Motion, E10

Motion, E10

By
Peabody
3.86 (29 reviews) 3.86 (29 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

3.34
Facilities
4.28
Design
4.00
Location
3.83
Value
2.97
Management

From the Shared Ownership Collection at Motion, across 17 floors of The Tower, you’ll find a collection of two & three bedroom apartments set around a landscaped resident’s courtyard.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

High-quality development in a hidden gem area of London

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

I think the design of Motion is excellent in terms of the look of the development and the aesthetic. We originally thought there would be a small supermarket, gym and coffee shop in the commercial units however due to the pandemic the plans for these have either been delayed or cancelled. I hope they eventually are open as we do not even have a bakery in the area. The concierge is very efficient and friendly however the management company does not seem very responsive and there have been issues with maintenance, especially the heating and hot water system as well as the lifts.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is very close to Lea Bridge rail station which is very convenient for getting to Stratford for shopping at the Westfield centre; the sporting facilities on offer in the Olympic Park; and connections to underground lines as well as the High Speed 1 rail line to Kent from Stratford International. The other great thing about the location is the Wetlands nature reserve and Lea Valley Park. There are not many shops, bars, or restaurants in the immediate area so we usually take a bus to Walthamstow which has a market and more on offer in terms of eating and drinking including local microbreweries. The Lea Bridge road has a very bad traffic problem and the crossing with Argall Way is frankly dangerous due to the amount of cars turning across the junction when the lights are meant to be green for pedestrians.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I think one thing you never can know in advance is what the community will be like in a new development. This is a mixed development with private owners and social housing alongside each other. While it is a good thing that more housing is built for local families I think there is not enough thought put into how they can be accommodated without there being problems of anti-social behaviour. We have had to complain about the excessive noise level in the communal garden which has spoiled somewhat our enjoyment of our flat and caused stress.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Obviously due to the pandemic we now have to work from which was not what we originally planned when we bought the flat. We would probably spend more on a flat (or buy one further from London) with a second bedroom which could be used as a home office. I now think it is much more important to have some private outdoor space.

2
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Motion, E10
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beck Square – popular development, but ultimately let down.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The towers look nice from the outside definitely, however, unfortunately, this has resulted in obscurely shaped rooms and wonky walls – I only noticed the wonky walls after the initial snag period with Hill ended sadly. We get window cleaning twice a year I think – but to be honest, they do such a rough and slap dash job, I always see watermarks after. The bin store is always overflowing – this can’t be helped due to the number of properties in the building but it’s unpleasant. There had previously been a very annoying issue with hot water supply – for well over a year the hot water kept shutting off, there was no real conclusive reason why this happened and it is shocking and just appalling. Thankfully this has not been an issue recently, for the last few months, hopefully it’s fixed now. Property management is average bordering on not poor, they do attend when things like the lift or hot water is down but service charge breakdowns are confusing and we’re paying way too much for nothing other than a concierge really. They are incredibly slow to respond and most of the time unresponsive, and quite frankly you get the impression they don’t want to help you.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There aren’t many shops sadly, just an Aldi and a Topps tile down the road. You’d need to venture further down towards Walthamstow to find some decent shops. Restaurants are on the thin side can’t really comment on that. Convenience is definitely there – Leabridge station which takes you straight to Stratford / central line. IKEA is also a short 10 – 15 minute journey too. There is a bus stop opposite the development if you prefer that. There have been thefts of bikes, parcels and unwanted people trying to trespass – so it’s not safe really, would prefer if this is a gated development. Leyton can be rough so no surprises there. Although I’m high up, I can still hear traffic and noise from outside. Screaming kids in the courtyard is also very unpleasant and noisy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

My biggest gripe is that I was told the sound insulation would be very good – this is a complete and utter lie. I am living in misery and anxiety due to the noise I can hear from the neighbours above. The lack of real sound insulation and cheap flooring they opted for means you can hear EVERY single footstep, thump and bump from your neighbour above. My neighbours are completely oblivious to how heavy footed and noisy they are but the point is that a flat that’s almost half a mil should mean that basic sound insulation is there. You can’t choose your neighbours but Hill could have definitely used better products to negate this problem. If you’re lucky and they’re not heavy footed this may not be an issue, but there are a substantial number of residents that have complained of noise issues but in the end nothing could be done because it “passed the sound regulations” I’d really recommend avoiding HILL as a developer 5* doesn’t reflect a premium product.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I have raised problems with Montalt – so far no response on this.

