The Mercian, B15

By
Moda Living
3rd
Ranked 3rd out of 26 in Birmingham
4.87 (17 reviews) 4.87 (17 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

5.00
Facilities
5.00
Design
4.82
Location
4.53
Value
4.82
Management

Excellent

88%

Very Good

12%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

The Mercian offers 481 stunning apartments over 42 storeys. Located on the former site of The Click Club, it is the tallest residential tower in Birmingham. As well as great amenities and views, it offers a 200-metre rooftop running track!

Read more Read less

The Mercian, B15 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 17 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Great living experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice design and quality furniture. Quality of amenities and fixtures and fittings in the apartments. Everything is brand new. Studio is like a compact one bed and is much better than a studio. The entrance is exceptional with 24 hour team on site.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very central. Close to shops and restaurants. There isn’t anything I don’t like here everyone is amazing

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Very nice community events. There isn’t anything else I didn’t know all was explained.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Easy to put maintenance issues in the app and team contact me very quickly.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for such a lovely review, great to hear that you love The Mercian as much as we do 🙂

Young professional city living

Review Date Nov 2022

Beautiful brand new apartments with high tech appliances. Very secure with multiple fobs required to give you access to your floors / apartment which sometimes can be annoying. Staff are very friendly always on hand to help when any issues arise. Property is very clean and well kept.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A very central location with all the necessities on your doorstep. However living on broad street means Fridays & Saturdays tend to be noisy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bad: The noise on broad street
Good: the types of events that would be put on. Since they hired the resident engagement manager Olivia for Birmingham there has been a huge increase in community spirit amongst the residents with more people wanting to relax / meet people in the communal spaces.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, within the hour it is responded to and a member of the maintenance team will come to look at the issue.

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your lovely review Frederica, keep an eye on the app for more great events coming soon

Moda is a great place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

Moda is the best apartment I have lived alot of things to do and so much fun! It is also very pretty and everything works very well. It is a great place to live. There are alot of facilities were you can spend your time on so that is one of the best features

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are bars and things to do very near and there are alot of restaurants to go to. So there will always be something to do

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

that the lifts only take you to your apartment or public spaces

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes management is always available and attentive. When calling they are there

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Ni Nicole

Thanks for your great review, its so nice to hear that you love The Mercian as much as we do.

Great also improve needed

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

It is said that the reception is 24/7. But the concierge sometimes cannot be reached, especially on weekends and at midnight. And the delivery food cannot be picked up at room door, which is different from other apartment in London.
The location and facilities are great.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is said that the reception is 24/7. But the concierge sometimes cannot be reached, especially on weekends and at midnight. And the delivery food cannot be picked up at room door, which is different from other apartment in London.
The location and facilities are great.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It is the latest apartment building in Birmingham.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It depends. Sometimes they answered quickly, but sometimes slowly.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Charlie

Sorry to hear that you have not been able to reach the team sometimes, if ever you need them & they’re not at the desk feel free to give the number on the sign a call.

We don’t allow delivery drivers up to our resident’s doors as a security measure, I’m sure you can imagine how many Deliveroo orders are delivered here every day, we’d need a revolving door to let them all in!

It great to hear that you like our facilities though &, we agree, the location is excellent 🙂

Life at The Mercian

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

The building management is impeccable, the team are wonderful when it comes to this, maintenance issues are fixed quickly and the team are so friendly. The apartment is gorgeous and so is the furniture, the facilities are absolutely stunning, great gym and the bbqs are a nice touch

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

As it’s on Broad Street is can be noisy over the weekend but the noise it very limited with the windows shut. There is good accessibility to the sainsbury’s local over the road and a Morrisons a short walk away. We have a private parking space not far away as the parking within the Mercian is rather expensive.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Pet friendly, and a lovely little online community

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very quickly and great communucation – my washing machine was faulty when I first got it and the team were extremely helpful.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Annie

Thanks for your great review & for your lovely comments about the team.

