No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10

By
Greenwich Peninsula, Upper Riverside
Ranked 25th out of 33 in Borough of Greenwich
3.93 (35 reviews) 3.93 (35 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.29
Facilities
4.03
Design
4.29
Location
3.91
Value
3.31
Management

Find No. 1 Upper Riverside in Greenwich Peninsula‘s latest neighbourhood – Upper Riverside. It features 526 units, covering studios, one, two and three-bedroom apartments. In addition, North Greenwich tube station 2 minutes away  offering easy access to the likes of Canary Wharf, London Bridge as well as Waterloo.  As well as green riverfront walkways, residents benefits from sky high views, cafes, bars and restaurants.

Read more Read less

No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10 Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 35 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Highly recommended area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Lovely, modern building. Communal areas are spacious and shared facilities are great. Gym and pool are amazing- like a hotel. Parcel room team are friendly and helpful. Overall would highly recommend this development to young urban professionals working in London.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great atmosphere, well connected. Sometimes a bit noisy when concerts are on at o2 but never too bad. Could do with guest parking and bigger supermarket, especially as more people move to the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Wish we’d known about the cinema room sooner- great space to bring friends

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Resolved any problems we’ve had (not that there’s been many)

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10
User submitted image of  No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

It’s ok but hard to justify the increasing price

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

No.1 hallways are very dark, the lighting is very bad. Makes it feel like a hotel and not a permanent place of residence. The lobby is also very empty / unappealing versus buildings 2-5. It needs improvement. Please add some sofas /bookshelves etc, anything to make it feel more warm and inviting.

The flat designs are ok. Minimal and boring but nothing to complain about.

The building 1 gym is pretty much useless as the machines are of a low quality and there is not much free floor space as a result of the useless machines ( the running machine is just not worth using ) and no useful free weights / equipment.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

No interesting local bars or shops, everything is in the O2 and are regular chains. Nicer to leave the area to go for dinner or drinks. Street etc is not great, buildings feel like they are in a ‘back alley”. Lots of crowds hanging around by the O2 service entrance make it unpleasant.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

O2 hums until midnight and shines glaringly bright lights into the windows.

The energy company (Loka) runs a monopoly and is overly expensive, and taking advantage of this with an incredibly expensive fixed charge rate.

The options for broadband are limited. The underfloor heating doesn’t really work.

The booking system for the amenities isn’t helpful either.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Have not had any communication with the landlord as the flat has been maintained well, so no issues / happy so far.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
2
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good place to live. N.Greenwich is in the way

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Maintain clean premises should be specify to the users.
SMOKING should be forbidden in all building included BALCONIES. smoke smeels is disgusting inside of your Home at any time of the day or Night. Please action in this.
Parcel services is Very Good! thanks
Facilities are good,. sometimes crowded.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport is very good as station is so near going center.and canary.
Locals shops and restaurants are bad. besides O2 low quality and hight price restaurants, there is not much. For Groceries is very bad area.
Bin collection and recicling should improve.
Noise people, that yelling or speak loud at night is very often ..this should be controlled. Impacting sleeping time.
antisocial behaviour raising arround with robering and fights or public arguments also loud music sometimes.
Construction noise almost 24/7 due the Silvertown tunnel. This is very bad.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I know how annoying is the silver town tunnel and noises arround the building with people echoes speaking and walking by

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They responded okay..but sometimes very lack of updates or any proper solution abilities.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Convenient comfortable living with unparalleled views of River Thames

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

I think management has been good. Problem solving is there. I think what’s slipping is the upkeep of building 1 lobby. It’s starting to look a bit tattered with the missing sofa, miscoloured sofa. Empty shelves etc. this is a bit of a shame.

Also the cinema rooms are impossible to book. I wonder if this is being fairly regulated or not. I’ve lived here for 3 years and have never been able to get a time.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The best thing about living here are the views of the Thames. It’s such a unique part of the development and something that’s hard to find. Especially in building 1 where you privacy in top of that since we aren’t surrounded by any other residential buildings. The independent shops and restaurants around us are severely lacking but that’s something that we knew coming in. Facilities like the gym are great. Especially the views from the treadmill in the cardio room which has amazing views from the 15 floor overlooking the Thames and emirates cable car.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

how the bike lanes aren’t that great and that would have been good to know

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The building has been very responsive but solving the issues actually doesn’t get done. Although issues with upstairs balcony leaking has been a constant problem for months as well as my intercom which hasn’t worked for half a year. Have raised this multiple times to concierge but have given up.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The new city of London

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Pros – Fab facilities (access to gym, pool and even karoke room!). Always really clean and tidy, whenever there is a problem concierge are brilliant and super quick to support you. A very quiet development which is lovely to get away from the noise of London!

