Stone Studios, E9

By
Telford Homes
1st
Ranked 1st out of 22 in Hackney
4.49 (20 reviews) 4.49 (20 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.35
Facilities
4.60
Design
4.85
Location
3.95
Value
4.10
Management

Excellent

60%

Very Good

40%

Average

0%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

Stone Studios is a development by Telford Homes consisting of 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. Located in Hackney, Stone Studios is a 2 minute walk from Hackney Wick station. Furthermore, Stratford is only 2 minutes and Kings Cross is 20 minutes away by train. Additionally, residents at the development benefit from amenities such as a 12-hour concierge, bike storage, communal courtyards and car parking.

 

Read more Read less

Stone Studios, E9 Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Verified
Showing 20 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Everything you could need as a first home

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2022

Telford Homes have delivered a quality development, with everything you could need as a first home, whilst balancing affordability against facilities. The development offers concierge but no other resident amenity, which I find a more flexible and affordable solution to unnecessary service charges. The apartment itself has been delivered to a very high standard, with very few snags picked up when I moved in. Sadly, first-time buyers are often perceived as ‘cheap’ housing, forgetting that we’re paying c. £500,000 for a one bed apartment. Telford seem to have delivered on quality however, with items such as underfloor heating, fully tiled bathrooms and Bosch and Siemens appliances.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Stone Studios is located in the heart of Hackney Wick which offers a host of local amenity, such as cafes, bars, shops and a Michelin start restaurant. Transport is also another bonus with direct links into Stratford, or up to Highbury & Islington for the Victoria line.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would advise, take your time to understand what you are buying and what you are getting for the money. The other scheme I was considering would have cost me a further £150pcm in service charge for the use of a gym. Things you don’t consider at the time, until you come to mortgage affordability and the banks certainly do!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I haven’t raised any issues to date but the hot water did kick-out o the first week the block completed. Telford were straight over and it was back up and running 4 hours later.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Overall positive, some room for improvements

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

The development seems to use good quality materials overall. Happy with the workmanship and communication during the purchasing process and very little snagging to report. Some of the design decisions could have been better thought through and I was given no flexibility to change things during the development which was a little frustrating

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

My area is great, a lot of bars and restaurants but almost no shops. Hackney Wick has a heavy concentration of new builds which don’t seem to be bringing in many ground floor business and risk over indexing on residential space without providing the detail needed to create a proper neighbourhood. I’m quite concerned it risks turning into the East Village which feels void of life…

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The noise from the street of pedestrians is quite loud. My balcony received a lot of shade from nearby balconies above me.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They responded to emails quite quickly generally and issues were resolved. Some questions went unanswered

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The flat is extremely easy to live in and everything works as you would expect

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

The building / property management and general service and customer care received has been excellent. Nigel from Telford Homes is always on hand for the silliest questions eg. How do you turn the heating down, and Dave and June on concierge are always in a good mood!

The flat is extremely easy to live in and everything works as you would expect. It is a really easy flat to clean.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lively and friendly part of Hackney with lots going on around the area. Plenty of bars, food stalls, canal walking, shopping centres at your doorstep!

One negative would be the local overground service, although on your doorstep, often it is closed at weekends.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing! Just impressed with how smooth the whole process has been.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they have been great at answering all my questions with a quick turnaround

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

Great development, looks good and is finished nicely. Would recommend to others, the communal space is good and Telford have been very good at sorting things including issues with any fixtures and cosmetic stuff. The service is great and would buy again

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have responded ti all issues in a very timely manner

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

New build apartment

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

Love the design of the apartment, it is very modern and stylish. The colour scheme and theme is very retro and unique, concierge/ lounge is kept very clean and organised and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Property management is easy to contact through email.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Convenient

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Fix sagging issues before hand

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Some snagging issues taking longer than expected which is unfair

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Thoughtfully designed homes in an up and coming neighbourhood

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2022

Building looks great and communal areas designed thoughtfully. Concierge very friendly and helpful. Good size bike storage. Peaceful inner patio. Development is being well-maintained and is clean. Better signage for various buildings could be helpful for deliveries.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Overall neighbourhood is full of character. Very close to Hackney Wick station but pretty far from Startford. Few bus links. Only one small supermarket nearby, no pharmacies or other services. Really good restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood. Quiet and little traffic.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Learn about the neighbourhood, locate nearest shops and other facilities

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes, so far all issues I’ve raised have been addressed

