The Wullcomb, LE1

By
Way of Life
1st
Ranked 1st out of 5 in Leicester
4.63 (148 reviews) 4.63 (148 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.59
Facilities
4.69
Design
4.76
Location
4.32
Value
4.57
Management

The Wullcomb is a Build to Rent development managed by Way of Life, located in the heart of Leicester. The building offers 297 apartments with a mix of spacious Manhattan studios alongside one and two-bedroom apartments. Residents have the option of choosing a furnished or unfurnished apartment. Additionally, there are a wide range of facilities and amenities on site. These include 24h concierge, secure car park and cycle storage, a rooftop terrace, a shared kitchen and dining space with modern lounge and a private theatre room.

Read more Read less
The Wullcomb, LE1 Available Properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£725 pcm
Studio Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
431 sq ft
Way of Life
More info
£900 pcm
1 Bedroom Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
510 sq ft
Way of Life
More info
£1,025 pcm
2 Bedroom Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
685 sq ft
Way of Life
More info

The Wullcomb, LE1 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 148 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

5-star Recommendation

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2022

Designed very well. Layout is perfect for the 1-bed apartment. Abundance of kitchen cupboard space, storage room, and on-site storage for larger items if needed (at added cost). Management are all super friendly, approachable and resolved any issues we’ve had professionally and empathetically.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Centre of Leicester next to all the local amenities. Short drive from supermarkets. Walking distance from the train station (though takes 25mins).

Secure parking available but at modest cost. Parking available behind Wullcomb at £4/day and courtyard has parking available on first-come.

Bin area is tidy, and emptied weekly. Never run out of bin space in communal bins.

Traffic isn’t noticeable with windows/door closed at back of building. If windows/door open, can be disruptive.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish we used the tenant portal more. It’s got really useful info in it. The wait list on parking was longer than expected but parking elsewhere is available and in the courtyard 3 days/w if there is a free space.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We needed a space to park our car ahead of our space being available. They offered us a space that had become vacant for two days free of charge.

The window had broken before bed and we needed concierge to fix it – they came within 15mins and closed it for us for the night, then arranged for a permanent fix the next day as a priority.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Ryan

Thank you so much for your amazing review!

It is good to hear that you felt you had enough storage within the apartment. As you noted, we do offer separate storage onsite with a small cage being £25 a month & a large cage £40 per month.

Thank you for saying management are super-friendly (we certainly try!) & approachable, we always want to strike that balance of being helpful & professional. It is great to hear that any issues you did experience were resolved quickly.

Secure parking is available at an additional charge; sometimes there is a short waiting list but hopefully we kept you informed of this. We do also have some short-term visitor parking that can be used by residents when available free of charge.

Thank you for your lovely comments; myself & the team wish you all the very best for the future.

The Wullcomb is an excellent way to live your life in Leicester

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Excellent design in the middle of city center, excellent facilities, 24 hours support available in person in the Ground floor office, free printout for all tenants, above all 5th floor recreational area is the best, free to use big TV room, Table tennis, big dinning table, kitchen, BBQ, open space for sunlight with sofa, Glass room with big table.
I am really impressed with the solar energy system at the building.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops are just 150 meters away, 50 meters away excellent restaurants such as Nando’s, TGF, Zizzi, Pizza express, etc, 25 meters away is best cinema theater. Visitor parking is limited, but there are ample parking available near The Wullcomb at £3-4 per day.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

This has great ambiance and safety for my family and kids

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There were few issues reported, but they were quickly resolved

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this amazing review, we are so pleased you are enjoying your stay with us.
It is lovely to hear that you feel we are family friendly as this is something we actively encourage.
It is pleasing that any small issues you may have had have been quickly resolved.

A Perfect City Home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The Wullcomb has a bespoke design…
With over 250 apartments in the location, there is still space for each individual household and the area does not seem congested.
It also offers several facilities, including the terrace rooftop and a gaming room, and several common sit-in areas in the building.
Way of Life seems to have perfected the art of offering Modern City Living over the years.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Centrally located, The Wullcomb is a perfect location to experience the diversity of the city- from several high-end brands in Highcross shopping mall just across to various restaurants around the city centre!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A little more information about the limited parking for residents as well as the additional cost for the parking slot

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building management is very approachable and usually respond to any concerns or problems in a timely manner.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for this excellent review!
As you correctly state, the location is central & close to the main shopping & entertainment areas but far enough away to be quiet.
We offer private secure parking at a extra fee but have a visitors parking area & a permit system.

