The Wullcomb, LE1

By
Way of Life
1st
Ranked 1st out of 5 in Leicester
4.60 (119 reviews) 4.60 (119 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.61
Facilities
4.66
Design
4.74
Location
4.27
Value
4.53
Management

The Wullcomb is a Build to Rent development managed by Way of Life, located in the heart of Leicester. The building offers 297 apartments with a mix of spacious Manhattan studios alongside one and two-bedroom apartments. Residents have the option of choosing a furnished or unfurnished apartment. Additionally, there are a wide range of facilities and amenities on site. These include 24h concierge, secure car park and cycle storage, a rooftop terrace, a shared kitchen and dining space with modern lounge and a private theatre room.

Read more Read less
The Wullcomb, LE1 Available Properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£725 pcm
Studio Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
431 sq ft
Way of Life
More info
£900 pcm
1 Bedroom Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
510 sq ft
Way of Life
More info
£1,025 pcm
2 Bedroom Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
685 sq ft
Way of Life
More info

The Wullcomb, LE1 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 119 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

5-star Recommendation

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

Designed very well. Layout is perfect for the 1-bed apartment. Abundance of kitchen cupboard space, storage room, and on-site storage for larger items if needed (at added cost). Management are all super friendly, approachable and resolved any issues we’ve had professionally and empathetically.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Centre of Leicester next to all the local amenities. Short drive from supermarkets. Walking distance from the train station (though takes 25mins).

Secure parking available but at modest cost. Parking available behind Wullcomb at £4/day and courtyard has parking available on first-come.

Bin area is tidy, and emptied weekly. Never run out of bin space in communal bins.

Traffic isn’t noticeable with windows/door closed at back of building. If windows/door open, can be disruptive.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish we used the tenant portal more. It’s got really useful info in it. The wait list on parking was longer than expected but parking elsewhere is available and in the courtyard 3 days/w if there is a free space.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We needed a space to park our car ahead of our space being available. They offered us a space that had become vacant for two days free of charge.

The window had broken before bed and we needed concierge to fix it – they came within 15mins and closed it for us for the night, then arranged for a permanent fix the next day as a priority.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Ryan

Thank you so much for your amazing review!

It is good to hear that you felt you had enough storage within the apartment. As you noted, we do offer separate storage onsite with a small cage being £25 a month & a large cage £40 per month.

Thank you for saying management are super-friendly (we certainly try!) & approachable, we always want to strike that balance of being helpful & professional. It is great to hear that any issues you did experience were resolved quickly.

Secure parking is available at an additional charge; sometimes there is a short waiting list but hopefully we kept you informed of this. We do also have some short-term visitor parking that can be used by residents when available free of charge.

Thank you for your lovely comments; myself & the team wish you all the very best for the future.

Wonderful Wullcomb

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

Impressive design, 5th floor communal area is a great feature, rooms and public areas are well maintained strong property management team any repairs and general maintenance addressed within very short space time

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Family & I arrived from Melbourne late May 2022 amazing welcone Manager Karl, Cristina, Abbey, Stef, Johan and team great product, awesome team & fantastic location ☺️☺️☺️

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we knew earlier moved to Leicester beforehand

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Prompt and efficient any issues always been addresswe within a linited amount of time very impressive

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this 5 start review, we are so lucky to have you staying with us!
It is great to hear that you have used our shared communal areas & have enjoyed them – they are lovely & help our residents meet each other.
I am pleased that any small issues you may have had have been resolved quickly & efficiently.
I will pass on your kind comments to the team. If you do need any assistance from the team for any reason – you can find us on the groundfloor or contact us via the tenant portal.
Lastly – thank you for the donuts, they were lovely!

Amazing building

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

Amazing design and very modern and very very clean. The top reason why you want to stay somewhere are The Wullcomb is 5 stars for all of them. The building is cleaned daily and has an amazing atmosphere. Nice music in the lobby modern furniture just have to see it to love it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We moved to the UK and made The Wullcomb our home. Karl.B and his team made the process so easy and helped us with nay of our needs. They have a very refreshing and professional attitude. The Wullcomb is by far one of the most beautiful places to stay. Not only for the apartments but for the views which surround the building. Thanks again to Karl.B and his team for making it an amazing experience.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew earlier about this location

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Anytime there was any issues which was only once the response time was very quick. Withing minutes my issue was resolved .

