Welsh Streets, L8

Welsh Streets, L8

By
PlaceFirst
Ranked 9th out of 14 in Liverpool
3.91 (based on 12 reviews) 3.91 (12 reviews)

Category Scores

3.75
Facilities
4.25
Design
4.50
Location
3.25
Value
3.50
Management

Excellent

17%

Very Good

50%

Average

33%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Welsh Streets is a PlaceFirst development that is located in Liverpool. The development takes place over 5 streets of Victorian terraced houses, retaining all the period features, like high ceilings and big windows. Residents here benefit from private rear terraces, as well as shared gardens which run the length of the streets.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Many Broken Promises

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

This area is incredibly special and whoever took it over needed to renovate the houses with care. They look great on the outside but as time goes by, it’s apparent that many cost-cutting measures were used in putting the houses back together. I’m unsure if this is due to time constraints or budget limits. For example, toilets are held to the wall with a single screw in the plasterboard. The rear outer wall is hollow inside which I discovered when trying to screw in a hanging basket. The paint used for most of the walls comes away with a few wipes which we discovered cleaning behind the sink and around the kitchen. The doors are also quite cheaply made – we have had locksmiths out 2-3 times and they have told us that they hate coming to work on our houses because the doors are so poor. Our doors have had to be dismantled in order to get them to lock. Now there’s a terrible draft in winter but the view is that since the doors lock, they’re fixed. We pay extremely high rent for the area which is due to continue rising despite the economic downturn we’re due to experience. The management made a lot of promises about what the area was going to be like when building works and renovations were finished – there is no residents cafe, there is no residents lounge, there is no community hub, there is no residents garden or dog park or pub as promised. There are houses being squeezed into every possible area and no consideration has been given to where all these extra residents will park their cars; parking is already miserable as it is without extra people moving in once the houses are completed. The communal gardens were well intentioned but PlaceFirst’s hands off approach to managing our property and tenants, especially through the Covid-19 pandemic, has resulted in more community conflict. The gardens have the grass cut twice a month but the windows are not washed as promised. I have seen window washers twice in the last two years. The Welsh Streets were explicitly pet friendly when we moved in but they have now moved to taking extra rent for pets from newer tenants. There has been a large shift in how we are spoken to and managed over the last year and I feel I am being taken advantage of especially as far as rent rises go. We have had worse landlords in the past but what makes it worse is that this was presented as “an alternative to buying a house”. In what world would yearly rent increases be preferable to buying a house? We can’t get a deposit together fast enough to buy as this has really opened my eyes to the waste that renting really is.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes: proximity to Princes Park and the Park Road Tesco; short drive into the city centre; good transport links on Princes Avenue. Close to Granby Street Market and Squash. Overall the neighbourhood is extremely friendly and community minded, on the Welsh Streets and beyond in L8. Lovely lovely people
Dislikes: many section 60 orders have been put in place during our tenancy which have given us worry; recently more car break-in attempts; constant building noise, dust, cranes; fireworks year round day and night

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Ask a lot of questions and make sure you get clear answers before you move in or sign any paperwork. Make sure you get everything in writing

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quick to reply to emails, slow to act in general. Repairs have been okay but there is poor communication between whoever takes the calls from residents and whoever dispatches contractors.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Slapdash and quickly erected to maximise profits. Lovely place to live because of the people and the communal garden.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The design of the build at first glance seems great. You slowly realise that most things haven’t been thought out properly and won’t get fixed because in order to do so it would cost the developers extra money. Everything is done on the cheap and the finish is slapdash. All interior walls painted with one coat of water based paint which comes off should you have any spillages. No yearly repaints as promised. Generally I have found the property management good. Always quick to respond to emails, but not necessarily quick to get the repairs or jobs seen to. Communication between departments is abysmal and this is where the renters suffer the most. Yearly increases in rent regardless of the area we live in and whether anything of value has been added to the property. Eventually all tenants will be priced out of the area, but no one with serious money would live here as the general area is dirty and unsafe. We however have found a lovely community within the gates of the welsh streets and our little boy loves it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A home with a built in community. Safe and close to city centre. Not the greatest area overall though.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You’re living under the assumption these people care about community and building a strong one that no one wants to leave. But they want to make it attractive and habitable so that prices can keep going up and to hell with the community.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

