The Wullcomb, LE1

By
Way of Life
1st
Ranked 1st out of 8 in Leicester
4.54 (112 reviews) 4.54 (112 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.59
Facilities
4.64
Design
4.73
Location
4.23
Value
4.50
Management

The Wullcomb is a Build to Rent development managed by Way of Life, located in the heart of Leicester. The building offers 297 apartments with a mix of spacious Manhattan studios alongside one and two-bedroom apartments. Residents have the option of choosing a furnished or unfurnished apartment. Additionally, there are a wide range of facilities and amenities on site. These include 24h concierge, secure car park and cycle storage, a rooftop terrace, a shared kitchen and dining space with modern lounge and a private theatre room.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£725 pcm
Studio Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
431 sq ft
Way of Life
More info
£900 pcm
1 Bedroom Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
510 sq ft
Way of Life
More info
£1,025 pcm
2 Bedroom Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
685 sq ft
Way of Life
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 112 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Slice of heaven in heart of Leicester!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

I really love the building. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. The design is very modern and appealing. The flats are very lovely! I do not love that lower flats have carpet but understand this keeps the price lower. I love the terrace, it’s a fantastic space. Perhaps a pool next time 😂! The building is very safe and I have no concerns with packages I order missing or getting lost. Concierge are very friendly and helpful. I really love the new coffee shop addition.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I think the building is placed very well. We are very close to all amenities, the shops, parks etc! I dislike that it is so close to a very busy main road as it can be very loud throughout the day and evening.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If you love light – make sure you choose a side where you have a bright flat. I am very grateful we chose the side that has mostly direct sunlight the majority of the day! This was really important for me.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change the carpet to hardwood flooring. We are facing a busy road which is very loud at times, but I appreciate most flats face the busy road.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for the amazing 5 star review – very much appreciated; your comments on the staff & the building itself are lovely to hear.
We do have a pool in our Manchester development but we love the roof terrace just a much!
You are correct that the apartments have different aspects & views, we do offer advice on light & what time the sun appears if you ever need this advice again!
Thank you for choosing The Wullcomb!

A homely and lovely place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The building is lovingly designed. You can tell there was an intention of creating a community behind it, and not just a block of flats. The rooftop terrace and indoor communal living rooms are a great space to hang out, especially when working from home. It would be great if we had a gym. What I appreciate the most is the 24hr concierge who are very helpful and reliable as well as making the place feel safe and secure.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is great. Wullcomb is very close to the town centre but distant enough to not be disturbed by the noise and busyness of town centre.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Getting your post taken care of in your absence is icing on the cake. The concierge and management keep your post in a secure room and alert you. And you can pick it up when it’s convenient for you

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Management have been very helpful from the move in and throughout my stay over the years

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Wow, what an amazing review Idil, thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback!
It is great to hear that you love the design & location of The Wullcomb, these are key points to consider when looking for somewhere to call home. It is fantastic that you have felt safe & secure during your stay, this is a reason lots of people choose to stay with us.
It sounds like you have appreciated & used our concierge service during your stay – we are always there for you 24 hours a day & 365 days a year if you need us. Your comments on the team & management are lovely to hear, thank you!
Thank you choosing to stay with us at The Wullcomb.

Very Positive living experience at The Wullcomb

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The overall design of the Wullcomb has aspects of scandic design which makes it feel very modern and homey at the same time. It is very well maintained and VERY clean which is amazing! The facilities which the building have from the social rooms to the deck upstairs really helps break up the flats to allow for people to meet each other and have fun with friends or family. Super conducive environment for anyone who lives here. The management team is always there to help when you need anything and are super friendly. You have the ability to make personal connections with them so they get to know you and they can help you in the best way possible.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love how close it is to the center of town as well as where I work! I’m a student and it’s very helpful to be near the university whilst still enjoying being in the city center. One of the negatives would be that I live on the second floor and that when you have the windows open the street noise is a little loud however I have been living with that sound for the past year and that doesn’t really bother me.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How many uni students live here, meaning that I could try and meet new people, as well as the price of the new gym that is going in downstairs.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any issue that I have is usually fixed within a couple of days depending on what the issue is!

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Jessica, thank you for the fantastic review!
It is lovely to hear you great comments about the building & the management team, this is very much appreciated. We really do try to know all of our residents personally, so it is nice you have picked up on this.
We have a very good mix of residents at The Wullcomb, currently around 30% are students & 70% professionals – but we love you all equally!
It is good to hear maintenance issues have been resolved quickly.
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Wullcomb, we love having you with us.

Good location, terrible management.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Threatening behaviour from the building management. Numerous emails threatening to end my lease if I didn’t park in a certain place, if my dogs weren’t behaving or if my dogs defecated out the back even though it wasn’t myself.

Facilities are poor as most have been unusable since covid.