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review. We were very happy to have you staying with us & were sorry to see you leave – we wish you all the best with your new life overseas.
We hope that you will come to see us again some day, if we can ever assist you again, please do not hesitate to get in touch!

Modern apartments with incredible management staff

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2022

Apartment designs are modern with up-to-date tech and facilities. Concierge/Management staff are the best I have ever experienced 10/10 – friendly, attentive and always go the extra mile. Same goes for the Coffee shop downstairs, very convenient!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Shops/Restaurants very close by. Provided parking is secure and CCTV monitored. Traffic noise is ok.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there is no option for monthly rolling contracts after a fixed term

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, and always go the extra mile to resolve quick

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Tom,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review – we are very sorry to see you leave us!

The location is great with easy access to local shops & bars; the coffee shop in the building is fantastic as you know! Delivery to your apartment as a resident is really living the high life!

Thank you for commenting on the secure car park & building, 24-hour Concierge cover is a key reason people choose to stay at The Wullcomb.

Your lovely comments about the staff are very much appreciated, I am sure all the team get to hear your thoughts.

If we can ever help you again, please do let me know!

Excellent location to stay, well maintained with friendly staff!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

Great design, 24hrs concierge services, and modern facilities to hang out with your friends in multiple areas such as post room and lounge on the ground floor and perch on the fifth floor with TV/games room, and terrace area with greenhouse. Recently, fitness Monday evening sessions were also introduced which could be a plus for health-conscious renters. There is a high-end fitness studio but the prices are too high and unoccupied commercial space ground floor could be better utilised with essential shops or own GYM studio.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is very close to Highcross/town centre, John Lewis, Lanes 7 etc. Easy to walk to and get required food/essential supplies from nearby Tesco/Aldi. Dedicated parking is available at extra cost, and guest parking is available in the courtyard but they are limited spaces available and they are usually full.
As my apartment looked onto the main road and on the 3rd floor, initially, the local council imposed restrictions on opening windows due to pollution and risk to health but rooms in summer would get really hot. We were later allowed to open the windows which helped the temperature in the room but pollution would make the room dusty and polluted very quickly. The inbuilt vent for fresher/cleaner air supply could be more configurable and kept maintained more regularly.
Also, the WIFI router’s admin portal should be accessible to allow residents to control their home network devices more efficiently.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If the quality of air is very important for your health, please ensure to clarify which room, floor levels and facing directions of your flat to judge the pollution levels you might be exposed to.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

All the problems or issues logged in the system or verbally to the concierge team or management team were promptly followed up and addressed effectively.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your 5-star review – it is very much appreciated!

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the communal areas, especially the fitness class during your stay. It has been lovely to see so many residents enjoy the roof terrace recently.

As you rightly say, the location is fantastic – opposite the main shopping & dining areas with lots of things to do & see.

All apartments have full mechanical ventilation as well as opening windows, this is something we worked hard to improve following engagement with residents. Ventilation cane set to boost & also has a ‘Summer’ setting to help at warm times if you do not wish to open the window.

It is very pleasing to hear that any issues you did note were resolved quickly & that you felt we were supportive to you when needed – we will always try to assist wherever we can.

I really enjoyed my time staying at the Wullcomb and would 100% recommend it to anyone looking for a City Center apartment.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2022

The property has a lovely design and lots a space on the rooftop terrace and comfortable public areas to lounge and hang out with friends. The management company are all lovely and friendly and make you feel at home, the 24/7 concierge makes you feel safe at all hours and there’s never any worry about being at home to collect parcels etc as the concierge will kindly collect and store until your able to pick up. The only thing missing is a free on-site gym for tenants which would’ve been nice to have.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The property is located in a convenient location within the City Center, quite enough to feel like your not in the City but conveniently located across the road to the cinema, various restaurants and the shopping center. There’s free on-site visitor parking available on a first come first serve basis which majority of the time has been available for any visiting friends to park.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The key cards for the main entrances are a bit of a pain, would’ve been more convenient if it was a fob which could be attached to your keys.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Online portal makes it easy and convenient to deal with any rent payments and they are fast at responding to any maintenance issues within the flats.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your great review Nehal!