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Management has been very organized and informative

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

Stone Studios is a well designed development with a generously sized courtyard, relatively good price per square meter, large balconies, large windows and quite a few finishing details that make flats more interesting. Management has been very organized and informative. The concierges have been most helpful

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Hackney Wick is an area currently in development so it will need some time to reach its potential. While it only has a small Sainsbury, lacks good gyms and good restaurants, Westfield is not too far off and as the empty plots get developed it is possible good services will arrive. Stratford is also not too far for fast central London links. Being next to two big parks is also a huge plus. It is mostly a pedestrian area so not much car noise

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish there were more than one provider, notably for broadband. While it is fibre, it is on the pricier side.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Have not had any issues with management but they’ve done a good job picking the concierges

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great building and flat decor

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

We like the building and the facilities such as large lifts, handy concierge, big bike storage. We like the building design with bricks outside and modern inside. We also like the finishing of our flat – underfloor heating, all laminated floor and quality appliances, spacious balcony.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good: very close to the overground, sainsbury and bara&pubs. Bad: sometimes some noise after midnight over the weekend due to the clubs nearby.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

n/a

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have had some minor issues in our flat but the building management took note of all of them and tries to get it sorted. Only feedback is that they could be quicker on dealing with every issue raised.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Stone Studios, E9
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you Andrea for your great review, it is lovely to hear you like the design and specification of your home. We hope you will be very happy at Stone Studios.

Great location, well designed and good quality development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

The area, design of the development and quality of the build are the three things that drew me to Stone Studios. I have been very happy with the quality of finish of my flat, with a relatively small amount of defects – most of which have been addressed already and a few outstanding that I hope will be resolved soon. It seems that many residents have suffered from similar problems (like scratched bathroom floor tiles).

The design of the flat is well thought out on the whole. Good use of space, good quality fittings etc. Fibre broadband is already provisioned to all flats (though it took BT a month to get it up and running for me).

My impression of the developer aftercare and building management company has been pretty neutral – certainly haven’t gone above or beyond in any capacity – but also have not disappointed in any way either (yet).

There is a central hot water and heating supplier, billed through a pre-pay/topup meter, who have recently raised their prices significantly. This is related to the national issue of the huge rise in wholesale gas prices – but the disproportional cost increase to residents has still not been adequately explained.

Signage on the building (specifically the flat numbers accessible from the main entrance) need updating as people get lost when reading the signs and assuming they can’t enter via the main door.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Proximity to the overground station is as good as you can get, with a connection to Stratford within minutes. However, the trains have a habit of not running on Sundays! There’s a number of local cafes, bars, small shops and venues as well as a handy Sainsburys one-minute from the development. The ground floor of the development is still unoccupied and will presumably have a mix of new businesses in that will serve the local population.

Noise from the late night venues that are in close proximity is not as bad as I had expected – the venues themselves are well soundproofed and the noise is really just from people entering/leaving throughout the night and I wouldn’t say is excessive. Personally, as not a particularly light sleeper, this hasn’t affected me at all.

The roads around the site (being a dead-end) are very quiet with very infrequent traffic. There are extremely limited car parking spaces on the public road.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

A number of flats are still unfinished, meaning there are still works happening on site which was not expected (as I was informed my block was the last to be completed).

The internal security doors on each floor can not be opened through the intercom – meaning guests get trapped by the lifts.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The developer has acknowledged the issues and resolved a few of them already. However, have provided no timescale to resolve the rest.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your 5 star review. It is great to hear that the area, design of the development and quality of the build were the three things that made you buy at Stone Studios. We hope you will be very happy in your new home.

Great location

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2022

We have really enjoyed living here so far. Spec is fantastic and couldn’t ask for a better location
Few Design flaws but have been raised and hopefully will be resolved.
Can be little loud at weekends but suppose that’s part of being in this location.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good:Great location, high spec flats. Bad:But does need more bin collections!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The location of the doors. The one for our block is in a very awkward place and labelled wrong. No deliveries can find us

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Snags been attended to mostly. Some outstanding hopefully will be fixed

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Stone Studios, E9
User submitted image of Stone Studios, E9
User submitted image of Stone Studios, E9

Facilities

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Concierge

Concierge

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Parking

Parking

Also by this company

Explore other developments by Telford Homes

Location

Telford Homes
Number of developments 30

4.22

Average rating based on 435 reviews

View company