Welsh Streets, L8

Welsh Streets, L8

By
PlaceFirst
Ranked 9th out of 14 in Liverpool
3.80 (based on 20 reviews) 3.80 (20 reviews)

Category Scores

3.60
Facilities
4.30
Design
4.30
Location
2.90
Value
3.35
Management

Excellent

10%

Very Good

55%

Average

35%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Welsh Streets is a PlaceFirst development that is located in Liverpool. The development takes place over 5 streets of Victorian terraced houses, retaining all the period features, like high ceilings and big windows. Residents here benefit from private rear terraces, as well as shared gardens which run the length of the streets.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

You don’t get what you pay for.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

At its heart, the Welsh Streets is fundamentally well-intentioned. PlaceFirst wants the area to look nice. They tried something different with the communal garden. They’ve paid attention to the external aesthetics. But in practice, there are way too many flaws for me to recommend the development.

The rent is insanely high. You can easily get a two-up-two-down in Toxteth for £450 pcm. PlaceFirst charges as much as £800 — and that’s before you add in any extras, like pets or household appliances. It’s hard to justify that cost, especially when you consider the other glaring flaws in the development, and the fact that… well… we’re talking about poky Victorian terraced houses.

Parking is a nightmare, and I’m regularly forced to park away from my house, sometimes on completely different streets. The roads are narrow and poorly marked. Meanwhile, the presence of planters means that the amount of possible space is reduced further. PlaceFirst could easily remediate much of this by issuing assigned parking, with clearly-outlined painted spaces.

And then there’s the fact that the Welsh Streets is still a building site, with much of the development under construction. This means noise, disruption, and roads temporarily blocked due to the presence of cranes and other apparatus.

To PlaceFirst’s credit, they’ve proven diligent when responding to complaints or requests for repairs. However, this is undermined by the multiple (and glaringly-obvious) cut corners. The front and rear doors were shabbily installed. Meanwhile, our toilet was affixed to the drywall by a single deteriorating screw, which eventually failed and left us without a toilet for an entire day.

In short, it’s okay. Not great. Not good. Just okay. Nothing is perfect, but it’s hard to overlook the Welsh Street’s several glaring flaws when you’re paying an obscene amount of rent each month.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The Welsh Streets is a tight-knit community, and to PlaceFirst’s credit, it has allowed this to flourish organically. This is largely thanks to the design of the development, which boasts a large communal garden (although, for the sake of clarity, this has also been somewhat of a source of drama). Separately, the development is well-positioned to nearby bus routes to the city center. You also walk; it’s just twenty minutes by foot.

There’s a Tesco within five minutes walk. If you’ve got a car, you can also get to town quite easily, or the nearby Edge Lane retail park. All in all, you’ve got the convenience of living within close proximity to the city center, without having to deal with the noise and inconvenience.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew how frustrating it could be to share a communal garden. Privacy, I barely knew ye.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There was an inevitable delay in getting issues resolved due to Covid. Things, thankfully, are now getting back to normal. But some issues are foundational (like the installation of the doors) which can’t easily be resolved by a 30 minute visit from a Timpson’s locksmith. Many of the problems could have been avoided by the developer taking care during construction.

2
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A nice idea on paper

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

We moved to the welsh streets several years ago in order to benefit from a more long term rental home. We love the look of the streets and layout and design of these houses are a wow. I do think for the area the prices are quite high, but plenty of us seem willing to pay. Sadly there do seem to be certain areas where costs have been cut, where the original finish has not lasted very long, and we have extensive damp problems on the ground floor of our home – the solutions to which are a bit of a bodge. The maintenance team are relative hard to get hold of (or have been in the past) but when you do they are helpful. We were also sold a beautiful ideal of green spaces and communal gardens, however the reality has fallen far short of our expectations – with constant bickering and politics about the communal garden and the promised green spaces have been built on.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like:
– Aesthetic
– Proportions of property
– Location
– Sense is community

Dislike
– Overall quality of finish
– Communal garden & associated politics
– Indefinite building works
– Broken promise of green spaces

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there was no intention of developing green spaces that now has been built on (more money for them!)