Your comments about the onsite team are lovely thank you. We work really hard to provide a safe & secure environment for our residents so it is nice you have noticed this. Our 24/7 Concierge can provide lots of services for you put never having to be here for your parcels is a real game-changer!

We are glad that you used the roof terrace area – it is lovely up there, particularly when the sun is shining. Our residents can now book the new barbecue as well!

It is good to hear you benefitted from the tenant portal as this is something we have worked hard to deliver. You can log repairs here, pay rent, request services & keep in touch with any up-coming events.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we wish you all the very best in your new home!

A brand new, highly functioning living space with excellent attentive staff!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2021

I lived in a one bedroom flat which was spacious and allowed for a high quality of living. On moving in the, a welcome package was laid out on the kitchen counter, which was a lovely touch by the on-site team. The kitchen is well laid out with lots of storage space and has well functioning white goods and cooking space. The Juliette balcony and floor to ceiling windows allows a lot of natural light to fill the apartment which is important. The bathroom is also spacious with nice touches like a heated towel rack. The building hall ways, lobby, communal areas and space are all pristine and furnished with stylish and comfortable pieces of furniture. A lot of though has gone in to tertiary furnishings and decorations. If you have visitors over, they can park for free for 24 hours in the inside parking bay provided there is space. Arguably, the best thing about the property is the on-site concierge and team who are there 24/7 to deal with any issues and are at hand by phone or text and respond quickly. Any issues with the apartment or facilities are dealt with promptly and efficiently. For deliveries of packages, you never have to be home and they can be collected from the concierge at your leisure. This is definitely an underrated service that I will miss in the future. The staff are kind and friendly and make The Wullcomb the place it is. I would particularly like to thank the concierges Karl, Stef, and Johan for all their help, as well as Karl B for tenancy and related queries.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is very central with access to Highcross and all the shops and restaurants nearby. It is a very short 20 minute walk to the Train station and shorter walk to the St Margarets Bus station. There are plenty of nearby grocery shops. The Esquires Cafe downstairs is very handy and a new Gym has just opened downstairs within the building. There are two convenient lifts at either end of the building and it is very easy and straightforward to take out the trash with bin collections organised. The apartment communal areas are kept clean regularly. My apartment was facing the Church yard and therefore had no traffic nouse. The open spaces on the terrace are great including the large communal kitchen. This will be of great use in the future when COVID settles.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are no additional tips that I have for moving in. A welcome package is organised for you when you arrive with documents on how everything in the apartment and building works. If you are unsure about anything, the team on site are readily available to help and answer questions. They provide you with a nice tote bag and keep cup for coffee in the welcome package.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

If I had any problems with the flat or utilities, these were addressed quickly and the management team is responsive and sends you updates. The communication from their part is excellent which adds the extra level of customer service. They were always present to answers questions and provide solutions. In addition, the management team Way of Life have a special user friendly app/website where it is super easy to report any issues or faults that need fixing.

Once I moved out, I had a package delivered to the Wullcomb which I needed forward to my new address. The concierge Johan sorted the reposting for me after I sent him the shipping labels. This is an example of the extra mile the team at the wullcomb goes for.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this detailed review!

Your comments about the team onsite are really lovely – we work so hard to go the extra mile for our customers & it certainly seems like we have done so in your case. I’ll ensure all of the team know they are appreciated.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed living in the apartment, we were very sorry to see you go. If we can ever help you again, you know where we are!

