfortable specially the access from my building to the concierge, gym, and other facilities like the swimming pool. I also dislike the fact that there is an unequal distribution of security between the different buildings within the same development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s an up and coming neighborhood with different things to do. Traffic seems not to be an issue and it is relatively safe and very clean.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The ballymore management

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very poorly, needed to repeat and never gotten anything fixed and if anything did get fixed it needed a million phone calls and a thousand pointless vists from “engineers”

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Fehmi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of Embassy Gardens.

I am sorry to discover some of your concerns regarding repairs and would like to discuss this further to help resolve.

I’d be happy to put some time aside to meet with you in person, please raise a ticket for my attention via Eg:Life and I will be sure to arrange a suitable time.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

Great Location and Looks Good – but Lacks Care and Thought.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

The location is the biggest plus point. The facilities are good but upkeep and maintenance can be problematic and it’s fair to say there are frequent problems. Design looks good BUT is in general poorly thought through with little focus on the user experience. Many features should have been afforded much more care at the outset.
The Skypool is the epitome of the style over substance fault of this development. It is a technical and engineering marvel and it looks great. But in reality it is all flash but pretty pointless. Yes it’s fun but the whole area is appallingly designed and ill thought through. Very poor entry system. Very difficult for the staff to cope on the few hot days of a typical British Summer when the pool is rammed. And its almost impossible to enforce rules. For several months of the year it remains largely unused. There’s no outdoor showers, no proper indoor kitchen for the restaurant…etc etc. The owners didn’t ask for it but are now lumbered with paying for the hugely substantial running costs…
But it’s a wonderful advertising hoarding for Ballymore!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Embassy Gardens is excellently situated. The area has seen a dramatic change over the past 5 years and whilst there’s still a few years of building development in the Nine Elms district the area is establishing itself as a vibrant exciting place to live. Excellent transport links. And a pleasant riverside walk to Southbank and into the West End. A good and growing number of restaurants and bars and in close proximity to the Battersea Power Station Development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We enjoy living here and can draw on the many positives of the area, the convenience and the community – we have made several friends and have enjoyed many fun evenings and other social occasions.
There is a sense here that the original build was done adhering to a bare minimum, problems are difficult to rectify and costs now are just pushed onto the service charge payers. Perhaps this shouldn’t be a surprise ?
On balance the negatives are far outweighed by the positives. (I can easily put the frustrations aside!)
I think though you have to accept that things are what they are – I doubt the situation here is much different to any other development.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Staff are on the whole responsive – and (very simple) matters are usually dealt with effectively, perhaps even with a smile.
In general staff do their best (sometimes under testing circumstances) to be helpful and to try and sort issues. However there have been many matters raised over the 5 years I have lived here that have seemingly proved too difficult.
A major downside at this development – and here’s the rub – is that the property management company is owned by the developer. The management company are therefore in a sense a servant to two masters…..the flat owners who pay the service charge and their ultimate bosses, Ballymore. This makes for an uneasy relationship and there has been an extraordinarily high turnover of management staff over the last 5 years – virtually all senior roles have changed 2 or 3 times, which I think speaks volumes. I think we are now on our 5th Development director in 5 years…..
Partly perhaps because of such frequent staff changes, accountability is an issue and there seems to be a lack of robust process and systems.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Will,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have embraced the community here at Embassy Gardens and are enjoying the wider experience in Nine Elms.

Thank you for your feedback regarding design and user experience, we will be sure to pass this on to our development team.

If at any point you wish to discuss anything further, please feel free to visit the concierge desk and ask to speak to our Head Concierge or myself, additionally you can raise a ticket for our attention via Eg Life.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

Design is impeccable

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

Design is impeccable, facilities are super albeit the odd maintenance issue shutting down the pools etc. Gym is fab, management fees are crazy and so much waste of their expenditure that it is frustrating to see (for example excessive gym staff, forced to use valets to park cars)

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A huge amount of development is ongoing, there are new restaurants and coffee shops continuing to pop up and battersea power station will be beautiful once completed, but the area is a bit industrial currently.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is a mice issue throughout the resort, I would ask for a high apartment.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been very slow to act with regard to a mice infestation

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Defitzpa,

Thank you kindly for your feedback on Embassy Gardens.

We are pleased to hear that you are happy with the facilities, design and growth of all our amazing commercial units.

Regarding your outstanding issue, could you please kindly contact our Head Concierge via Headconcierge@embassy-gardens.net, who will be more than happy to help, if this is found to be a communal issue we will of course look into addressing this.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

Living in embassy gardens

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

beautiful design and good storage for clothes and items, very smart and advanced technology, the building and layout is very organized and well thought of. the apartment is very spacious and comfortable.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

it is a good area for students and i find it very convenient to live here. There is a waitrose right next to my apartment and cafes and restaurants which makes it very convenient

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

there is nothing in particular that i had struggled with except for getting used to a new flat to live in. in these situations, i get used to and adapt to my new living environment with time and once i have gotten all my necessities

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

very attentive and helpful whenever i had any issue, whether it be big or small. they are always trying their best to give me the best solutions

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Lulu,

Thank you for taking the time to write such positive feedback on life here at Embassy Gardens.

We are pleased that you have embraced being part of our strong community.

Kind regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

Intasgramable but not practical

Review Date Apr 2022

Not a great value for the money. The property and facilities management is poor. Rarely do things get resolved. Items around the development have required repair for months. The management never resolves truly resolves issues and facilities will rarely fix anything you call attention to.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Poor management across the board. Horrible communications as well.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I have nothing to say here so I’ll just put this statement to take up 50 characters.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are horrible at responding to any issues raised. It’s been this way for years with no noticeable improvement despite assurances.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Good Afternoon M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you have not had the best experience living here at Embassy Gardens so far, we very much would like to hear about any issue you feel the management are struggling to resolve here and would love to sit down with you and see how we can address them.

Please email our Head Concierge via Headconcierge@embassy-gardens.net who will gladly arrange a time to meet with you and discuss your concerns.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

A Fantastic Place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2022

Management team is always keeping the residents informed about the latest features in the development, or if any of the facilities are undergoing maintenance (which is always very prompt)
There is a wide array of facilities to keep everyone satisfied. They have also been implementing a fair use policy for the sky pool, to ensure everyone gets to enjoy it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Since moving in, I’ve seen the entire surrounding area rapidly develop with a lovely community feel – and Embassy Gardens is right at the center of it.
All the staff at the development is extremely friendly and super helpful. The facilities and amenities provided by the development also ensure that everything we need is onsite.
The team is always look for feedback and asking the residents what they would like to see in terms of shops / stores. More and more restaurants are opening up and making the neighborhood more attractive day by day.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How quickly the area is transforming into a lovely and busy neighborhood with many attractions on offer

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very responsive team. Sometimes the issue required external contractors who have been delayed / limited availability. But otherwise always attending to the issues

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Omar,

Thank you for you wonderful feedback.

We are pleased to know that you call Embassy Gardens your home and have embraced being part of our community.

Additionally we appreciate your kind words about the team and I will be sure to pass on your feedback.

Best regards,

Darryn Johnson
Residential Service Manager

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8
User submitted image of Embassy Gardens, SW8

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Balcony

Balcony

On Site Cafe

On Site Cafe

Cinema

Cinema

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Security

Security

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by EcoWorld

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Ballymore Group

Location

Ballymore Group
Number of developments 15

4.16

Average rating based on 562 reviews

View company
EcoWorld
Number of developments 3

4.28

Average rating based on 367 reviews

View company