The Lansdowne, B16

By
Way of Life
5th
Ranked 5th out of 26 in Birmingham
4.71 (135 reviews) 4.71 (135 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.76
Facilities
4.73
Design
4.69
Location
4.39
Value
4.80
Management

Excellent

82%

Very Good

18%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

The Lansdowne, managed by Way of Life is located in Birmingham’s Edgbaston Village. The building offers 206 apartments, furnished or unfurnished. There are a mix of one, two and three-bedroom apartments and duplexes on offer. In addition, residents have access to a wide range of amenities including 24h concierge and free super-fast Wi-Fi.  Similarly, facilities include a residents’ gym, a resident’s lounge, private cycle storage with a bike workshop. Residents can also utilise the Cultural Mixer space, which has a residents’ kitchen, big screen entertainment and events space.

Read more Read less
The Lansdowne, B16 Available Properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
£950 pcm
1 Bed Apartment
1 Bed
1 Bath
471 sq ft
Way of Life
More info
£1,350 pcm
2 Bed Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
657 sq ft
Way of Life
More info

The Lansdowne, B16 Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 25 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

amazing apartment

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

very good!The building is very good, but sometimes the fingerprint unlocking is slow; Sometimes things go wrong. Sometimes it’s painful when you can’t unlock the fingerprint with a heavy object. The staff in the apartment were also very good. Last time the dishwasher couldn’t work, the staff quickly came to solve the problem.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

the noise of road was quite loud, we could hear the noise of cars’ music and policy every day for over 10 times!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

we didn’t know the the window orientation before we checked in

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

very quick and effective for our problems about our dish washer

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It just works!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The Lansdowne is always very clean and is incredibly well managed. Any little problems or questions get solved within minutes. The gym is very good, communal areas are also great, very comfortable. The flats are very high quality so you feel like you are living in a hotel. The sound proofing is also really good. We just don’t hear our neighbours.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The Lansdowne is in a very central location so it is easy to get anywhere in the city in a very short period of time.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There are bike racks in the basement so you don’t need to pay for bike storage. Also, dogs are not allowed in the communal lounges and I wish I had known that from the inset. It’s not really a problem but it would have been nice.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Immediately. No problems at all with getting repairs.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks so much for the amazing feedback! We’re pleased to hear you are enjoying The Lansdowne!

Convenient flat in central Birmingham

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Very convenient and well located flats in central Birmingham, right in the heart of the city. Excellent facilities including a gym. Lots to do around the area. Helpful and friendly concierge. Living area feels a bit cramped. Kitchen storage limited. Bedrooms average size.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Excellent city centre location in Birmingham. Walking distance to broad street, the canals and Bullring. Morrisons just opposite.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Space a bit limited – needed to use extra storage.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Concierge always ready to help with plumbing/electricity issues – called in services pretty quickly

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for the positive review of The Lansdowne! We really appreciate the feedback!

Just What We Needed.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The downstairs facilities such as the lounge, study booths, and kitchen encourage a social friendly environment. I love the study booths as my wife and I are are currently studying at university. The hallways are spacious and have pleasant lighting. The gym area is pleasant but also small and can be seen by people walking past, which I do not like.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is very convenient to commute to work and access all Birmingham has to offer. The building encourages a sense of unity and equality with the shared communal spaces. The staff are approachable and always seem to have time for you.

There is an overall sense of safety and security within the premises from the design and colour tones to the staff and other residents we occasionally pass in the hallways.

I use public transport and the location of the building is great for this. The local cinema, restaurants and canal street are just outside, so it’s a nice casual work to access a lovely evening out. The sounds from the streets below never penetrate the peaceful atmosphere of the building, and antisocial behaviours are only noted by the damage to the bus shelters and occasional broken bottle on the street. It’s not perfect but it’s pretty good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The drainage hole in the bathtub is too low for my size to have a half-decent bath. I have to block this each time so the water doesn’t immediately drain as a sit down.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They were very supportive locating parcels. They also helped us when we were moving in by isolating one of the lifts for us.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for such a detailed review! We really appreciate the honest feedback from you

Great building, amazing location!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