That a communal garden is not as idealistic as it sounds!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have, although have sometimes proven hard to get hold of. On several occasions they have arranged to visit the property on a certain date and haven’t, but then visited on a different day which is hard to plan around. The work carried out is of questionable quality and there seems to be an emphasis on patching things up rather than solving the problem

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Slapdash and quickly erected to maximise profits. Lovely place to live because of the people and the communal garden.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design of the build at first glance seems great. You slowly realise that most things haven’t been thought out properly and won’t get fixed because in order to do so it would cost the developers extra money. Everything is done on the cheap and the finish is slapdash. All interior walls painted with one coat of water based paint which comes off should you have any spillages. No yearly repaints as promised. Generally I have found the property management good. Always quick to respond to emails, but not necessarily quick to get the repairs or jobs seen to. Communication between departments is abysmal and this is where the renters suffer the most. Yearly increases in rent regardless of the area we live in and whether anything of value has been added to the property. Eventually all tenants will be priced out of the area, but no one with serious money would live here as the general area is dirty and unsafe. We however have found a lovely community within the gates of the welsh streets and our little boy loves it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A home with a built in community. Safe and close to city centre. Not the greatest area overall though.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You’re living under the assumption these people care about community and building a strong one that no one wants to leave. But they want to make it attractive and habitable so that prices can keep going up and to hell with the community.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

In general the response is good. But it depends on the nature of the problem. Some little problems get resolved or looked at (and not resolved) fairly quickly. Some issues have been going on for months with numerous emails being sent and promises made but ultimately broken.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Many Broken Promises

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

This area is incredibly special and whoever took it over needed to renovate the houses with care. They look great on the outside but as time goes by, it’s apparent that many cost-cutting measures were used in putting the houses back together. I’m unsure if this is due to time constraints or budget limits. For example, toilets are held to the wall with a single screw in the plasterboard. The rear outer wall is hollow inside which I discovered when trying to screw in a hanging basket. The paint used for most of the walls comes away with a few wipes which we discovered cleaning behind the sink and around the kitchen. The doors are also quite cheaply made – we have had locksmiths out 2-3 times and they have told us that they hate coming to work on our houses because the doors are so poor. Our doors have had to be dismantled in order to get them to lock. Now there’s a terrible draft in winter but the view is that since the doors lock, they’re fixed. We pay extremely high rent for the area which is due to continue rising despite the economic downturn we’re due to experience. The management made a lot of promises about what the area was going to be like when building works and renovations were finished – there is no residents cafe, there is no residents lounge, there is no community hub, there is no residents garden or dog park or pub as promised. There are houses being squeezed into every possible area and no consideration has been given to where all these extra residents will park their cars; parking is already miserable as it is without extra people moving in once the houses are completed. The communal gardens were well intentioned but PlaceFirst’s hands off approach to managing our property and tenants, especially through the Covid-19 pandemic, has resulted in more community conflict. The gardens have the grass cut twice a month but the windows are not washed as promised. I have seen window washers twice in the last two years. The Welsh Streets were explicitly pet friendly when we moved in but they have now moved to taking extra rent for pets from newer tenants. There has been a large shift in how we are spoken to and managed over the last year and I feel I am being taken advantage of especially as far as rent rises go. We have had worse landlords in the past but what makes it worse is that this was presented as “an alternative to buying a house”. In what world would yearly rent increases be preferable to buying a house? We can’t get a deposit together fast enough to buy as this has really opened my eyes to the waste that renting really is.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes: proximity to Princes Park and the Park Road Tesco; short drive into the city centre; good transport links on Princes Avenue. Close to Granby Street Market and Squash. Overall the neighbourhood is extremely friendly and community minded, on the Welsh Streets and beyond in L8. Lovely lovely people
Dislikes: many section 60 orders have been put in place during our tenancy which have given us worry; recently more car break-in attempts; constant building noise, dust, cranes; fireworks year round day and night

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Ask a lot of questions and make sure you get clear answers before you move in or sign any paperwork. Make sure you get everything in writing

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quick to reply to emails, slow to act in general. Repairs have been okay but there is poor communication between whoever takes the calls from residents and whoever dispatches contractors.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great houses, poorly managed

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Aesthetically, the development is very pleasing. The communal spaces are great, although contractors often blow garden waste (grass cuttings) into private yards. We reported some minor maintenance issues when we first moved in earlier in the summer, however these are still outstanding. The interior of the properties are also aesthetically pleasing and very neutral so very easy to work with, however the finish leaves a lot to be desired (carpets aren’t properly fitted on the stairs, door stoppers are missing rubber ends etc). Additionally, the property hadn’t been thoroughly cleaned prior to our move in date, as we arrived and discovered pet hair and dust around the property.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location isn’t particularly well connected – much like most postcodes outside of the Liverpool city centre. There are however good amenities, with supermarkets, pubs/restaurants and the university campus nearby. Most of the area is still a building site, which is a nuisance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are a few inconsistencies in the way tenancies are being managed, such as monthly rental value for each property and additional charges for pets (which some pet owners aren’t paying). Enquire about these to avoid dissapointment.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would endorse the inclusion of allocated parking for each household. As the roads are shortened as a result of the ongoing building work, there is often a scramble to park anywhere near your own house – particularly as multiple households have multiple cars.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
1
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It could have been great.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The houses are a great design small and compact. Nice kitchen and bathrooms. The houses all need re-painting on the inside and the floors aren’t very level or smooth. Not much privacy and takes a while to get in touch with management. Communal space is great if you have kids as it is safe. But overall the rent price is way too much for a tiny house and not much privacy.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I think the housing development is in a great place close to shops and schools, transport links and the city centre is in walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How little privacy you get and how the rent is ridiculous and gets higher every year.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They haven’t responded very well to anything it’s either generic or like they can’t be bothered