I’ve had a great number of emails threatening to end my tenancy, but not a single occasion has anybody asked if everything is ok with my accommodation. My extractor fan hasn’t worked since I moved in a year ago. To date, nobody has asked if the accommodation is satisfactory.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location, very efficient.
Very close to the Leicester city centre.
Parking if not allocated at a cost, is plentiful but expensive.
Traffic noise is bad.
Lots of homeless shouting & fighting in the churchyard below the windows.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The rooms get VERY hot in the summer and there’s no air con.
With hindsight, I wouldn’t have moved in.
The management has made this the worst experience.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Terribly.
I was very happy to meet for a conversation with Karl, the manager & he refused & gaslighted me essentially.
During covid, and being self employed, this caused me no end of stress.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Rhys, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Wullcomb and we are sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the management throughout your tenancy.

We work very hard to ensure fair use of our visitors carpark in order to keep spaces free for residents or visitors of residents who are parking on an occasional basis. As you will know, we offer our residents and their visitors parking 3 times per week in the visitors carpark as long as a space is available. We feel that this policy is very fair, especially considering that city centre parking is often expensive and there is no additional charge to our residents for this.

Regarding our pet policy, whilst we are a pet friendly building we do ask all pet owners to be responsible and to pick up their dog mess and ensure that dogs are kept on a lead at all times when travelling through communal areas of the building. Again, we stand by these policies as we feel that these are fair and allow us to keep the building a pleasant place for all residents.

I have checked our records and cannot see that we have received any reports of your extractor fan not working. If you could please get in touch with us to confirm whether you are referring to your Vent Axia unit, your oven extractor hood or the extractor fan in your bathroom then we will of course arrange for this to be investigated and repaired for you. To confirm, any repairs can be reported via the 24/7 concierge team, the tenant portal or via email to thewullcomb@wayoflife.com. This information would have also been included in your welcome pack when you moved in.

We always welcome feedback, whether it be positive or negative and take any constructive comments on board as we are constantly aiming to improve the building and service for our residents. I can see that you have previously renewed your tenancy with us and we hope that you will choose to do so again so that we can build a more positive relationship with you.

Good but could be better

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

Facilities are great, building management and property management team are really helpful and friendly. They made moving in really easy, and are always friendly and try to help.

The terrace area is great. It is however annoyijg that we can’t use the pizza oven, BBQ and fire pit. We’re paying quite a bit of money so we should be able to use them

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great shops and restaurants.

A big downside is that it’s far frkm good supermarkets. You have to drive or get food delivery. I don’t drive so it’s an issue dor me

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the bbq, pizza oven and fire pit and greenhouse area can’t be used. Quite poor because they are big features and we get No use of it and no compensation

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Immediate response! My window was leaking when it was raining and they looked at it straight away

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks a lot for taking the time to submit a review of The Wullcomb.

We are really happy to hear that you are happy with the whole site team and that everyone has been welcoming and helpful. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service and your lovely comments will be passed on to the whole team.

Regarding the use of the appliances on 5th floor roof terrace, we are currently working on implementing a process which will ensure the safe use of these appliances as the health and safety of our residents is our top priority. We expect to have an update on the use of these appliances very shortly and we thank you for your patience in the meantime.

Thank you again for choosing to live at The Wullcomb!

Great place to stay. Friendly staff, brilliant location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

The locations couldn’t be better. Built very well as well. It’s like living in a hotel pretty much. One complaint I do have is that the doors aren’t soft close. If your hand ever comes in the door you can say goodbye to your fingers. And if you have cats they get frightened everytime the door closes.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Living here is a bliss, the only complaint I have is that the doors close very loudly, and it takes quite a while to get any maintenence done.
Staff is exceptionally friendly. Kudos to that.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Electric heating spikes up your bills like you wouldn’t ever imagine.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, however some issues have taken longer than expected to get fixed. Some issues that were raised on the day moved in are still there, which is a bummer.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your 5-star review of The Wullcomb!
Your comments about the staff & the building are lovely – I will ensure this is passed on to all the team.
If you do have any outstanding issues including the door closing loudly, please speak to the concierge & we will happily chase them up for you.
Thank you for choosing to live at The Wullcomb.

Amazing people, great shared spaces, beautiful design!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

I think the biggest advantage of the Wullcomb is the shared areas. The 5th floor is an excellent space for working from home, meeting with friends or even organising a small pizza party. I really like spending the time in the sun on the tarrace of the 5th floor.

I also really like the design of the place, it feels like you’re living in a nice hotel.

The management and the concierge are all amazing. Very helpful and friendly! It’s important to have nice people around that you will see everyday.

The only downside I see is the design on the actual flats. I understand it’s neutral to suit the taste of many, but I would prefer something more risky and more fun. I feel like the common areas are much more attractive than the flats.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The Wullcomb is located in the perfect area of Leicester. Close to the heart of the city with vibrant multicultural restaurants and bars and a short walk away from the park.

I believe the transport links are pretty convenient, although the location allows you to walk pretty much anywhere and that’s what I’m doing. The parking on site is excellent. No issues with bin collection or anti-social behaviour.

