Touchstone

Number of Developments

4

Ratings

4.50 Rating

Rating (based on 186 reviews)

Excellent

59.68%

Very Good

31.18%

Average

6.99%

Disappointing

0.54%

Very Poor

1.61%

Touchstone

Founded in 1988, Touchstone is a property management company. It is backed by Places for People Group, one of the largest regeneration, development and property management business in the UK. Touchstone manages properties across the UK, including London and Edinburgh.

Touchstone Developments

The Forum is a development by Touchstone currently listed on HomeViews. The development is located in the heart of Birmingham’s Southside district. It features a range of studios as well as one and two-bedroom apartments. Residents are able to access a range of facilities on site and these include a gym, rooftop terrace and a communal lounge. In addition, The Bullring, Selfridges and Grand Central are only a short stroll away. Likewise,  Birmingham’s New Street station is a 5-minute walk away.

Reviews

“I think the team are accommodating and lovely. Very lovely management. If I need something done they respond quickly and get it sorted. It is a little bit expensive in regards to value but not too bad. Overall I am happy.” Verified resident on The Forum

Discover more Touchstone reviews on HomeViews. Are you a resident at a Touchstone development? If yes, please write a review here to share your experience with others viewing the development. Also, if you can’t find a Touchstone development listed on HomeViews, we’d recommend reading similar reviews of other developments to gain an understanding of residents’ experiences in similar properties. You can also submit a new listing here. 

Award winner

Residents have rated this company an award winner! Select a development below to see which awards it has won.

Developments

Showing all 4 developments

MAP

Touchstone reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 186 reviews

High Spec Secure Development in the Perfect Location!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

My only reservations about the entire development are regarding the prrice, security gates and parking.

Regarding the price, this development is considerably higher than other developments in the area, I’m aware this is because of the security and concierge service but it is a very steep increase in comparison. Having said that, I do not regret my choice to rent here and it’s been amazing.

The security gates have been temperamental over the last year and on spite of several attempts to fix it, one gate is still not fixed and constantly open. Considering we pay extra for the security I would hope they fo get properly fixed.

The parking has been an issue where there is no guest parking and prior to the front of the building being marked with a loading only sign, shopper’s would often park outside the building and block the entrance to the car park. I feel the management could have handled this better and quicker.

Having said that, the development is also to such a high standard that I have loved living here. Having never lived alone, I assumed I’d be scared or uncomfortable, but the security and finish on the flat has made me feel completely secure and at ease.

Everyone who has been to my flat has absolutely loved every detail and even having engineers come over have always asked questions about it.

Also having the concierge service has been so convenient especially with the number of parcels I have , and not always being home or working from home and not being able to be available all the time to collect them.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

My only reservations about the area is that nothing is open past 6/7pm. There’s nowhere to having dinner in the evenings or anything so you do have to drive out for anything. I think a lot of restaurants in the highstreet would do so well if open later.
I’ve never been to High Wycombe and having moved here into this new location and development, I have never regretted my choice.

Aside from that, I feel the location is absolutely perfect. It’s close to everything you could need such as shops, supermarkets, station, everything. The fact that I rarely need to use my car is so great because everything you could possible need is on your doorstep.

Having a supermarket, coffee shop, park and being close to a station were must haves on my list when looking for a location and in High Wycombe where I am, I have exactly all that and more all in walking distance.

Having worked from home for the last year and now having to go back to the office a few times a week, the commute to the office, while very expensive, is very convenient. I can be in London with 30 minutes which is quicker than a lot of my friends who actually live within London on the outer skirts. My friends are often quite jealous of how quick that is.

All in all, I would not trade the convenience of it all for anything.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Overall, great location, great development, great landlord, and almost no issues whatsoever.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

While I’ve not had many, the management have dealt with any issues immediately. The security gates were one of the main things I’ve had any dealings with and the management were ontop of it. While this is still not entirely fixed, they have been on the case.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Howard Court, HP11
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Improvement opportunity in the building

Service requests are taken according to priority and always fixed by KAM and team.
Few Pet owners are really disrespectful and never pick up their mess after them, which causes really uncomfortable situations for tenants. Management would not take any action on complaints about disrespectful pet owners.
Many people use lounge and other facilities on weekends for parties and No house keeping visits on Sunday, so facility become really dirty and feel comfortable.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

only problem is Smithfield(next to building) – if some events scheduled here, then forget travelling my car or bus. All streets will be blocked with cars and only way to get out is train.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

great community for the price you pay. Also centre of the city to travel any where easily

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Service requests are taken according to priority and always fixed by KAM and team.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  The Forum, B5
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fun, modern, and pet friendly!

