One Eighty Stratford High Street, E15

One Eighty Stratford High Street, E15

By
JLL
Ranked 124th out of 151 in East London
3.71 (32 reviews) 3.71 (32 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.47
Facilities
3.50
Design
4.28
Location
3.47
Value
3.52
Management

One Eighty Stratford High Street is a residential development featuring a selection of one, two and three-bedroom apartments in a 24-storey building with views across East London. The Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park and Westfield Stratford Shopping Centre are both within walking distances from the development and Stratford station is the nearest transport link with connections to the Overground, TFL rail and Greater Anglia trains.

 

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Great Location but not a show stopper

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

The building has a concierge which is great and they are usually quite nice. However the building managers like to charge for everything, from getting a bulb for your flat when you move in (they use very specific bulbs) to having visitors come visit for a couple hours, they will charge you. They have useful services such as Maintenance but they cost well over the market rate (£70 for one hour).

There are also issues with the fact that there are many amenities that are originally offered that you later find out have been withdrawn/stopped planning on. E.g. previously we had trash chutes, one tennant wasn’t using them responsibly so instead of just adding a security camera they locked them for the whole building. Also, although building wifi is offered it is very slow and doesn’t reach all of the flats. We were also promised that we would be contacted by a bills management company to set up all our bills for us. This has never happened.

The building also has many regular issues including lifts breaking down and hot water tanks being broken, these are recurring as most likely sustainable fixes are not put in place but short term solutions. I would encourage the managers to invest more in fixing issues as this is become a serious annoyance.

Aside from the above the decor of the building is in generally nice (except the cream kitchens) and cleaners do keep most communal areas reasonably clean.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is very nice, within a walking distance of the station, a few parks and of course Westfield shopping centre. There is a gym next door, which offers discounts to the building which is very nice. It’s quite noisy though so definitely better living on a higher floor if that is going to bother you.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We can only get a non-fibre broadband. You cant have smart bulb due to the bulb fitting used throughout the building.

What is the best feature of your home:

The light (which is currently blocked by scaffolding). The layout is nice. There are not many children in the building which is preferred.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Review on Property and Personnel

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

The design is not bad, but not great! The window in one of the bedroom is designed in such a way that you either open the window and leave the curtains open, or you close the curtain and the window remains closed. That’s ridiculous! Also, we were told before moving in that there was going to be a roof terrace and that a gym was going to be located in the building. Unfortunately, for 3 years till date this roof terrace has not even commenced and the gym is actually an “anytime fitness” gym located 1 minute walk from the building and it’s obviously not included in the price (there is a residence discount).

In regards to the property management I must say it’s the most horrible management ever! We have had so many issues during our years here and the way upper management went about it was just unacceptable. Plenty of times we were stuck without hot water during festivities such as Christmas, plenty of time without any given notice and with answers such as “We don’t know when they will come and fix it, but engineers are on their way”.

I’m so glad about some people from the concierge team which have been extremely helpful and professional, people such as Tamas who deserves a generous promotion, Tatiana and Cansev, which came late but has been such a great asset to this property. The people I mentioned are super professional and will help when in need. On the other hand there are some people who really seem like they are not enjoying their job, concierge David for example is one who I find lazy and unhelpful. I remember giving an important and confidential document to scan and he asked to do it later as he was busy, which I understood. He was then meant to drop it in my mail box and up till date this document was never delivered! It was later (3 days later) found between some books on the reception desk by another member of the team.
Here was another episode with a lady called Lisa from the outsourcing company where I was expecting a parcel which showed delivered but actually wasn’t. I was asked by concierge to contact her for her to investigate CCTV and just check if the item was really delivered and although she initially sounded helpful, she ended up saying she could not contact DPD to get the name of the supposed concierge who signed. DPD would not release the info to me for GDPR,l.
The management team from JLL office has to change and also the management from the outsourcing company! Nobody is helpful a part from the three people I mentioned.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is situated in a great location where access to transportation, supermarket and restaurants are in a very close proximity.
There is a wide range of supermarket from Tesco Express which is 1 minute walk to larger supermarkets like Morrison’s or Tesco Superstore, Lidl or Sainsbury’s which are respectively 10/15 mins walk from this development. The nearest train and tube station is Stratford, which is only 10 minutes walk or 1/2 stops away (depending on which bus stop the bus is taken).
Big shopping mall such as Westfield is also 15 minutes away, or 4 stops away by a bus that takes you directly in front of the mall.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there was no terrace and that JLL had such a poor service