A homely and lovely place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The building is lovingly designed. You can tell there was an intention of creating a community behind it, and not just a block of flats. The rooftop terrace and indoor communal living rooms are a great space to hang out, especially when working from home. It would be great if we had a gym. What I appreciate the most is the 24hr concierge who are very helpful and reliable as well as making the place feel safe and secure.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is great. Wullcomb is very close to the town centre but distant enough to not be disturbed by the noise and busyness of town centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Getting your post taken care of in your absence is icing on the cake. The concierge and management keep your post in a secure room and alert you. And you can pick it up when it’s convenient for you

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Management have been very helpful from the move in and throughout my stay over the years

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Wow, what an amazing review Idil, thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback!
It is great to hear that you love the design & location of The Wullcomb, these are key points to consider when looking for somewhere to call home. It is fantastic that you have felt safe & secure during your stay, this is a reason lots of people choose to stay with us.
It sounds like you have appreciated & used our concierge service during your stay – we are always there for you 24 hours a day & 365 days a year if you need us. Your comments on the team & management are lovely to hear, thank you!
Thank you choosing to stay with us at The Wullcomb.

Very Positive living experience at The Wullcomb

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The overall design of the Wullcomb has aspects of scandic design which makes it feel very modern and homey at the same time. It is very well maintained and VERY clean which is amazing! The facilities which the building have from the social rooms to the deck upstairs really helps break up the flats to allow for people to meet each other and have fun with friends or family. Super conducive environment for anyone who lives here. The management team is always there to help when you need anything and are super friendly. You have the ability to make personal connections with them so they get to know you and they can help you in the best way possible.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love how close it is to the center of town as well as where I work! I’m a student and it’s very helpful to be near the university whilst still enjoying being in the city center. One of the negatives would be that I live on the second floor and that when you have the windows open the street noise is a little loud however I have been living with that sound for the past year and that doesn’t really bother me.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How many uni students live here, meaning that I could try and meet new people, as well as the price of the new gym that is going in downstairs.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issue that I have is usually fixed within a couple of days depending on what the issue is!

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jessica, thank you for the fantastic review!
It is lovely to hear you great comments about the building & the management team, this is very much appreciated. We really do try to know all of our residents personally, so it is nice you have picked up on this.
We have a very good mix of residents at The Wullcomb, currently around 30% are students & 70% professionals – but we love you all equally!
It is good to hear maintenance issues have been resolved quickly.
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Wullcomb, we love having you with us.

Good location, terrible management.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Threatening behaviour from the building management. Numerous emails threatening to end my lease if I didn’t park in a certain place, if my dogs weren’t behaving or if my dogs defecated out the back even though it wasn’t myself.

Facilities are poor as most have been unusable since covid.

I’ve had a great number of emails threatening to end my tenancy, but not a single occasion has anybody asked if everything is ok with my accommodation. My extractor fan hasn’t worked since I moved in a year ago. To date, nobody has asked if the accommodation is satisfactory.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location, very efficient.
Very close to the Leicester city centre.
Parking if not allocated at a cost, is plentiful but expensive.
Traffic noise is bad.
Lots of homeless shouting & fighting in the churchyard below the windows.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The rooms get VERY hot in the summer and there’s no air con.
With hindsight, I wouldn’t have moved in.
The management has made this the worst experience.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Terribly.
I was very happy to meet for a conversation with Karl, the manager & he refused & gaslighted me essentially.
During covid, and being self employed, this caused me no end of stress.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good but could be better

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Facilities are great, building management and property management team are really helpful and friendly. They made moving in really easy, and are always friendly and try to help.

The terrace area is great. It is however annoyijg that we can’t use the pizza oven, BBQ and fire pit. We’re paying quite a bit of money so we should be able to use them

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great shops and restaurants.

A big downside is that it’s far frkm good supermarkets. You have to drive or get food delivery. I don’t drive so it’s an issue dor me

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the bbq, pizza oven and fire pit and greenhouse area can’t be used. Quite poor because they are big features and we get No use of it and no compensation

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Immediate response! My window was leaking when it was raining and they looked at it straight away

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Storage

Storage

Location

Way of Life
Number of developments 5

4.60

Average rating based on 328 reviews

View company