The Wullcomb, LE1

By
Way of Life
1st
Ranked 1st out of 9 in Leicester
4.48 (69 reviews) 4.48 (69 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.61
Facilities
4.71
Design
4.70
Location
4.20
Value
4.44
Management

The Wullcomb is a Build to Rent development managed by Way of Life, located in the heart of Leicester. The building offers 297 apartments with a mix of spacious Manhattan studios alongside one and two-bedroom apartments. Residents have the option of choosing a furnished or unfurnished apartment. Additionally, there are a wide range of facilities and amenities on site. These include 24h concierge, secure car park and cycle storage, a rooftop terrace, a shared kitchen and dining space with modern lounge and a private theatre room.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£725 pcm
Studio Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
431 sq ft
Way of Life
More info
£900 pcm
1 Bedroom Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
510 sq ft
Way of Life
More info
£1,025 pcm
2 Bedroom Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
685 sq ft
Way of Life
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 69 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Slice of heaven in heart of Leicester!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

I really love the building. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. The design is very modern and appealing. The flats are very lovely! I do not love that lower flats have carpet but understand this keeps the price lower. I love the terrace, it’s a fantastic space. Perhaps a pool next time 😂! The building is very safe and I have no concerns with packages I order missing or getting lost. Concierge are very friendly and helpful. I really love the new coffee shop addition.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I think the building is placed very well. We are very close to all amenities, the shops, parks etc! I dislike that it is so close to a very busy main road as it can be very loud throughout the day and evening.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If you love light – make sure you choose a side where you have a bright flat. I am very grateful we chose the side that has mostly direct sunlight the majority of the day! This was really important for me.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change the carpet to hardwood flooring. We are facing a busy road which is very loud at times, but I appreciate most flats face the busy road.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for the amazing 5 star review – very much appreciated; your comments on the staff & the building itself are lovely to hear.
We do have a pool in our Manchester development but we love the roof terrace just a much!
You are correct that the apartments have different aspects & views, we do offer advice on light & what time the sun appears if you ever need this advice again!
Thank you for choosing The Wullcomb!

Fantastic Living for Working Professionals

Review Date Mar 2021

Great rooms, setting and layouts. Again, management and on-site facilities are brilliant. I would say one thing that could be better is the parking bays on the underground level, however they aren’t too bad!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Fantastic location if you are a city lover! Admittedly there is quite a lot of traffic noise if you face onto the main road, however that is more than expected.
Really friendly and with you being central, everything is within walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Depending on your neighbours, you can sometimes hear a lot of movement from next door and above. Be aware that there are some students living in these flats thus the noise.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Potentially having an on-site gym in the additional space, or maybe more events (post covid)

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Sasha
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us.
Your positive comments about the onsite team are very much appreciated. We try very hard to ensure our customers have a great experience – even in these challenging times!
In the city centre, we can get some slight noise from the road as busy times; but this is in just one part of the building, the majority of rooms are much quieter. We get very few noise complaints in a building with 297 apartments – but the concierge is there 24 hours a day if you ever need our assistance!
We agree that the location is great, easy to walk or catch a train – very well appointed.
We cannot wait to re-start our residents events program; we have a running club, yoga-brunch as well as various tasting sessions planned. We hope you will join us for one of these when the world opens up again!
From Karl, Louise & the team.

Best place to live in the city centre – very stylish

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Very stylishly designed, this building offers everything you need in your apartment from dishwasher to free WiFi, to satellite TV. there are little touches all around the building that make it feel a luxury place to live. All the shared living spaces are very impressive and have great décor. Esquires coffee which is accessible from the lobby is a great facility to have.

The management and concierge team are fantastic. Karl has been great for helping me move in initially, sorting out contracts and for assisting with any queries promptly and efficiently, and with Louise and Cristina nothing is ever too much trouble. Stef, Dan, Karl and Johan on the concierge team are always helpful, friendly and polite, and Steph is great to go for a run with, or even listen to your problems!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Perfect location for all the best shopping and restaurants in Leicester. 5mins walk to everything you need. The back of the building offers a lovely view of All Saints Church and is very quiet, you wouldn’t even know you were in a city centre. Rally Park is minutes away on foot, and a nice stroll down the canal gets you to Abbey Park in less than 10mins. The Rally Park area is being redeveloped with accommodation and commercial buildings to give that riverside area of town a much needed boost! It will be great when complete. The new Lane7 complex in the old Grand Central railway terminal is next door so great for watch the game on he big screen, mini golf, bowling, pool etc. Good cycle routes available.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Make sure you lock your bike up well as bike theft is high in the city centre.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Noisy kids next door can be heard which isn’t great when working from home, but I think they are particularly noisy rather than there being the fault of the building quality.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your great review.
It is so lovely to hear that the team have met your needs while a resident at The Wullcomb – I will make sure I share you review with them. We try really hard to make a difference, so I am pleased to hear this.
The building & communal areas are a major talking point always & set us apart from the rest, I am glad you have pointed these out as we think they are very special – in particular the roof terrace!
The location is great, within reach of everything you could need from the City Centre but in a quiet position as well, The churchyard view is one of our favourites & particularly quiet.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Wullcomb, you are very welcome to return if you need our services again – we are sorry to see you go!