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The window in one of the rooms can’t be opened unless the curtain is closed.
The size of one room

1
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

review of 180 building and it’s management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

we love the design of the flat, and if it wasn’t for housemates going separate ways, we would be staying. very modern and clean. Facilities are good but compared to many other flat buildings in the area are lacking, as there is no gym, and the terrace has been closed due to building works. Property management has been terrible if i’m honest. From the minute we tried to get a viewing at the very start, to now, it has been almost impossible to get hold of people to help us with any issues, you have to chase them up because they don’t reply to your emails at all. The hot water goes out in the building at least once a week, which is ridiculous, and the wifi is almost unusable. If I have something important to do, e.g. job interview or important work call, I will go to a local cafe to work to avoid wifi-embarassment. We needed a new dishwasher, and needed the oven fixed, and these were fixed very quickly (I think we were dealing with Kayleigh, who is external?) but anything through 180 management takes forever. We were told that the scaffolding wouldn’t be coming up to our level during the building works, and then suddenly it appeared outside our window, so we aren’t pleased about that either.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The local area is great, there is so much to do with westfields, the station, and the olympic park so close. We are incredibly close to a small and large Tesco, and also sainsburys, M&S and waitrose. Great views of canary wharf from our balcony. No complaints about the area!!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish we were told about the building works that are going on constantly, for almost our whole tenancy!! We probably wouldn’t have moved in. I see now that there are flats advertised online with no mention of the building works, which i think is very sneaky.

What is the best feature of your home:

We have a lovely balcony with great views of canary wharf, which we really love, and spend a lot of time on. We are also really impressed with the bathroom and water pressure as we’re really high up.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It’s a really good development with the price.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

The 24hour concierge is really good.
The property management is also good as they respond to your request really quickly.
The facilities and design is pretty new and modern, so I like the environment in this building.
Though the lifts are sometimes too slow, and sometimes faulty. I was once stuck in the lift for about one hour.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The tube station and Westfield is around 10min away, which is a good distance, but comparing to lot of buildings nearby it’s still a bit too far.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The residents can get a discount using the Anytime gym downstairs which is good.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes. The property manager ment responds to my enquires quite fast.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

Amazing views of the City and Canary Wharf. The concierge team are wonderful – they are all incredibly friendly and helpful.
Would be helpful if there were rubbish disposal chutes rather than having to take the lift and walk across the car park to dispose of rubbish – but maybe that’s just a Canadian thing!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The proximity to green spaces and Westfield Stratford are great benefits. The transport links are also very good. There is, however, a lot of ongoing construction at the property and in the local area which can be a bit disruptive but is only temporary at the end of the day.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Definitely the rubbish disposal system! Seems a bit unsanitary carrying rubbish in the main lift, across the lobby and then through the car park…

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

A big no.

Review Date Nov 2021

Even though the manager was responsive and the concierge team was absolutely amazing, the manager was useless resolving any of my issues. It took 3 months to replace damaged carpet in one of the bedrooms, no one’s notified me for two months that my bike was stolen. I got some money refunded for my stolen bike which they quickly reclaimed charging me £300 for cleaning the flat after I moved out, even though the flat was dirty when I moved in. One lady from the staff in the office in Stratford was very rude to me when I tried to get someone else’s help with my issues. I didn’t bother to wait until the end of the tenancy and I moved out after 7 months. Nice staff would not compensate the time I wasted asking to resolve the problems with the flat. I will remember to not to rent a flat from JLL in the future.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Close to Stratford Shopping Centre and Stratford Station with underground lines, overground and multiple buses.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew the management is so poorly trained in customer service and cannot do their job properly.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responsive but took very long to resolve issues if resolved at all.