The building design is lovely and modern. The facilities are also great – the gym, co working space, game room etc. Conceirge service is good, however there are lots of changes especially for the night shifts. Property management team is very responsive and the complaint report and management system is great and efficient.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

City center and brindley place are a short walk away so plenty of shops and food places around. The new tram line has a stop right across the street and there is good bus connectivity as well. Parking is a bit of a challenge – guest parking in the building as well as on the street around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there will be no guest parking (even paid) in the building

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes we have had a few issues in the last few months – with dish washer and electricity trips . Reporting and resolution was fast and easy

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lansdowne House Review!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Regarding facilities at the Lansdowne, I’ll start with what could be improved/developed: More packcity lockers, need instructions around the building to help delivery drivers get to parcel lockers, Sheltered garden space. Building and property management is reasonably okay. I like the new fitness sessions and mixers introduced to help residents mingle – great idea. I suggest a games night or movie night of some sort. maybe an outdoor movie night? I’d also recommend a rooftop deck but maybe that’s too far-fetched. Overall, the Lansdowne is a really nice place to live

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Bad Aspects: one supermarket within a short walking distance
Good Aspects: Good shops/restaurants, good walking distance to city centre

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

SSE energy to not be recommended as a supplier to new/current residents

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Sometimes there are WIFI issues, which is dealt with but could do with better interaction between building management and residents to keep residents informed/up-to-date esp for residents who work from home. In addition, the process of booking repairs is very easy to navigate

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks so much for the honest feedback; we will feed your event ideas on to our events team! Sorry we wouldn’t be able to do a roof-top terrace, but we’ll certainly look into the other ideas.

The entire building is always kept clean and hygienic

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

All of the facilities are lovely. The entire building is always kept clean and hygienic. The white design of the rooms makes them seem very spacious and new. The concierge and staff are always very polite, friendly and will always help if you have any questions.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location of the building is perfect, being a university student the uni is only a 15 minute walk away, and there are lots of shops/restaurants and bars walking distance.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wouldve liked to know that you have to book times for when you go to the gym, you can’t just go in when you want.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We haven’t yet had any building management issues.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A good place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

The flats are spacious and well furnished and the building is quiet yet social. The flat’s design is modern and well lit but storage is limited. The property does benefit from a 24/7 concierge however they can at times be busy. During the weekends the building can be busy due to the owners renting flats as airbnbs. Outdoor space is very limited. The property has its own gym which is fairly well equipped.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is central and has easy access to most places. Due to the location being so central greenery is limited.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Some of the apartments are being rented out as Airbnbs.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Most management concerns are shorted within a timely manner.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks for your review of The Lansdowne! We really appreciate your feedback about the development!

Nice place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

The design is nice and everything is always clean. The concierge is always available to help and they solve issues quickly. Some events are organized, such as dinner, yoga courses. The design is modern and the security is really high so we feel comfortable and safe.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We are close to the train station, bus and subway. The supermarket is across the street and we are close to the center and have access to all the restaurants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It’s really easy to rent if you fit in the criteria of renting. Especially if you are new in the country.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They answer quickly and solve it in the best way they can.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thanks so much for this fantastic review Clarisse! We’re so glad you’re settled in and we’re pleased you’re enjoying The Lansdowne.

Ideal location in a busy city

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2022

Really modern, clean design. Nice practical but stylish furniture. Prompt to manage any property issues such as broken appliances etc. lots of movement in the building (people moving in and out) lots of students etc. kept quite clean as well. Gym in good shape.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice location. Very congested in the summer though, stuffy despite cracking open the window. Easy to park, safe.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish I had known it would be quite stuffy and congested in summer. Quite dusty too given the busy roads around the building.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Prompt when managing physical issues like broken appliances etc.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for the feedback! We have taken everything on board and will pass your feedback on to the landlord.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16
User submitted image of The Lansdowne, B16

Facilities

24 Hours

24 Hours

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Central

Central

Cinema

Cinema

Coworking

Coworking

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Gym

Gym

Library

Library

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Play Area

Play Area

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Secure Storage

Secure Storage

Security

Security

Storage

Storage

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Explore the area

Way of Life
Number of developments 5

4.63

Average rating based on 430 reviews

View company