In general the response is good. But it depends on the nature of the problem. Some little problems get resolved or looked at (and not resolved) fairly quickly. Some issues have been going on for months with numerous emails being sent and promises made but ultimately broken.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Excellent area and houses, if communication improves – perfect.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Houses are well designed with a clean and modern finish. Communal gardens are useful if you have children or pets. If you have a urgent repair, property management are quick to help. Unfortunately, in terms of communication, property management is very poor. As we live next to a building site, things are often changing which can impact on tenants – these aren’t always properly communicated.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent area if you need to be close to the city centre, with a supermarket, school and corner shop all within walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Check how long the building work is going to be going on for!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been prompt when it is a maintenance issue, but communal issues can be less responsive.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
User submitted image of  Welsh Streets, L8
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely development -housing management needs improvement.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Design
my home is three bed has has been designed fairly well with the open plan aspect giving it a feeling of space. Appliances are of good quality overall and the kitchen design is well thought through.
Cons
The paintwork is not a good standard and within 6 months there was was a lot of cracking and peeling so now needs a lot of work.
repairs are slow to happen and Covid 19 has not helped. The rents have now reached their ceiling for the area which is welcome as it is just about affordable.
They allow pets which in itself ensure that we get a good mix of animal lovers and makes them a popular landlord.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is close to the city centre and has a good mix of housing stock period modern and refurbished. It is close to good transport links and entertainment. There are several good parks within walking distance and it a good mix culturally with a rich history of the area its is very close to the city Centre which is ideal for workers with new shops opening up all the time. a once neglected areas is now coming back to life.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

exactly as described

What is the best feature of your home:

Kitchen and bathroom fixtures and fittings. Communal rear space. Location location location. pets allowed

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It could have been great.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The houses are a great design small and compact. Nice kitchen and bathrooms. The houses all need re-painting on the inside and the floors aren’t very level or smooth. Not much privacy and takes a while to get in touch with management. Communal space is great if you have kids as it is safe. But overall the rent price is way too much for a tiny house and not much privacy.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I think the housing development is in a great place close to shops and schools, transport links and the city centre is in walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How little privacy you get and how the rent is ridiculous and gets higher every year.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They haven’t responded very well to anything it’s either generic or like they can’t be bothered

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice properties but not as perfect as they might look from the outside.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Upkeep of the houses is not great, I feel all the efforts are put into finishing the rest of the houses when we were promised 12monthly checks for cracks, paint work etc with them being new builds.
The design is sleek and smart and should appeal to everyone, although it’s easy to notice cheaper materials have been used (really thin paint that cannot be wiped, no tiles in the kitchen, thin carpets and wonky flooring).
That bath is impossible to use even if you’re average size, it is SO small.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is excellent, Within5 minutes walking distance to two parks, 4 corner shops and one major supermarket.
Walking distance (20-30 mins) to the city centre or 15 mins by bus, 10 by driving.
No parking restrictions although the streets are very busy with cars.
No restaurants directly near but plenty of take aways, deliveroo options etc and being so close to the city centre this is not a problem.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The length of time that the building work would continue, Ive had no respite from building directly in front or behind me in two years.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best feature is being able to feel part of a community, neighbours look out for each other and it’s great to see kids playing together with their pets and neighbours outside.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, modern house, perfect for first time renters

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The house is very modern and designed very well, only improvements would be that there are some cracks in the plaster – but we have been told by the builder that this is normal and due to the work being done recently.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The property is a very quick drive away from the city centre (around 5 minutes) so a great location! It is also very close to an area called Baltic Market which is a great place for food and drinks.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We are pretty content with our viewing and the choices offered to us.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would get rid of the communal garden. Those on our street do not tend to follow the rules – they don’t pick up their dog poo/their children play ball games loudly outside our house (sometimes bouncing it against our door) we often feel the need to keep our curtains closed.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Rhiwlas

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Beautiful houses that have been restored to a very high standard. We had a 2 bed with a bay windows d found the space to be perfect for a small family. Maintenance issues have been minimal but if they occured they were fixed promptly. The planters on the street are a lovely touch

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love the community space. It was brilliant during lockdown.
10min bike ride to the city center. I also love being so close to Prince’s Park

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That we would need to give two months notice when you leave

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Use of the atick would be handy for storage purposes

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Everybody loves good neighbors

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

Over all I have enjoyed my time in the Welsh Streets.
The house is clean and fresh with a lovely airy feel. The majority of my neighbours are fantastic and it has been wonderful having the communal space during lockdown!
Place first are generally very responsive landlords.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Adams on the corner is great, Adam is lovely and friendly and a pillar of the community.
There is a massive Tesco 5 mins walk away.
Bus route to town is great but also easily walkable.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the rent would increase yearly. That I would need to give 2 months notice when leaving.
That we not have access to the loft (storage is almost impossible)

What is the best feature of your home:

The fresh light feel and the fact I am living in an iconic street.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
1
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Welsh Streets – great location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2020

The houses are well designed and mostly have good quality fittings (e.g. doors and alarm systems). Thr communal areas are well kept by the landlord. The community is friendly and the people who work for the landlord are generally helpful. the landlord is flexible with improvements to the house e.g. decorating.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Convenient location to walk to the city centre. I also love that it’s near to Princes Park and Sefton Park.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d known the building works were going to continue as long as they have. It’s been quite intense during lockdown where we have had to work from home and trying to get a baby/ toddler to nap with the noise.

What is the best feature of your home:

The finish of the houses is better than other rental properties I’ve lived in and i love the location.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Welsh Streets, L8

Location

About PlaceFirst

PlaceFirst is a residential letting company that was established in 2009. The use long-term BTR investment to unlock complex regeneration…
Number of developments 1

3.91

Average rating based on 12 reviews

View company