ila

Number of Developments

5

Ratings

4.69 Rating

Rating (based on 94 reviews)

Excellent

76.60%

Very Good

19.15%

Average

3.19%

Disappointing

1.06%

Very Poor

0.00%

Our vision, your adventure.

ila – I Live Around is a UK focused fully integrated real estate investor, developer and operator with a Build-to-Rent residential portfolio of over 3,500 homes. We celebrate all that’s great and good about City Centre living, offering flexible plans that grow with our residents (and their family).

Our ethos is creating vibrant and stylish communities that you’ll be proud to call home. Our apartments are thoughtfully designed to meet your needs and exceed your expectations.

We’ve combined our personal experiences as renters with everything we wished for, to create effortless and ideal living situations for all. That’s why our neighbourhoods pair city lifestyles with homelike comfort – bustling with energy yet calm and pet-friendly.

ila takes local living and enriches it with community and culture. We’ll know you by your name, not your apartment number.

ila Developments

We are building communities in Birmingham, Cardiff, Leeds, Liverpool, London, Manchester, Salford and Sheffield.

Developments

Showing all 5 developments

MAP

ila reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 94 reviews

Lovely new building with a growing community within it

Hairpin House is, overall, a lovely place to live. We have been there for a year now and have just signed a lease for another 3 years! The flat itself is well designed and has excellent furnishings, and the ability to customise the flat (e.g. painting the walls or having maintenance hang pictures) makes so much difference when renting. The building also has communal spaces that are just beautiful and comfortable to be in – they allow residents to socialise with each other and we’ve made many friends while we’ve been here. The events that management put on are always fun and enhance the living experience so much. The rules around these extra amenities have changed over the last year which has caused some minor frustration – e.g. coffee machine going from free to paid, opening times being added to spaces that were previously 24/7 – but as a new building I expect these to be teething problems and have settled down a lot more recently, so I believe that any new residents could expect more consistency.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is well placed, being a 20 minute walk from New Street station and a 5 minute walk from Digbeth. Convenience store just one street away, and surrounded by several pubs within a few minutes walk. Being so close to Digbeth & the city centre also gives access to a range of bars and restaurants. Transport links are excellent – the number 50 bus stops right outside the building, Digbeth coach station is a 5 minute walk, and the city centre is in walking distance. Parking is limited in the area but there is a waiting list for parking spaces within the building itself. Our flat is located on the West side of the building and is generally very quiet as we do not face a road directly.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That most residents are very chatty and approachable – if someone is sitting in a communal space, try just chatting to them and you’ll be surprised at how sociable people tend to be!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There is an app for logging maintenance requests, and managers will regularly check if these requests have been fulfilled.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Couldn’t be happier

The design is amazing. It far exceeded any of my expectations. More than anything though, the girls who work at reception really make you feel at home and do a fantastic job of keeping everyone happy. As far as facilities go, it would be nice to have an indoor gym like other apartment complexes similar to this often have, but this might be my only complaint. Everything else as far as having an app to manage payments and check when your packages arrived at reception, free coffee from a very cool machine powered by an iPad in the kitchen, co-working spaces etc, easily make up for it. It’s the little attention to detail that has really made me like living here for example, the umbrellas at the front door incase you happen to forget yours. They really do think about the residents.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Thanks to the windows in the apartment, most of the loud noise from the outdoors is muted whilst they’re closed. Local area is nice and quiet. Neighborhood is developing rapidly and so over time there should be more stuff to do.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Currently it’s very quiet as it’s a new development so I barely ever bump into other people. This will likely solve itself with time. There are 7/8 floors and only 82 residents in total at the time of writing. Pros to this are that you can use any facilities whenever you want but the main con is the lack of socialisation, though this isn’t the fault of the property managers, it’s simply a matter of time.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

So far I haven’t had a single issue in regards to moving in. Any minor queries have been quickly resolved by the receptionists.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  Hairpin House, B12
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall a lovely place to live, with great amenities close by & lovely on-site staff

Overall a lovely place to live, with great amenities close by & lovely on-site staff who are always there to look after you from 8am to 8pm!
Sometimes the staff put little events on (with included food/drinks) which has been great for getting to meet new people & other residents.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location wise this is a great place to live. With Brindley Place less than a 5 minute walk away, you’ve got direct access to many food outlets, a nice canal walk, and for someone like myself, the Utilita Arena so close by.
Being able to have pets is a great aspect, with a park right around the corner that they can run around in! Some dogs around the property aren’t the best trained, and some owners have little control over their dogs though, but most are fine.
The tram is shortly up the road on Broad Street, which has direct links from here to the centre becoming convenient and cheaper than driving to the centre. You don’t hear much antisocial behaviour (if any) which you might expect with Broad Street so close by, and you rarely hear your neighbours, however you do tend to hear some loud cars from visitors/guests revving their engines & some loud music at times (mostly at night).
The bin collections can be rather varied, and sometimes the bins are overloaded, and sometimes rubbish is left outside one of the bin storages that shut (however we don’t understand why this shut still, as it was convenient for the people in that building).

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Hot water is limited. Have been told many times about the “boost” button, however it doesn’t work & doesn’t heat up the boiler any further. You can’t run a full bath, and you can generally only have a shower for about 15-20 minutes before cold water starts running. This affects other aspects like washing up as well, as you have to wait for the hot water to refresh.
Heaters in the apartment have a very poor energy rating, and tend to cost a lot of £££. We’ve resorted to portable space heaters and electric blankets, and this saves us a good £5+ per day on heating costs.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management are on it, they’re very quick to try and help and send you in the right direction, however, the maintenance team can sometimes be a bit hit/miss. Had issues with hot water for a while and it took a lot longer than expected to even get checked.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern yet warm and homely apartment building

The building is a very attractive design with modern interior throughout the public areas. Despite the modern design the areas definitely have a warm and homely feel where it really makes you feel comfortable. There are three public kitchens which are often used. They are well stocked and with modern appliances, including a very fancy coffee tap in the main lobby kitchen.

The apartments them selves are also well equipped with modern appliances. The ceramics in the bathroom are not the best quality and the toilets have plastic toilet lids. I would have also included ethernet access points in the bedrooms as this is quite awkward. Especially as I use the second bedroom as an office. Plug access however, is plentiful, with plugs at every point you would need it.

The main issue i noticed as soon as i moved in was the garbage disposal system wasn’t very efficient. All of the bins provided were full and because of that people have started just leaving their rubbish on the floor in mounds, making it quite difficult to dispose of rubbish. I want to just say tho that it is a completely closed rubbish building, no ugly sights of rubbish everywhere from the outsides. The main grounds of the building are well kept.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Quite difficult to get to any large supermarket for shopping which means we have to order all of our food. The local bars and restaurants are very good though with an active nightlife. Parking is limited on the streets. Traffic is also quite loud and doesn’t die down at night.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The shower pressure is powerful with always hot water. The kitchen sink water pressure isn’t too strong however. The wifi is often not as fast as advertised.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We are yet to raise any issues however the process of maintenance is incredibly easy. Simply using an app to book it.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More