One Canalside, CM2

By
Urbanbubble, Legal & General
4.61 (30 reviews) 4.61 (30 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.53
Facilities
4.57
Design
4.90
Location
4.37
Value
4.70
Management

Excellent

73%

Very Good

20%

Average

7%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

One Canalside is a residential development by Legal & General and managed by Urbanbubble. It features 189 apartments with a mix of 1, 2 and 3 beds. Facilities include a residents lounge and work zone and a meeting room. Likewise, a games rooms and private dining room will be completed in 2022. In addition, on-site parking is available as well as a free cycle storage. With a waterside location, the development is only a 10-minute walk away from Chelmsford city centre including access to the station with links to greateranglia trains.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 30 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Top tier living in the metropolitan paradise that is one canalside, Chelmsford

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The staff are super friendly and always happy to help and they also help to create a nice sense of community for the residents (hosting pizza parties and wine tasting nights etc)
The apartments are fitted with modern and luxurious kitchens and bathrooms. The views from the fifth floor of the river and city centre (the cathedral etc) are great to admire from either one of the two balconies in my flat. Morning and evening. The downstairs communal space which has a free to use coffee machine is ideal.
I’ve been living here since March and I absolutely love it. 10/10

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

One canalside is situated in the perfect location on the outskirts of the city centre. It’s only a 5-10 minute walk to the nearest train station where you can get to London in 30 minutes. But being a short walk from the city centre, one canalside is also surrounded my fields and nature. The parcel room also makes collecting deliveries really straight forward. There are lots of cute dogs in the building and all of my neighbours are really friendly. I would say that the parking spaces can be a bit of a tight squeeze to get your car into when there are lots of cars in the car park. The spaces are also quite expensive at £100 p/m.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Right now there is a lot of construction work going on in the area which can be quite loud at times.
The nearest Pure Gym is only 2 minutes away on a spin (electric scooter)

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

When I moved in they were extremely helpful and quick to provide all of the information that I required regarding postage etc

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Theo, thanks for your review! It’s great to know that you’re happy at One Canalside and we really appreciate the feedback. It was great seeing you at our last event too… watch this space for more to come. We’re sorry to hear that your parking space can be a bit tight and also that you feel it’s quite expensive. In terms of the construction, we anticipate the adjacent building to be completed early 2022 with more and more tradespeople leaving site in the lead up to that. So I’m confident that the noise levels will reduce and One Canalside will become even more peaceful than it is. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Life at One Canalside, Chelmsford

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

I found the moving in process very easy. The communication between ourselves, the building management and property has been quick and efficient.
I am happy with the facilities that are on offer, especially the working space with so many people working from home nowadays it is nice to have an area if we are both working from home.
The overall design of the building is excellent apart from the lack of car parking spaces available. Too much of the car parking and cycling parking is not under cover. The cycle parking that is not under cover is not very well place being behind cars that run the risk of both car and bike being damaged. Some under cover cycle stores would be been better along with more parking spaces for cars.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The main city centre of Chelmsford is only a 10 minute walk away and the bus and train station less than 20 minutes away. Within the city centre you have all your shopping needs as well as a great choice of restaurants and bars in an open space area. A few minutes walk in the opposite direction from the centre city is the River Chelmer that you can follow on a path all the way to the Heybridge Basin and Maldon. There is plenty of parking for those that wish to visit the area though the traffic can be quite bad over the weekend for those wanting to shop. The immediate area to the flat is quiet, peaceful and clean, which makes for a pleasant living environment.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Lack of parking spaces

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We raised a request to make alterations to the flat and we received a response fairly quickly.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Ian, thanks for your review! We’re glad to know that you’re enjoying life at One Canalside. It’s great to see our residents using the residents lounge so often, hopefully you’ve managed to try our free Barista style coffee machine too. And we agree that the location gives you access to the best of both worlds. Thanks for your feedback in regards to parking and cycle storage, we’ll take this on board. We recently looked into more undercover cycle storage but decided against this for now. It was great to see you briefly at our last resident event and we’ll no doubt see you soon.

Would highly recommend One Canalside to friends and family.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

One canalside is a stylish modern development in a great location in chelmsford. The building and property management so far have been very receptive to resident needs. Would highly recommend one canalside to friends and family. The buildings are designed in

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Chelmsford is an all round lovely place to live lots of green spaces a great selection of shops bars and restaurants. Good transportation links to London and good schools for young families .