Brilliant accommodation

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Always clean corridors and common spaces. A very welcoming atmosphere at reception and direct access to a cafe.
Great common room (The Perch) – access to ping pong table, barbeque, balcony
Amazing concierge and management staff who get back to you very quickly if there are any issues. Can pick up parcels at any time of the day.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Despite being right next to the centre of town, there is minimal noise at night.
Great location
Good access to shops
Very safe area, especially for those working nights

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The common area is amazing
Good access to all facilities

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No problems have been raised but am 100% sure it will be dealt with professionally and on a timely basis

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for leaving your amazing review of The Wullcomb.
We are really pleased to hear that our service has been excellent – we are do try really hard & it is nice to hear this has been noted by you.
Our concierge & parcel systems are always commented upon positively by our customers, so thank you for mentioning this also.

Absolutely love it here!❤️

Review Date Oct 2022

I’d say the building design gives me quick exit access to the car park, and also a quicker way to interlink to the main entrance which is a huge advantage for me as I go in and out quite often.
The facility lounge/relaxation area is on the same floor as my flat which makes it even more exciting and did I mention how every details of the facility is extremely unique?

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I and my family absolutely love it here at the wullcomb homes. It’s quiet, clean and well secured environment is what we all need to come back to after a busy & tedious day out.
The staffs aren’t only friendly but very professional & always do their best to help out with minor issues.
The rooms are spacious enough for the the kids to create a play area and the beds are super comfy
Really impressed with the lounge area on the 5th floor, the decors, chair setting is impeccable, a place I can sit out with my husband and feel like I’m on a date😁 if you work from home, or looking to chill out with friends it is the PERFECT spot void of distractions, very calm and the view from there is Outstanding.
Haven’t used the gym but feels good to know I’m one step close to one when I feel ready to lose some pounds and stay fit.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish there was an open space or a balcony where one can sun dry washed clothes or air dry worn shoes. This is the one thing I’ve complained about since we moved in. It would have made a lot of difference though

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We received an immediate response when we complained about a drainage issue with the bathroom and when one of the shower control panels broke. All issues was resolved within a few hours the most

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  The Wullcomb, LE1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
It is so nice to hear you say that you love staying with us – we love you being here too!
It make us happy that you are using our communal areas & that they make you feel special, we hope you guys have a great next date!
If you need anything, we are always here for you 24/7!

window

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

I think the design of the window makes me very upset, because it is too hot in summer, and the window can not be ventilated. I suggest that the French window in the living room can be designed in a form that can be opened, so that it will be more comfortable in summer

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very close to the city centre, a little far to the train station but acceptable. Because our apartment faces the street, there is often noise when the Windows are open

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I don’t know much about the registered water and electricity, and I can’t find the account of the company in my mailbox, which has caused me a lot of trouble. I hope the staff can help to guide me

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are very timely to help me deal with the problem

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great review.
The windows do open in 2 different ways & you also have a a full apartment ventilation unit that has a summer setting on it – please let us know if you need any help with the ventilation of the apartment.
Please speak to one of the team about setting up your bills, we have a Billing Partner that can assist you directly with this.
If you need any help atall, we are here 24 hours on the groundfloor for you!

Be polite and try to understand

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

I need More sensetive management staff and more cleaning inside of building
The furnitures are very low quality i asked to change sofa but no one interested
This is not good for tenants
No one asked me to happy from flat
The management in the building is not searching our requests

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Due to the world wide financial problems i had diffuculties to pay my rent and i try to explained this to the management. Unfortunately the management was not polite to me . I was very dissapointed

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The location is nice but the furnitures are very low quality in flats when i compare with rent amount in Leicester. I asked to change beds and sofa but no one interest about my request

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I need more tolerance from staff and more sensetive

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review & for taking the time to post it.

The building is cleaned twice daily & many of the reviews have commented on its cleanliness, I am sorry you do not agree with this. I will speak to the cleaning team to see if any improvements can be made.

I do not wish to comment specifically about the rent payment due to data protection but I can confirm that patience & assistance was offered by multiple staff members onsite & also offsite to try & help you. This was done very far in advance with specific information being provided. I am sorry to hear of your assessment.

We regularly get very positive comments about the furniture provided & it is a key attraction to the building. I would welcome any specific feedback you may have to help us in future.

We appreciate your feedback good & bad as we can learn from it. It is especially pleasing to know that despite your review content, you do still recommend us & have chosen to stay with us for a 3rd year.