1
Facilities
1
Design
4
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great design and location.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

I love the design of the development, it’s really modern, looks great as you drive into lea bridge and a really standout style against all the classic glass or brick high rise developments.

Property management isn’t great but also not as bad as I’ve heard from other places.

A disappointed about the lack of green space and trees included as part of the development and worried about further developments in the area removing even more.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport is great with the lea bridge station one stop to Stratford. Good bus links into town and bike lanes in every direction.

A good variety of shops with more to come hopefully when covid finally relents.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The size and scale of new developments planned in the area.

What is the best feature of your home:

I love the full size balcony doors which really expands the size of the main room when open in the summer

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Would highly recommend this development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The design of the outside is modern and I haven’t seen it in other new developments which I like. The space in the middle is excellent for families to share, but dog walkers allow their dogs to poop there (They do clean it up) but that seems a bit gross to share that space for the same thing.

Also the roof terrace is amazing and a great shared space.

There is no gym or commercial letting installed yet. This has been delayed by the pandemic but there is no communication about what the plan is.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of empty shop space including within the development.

Very close to a lot of green space

On a main road and a junction that is very very noisy

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Information about service charge is minimal. There has been large percentages of undelivered service charge and we have not been refunded

What is the best feature of your home:

Two balconies. 😍
Kitchen design separates this space form the living area despite it being in one room still.
En suite feels luxurious.

1
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Satisfied and will recommend this place

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

I like the development overall. We have concierge that closes at 10 pm and a small community garden where children play in the evening. Also, if you are on higher floors, you get really amazing views.

We don’t have gym in the community which is not hugely negative because of Covid-19.

When you find a defect in your apartment, it may take some time to get resolved but ultimately they do resolve it. For example when I moved in there was a scratch in the window and the whole window glass needed to be replaced because it couldn’t be repaired. It doesn’t affect me anyway in my day to day life so the management already gave notice period of 6 month but now finally they are replacing it in 11 months time. I didn’t follow up but they came back to me on their own to replace the glass.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Overall I like this location. We have a train station just 2 mins walk away which is super convenient to go to stratford (1 station away) and take all major train lines from there.
We also have Marshes very close to us which allow us to take walk and spend some time in green areas.
We don’t have costa coffee or pret or any major restaurant chain close to us. You need to go to stratford if you want to enjoy city’s hustle and bustle but stratford is only 1 train stop away or 45 min walk.
We do have Aldi only 5 min walk from the development which is convenient for grocery shopping. But again if you want to shop M&S or Sainsbury, you need to go to Stratford

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Sometimes there are train disruptions which can create churn. Also on weekends train service is not frequent. They should inform about this to buyers

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have resolved it everytime but could be faster

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful architecture but shappy finishing

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The development is beautiful but unfortunately the interior is not of a high quality.
Too many repairs has been required and finishes seems rushed.
Property/building management has not been as helpful as could have been. They take a long time to reply and will have to chase every time.
Lifts are out of order regularly for long times each time.
Greenery around the development is not looking good. it is sparse and needs attention.
I feel I have paid way too much for the finished article

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development is located close to gorgeous green spaces and marshes which is one of the reasons for me buying in this development.
The area is still very underdeveloped in terms of shops in the area but surely that will come with time. Transport is a little hit and miss with only 1 trainline from Greater Anglia which has been very unreliable.
Traffic noise is a big issue. Was aware of the main road next to the development but the street is very straight and very long so cars and noisy motor cycles are speeding which create incredible noise.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Would have liked to know that other MASSIVE developments are going to be build over the next 5 years which is definitely going to devalue my propoerty

What is the best feature of your home:

The space and the large windows. The architecture or the exterior.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Motion, E10
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beck Sqaure pros and cons