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The development is extremely energy efficient found the flats were warm and secure in the winter months

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

In a courteous and timely manner. Always respond promptly and politely.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Tehara, thanks for your review! We’re glad to know that you’re enjoying your time here at One Canalside. And we agree that Chelmsford is an amazing city! It’s great to know that your home is energy efficient and hopefully this pays dividends (not literally) in winter months. We will soon be planning our next event so watch this space… we’ll no doubt see you soon.

Overall the design of our flat is great but the kitchen and bathroom could use with more built in cupboards.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Overall the design of our flat is great but the kitchen and bathroom could use with more built in cupboards. It would be beneficial if there was a local supermarket somewhere in the complex. The Residents Lounge is brilliant and I use it quite often when working from home. There needs to be better signage regarding the Parcel Store as most couriers can’t find it and end up leaving parcels under the mailboxes in Willow Place.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lovely location in terms of proximity to the city centre but also to walking and cycling paths along the river Chelmer. It’s a very quiet and pretty place to live. My only complaint is the lack of visitor parking.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There isn’t enough visitor parking available at the moment.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

George and Susan have answered all our questions promptly and efficiently.

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Mare, thanks for your review! We’re glad you’re enjoying your time here at One Canalside. Thanks for your feedback regarding kitchen and bathroom storage. There’s a large Tesco supermarket a 10 minute walk away, 4 minutes to drive, but perhaps a shop on site would be a nice addition to the community. We’re pleased to know that you’re making full use of the residents lounge (and free coffee too, hopefully!) and we’re excited to open a games room and private dining room in the next building early 2022. We appreciate that visitor parking is an issue and are looking into options, so hopefully we can share an update soon.

Management company are amazing very quick to respond and resolve any issues.

Review Date Sep 2021

Very impressed. Management company are amazing very quick to respond and resolve any issues. Building maintenance excellent too. No complaints! Haven’t had many issues but those that we have had have been dealt with by Susan who is so lovely! Even before we moved in she was helpful with some questions we had. A really lovely feel to the whole development – feels like a little community.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Fantastic location near tons vibrant town with all the amenities you could ask for. Great transport links. Parking can be an issue. Very quiet location overlooks the river – perfect!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking for visitors is a bit of an issue.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been amazing! Very quick responses and so friendly and helpful!

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello, thanks for your review! We’re delighted to know you’re happy at One Canalside and thanks for your feedback for Susan. I’ll definitely pass this on. With the majority of shops in the city centre now open we’re sure that Chelmsford will become more and more vibrant. We appreciate that visitor parking is an issue and are looking into options. We hope to be able to share some news on this soon. We hope that you continue to enjoy your time here and we will no doubt see you soon.

Excellent development with a wide range of facilities

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The development is managed by a concierge team everyday and they are very helpful and friendly. They have arranged social events and also have on site entertainment such as a communal working and eating space which include a free coffee machine and large screen TV. There is plenty of space in the communal areas and it had been well designed (in terms of the decor)

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is great with excellent access to local amenities. It is close to the city centre and also the train station. There are a range of shops and supermarkets nearby and plenty of bars, restaurants and parks nearby. The area is quiet overall and very private.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Information about parking and charged beforehand would have been helpful

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Staff have been very fast, responsive and friendly when I had an issue on my move in day.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Shez, thanks for your review! We’re glad to know that you’re happy at One Canalside and are making the most of our communal spaces. We have an exciting games room and private dining room on its way within the next building, due early 2022.. so watch this space! In terms of parking, please do get in touch if there’s still information you’d like. We’re also looking into options for visitor parking which will be communicated in due course. We hope you continue to enjoy your time here and will no doubt see you soon.

Give consideration to other factors

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Renting a furnished property is great however the quality of the furniture provided is poor and poorly thought out, with the spare room barely big enough to accommodate the double bed that was placed in there.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The nearest shops are a ten minute walk away as in the nearest public transport, sound from the nearby traffic is loud when windows and doors are opened and the proximity to the river means we are infested with insects of an evening with little ways to deter them

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the furniture provided could not be substituted leaving room wasted through poor design choices

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management are great. They are friendly, approachable and work is carried out quickly when things are raised

5
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hello, thanks for your review. We’re sorry to hear that you’re unhappy with the quality and design of our furniture, and unfortunately we do not offer part-furnished homes at present. Hopefully this doesn’t impact your quality of living too much but please do get in touch if there’s anything we can do to help in this regard. We appreciate that you can hear cars from some homes but also hope that this isn’t too disturbing, knowing that busy roads are some distance away. In terms of insects by the river, while they are essential to the ecosystem they live in we understand that they may cause nuisance at times. We would recommend considering options such as citronella to keep them at bay, and we believe that they will be most rife in these hotter months. We hope all else is well and are glad to know you’re happy with our management, and we look forward to seeing you next.