2
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Living @ 180 High Street, Stratford

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

Great location, excellent views of London and extremely nice / supportive staff. Very happy and satisfied with the quick response for repairs and the service and support from the management team making sure my flat is up to standards and all enquiries are considerably looked after and sorted in such a short time frame. Many thanks to Cansev and the team for all their help and support.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Pros:

2 mins away from a tesco express. Close to Westfield shopping center
Next to the olympic park (lots of green area!!)
Plenty of gyms to choose from (gym box, anytime fitness etc)
20 minutes cycle to liverpool street & 45 min bus ride to stansted airport
Nice residential area
Really nice views of London for the higher up flats

Cons:

Apartments can sometimes get very hot during the summer (depends on the apartment)

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How hot the apartments get during the summer. It can be like a sauna sometimes! I’ve had to purchase a fan

What is the best feature of your home:

The open plan area of the kitchen and sitting room.

5
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice flats in a bad area with terrible management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

Nice flat until views on both sides were covered in scaffolding and construction noise started from 7am everyday. Horrible property management. Every single maintenance issue took weeks if not months to resolve. 5 weeks to fix heating in December. Hot water breaks at least once per month for the entire building and has not been resolved after 6 years. Maintenance team frequently bodge jobs leaving things worse than before. Emails are ignored until the council gets involved.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice park and not too far to station. Small Tesco. Busy and loud roads 24 hours a day. Frequent screaming from drunks and druggies at all hours.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Maintenance issues will be ignored or badly repaired

What is the best feature of your home:

Used to be the view until the building was covered in scaffolding for over a year.

2
Facilities
3
Design
2
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great Location & Friendly Team

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2020

On entry, the concierge/entrance room is impressive. The apartments are lovely too, well lit & some have great views. The shared spaces aren’t so exciting. The WFH area is a bit drab but it’s there if you need it! The concierge are fab and super helpful, we really appreciate having groceries accepted and stored in the cold room if we’re not back in time ourselves. We’ve had a couple of basic maintenance issues and they have always been resolved so quickly & efficiently. The team are really great.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

180 is perfectly situated. Less than 10 minute walk to Stratford station & Westfields. there’s a gym right next door (super bonus in the winter). Short walk to Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

About the works. It wasn’t in our contract & we feel like we were big time duped on that. My partner works in Build to Rent & at the time, I worked for a balcony installation company and we were both up to date on the change in law regarding cladding. It couldn’t have been a surprise to JLL & we feel like we should have been told about it. Working from home is a nightmare with builders standing outside your balcony shouting, drilling when you’re in meetings etc.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Generically nothing. There’s plenty of storage space, it’s light enough, doesn’t get too hot…
Temporarily: Discount on rent. We pay a lot of money for our 1 bed and we’ve avoided being there for the past 4 months due to working from home as the building works are going on. We opted to stay with family since March instead but are heading back this week – £5600 poorer!

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Well located building with modern flats

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2020

180 is well situated, close to both Stratford Station and the Olympic Park, with a Tesco express across the road and a gym next door.

The building is relatively well managed with a 24 hour concierge at the reception desk which is super useful. They take parcels and you can leave keys with them etc.

The building is probably only ten or so years old so the flats are relatively modern and well designed. Bedrooms in the two and three beds can unusual floor plans.

I’ve been in the building nearly two years and have had an good experience over all.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great transport links but limited night life.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The building is particularly quick in taking care of repairs.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of One Eighty Stratford High Street, E15

Location

Number of developments 8

4.52

Average rating based on 304 reviews

View company