So happy to be here…I want to stay longer.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

I wanted to live here. I must have driven Karl & Cristina mad with all my emails & tiny window where I was able to view. The pictures online vs viewing did not disappoint. I’m thankful they put up with me & I now get to live in this fantastic building. Everyone is really friendly & approachable. Its handy having the concierges taking in our packages for us. The communal areas are all really nice & well kept. The movie room was very handy while we waited on a tv to be delivered. I’m very happy with the broadband & that I didn’t have to wait for it to be set up. I love knowing I live in a very secure building & know that if I have any issues it’s easy enough to raise them & that I’m listened to.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The only thing I would say is missing is a more local mini supermarket type shop but if you needed a pint of milk in a pinch there are some shops 5-10 minutes walk away. The Highcross, cinema & tons of places to eat are all on the doorstep. I was concerned prior to moving in about traffic noise but this is only a low hum with the windows shut.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There were no surprises. The welcome pack had loads of information in it.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We had a window replaced the same day we noticed a crack in it. It turned out it was spotted on the pre moving in inspection & we were just slow to notice.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Ria

What a great review – thank you so much – it is lovely to have you guys staying with us.

You certainly did not drive us mad, do not worry – we always try & help as much as we can to ensure you get the apartment to meet your requirements – we are glad we could do this for you & thank you for your patience!

I will ensure all of the team get to hear your kind words & I hope you stay with us for a long time to come!

Fabulous place to live, safe, secure and staff are always so happy to help. Thank You.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Absolutely not a fault to report and thoroughly enjoying living here. The property is safe and secure and kept immaculate. It is bright and never feels claustrophobic. Roof Terrace is an amazing extra and really nice to be able to enjoy some outside space too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We are absolutely loving living here, feels so safe and secure and staff cant do enough for you. Would highly recommend it, location is superb for city centre and bus/ train station.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How convenient the location is, we were not from the local area and really can’t believe how perfect the location is, was worried about the busy road but it’s absolutely not a problem, no noise concerns and plenty of pedestrian crossing points.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responded immediately to general queries, but no issues to report.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Nickie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this amazing 5-start review!!!

It is lovely to hear you feel safe & secure staying with us – this is a key point to people choosing The Wullcomb. We have staff onsite 24/7 to make you feel right at home, so thank you for this feedback.

It is great to know that any small issues you have had during you stay have been quickly addressed.

Thank you to you & your family for choosing to stay with us & we hope you stay for as long as possible!

Excellent location, feels safe and secure and is well managed.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The development is designed well and it is efficiently managed. It is clean and has lovely communal spaces, I do think perhaps some of the quality of fittings have been “engineered out” to be more affordable, e.g. the heated towel rails are broken, the plastic fittings holding up shelves are weak, the ventilation is poor in the bathroom, and the bedroom door rattles when the window is open. Storage is an issue, as there is little space by the washing machine and boiler and no chest of drawers in the bedrooms. A breakfast bar has been designed with no stools. For the money, you would expect it to be more high-end in terms of fittings but I still really love it!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location for cinema and restaurants, especially St Martin’s Square, which is lovely in the summer. It is within walking distance of three parks and many gyms nearby. The courtyard/car park can get noisy, mainly with moving bins at night and lorries reversing with warning sounds, but better with windows and doors closed. The surrounding flats are quiet, as is the corridor.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would advise selecting a higher flat away from the main road because of the road noise. It is great the broadband is included, and it is reliable and fast. There is a free gym class which is excellent, with PT Jack Gibbs.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, but the heated towel rail still has an outstanding issue that has not been resolved.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Sara

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review.

I am sorry that you have struggled with storage space inside the apartment, as you will be aware, we have extra storage onsite that can be rented for those items you do not need day to day.

Thank you for your lovely comments on the PT class – which is free of charge for our residents alongside the running club with Stefan.

The fire alarms are tested weekly without fail, if you are referring the smoke alarms inside the apartment, these are to be tested by you as the resident – as noted in the tenancy agreement.

We take fire & general safety very seriously at The Wullcomb & you can be assured we never miss any part of this.

If you would like to discuss any of the above with the onsite team, do please feel free to find me directly.

The lovely wullcomb

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

There are many pros including the communal area, although the downside is that some residents are not considerate to others. There is a fitness class which is great, would love to see more like this. The only thing that is missing is a gym like other similar buildings nearby.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent location and great staff. The highcross shopping centre is across the road, cannot fault the location whatsoever.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The kitchen utensils are not open for everyone to use. Everything locked away so can’t use if just chilling in the area etc.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Have always received a response, just one ongoing issue being looked at.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Storage

Storage

Location

Way of Life
Number of developments 5

4.63

Average rating based on 430 reviews

View company