Review Date Jul 2021

The overall design of the buildings is visually pleasant although sound proofing between each flat is very limited and most balconies lack any privacy. Currently there are no facilities for the tenants to use other than a very small age limited playspace for children which i believe should be improoved to better accomodate the age range and ammount of children on the estate and a concierge and car park which ive been made aware isnt so much for housing association tenants.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

near by to train station with direct city links, 24 hr bus stop, 24hr off license and a supermarket. Lea bridge road has a good range of takeaway food and dining options. nearby parks and primary schools to accomodate kids. Parking here is a big problem, as we do not have use of the car park and there are houses across the street its near impossible to park near by on most days. one other issue i can note is the bins which are left out over night causing terrible smell and attracts flies which infest the ground floor, entrance door and passage way to the lift posing a disturbance to all tenants

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

average monthly/annually utility costs and providers, i also wish id known that the rent would rise within only 6 months of moving in, leaving some tenants unable to cover the full cost of the rent with their housing benefit and have had to result to paying the remainding cost from their other financial elements. im aware that some tenants would not have accepted these flats if hey had known the rent would rise and their housing benefit element would not cover the total amount.

2
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

I love living in this development. It has everything I need and I’ve been happy here so far. The windows have been cleaned twice since I moved in, and the block remains clean and tidy. We have a concierge which is an absolute god send – I’m not sure how i’d get by without it! My only criticism is that the courtyard seems to be a bit of a wind tunnel so it’s often too windy to sit out on my balcony, which is a real shame.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area seems to haver everything I need. There’s a supermarket and a post office really close by which I use regularly. The transport links are great, with both a train station and a bus stop right outside. Parking is a problem unless it’s after 6pm. Although no one ever struggles to park after that time.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Definitely the wind levels on the balcony!

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

It would be great if I could have had the option of buying a parking space.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great flats, poor management

Review Date Jul 2021

Despite the sleek and modern design of the buildings, the facilities are not working as expected, the plant room is constantly flooding, my balcony door frame has had a leak ever since i have moved in, and still not repaired. Bikes easily stolen from bike sheds, and concierge staff change has messed up everyone’s parcels and spare keys. Finishing inside the flat are not up to standard, and the management are reactive rather than proactive in problem solving, often have to chase for a repair for month, to get told they cant do anything about it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Walthamstow/leyton has been sought after for a while now, the local pubs are great, lots more independent businesses are opening too, lea bridge being the main station for this development connects it to tottenham hale in 1 stop, and stratford in 1 stop too. Although it being a train station means that if you miss a train youd have to wait for another 15 mins for the next one, and often cancels or delays.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish i had known the building were finished in a rush, with plenty problems left behind, even tho it was 6 month late to initial exchange date. And the poor responses to peabody call centre staff, once when i was calling to report a problem, 4 times a day, and 4 different staff found an excuse to hang up on me.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Quick responses, very slow solutions. Peabody call centre staff will say anything to avoid solving the problem. Not proactive at all.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great location and buildings

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

The buildings are modern and well designed, with great insulation and ventilation. Windows are huge which is great for light and enjoying the spectacular view. The quality of finish and amenities in the flats are really good value for money. Having a concierge takes the worry out of deliveries and sorting out small issues. There is a shared boiler in the basement which supplies hot water and heat for the underfloor heating which is very convenient, but the response times when the boiler has an issue could be better. The neighbours are really friendly too, so all in all, we really enjoy living here.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location right next to both Lea Bridge Station for transport and Waterworks Nature Reserve for greenery is great. There is a good mix of shops and takeaways nearby, but for nightlife you night to go a bit further afield (there is a night bus though). Protected cycle paths go every way, so we can even cycle with our small children to their school in Hackney.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That underfloor heating shouldn’t just be left on, but instead warmed up and turned off as it’ll keep warm for hours with the residual heat.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The service levels and communication of the property manager Montalt (responsible for the estate in general and the market sale buildings) and housing association Peabody (managing the shared ownership and social rent buildings) nothing to get excited about, but they are far from being the worst.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
User submitted image of  Motion, E10
User submitted image of  Motion, E10
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of Motion, E10
User submitted image of Motion, E10
User submitted image of Motion, E10
User submitted image of Motion, E10
User submitted image of Motion, E10
User submitted image of Motion, E10

Location

Number of developments 14

4.07

Average rating based on 285 reviews

View company