The only downside is the noise coming from the outside when you keep the windows open. You will always hear the street.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would like to do an open-window noise check. Most of the year it’s not a problem at all, as the windows are pretty noise cancelling, however in the summer… It is quite loud and hot!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Problems are usually solved straight away, never had any issues.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Magda, thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review!
Your comments about the staff are lovely, we always aim to be professional but approachable & always friendly.
We decided to decorate the apartments white painted to allow our residents to add some nice design touches themselves – a rug, a throw & a plant makes all the difference!
We are glad to here that any issues you have experienced have been resolved quickly.
Thank you for staying with us!

Beautifully designed building.

Review Date Aug 2021

Very modern and beautifully designed. Property management is excellent. Has a very nice communal area on the 5th floor for various activities.
Automated parking entry detected by the number plate.
Bike storage facilities is provided on site. Bin storage area available on site as well. Coffee shop on ground floor.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent central location. The only issue it’s on one of the busiest streets in Leicester.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Balconies is a thing I would say is missing in my flat. My flat is facing Vaughan way which can be very noisy, I would have preferred a quieter side of the building.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Can’t really comment as I have recently moved in. But the management has replied to all my emails promptly.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for great feedback Yasir, we are very pleased to hear you have settled in well.
We are sorry you do not have a balcony but the majority of the building do – I am happy to see if we can move you at the end of your current tenancy if we have another apartment you would prefer.
Thank you for saying the property management is excellent, this is very much appreciated & we will pass your comments onto all the team.
If you need anything, please do not hesitate to ask.

Amazing, modern, safe place to live.

Review Date Aug 2021

Excellent design of the building, all beautifully decorated and safe and secure. Would be lovely if a general shop was added to buy milk, bread, etc. Love the cafe including the convenience of room delivery and the discount provided for residents. Most management staff are lovely and happy to help or just have a chat. Would love a bar of sort to meet more residents in the building to build up the community.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location as opposite the highcross shopping centre and town centre, and loads of bars and cafes. Surprisingly quiet despite being next to a main road, traffic noise is barely noticeable. Lots of parking around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the light in the bathroom is a sensor (sometimes annoying and feels like a waste of energy)

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, when our washing machine would not open. I rang up and someone was sent immediately to repair it, and another washing machine in an empty flat was offered for us to use if the problem continued.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Millie, thank you for the great review!
It is great to hear that you feel safe & secure at The Wullcomb – we want everyone to feel this way – at home & happy.
It would be great to have a bar & a shop we agree – but hopefully the coffee shop makes up for this!
Thank you for your comments about the noise, it is a City Centre location but is quiet for it.
It is really nice to hear that when you have had issues, they have been dealt with quickly. If you need us to amend the settings on the automatic light (so it stays on for a shorter time), please let us know!

Simply the best!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2021

We love the design and facilities of The Wullcomb, which are in modern and stylish design, pragmatic and of high quality. We particularly like the mailbox area, the 5/F common room and direct access to/from Esquires Coffee on the G/F lobby. The building management is superb and everyone in the team is very helpful, friendly and efficient. It is a highly secure building.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We are happy with the local area in terms of security, safety and cleaniness as well as the variety of shops and restaurants which satisfies our needs. Everything is within a short walking distance and easily accessible. We particularly like the footbridge connecting with John Lewis and Highcross Shopping Mall which is perfect for accessing the city centre in rainy/windy weather.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Electricity provider of the former tenant — perhaps this would be applicable only to those newly relocating in England like us. It has taken us awhile to figure out the former tenant’s electricity provider in order to arrange for our own subscription registration. It would be helpful if such information could be ascertained from the former tenant before his/her moving out and then passed onto the succeeding tenant for time and costs saving.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The team has answered our requests (eg for repairs) and enquiries swiftly and professionally. They are very helpful and friendly.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  The Wullcomb, LE1
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your 5-star review of The Wullcomb!
Your comments about the design & feel of the communal areas are great to hear as we feel they really separate us from the rest.
The location is great as you rightly state, just s stones-throw from the main shopping area with quick access to the bars & restaurants.
We are very pleased to hear your comments about the building manage & team overall, we work really hard to offer a great service it lovely to hear that you feel well looking after & safe at The Wullcomb.
We are sorry to hear about your issues setting up your utility accounts, if you still require any further help on this or any point, please do not hesitate to contact the site team – they will be happy to help.

Top Class!

Review Date Aug 2021

Design is aesthetically pleasing on the eye. The facilities are top quality and the management are all friendly. The business management ensure that the property building is maintained and well looked after. Thorough enjoying my time here and always enjoy making the most of the facilities available to me

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

All good in multiple areas. Direct access to multiple food chains and bars. Easy transport links but everything is in walking distance

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The bathroom lights are automatic with no switches, I wish we’d have known about this prior

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We’ve had no current issues that we have needed to raise.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Mylo, thanks for the amazing review.
We are delighted to hear you are enjoying your time with us & thank you for your lovely comments about the team.
If you want us to change the setting on your lights so they stay on for a shorter time, please speak to the concierge who can arrange this.
If you ever need us, we are there for 24/7.
Thank you for choosing The Wullcomb!

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1
User submitted image of The Wullcomb, LE1

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Storage

Storage

Location

Way of Life
Number of developments 6

4.47

Average rating based on 326 reviews

View company