The Best Renting Experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jan 2021

The best accommodation for professionals in Leicester city centre. Modern spacious apartments, with stylish communal spaces. The team are absolutely fantastic and provide a FIRST CLASS renting experience, but also take the time to build a relationship with the tenants. There are so many benefits from staying at the Wullcomb from the concierge service to free fibre broadband but my personal favourite is the perch “rooftop terrace”. It offers something different and is a great spot in the summer months.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The communal spaces, the concierge service, broadband and the newly added Esquires are all personal favourites. Everywhere is kept clean all the time. I also like the fact that there is always a member of the team downstairs that is happy to help for any queries.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How much I would spend on the 100’s of local takeaways

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Immediately, and anything you do ask of them is never a chore. There is a genuine feeling that the management are happy to help.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Aaron, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your amazing review! It is heart-warming to hear all the positives & I will ensure to share this with the team.
The broadband is great & at a speed of 150mbps, our residents will never have any issues browsing, downloading or gaming.
The concierge & the team are all there to help you & we are pleased you are happy with this. We really try as hard as we can to assist always & go beyond the expectations of our residents.
The coffee shop & roof terrace are our favourite parts of the building & are glad you have enjoyed these areas too.
Thank you for choosing us Aaron, we are very sorry to see you go but wish you all the best for the future. Feel free to pop back & say ‘Hello’!

Couldn’t have asked for any better

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

The Wullcomb has a lot to offer. What drew me in was the attention to detail. The design of this development is impressive, it is a good quality build and markedly different to neighbouring residences. The facilities such as the common areas make this place special. The on-site management teams and 24 hour concierge are incredibly helpful.
They didn’t cheap out on the fitted appliances or furniture, the apartments are generously spaced and the internet is fast and reliable.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The supermarkets and shops are within walking distance, Asda/ Tesco are super local.
The train station & coach station are nearby which is a plus.
History buffs like me will appreciate that cultural attractions are round the corner: Leicester Cathedral, the King Richard lll museum and the Jewry Wall.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If your flat is opposite the road and you’re situated on a floor below the 5th, your windows are permanently shut due to pollution but sometimes ventilated air isn’t a match for fresh air circulating.

I wish I knew the electricity provider didn’t offer competitive energy tariffs but no fault of WOL

Development sits opposite busy road so it can get loud sometimes

What is the best feature of your home:

I appreciate the living space. The amount of natural light that enters the apartment is most important to me, it cheers me up

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  The Wullcomb, LE1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for you great review of The Wullcomb – We are very pleased that you like the design of the building as well as the location.
The natural light in the building is generally very good & I am happy that you made a good choice of apartment.
If you do need anything from us, please do feel free to speak to our onsite team.
Thank you for choosing The Wullcomb!

Welcoming but things to improve

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

Previously living in Media City Manchester, I found the prices very high for what you’re getting, however very welcoming building in Leicester, keycard security is good and the 24/7 concierge. The amenities area is very nicely designed, however over the summer for 4 months it was closed due to covid, other buildings similar was left open with social distancing in place, this wasn’t an option here because of the management. It was all fully closed. No reduction of rent or a goodwill gesture of any kind has been offered which is a disgrace considering the sky high cost of rent and how the amenities was a big part of the advertising and selling feature of the apartment. We haven’t had any events organised too, we moved here from another city so hoped to take part and meet friends. Very disappointed at how management have handled the situation and haven’t valued its residents.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s right next to Highcross shopping complex and has an Esquires coffee shop downstairs now. Not having a gym in the building is a disappointment.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That you can’t book out The Perch communal area for events.

What is the best feature of your home:

My packages always get delivered because of the 24/7 concierge.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for submitting your review & for your detailed & honest feedback.
We were very sad to have to close the 5th floor during the pandemic, this was not decided by our onsite team but was us adhering to government advice following the local lockdown of Leicester. Our local rules were much more stringent that other areas so we really had no choice.
The 5th floor is now fully open as we have made many adjustments to allow this to happen – we hope you are now enjoying using it – its an amazing area.
If you wish to book The Bower, we can do this for you – please check with our concierge for availability.

Good experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

The public area on level 5 is really good. Especially when there is 30 degree outside during summer and level 5 have the air conditioner. When I have a parcel, the receptionist will send me a message, and I will need to knock the door and they will hand me my parcel. It will be easier if we can access the parcel storage and get it by our self I think. Especially when I will need to buy everything online during the lockdown.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like how they deal with the lockdown. The receptionist always being very careful and responsible.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You are not allowed to put a welcome doormat in front of your door.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would like to add one more shaver socket in the bathroom.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your comments a bout the roof terrace, yes it is lovely in the nice weather to have an outside space.
The parcel service works very well & it greatly appreciated by our residents. If you would like us to allocate you a locker for smaller items, we are happy to do so – please contact our onsite team about this.
It is good that you have noticed the extra measures introduced during the pandemic – the safety of our residents & staff is very important to us.