Simply Amazing!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

What drew me to this development was the great marketing videos on social media, I had to see if the building was as a amazing as it looked in those. It didn’t dissapoint, during my first viewing with Laxmi I was blown away by the detail, the cleanliness, the interior design, the communal areas, the outdoor space and just the whole vibe of the place, it’s amazing.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Being in the heart of the city, everything is on hand, the best restaurants, bars & nightlife. Every taste is catered for locally with global cuisine. Parking onsite is great and there are also three NCP car parks at the rear of the development along with on street parking available.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I’m on the 18th but wish I’d gone higher as the views are spectacular, day and night.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, a couple of very minor issues that were responded to straight away.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

1st class living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

The facilities at the Mercian are 1st class and very clean. Great gym and workout area. The staff are great especially mo who will go above and beyond to help. I would also like to add that the way everyone at the Mercian dealt with the situation with the fire a couple of months ago was very professional

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location, stunning views of the city skyline.
Faults are the issues with the bin chutes never working and the access control not working in the lobby, therefore security is not 100 percent. Also as a no smoking building there is still alot of smoking in rooms and down on the outside area around the running track.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Great Central location. Warm apartment so not having to use the heating is a bonus

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have not had any real issues but the minor ones we have had have been dealt with fast and efficiently

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Gavin

Thanks for the great feedback on the team, Mo is fantastic 🙂

Its really frustrating that a small number of residents flout our non-smoking policy, if you see anyone smoking please let the team know so we can speak to them.

Thanks

Amazing apartment extremely Safe

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

Brilliant development and as ive stay here id never go back to basic renting, if i have a issue the workmen come an fix it straight away. Cleaners aways keeping the facility clean, and the whole idea is such a brilliant idea, they have a gym, cinema brilliant outdoor area, although I haven’t attended the social events there’s always emails regarding events thats on, brilliant building. Worth every penny!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Beautiful building & facilities & very safe! Glad i made this choice, i viewed several apartments by broad street but the safety at Moda mercian was the best, as all other buildings you can go to any floor, but with Moda your access in the lift brings you to your floor only, that was the selling point for me as safety is important. My car is safe and locked away in a gated parking facility and although its positioned on broad-street its so peaceful and quiet, i love it! The staff are always to hand and friendly and although its not the biggest 1 bedroom, the views are stunning! I love the idea the apartments are always maintained by Moda so no dodgy private landlords, its such a brilliant facility and although im
Only here whilst my home is being built i genuinely dont want to leave, i love the peace and quite and feeling extremely safe 24/7.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish i rented sooner, plus i wish I checked furniture already here so I didn’t bring so much stuff, but thats a minor issue.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, when reported replied straight away and sorted issues!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Lisa

Thanks for the amazing review. Love that you found us & are embracing Living The Moda Life! Hopefully we’ll be able to tempt you to one of our events soon.

Best Birmingham Tower experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

All apartments and shared facilities have a luxurious ending design. The amenities are the latest and best available in the market which are super efficient and eco-friendly. Many events are hosted by the Moda team were all tenants are welcome and freebies are amazing.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is super central, has access to all the types of public transport in very short distances. Many restaurants, bars and walking areas nearby for all type of occasions including pet-friendly options. The security and staff of the tower are available at all times and always willing to help out.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Always keep your notifications ON for the moda app to not miss out on the free events and the freebies they give as they are amazing and the atmosphere incredible.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Fast and super friendly, they usually also keep on touch to make sure the problem has been solved completely

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Ari

Thanks for the 5* review. Love that you love The Mercian as much as we do.
I hope you’re joining us at one of our Christmas events 🙂

Is the best place to live in birmingham

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

the design and the facilities are great, everything is brand new and so nice, all the staff is very nice and the organize lots of events that are very well prepared. If you have any kind of problem it gets solved in at least 48hours which is crazy! love living here

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is only good aspects in my opinion, living here is great as everything is close to the mercian

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

there is nothing bad in my opinion that i should have known about, im so happy living here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

they are always very quickly and efficient, they are always very friendly

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi
Thank you so much for your 5* review, it’s so nice to hear that you love The Mercian as much as we do.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Mercian, B15
User submitted image of The Mercian, B15

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Central

Central

Cinema

Cinema

Coworking

Coworking

Concierge

Concierge

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Security

Security

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Library

Library

Location

Explore the area

Moda Living
Number of developments 5

4.60

Average rating based on 262 reviews

View company