L&Q at The Treacle Works, E16

L&Q at The Treacle Works, E16

By
L&Q
1st
Ranked 1st out of 15 in Royal Docks
4.31 (15 reviews) 4.31 (15 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.13
Facilities
4.33
Design
4.40
Location
3.73
Value
3.40
Management

The Treacle Works by L&Q comprises of a collection of studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom homes. Located within the wider Royal Wharf development, The Treacle Works is positioned just a few minutes walk from Pontoon Dock DLR station, where Canary Wharf is accessible in 9 minutes and Bank in under 20 minutes. Residents here benefit from an on-site concierge service, a 25m swimming pool, and leisure & fitness facilities at The Clubhouse.

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Private Tenants
Verified
Showing 15 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Amenities on point!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Facilities are great, especially the gym and pool. I love the owners and people at Triple 222 coffee shop, and having Sainsburys here is great (wish we had a pret a manger though!)

Area is lovely, especially by the Waterfront.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Lots of amenities, security here helps make things feel safer. I have received a parking ticket for parking in my own bay :S

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That covid wouldn’t hinder our usage of almost all facilities.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very quick and communicative – we’ve had issues with dishwashers etc and it’s been sorted quickly.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate you taking some time to share your experience with us.
We’re delighted to hear how happy you are in your home and neighborhood.
Much appreciated and thanks again!
Customer Service Team

Katie’s review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Ideas are great, I know everyone’s doing their best but it could be faster. Would of liked the clipper to start sooner. I love the design of the buildings, and I love that the parks nearby and we have a good choice of coffee shops. Also the gym is included in our rent

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love the area and the fact it has the necessary shops. Could have more retail shops in the area. Looking forward to what’s coming soon

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I’m happy with everything. Nothing has disappointed

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Install a garbage shoot on each floor. Can be an issue sometimes dragging the bin down as it leeks on the carpet

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate you taking some time to share your experience with us.
We’re delighted to hear how happy you are in your home and neighborhood.
Much appreciated and thanks again!
Customer Service Team

Lovely development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

It has a lovely design, I feel very safe, especially after living centrally. I just wish there was a better supermarket / more shop options available. A “refill” shop would be good and more leisure facilities. The staff on the development are generally friendly and helpful. The bin rooms are inconveniently placed.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Generally really enjoy the development, just wish there was better supermarket options. Dlr is reliable but ideally would run later/ more frequently.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Frequency of trains, booking system for gym & lack of shops. Also the fact our building’s garden is actually inaccessible – this was a bit misleading actually.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Mostly fine but sometimes slow or at inconvenient times for people who work full time (who can afford to live here part time?!)

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate you taking some time to share your experience with us.
We’re delighted to hear how happy you are in your home and neighborhood.
Much appreciated and thanks again!
Customer Service Team

Review of Royal Docks development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Had a problem with our washing machine and dishwasher and it was sorted quickly. The building could be cleaner- often have dirty communal carpets/ chipped paint. No issues with the management. Have enjoyed living here for the past year.
The flat is a nice, spacious design with good storage.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Could do with more shops and restaurants however this could be because of covid stopping plans. Love the fact we have two parking spaces included. Good concierge facility.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We parked in the middle of our two parking spaces to allow to get children out of the car and were issued a fine!

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Responded quickly when we had issues with our dishwasher/ washing machine.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate you taking some time to share your experience with us.
We’re delighted to hear how happy you are in your home and neighborhood.
Much appreciated and thanks again!
Customer Service Team

Good area and modern buildings but management can be improved

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

One thing that I miss is trash chute on each floor because currently we have to go outside the building to access the refuse area. Facilities on site are good but the new clubhouse booking system is not. it should be limited to 2 bookings per person.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Not enough shops. There is only sainsburys on site and very few restaurants/cafes. Transport links are fine with dlr stations nearby. There is limited parking availability. Bin collection is seamless. I haven’t witnessed anti-social behaviour or traffic noice so far.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Customer service level of landlord. They are not very responsive and i have had to wait a significant amount of for repairs to be done

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Rubbish chute on each floor rather than having to go outside the building to access the refuse area.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
We’re sorry to hear your experience hasn’t been positive. We would like to know more and help to put things right.
Please contact us at lqdirect@lqgroup.org.uk (with Homeviews in the subject line) and a dedicated agent will do their best to help resolve any concerns.
Thanks,
Customer Service Team

Good location, awful site management, average finishes.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The management at Rotal Wharf do not reply to issue in a timely manner and only ever post when it serves to make them money. Our facilities have been shut due to Covid. However changes have been made to booking systems pre them re-opening without communication. This has frustrated many residents and is a constant issue.

Management don’t seem to listen to the residents. The windows have not been cleaned (caravel house) in the whole time I have lived here (9 months).

The quality of the finishes in the flat is also not as good as first appears. The carpet in my flat is not stuck down, I have laminate flooring that comes up at the skirting edges, there are gaps under my skirting, around the door edges etc and Generally could have been finished better.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Parking is good, although the door to the car park was broken twice for a total of 3 months when I moved in (meaning the car park was not secure).

Contractors regularly park in my space which means I have to go to concierge and wait for them to call and move the contractors vehicle.

I have also received numerous parking tickets for being parked in my paid for space, with my registered car which is incredibly frustrating.

There is often loud car noises and regular blacked out cars meeting across the development late at night and when prompted security don’t seem interested, despite the police being called several times.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Extra costs for bits around the development (ie gym induction), issues with estate management BUT considering it has been a year during Covid these issues may not ordinarily be issues.