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent area and houses, if communication improves – perfect.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Houses are well designed with a clean and modern finish. Communal gardens are useful if you have children or pets. If you have a urgent repair, property management are quick to help. Unfortunately, in terms of communication, property management is very poor. As we live next to a building site, things are often changing which can impact on tenants – these aren’t always properly communicated.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent area if you need to be close to the city centre, with a supermarket, school and corner shop all within walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Check how long the building work is going to be going on for!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been prompt when it is a maintenance issue, but communal issues can be less responsive.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
User submitted image of  Welsh Streets, L8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely pet friendly home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Love the house, the space and modern updates to our house. We love that we can have our pets with us and be supported by a pet friendly landlord. The garden is shared but we have a lovely community of neighbours we share our garden with. We do wish the landlord reacted faster to house improvements and fixes that are needed, but once done they generally do a good job.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Love the house and pet friendly attitude of the landlord. Love the shared garden area.

The neighbourhood isn’t the nicest as it is up and coming and the management of the properties by the landlord needs improvement. We’ve had problems with damp and settlement and it takes ages to get stuff fixed.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Known more about how long the ongoing building work would last

What is the best feature of your home:

Pet friendly, modern home, shared garden and lovely neighbours

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely development -housing management needs improvement.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Design
my home is three bed has has been designed fairly well with the open plan aspect giving it a feeling of space. Appliances are of good quality overall and the kitchen design is well thought through.
Cons
The paintwork is not a good standard and within 6 months there was was a lot of cracking and peeling so now needs a lot of work.
repairs are slow to happen and Covid 19 has not helped. The rents have now reached their ceiling for the area which is welcome as it is just about affordable.
They allow pets which in itself ensure that we get a good mix of animal lovers and makes them a popular landlord.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is close to the city centre and has a good mix of housing stock period modern and refurbished. It is close to good transport links and entertainment. There are several good parks within walking distance and it a good mix culturally with a rich history of the area its is very close to the city Centre which is ideal for workers with new shops opening up all the time. a once neglected areas is now coming back to life.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

exactly as described

What is the best feature of your home:

Kitchen and bathroom fixtures and fittings. Communal rear space. Location location location. pets allowed

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent house but a little overpriced

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The houses are great and very well designed/fitted out. We love the amount of light throughout and the communal garden at the back. Overall the service provided by Placefirst has been good but there is sometime confusion with regards to maintenance due to there being more than one company carrying out gas/electric checks and repairs. We do feel the rent is too high. The prices are in line with much more expensive areas of the city rather than many others in the L8 postcode.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love the community feel of the development. We are close to the park and have great access to roads in and out of the city

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the rent price for other houses of the same size can vary significantly for some reason.

What is the best feature of your home:

The size and design of it. There is light throughout and we feel it will be very economical in the winter

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Welsh Streets – great location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The houses are well designed and mostly have good quality fittings (e.g. doors and alarm systems). Thr communal areas are well kept by the landlord. The community is friendly and the people who work for the landlord are generally helpful. the landlord is flexible with improvements to the house e.g. decorating.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Convenient location to walk to the city centre. I also love that it’s near to Princes Park and Sefton Park.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known the building works were going to continue as long as they have. It’s been quite intense during lockdown where we have had to work from home and trying to get a baby/ toddler to nap with the noise.

What is the best feature of your home:

The finish of the houses is better than other rental properties I’ve lived in and i love the location.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great promise but patchy delivery.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2020

Well designed development, however we have had leaks from the shower as it was improperly installed, damp issues and poor upkeep of the shared garden. The management of the issues has been patchy at best with some fixed and some still to be resolved.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to city centre, with Princes park and sefton park nearbye. Lots of local community groups and organisations such as parkrun, Squash, granny markets etc.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Future development plans and talking to neighbours.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Change of ownership, to a community based co-op or something like that.

2
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Rhiwlas

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Beautiful houses that have been restored to a very high standard. We had a 2 bed with a bay windows d found the space to be perfect for a small family. Maintenance issues have been minimal but if they occured they were fixed promptly. The planters on the street are a lovely touch

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love the community space. It was brilliant during lockdown.
10min bike ride to the city center. I also love being so close to Prince’s Park

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That we would need to give two months notice when you leave

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Use of the atick would be handy for storage purposes

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Welsh Streets, L8

Location

About PlaceFirst

PlaceFirst is a residential letting company that was established in 2009. The use long-term BTR investment to unlock complex regeneration…
Number of developments 1

3.80

Average rating based on 20 reviews

View company