The Mercian, B15

By
Moda Living
3rd
Ranked 3rd out of 26 in Birmingham
4.87 (24 reviews) 4.87 (24 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.88
Facilities
5.00
Design
4.83
Location
4.54
Value
4.83
Management

Excellent

88%

Very Good

13%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

The Mercian offers 481 stunning apartments over 42 storeys. Located on the former site of The Click Club, it is the tallest residential tower in Birmingham. As well as great amenities and views, it offers a 200-metre rooftop running track!

Read more Read less

The Mercian, B15 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 24 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

1st class living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

The facilities at the Mercian are 1st class and very clean. Great gym and workout area. The staff are great especially mo who will go above and beyond to help. I would also like to add that the way everyone at the Mercian dealt with the situation with the fire a couple of months ago was very professional

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location, stunning views of the city skyline.
Faults are the issues with the bin chutes never working and the access control not working in the lobby, therefore security is not 100 percent. Also as a no smoking building there is still alot of smoking in rooms and down on the outside area around the running track.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Great Central location. Warm apartment so not having to use the heating is a bonus

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have not had any real issues but the minor ones we have had have been dealt with fast and efficiently

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Gavin

Thanks for the great feedback on the team, Mo is fantastic 🙂

Its really frustrating that a small number of residents flout our non-smoking policy, if you see anyone smoking please let the team know so we can speak to them.

Thanks

Chicago in brum

Review Date Dec 2022

brilliant team always happy to help. Kudos to the on site cleaners building is always smelling fresh and looking brill.
We could do with more events that are not in the screening room, the lack of entertainment is letting the team down massively.
Staff are helpful and friendly. Maintenance team Salma Mark and Rob are always proactive in responding to tickets and requests and will work outside of normal hours to ensure things are running smoothly. Reception staff especially Ellis will help with everything no matter how long the matter takes. Great team great community great building

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Located on broad street in the heart of Birmingham, the mercian definitely gives city living a new meaning. The building is designed to a high spec, and has an amazing community feel.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More insight into the actual building- on my viewing I wasn’t made aware of the cycle hub bin chute bin stores etc..

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quick response normally within an hour unless it goes to leasing lucky to get a hello let alone anything else.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Magdalena

Thanks for your review & for your nice comments about the cleaning team, they work super hard so its lovely to hear that their work is appreciated.

Thanks for the feedback on our events, we will be hosting lots more events in the new year so if there’s anything in articular you’d like us to host please drop us a message on the app.

City life

Review Date Dec 2022

Windows are good design amenity area and gym are good to
Apartment really nice terrace area team are very helpful quickly respond to my problem reception staff are friendly I like living here and would tell my friends move here to I had only issues with bills

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like the easy access to city centre and meeting friends really enjoyably to get to china town everything is really good in broad street my friends enjoy coming to see me we don’t need to leave building everything is here which is so good thank you to Moda team who are helpful

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Everything is ok thank you onlyleasing are to busy and sometimes ignore me

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are quick to respond. Especially rob in maintenance he always helps with maintenance issues. Reception staff is also nice people Salma is helpful

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Moda is home, always can’t wait to return

Review Date Nov 2022

Incomparable. You wouldn’t understand the design until you probably go to the furniture stores to do pricing: moda has the best designs both interiors and exteriors, I mean these are expensive designs that worths more than the rental prices in my opinion. Thanks for the private dining, that’s exclusive, and for the lounge; I would sleep off on the comfortable couch someday lol

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

excellent, an actual perfect stay. I have always avoided living in a street street environment. I have always liked a quiet neighborhood but the beauty of Moda made me try and it’s a decision I will never regret.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how comfortable this project is actually, I would have moved in before it was completed lol

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Swiftly but well not with community utility case lol

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Banjo

Thanks for the review … those sofas are the best aren’t they!
We put a lot of thought in to our design & furniture so its great to hear that you love it so much 😊

So glad we moved here!

Review Date Nov 2022

The design of this building is very impressive and fresh. It has exceptional facilities and an amazing team of staff who are super friendly and helpful. The building feels safe and clean, which is a top priority when we were looking for a place to move as my husband and I are not from here. Love that there are so many events planned, we love getting to know the community living here!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Location is super convenient, a short walk from the library and shopping centre- great for exploring the city. It gets crazy loud at night esp on weekends and can be very disruptive with respect to people yelling, traffic noise and music from nightclubs for example (we are on the 24th floor!) and quite overwhelming to go out at night on some weekends.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The extent of safety here; at the start I thought it was quite inconvenient that deliveries or guests could not come to your floor, but now I’m SO glad because I feel so much safer knowing the access to floors is limited.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very efficient, we wanted our bed removed and our bathroom ventilation and the team were extremely helpful and accommodating.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Zinab

Thanks for the review, especially for the feedback on the team 😊

Very impressed and content.