What is the best feature of your home:

Sizeable flat, 2 bathrooms with a nice quartz countertop in the kitchen. Layout of flat is good.

3
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate your feedback.
We’re sorry to hear your experience hasn’t been wholly positive. We would like to know more and help to put things right.
Please contact us at lqdirect@lqgroup.org.uk (with Homeviews in the subject line) and a dedicated agent will do their best to help resolve any concerns.
Thanks
Customer Service Team

Very poor property management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

Everything except the property management is good.
It takes forever for l&Q to action on anything on emergency as well.
Extremely poor service from a link you. For things which would generally be termed as emergency they do not even market is important. Very very disappointed

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Transport good
Groceries good
Bin collection good
Getting a chance to get in the tube v.bad

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Landlord’s turn around time

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Landlord Of the property as the service that we have received is extremely extremely poor and not at par with what the market is offering or the times

3
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate you taking some time to share your experience with us.
We’re delighted to hear how happy you are in your home and neighborhood.
Much appreciated and thanks again!
Customer Service Team

Development with great potential!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

The facilities are great. There is a mailroom, gym/swimming pool and concierge for residents though I personally feel that the gym area could be expanded to facilitate the increasing population of Royal Wharf.
I also feel that there could be more local shops, as it has been a lacking aspect since I moved here in mid 2019.

Property management is fantastic, as the manager is always responsive when contacted and happy to answer any questions that I have. Overall, I think this is a great place to live in.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Local shops are currently lacking and have been this way for the past 2 years. I hope that this could be improved as there is currently not much options for local patronage.

Development is located near the DLR station, making easy to travel to Central London. There is also the Thames Clipper, which takes you to North Greenwich or Central London though service is infrequent and waiting times are long from the last time I took it. Additionally, Sainsburys is just below and less than a minutes walk away.

Lots of anti-social behaviour, especially loud parties at night that can be heard by everyone given the vicinity of the buildings. Additionally, smokers who continuously smoke in the development despite the no smoking policy. It is also noisy at night sometimes when outsiders come in given this is not a closed development. Expect plane noises as its next to City Airport but this is fine for me as I love plane watching.

Overall, its a nice place to live in when more shops start coming in though I feel like certain aspects such as anti-social behaviour can be further addressed.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I could have known the total area of the house prior to moving in, though this might not been available for my apartment given it was a new build at the time.

What is the best feature of your home:

I have a really huge bathroom even though I do not need it =D

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your honest review. We really appreciate you taking some time to share your experience with us.
We’re delighted to hear how happy you are in your home and neighborhood.
Much appreciated and thanks again!
Customer Service Team

Enjoyable living along the Thames river in a well serviced development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2021

This building (Caravel House) is well built, centrally situated right in the centre of the development, looks attractive from the outside and the space inside the apartments is well thought out. Excellent sound design (and very effective those rare times London City Airport is actually busy flying planes in and out). Building management is adequate, communal areas kept clean and at a good standard, frequent security round throughout the building and premises including night times. Sometimes issues with central entrance doors or the intercom system, but these things are often well resolved. All in all a very pleasant living environment both indoors and around the area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Having moved in while the development was still to be completed, over time local shops, restaurants and open spaces will no doubt increase. For the time being however all that is necessary is there and of good/amiable quality and good accessibility. Public transport connections are excellent (DLR, bus). One future concern are plans to plonk a busroute right through this wonderful development, which not only seems redundant (excellent and easily accessible public transport available already) but may have an unfortunate influence/impact on the quality of living here, which could possibly result in lower real estate values, whether actual or perceived. Hopes among many residents are that this rather not come to pass, apparently this is between the developer Ballymore and TfL.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Saying this with a big smile in hindsight: before moving in, perhaps more clear and elaborate information regarding the “smart” thermostat in the apartment might have been helpful…This would possibly have saved a few weeks of unintentionally heating up half of East London, although eventually it all worked out fine after receiving the correct manual and instructions.

What is the best feature of your home:

The layout of the apartment is very practical, the materials used are of good quality plus its location right next to the river Thames, all make this a very enjoyable home.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate you taking some time to share your experience with us.
We’re delighted to hear how happy you are in your home and neighborhood.
Much appreciated and thanks again!
Customer Service Team

Lovely flat but development big disappointment

Review Date Apr 2021

The gym is lovely but due to covid you can’t get booked in the system is highly disappointing.

Not enough around, post office is atleast 30 mins walk.

Supermarkets are needed as current shop has limited choices and huge que.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Not much around the development a number of empty units.

Only one small shop which isn’t sufficient for the number of tenants

Anti social behaviour in complex

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Number of issues in other blocks with anti social behaviour and crime around the complex.

How limited it is using the gym booking system does not work.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes repairs have been completed
No hot water when first moved in for two days highly disappointed and didn’t seem a big issue to them.

2
Facilities
3
Design
2
Location
2
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
We’re sorry to hear your experience hasn’t been wholly positive. We would like to know more and help to put things right.
Please contact us at lqdirect@lqgroup.org.uk (with Homeviews in the subject line) and a dedicated agent will do their best to help resolve any concerns.
Thanks
Customer Service Team

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of L&Q at The Treacle Works, E16

Also by this company

Explore other developments by L&Q

Location

L&Q
Number of developments 61

3.71

Average rating based on 746 reviews

View company