Cons – Very hard to say but it’s taking a while for our “Hub” account to be set up, but other than that fantastic

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Pros: safe and green area – great stop for runs and security around so always feel safe. Brilliant access to city centre, but also have great restaurants and bars available at your door step. A range of bars and restaurants for all to enjoy.

Cons- If you don’t mind Zone 2! Pretty much the new London

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Get your hub account and gym induction done asap as it takes a while.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes – they are visiting to fix the walls and some fixtures. Are very prompt with email.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Peaceful, quiet, civilised though not enough security

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Great development, lots of facilities and quiet at all hours. Really peaceful place to live and lots of facilities to use. Design leaves much to be desired, not the best use of space, and some features look great but don’t work very well, stand alone showers a good example

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Too many drugs from the social housing. Lovely street, facilities and local shops. Very convenient transport links

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Cinema has paid external guests not just residents

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Slow to respond, do get things done quickly in the end

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location, brilliant amenities. A rare find!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2022

Design in building one is nowhere near as nice as the others, the facilities are brilliant! Particularly the pool and gym. Staff are very nice and helpful. Repairs take too long to be addressed though. Our intercom was broken for 2.5 months, and we couldn’t hear delivery drivers.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of bars, restaurants, cafes and strong transportation links nearby. No supermarkets though, just a small Tesco.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No supermarket. Flat really needs aircon, which it is lacking in.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Slowly, sadly. Could also be better at corresponding.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Horrible place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

I am so disappointed with this building. No parking facilities. One one energy provider that is extortionately overpriced. No community at all. Horrible tenants with the smell of weed constantly lingering in our apartment from our neighbours above and below. Terrible facilities – the gym in our building is the size of a box with one machine in it. Cinema room is booked out for months. Concierge and building management are extremely rude and no friendly customer service – they make you feel they’re doing you a favour. There’s one lady in particular at building 2 reception who’s attitude and tone are so rude we actually avoid going there. The fact that the codes on the lift mean we constantly have to go down to let delivery drivers in. Hermes delivery also makes you come down which is so inconvenient in the middle of the work day. Otherwise your package here left in the messy post room where we saw packages were opened by other residents. I tell me friends to avoid this development and area. The ‘community living’ is non existent, yet we get charged ridiculously expensive rent for what we get.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Awful area. No grocery shops except a ridiculously small Tesco that sells nothing. One restaurant that’s actually a wine bar which is overpriced and has a very small menu. Only one coffee shop. All over priced. No parking and people are renting their parking spaces for ridiculous amounts if you manage to find one. And it is windy and cold 24/7 which is probably the worst part about this area. The wind tunnels in between buildings and at building 1 specifically are unlike anything we’ve experienced before. We hate the area and hope to leave soon. I would not recommend anyone to move here. The smell of weed is everywhere. There is only one park and no good community spaces.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Constant wind EVERYWHERE. It’s at least 3 degrees colder here than anywhere else in London. There’s a cement factory close by which is horrible. No parking and you can’t find any to rent. One energy provider who have a high service charge. No or bad mobile coverage no matter where you go even after switching to 02.

What is the best feature of your home:

The rainfall shower is the best feature of our home.

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Fay,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear about your experience living on the Peninsula and would welcome the opportunity to meet with you to discuss some of the points you have raised, please contact the Customer Services team at: customerservices@greenwichpeninsula.co.uk if you would like to discuss further.

We are constantly striving to improve our services and we are reviewing your feedback on the service you have received from the concierge team to ensure excellent service is offered at all times.

We have implemented a new strategy through our new online platform The Hub, which will better facilitate the parcel management for all residents, couriers and the concierge conveniently. If you are not yet registered on the Hub, please contact the concierge team for assistance.