Review Date Nov 2022

Design is luxury hotel-esque. The different areas from the atrium to the gym are designed to a tee and fit the high end aesthetic Moda strives for.
Building management are exceptional and a special mention to Salma, Mark and Rob. There is nothing that is too much trouble, the politeness and kindness is off the scale and are on it day and night. I do not believe they get the recognition they deserve as the management of the building has been in transition for sometime, it is clear they do above their hours and responsibilities.
They have been teething problems but this has been due to residents and not building management. Moda could be harder on those not respecting the living spaces

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Exceptional location for city centre, opposite tram station, a huge array of restaurants and bars. Of course quite a noisy environment being on Broad Street but completely understood before moving in. Given the entrance is on Broad Street, there might be more of a focus to clean the area after a weekend.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The community feel and friendliness of the building as a whole

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have yet to experience any problems since moving in

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Peter

Thank you for a fantastic review. Our staff are what make the Mercian so special so thanks for giving special mention to Salma, Mark & Rob 😊

Thanks for the feedback on the Broad Street entrance, we took delivery of the equipment to keep this area in better condition last week so hopefully you will see an improvement.

Great living experience

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice design and quality furniture. Quality of amenities and fixtures and fittings in the apartments. Everything is brand new. Studio is like a compact one bed and is much better than a studio. The entrance is exceptional with 24 hour team on site.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Very central. Close to shops and restaurants. There isn’t anything I don’t like here everyone is amazing

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Very nice community events. There isn’t anything else I didn’t know all was explained.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Easy to put maintenance issues in the app and team contact me very quickly.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for such a lovely review, great to hear that you love The Mercian as much as we do 🙂

Life at the Moda

Review Date Nov 2022

We really enjoy living in the apartment a lot and there is nothing that we would change about living here, everyone who lives and works here is very friendly and we love how there are a lot of events and activities that are put on! They are extremely fun and we have enjoyed every event that we have been to! Olivia makes the events really fun and entertaining and makes us want to come back to more events in the future! She has also been extremely kind and gotten snacks which I can eat as I am coeliac so it is nice to be able to enjoy the events too and I appreciate that!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We love the apartment and the feel of the whole place! It always feels very clean and welcoming and everyone who works here is friendly, the building is in an amazing location too which is a big positive

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How the electric bill works and how to use the online bio services

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We had an issue with the pipes in the bathroom ceiling where they leaked but the team were extremely quick and sorted out the problem straight away

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

4 months in The Mercian

Review Date Nov 2022

Design is well thought out, facilities are good such as the gym, lounge areas, outdoor terrace etc. Plenty of books and games to browse, shuffleboard and pool to play. Gym wise: a cable machine would be ideal. The rack also needs a bench to itself (benches frequently used up for weights only leaving none for the rack). Would also be better if the hideout/ other social facilities were open past 10pm. Building management good – they always take on suggestions when issues arise and always there to help.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location as nearby Brindley place, short walk to new street and the bullring, very easy transport to all around Birmingham. Excellent restaurants and bars. Very little parking. Very close to loud bars on broad street and traffic at night can be loud but building relatively sound proof.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That council tax would be band E rather than band D. Parking also increased from £100 to £200 pcm from when we viewed the flat to moving in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Any maintenance issues have been dealt with swiftly

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Em & Will

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your feedback about the gym & facilities. It’s great to hear that any maintenance issues you have had have been dealt with quickly.

Young professional city living

Review Date Nov 2022

Beautiful brand new apartments with high tech appliances. Very secure with multiple fobs required to give you access to your floors / apartment which sometimes can be annoying. Staff are very friendly always on hand to help when any issues arise. Property is very clean and well kept.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

A very central location with all the necessities on your doorstep. However living on broad street means Fridays & Saturdays tend to be noisy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Bad: The noise on broad street
Good: the types of events that would be put on. Since they hired the resident engagement manager Olivia for Birmingham there has been a huge increase in community spirit amongst the residents with more people wanting to relax / meet people in the communal spaces.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, within the hour it is responded to and a member of the maintenance team will come to look at the issue.

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your lovely review Frederica, keep an eye on the app for more great events coming soon

Moda is a great place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Nov 2022

Moda is the best apartment I have lived alot of things to do and so much fun! It is also very pretty and everything works very well. It is a great place to live. There are alot of facilities were you can spend your time on so that is one of the best features

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There are bars and things to do very near and there are alot of restaurants to go to. So there will always be something to do

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

that the lifts only take you to your apartment or public spaces

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes management is always available and attentive. When calling they are there

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Ni Nicole

Thanks for your great review, its so nice to hear that you love The Mercian as much as we do.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Mercian, B15
User submitted image of The Mercian, B15

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Central

Central

Cinema

Cinema

Coworking

Coworking

Concierge

Concierge

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Security

Security

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Library

Library

Location

Explore the area

Moda Living
Number of developments 5

4.61

Average rating based on 271 reviews

View company