Great place to stay

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Cannot fault the building management at all, George and Susan are alway polite and helpful. The developments ONLY downfall is the lack of visitor spaces but other than that the building is perfect. Great interior design, facilities including the kitchen is great.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area has everything you could possibly need including good transport links

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That there were not going to be any visitor parking spaces

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very quickly and any problems have been sorted out with no problems

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Helen, thanks for your review! We’re glad to know that you’re enjoying your time at One Canalside and any issues have been resolved quickly. We appreciate the frustration in regards to the lack of visitor parking and are considering our options as we speak. We hope to be able to provide an update about this soon. In the meantime please let us know if there’s anything we can do to make life better at One Canalside, and we’ll no doubt see you soon.

Fantastic development.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The development is ideal. It has the right amount of space for me and my partner to work from home as well as having great amenities and tasteful design. It’s overall a great place to live and we are extremely happy to be here in One Canalside in Chelmsford

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

We’re new to Chelmsford and we absolutely love the area and the people. It’s close to London and it makes us feel at home.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How great our neighbours and management were going to be. We would have moved earlier!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Susan and George are the management everyone wants!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Magnus, thanks for your review! We love having you here at One Canalside and it’s great to see that you’ve both made lots of new friends. We have more events to come so watch this space!

A lovely place to live!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

The community here is one of the best parts of One Canalside – there are social events which residents can join. I think that the residents lounge could have been designed better, for instance a bit more of a “chill” zone with sofas etc instead of an area mainly for those to work in. I think this would push for more socialising.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The visitor parking is the only negative aspect of living at One Canalside. After being promised it before signing the tenancy agreement this was expected – for it to be taken away a couple months in.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Again – visitor parking. I would have reconsidered the move to a new build development which may have offered this more so.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes – Susan and George are amazing. They really are soooo friendly and helpful!!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Lauren, thanks for your review! We’re glad you’re loving life at One Canalside and with more events to come I’m sure this will continue. Thanks for your feedback regarding the residents’ lounge. We have a really exciting games room and private dining room opening with the other building due early 2022, so watch this space! In terms of visitor parking, I’m sorry for your experience and as you know we’re looking into options. Hopefully we can offer a solution soon. All the best and we’ll no doubt see you soon.

The best of both worlds!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Sep 2021

Susan and George are the most lovely property management team. They’ve always solved all my problems quickly and with the upmost professionalism and respect! They also provide a welcoming environment as I regularly stop by their office to catch up and grab dog treats for my pup! Really great community events and they serve to great a really friendly and welcoming environment at one canalside. They always go above and beyond to help people, I feel very fortunate to have them around as part of my living experience!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love living at one canalside, having the best of both worlds with the town within 5 mins waking distance, but also having the river to experience a more countryside walk.

There’s a good mix of people my age and a great diversity of people in the building!

Visitor parking could be better, but everything else is 12/10!!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How much bills were going to be, (approximately) for budgeting. Plenty of lovely dog friends in the building and lots of places to run and explore!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they fixed a heating/ boiler issue with efficiency and diligence when I first moved in!

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  One Canalside, CM2
User submitted image of  One Canalside, CM2
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi Christina, thanks for your review! We love having you as part of our community and the door is always open. We’re considering visitor parking options as you know so hopefully we can share more soon. In the meantime, we hope you continue to enjoy your time here and no doubt see you soon.

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of One Canalside, CM2
User submitted image of One Canalside, CM2
User submitted image of One Canalside, CM2
User submitted image of One Canalside, CM2
User submitted image of One Canalside, CM2
User submitted image of One Canalside, CM2
User submitted image of One Canalside, CM2

Facilities

Balcony

Balcony

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

Central

Central

Coworking

Coworking

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Lounge

Lounge

Onsite Maintenance

Onsite Maintenance

Parcel Lockers

Parcel Lockers

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Private Dining

Private Dining

Resident Events

Resident Events

Service

Service

WiFi Included

WiFi Included

Location

Legal & General
Number of developments 9

4.62

Average rating based on 408 reviews

View company
Urbanbubble
Number of developments 10

4.63

Average rating based on 438 reviews

View company