As good as a 4 star hotel

Review Date Aug 2020

The Wullcomb building is in the nicest part of the city centre and it is evident that money has been well spent throughout, with many aspects similar to that of a very good 4 star hotel. The interior design is brilliant with attention to detail, from the post room to the shared cinema and games room. The communal roof terrace is also a nice addition which gives great views over Leicester. The staff are extremely friendly and always willing to give advice and help when needed. The apartments are up to a high standard fitted with high quality facilities and spacious rooms.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Highcross is a very attractive and sought after area so the Wullcomb has a great location. It is a 10 minute walk from the Tesco superstore which

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Would’ve been nice to know that windows in our flat do not open due to pollution and emissions from the main road between the Wullcomb and John Lewis.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

It would be great if we were above the fifth floor as the windows facing John Lewis from floors 1 to 5 do not open.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your great review of The Wullcomb – we are very pleased to have you with us.
It is nice that you think the attention to detail has been good – you will often see us fluffing up cushions or re-arranging a throw!
Your comments about the staff are very welcome, we try very hard to make your experience as good as possible.
If you would like to look at potentially moving apartments when your tenancy finishes, please speak to our onsite team who can certainly help.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The wullcomb review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

bathrooms very poor, the ventilation system is very poor and does not remove the steam after having a shower, some issues with management and the whole process of acquiring the room, also a lot of residents feel discriminated upon.
Building design and facilities are good however i feel wrong agent has been appointed to manage this property

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

no gym in building

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The rules are such as though this is a student accomodation which it is not, The property os advertised for professionals and they should not treat tenants like they would in a student accomodation environment because We are young professionals but we feel as though sometimes we are descriminated.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

mixed reviews sometimes fairly and sometimes very badly

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you taking the time to post your review.
Your comments are very concerning & certainly not in line with others we have received.
Please can I ask that you contact me directly on karlb@wayoflife.com so we can arrange a meeting in person to discuss your concerns. I would like to try and understand how we could have improved your experience for you.

Very Satisfied

Review Date Aug 2020

I’m most impressed about the decor. It looks very modern, industrial and gives an overall welcoming vibe. The 24 hour concierge service are very helpful! And the property management is very well to do. I do wish there was a gym in the building.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love how it’s just opposite Highcross mall which makes basic shopping easier. However it’s not as close to the bus stop to my uni so it often takes a while to get to school.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing really

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The Building management has respond very quickly!!

3
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your positive feedback about living at The Wullcomb.
The concierge are a great resource for our residents so we are pleased that you find them helpful.
It is always good to hear positive comments about the site team.

World-class Renting Experience – Unbeatable luxury.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

The architecture of the Wullcomb is state of the art, with rooms which are available in various sizes to accommodate for a variety of prices. The room we have is incredibly spacious with a great church view which is perfect for every sunset. It is not an understatement to say that the staff such as Stef, and Cristina, Dan and Carl are world-class in what they do for us tenants. The Wullcomb has recently just implemented a new addition, ‘Esquires’ a local café which is perfect for when inviting guests to grab a quick bite or drink. Other facilities and amenities are up and coming and it will continue to thrive and do well. Overall, the experience of the management of this place is unlike anything I have experienced elsewhere. It is no understatement to say that living here feels like home, and the staff go above and beyond to help achieve this atmosphere. There’s other luxuries such as roof top with a Pizza oven and 360* views of the entire city. Living here will make your friends and families jaws drop at what its like living in the heart of Leicester City Centre.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The Wullcomb is unlike anything else in Leicester. Located in the heart of the city centre, local amenities from one of the largest shopping centres (Highcross Shopping Centre) in the midlands at your doorstep, to fine dining and essential public transport, there’s nothing which can rival this level of luxury and quality. The management is top tier, no request is too small, and I am always met with politeness and support for whatever I need. The Wullcomb is unlike any other renting experience, with regular events such as a running group on Monday, to a designated chef who shares recipes to inspire cooking up new delicious food. There is no other renting experience like it!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how amazing it was so I could have moved in sooner!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

There has been no problems whatsoever since moving in. Every request was listened to and exceptional levels of support has been provided to us whilst living here. We’re thinking about extending our contract, that’s how much we love it here!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of  The Wullcomb, LE1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Wow – what an amazing review; thank you so much for taking the time to post this.
Your comments about the staff, building & the way it all works together are so lovely to see. We work so very hard to try & get things right & its lovely to see that it is noticed & appreciated.
It is great to hear you are following our chef – we look forward to tasting your efforts shortly!
If you need anything, please do not hesitate to ask as we want to continue to meet your expectations.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Storage

Storage

Location

Way of Life
Number of developments 4

4.39

Average rating based on 216 reviews

View company