I can’t wait to move out of here

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2021

There’s nothing new for anyone to enjoy. There was once a thriving community of shops / restaurants / street food but it’s all been shut down within a few months of opening. It feels like the developers care more about making money than they do to improve the community.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I wrote a review a year ago before lockdown and was invited to do another. The development has gone down hill rapidly…now very disappointed with how much prices are still very high and the quality has gone down….

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known how rude some of the staff would have been. One of our parcels went missing for a week worth £250.
I once loved this development but find it so disappointing now.

What is the best feature of your home:

The neighbours have made it amazing but apart from that it’s really just an overpriced area with little to no customer service at concierge and it’s got very rough.

1
Facilities
1
Design
1
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place for young professional

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

Facilities are well maintained and the facilitates arrangement that following the covid guidelines work well.
The staff in the concierge and gym are very helpful. Customer service is not the best, it took quite some time to resolve the issue raised.
Regarding the design, I used to have a fitted kitchen with more drawers. But here they are all doors. That makes things much more difficult to access. And the bathroom demister is linked to the bathroom light. It heats up the room unnecessarily which is very unconvenient.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is great for young couples who don’t drive and have no kids. There is no sizeable supermarket, nursery / primary school within a 20mins walk. We don’t drive, so any traffic jam of the tunnel or within Greenwich won’t affect us. The environment is great and neighbors are very friendly. I love the bin room, super clean and tidy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was not told that I won’t have the 2yrs new build warranty because the flat is already built for a few years during the buying process. Even I am buying it first hand from the developer. So make sure you check how long the building is built and the builder warranty.

What is the best feature of your home:

I like the storage available in the master bedroom bathroom. With a bit of river view, seeing the sunset and sunrise in the peninsula is really enjoyable. The security of the building is great. I would look forward to the further development of the area to make it a better and better place to live. (say… having a bigger supermarket, more choices of local GP and dentists)

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Hi JC,

Thank you for your review. We are really glad that you are enjoying your home and life on the Peninsula. We are sorry to hear the service you received from Customer Services was slow, we are constantly striving to improve our processes and will review your feedback internally with the team.

Noisy, lazy staff, OK amenities but you won’t be able to sleep here.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2021

The development has a nice pool. An OK cardio gym but almost no weights. It is nice to have a pool but for some reason it is just always a bit too cold in my opinion. The cinema rooms are nice but impossible to book and no one verifies if people actually show up. For some reason in the apartment they cheaped out on putting plugs in the kitchen island.

I lost one of my belongings and emailed the concierge. They didn’t respond so the next day I went to them in person and they didn’t have it. Alright. I went back two weeks later and surprise surprise they had what I lost. They know who I was, my name was on it yet no one went through the trouble to let me know they found it after all. The support you will get really depends on who you ask. Most of them are counting down until the end of their day and don’t care. They will be friendly in your face but come up with artificials rules onto why they wont do something. – Some have been helpful though but the good ones are in a minority.

As much as it is nice to have some of these amenities and service even though they are not perfect they are totally overshadowed by the fact that you can not sleep in your own apartment on the weekend because of the constant parties. I can not recommend living here to anyone in good faith. It’s horrible to live like this.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Arranging parking is nearly impossible.
Neighbors holding parties all night long with very loud music, smelly drugs and drunk people in the hallways. Nothing is ever done about it resulting in sleepless nights and paying for a hotel.
Apartments on AirBnb being used for parties while in the contracts it is clearly stated that you are not allowed to list them.
The metal railings downstairs make a horrible noise when the wind flows through them.
Dog pee in the elevator and no one cleaned it up for 12 hours.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The parties… I really should have known. This is not acceptable.

What is the best feature of your home:

My apartment is rather large and its nice to have some space.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10
User submitted image of No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10
User submitted image of No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10
User submitted image of No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10
User submitted image of No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10
User submitted image of No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10
User submitted image of No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10
User submitted image of No.1 Upper Riverside, Greenwich Peninsula, SE10

Facilities

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Roof Terrace

Roof Terrace

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Greenwich Peninsula

Location

Upper Riverside
Number of developments 5

4.11

Average rating based on 186 reviews

View company
Greenwich Peninsula
Number of developments 12

4.13

Average rating based on 267 reviews

View company