We moved in when the building had just completed construction and while there were a few growing pains in the beginning, we have loved every single moment at the Forum. The building is soooooo incredibly pet friendly and the community here has kept us giggling with pet photos in the building’s WhatsApp group. The rooftop commons area is just fabulous. The gym (when it’s allowed to be open due to government Covid restrictions) is just fine…it is small but the equipment is all new and reasonably well-equipped (the video feed for spin and boxing classes is pretty great) and as it is only open to residents is rarely overly crowded. My only criticism is that parking onsite seems expensive compared to other options in the city center, so you may want to price check that if you own a car.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The property is 10 minutes from the front door of our flat to the station platform at New Street which makes it optimal for rail commuters. There is a bus stop 1/2 block from the front door making bus travel even easier. It is within easy walking distance of both a Tesco Metro and a larger Tesco in the city center. The area is vibrant and diverse, with everything at your fingertips.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known about all of the social activities that are planned by the lovely staff, from holiday parties to monthly quiz nights, it would have made the choice even easier to make!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Absolutely. We had an issue with our flat being built without opening windows which led to uncomfortable heat conditions, but this was rectified and our flat is now perfect.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

An Excellent Place to Live

Building layout is nice, there is a courtyard section in the middle with tables and chairs, rentable barbeques and pizza ovens. The apartments are sizeable and good value. Had a few issues when we moved in but staff made arrangements and the maintenance team quickly sorted them out.

Management are very friendly and are willing to socialise and help out with any issues.

The community at the forum is great too – I have made many friends since moving in, mostly down to the events that management put on! Seems like any reason they have, management throws a party. Christmas, Chinese new year, valentine’s, Easter, Halloween, etc. Lovely initiatives.

Lots of gated parking spaces available at a charge (around £100pcm, standard for city centre but still pricey!)

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love living at the forum! Local amenities include Tesco and a wide variety of restaurants and other shops. It’s a 5-10,minute walk from New Street Station.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how great the community is – it would have made finding somewhere to live much quicker and easier!

The bin collections happen at very early hours, and the apartments are usually very hot. Definitely worth leaving your windows open for a couple of hours before bed.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Management have responded to all issues raised. There are a few minor issues I have raised in recent weeks that haven’t been sorted yet, but anything urgent is handled immediately.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Could be better if more courtesy and consideration was given to tenants.

The design of the development is great, however there’s a bundle of disappointing issues which the management team fail to address.

There is no visitor car parking, even if you pay £50 a month for a spot, visitors now cannot use the spot with their stringent new rules.

I was refused a spare key fob, with lack of a good reason. This meant massive issues and risks, and meant that when I lost my fob they spent 2 days escorting me to and from my flat as well as needing to awake a neighbour for out of hours access to my property.

I could not contact staff out of hours, which is extremely concering.

If someone were to need emergency access, out of hours it could take them 11 hours to respond.

Furthermore the attitude from the main managing staff was far from acceptable, the way I was spoken to left me gobsmacked while I ponder the grand amount being spent per month on the flat.

The security has failed recently, we noticed drug users entering through the broken back gates at night time, picking up cigarette butts from the courtyard floor.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Plenty of shops nearby, which excuses the loud noises of pallettes and bins at night. Zero parking availability except Eden which usually costs £10 for a night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Upon me moving in, they gave my mother a spare fob. When I asked for a new spare fob for my personal use, they denied ever giving out spare fobs and claimed my mother should have never been given one.

I wish they didn’t change the rules on car parking since my tenancy started. I always paid for a parking spot which I’ve now cancelled. If I’m paying £50 a month for a car parking, I damn well expect as many cars as I want to be allowed to park in the spot.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not appropriately whatsoever, and they’ve ignored most of my emails which raise issues.

1
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More