About L&Q

L&Q believe passionately that people’s health, security and happiness depend on where they live.

L&Q house around 250,000 people in more than 105,000 homes, primarily across London and the South East – but L&Q are more than just a registered charitable housing association.

L&Q create better places to live by delivering high quality homes, neighbourhoods and housing services that people can afford.

With nearly 60 years’ experience, we have what it takes to do things right and provide long-term support to our communities where they need it.

L&Q developments

There are a number of L&Q developments currently listed on HomeViews – from North London’s centrally located Colindale Gardens to peaceful Davis Way in South London’s Sidcup. You’ll also see some ‘in construction’ units, such as Wandsworth Exchange – an upcoming mixed-use development close to Wandsworth Town station.

L&Q reviews

All the flats come with outdoor space, either a private balcony or terrace. It’s big enough for table chairs and a small cheeky bbq…..The Landlord looks after the building well; if there are any issues with the flat it is usually resolved within a few days.” – Chi, verified resident at L&Q’s Weavers Quarter

You can read reviews of L&Q developments by clicking on the properties in the list below. If you live in an L&Q development, click here to leave your review. If you know of L&Q properties that aren’t yet on HomeViews, you can submit a new listing here.

Number of Developments

69

Ratings

3.72 Rating

Rating (based on 1051 reviews)

Excellent

25.12%

Very Good

43.10%

Average

21.41%

Disappointing

5.42%

Very Poor

4.95%

Developments

MAP

Showing all 69 developments

L&Q reviews

Reviews

Write a Review
All Reviewers
Owners
Shared Ownership Purchasers
Private Tenants
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Local Authority Tenants
Showing 1051 reviews

Poor quality homes and even worse management

I’ve lived here since phase 1 of Acton Gardens was built in 2013. One word: Avoid.

Issues:
Poor quality fittings
All the door handles had to be changed within a year of normal use. The locksmith we engaged told us that the handles and doors were of poor quality in the first place which was why they broke so quickly.Lift breakdown
Within the first year, the only lift in the building used to break down every alternate week for about a period of 6-12 months until residents protested against paying the increase in service charge until a new lift was fitted. This inconvenience has caused the elderly and disabled a lack of access and frankly should be illegal.

Hot water
It’s been about 6 years since phase 1, and we’ve been having issues with the communal boilers / power cuts up till today. The hot water would be down for long periods especially over winter and any fix would only be temporary. It’s come to a point where you can’t take being able to have a warm shower for granted.

Communications
We are currently receiving text messages informing us of any outages – primarily hot water related issues. However, this usually comes much later after we have reported it to the L&Q emergency number, which might be useful to some, but not the majority who have had to experience it firsthand. When reporting and asking for updates on outages, helplines are staffed with rude CS agents who sound like they need additional training / are inadequately informed by the service/operations team, so they are not in a position to provide proper updates.
What is concerning is that these issues (hot water, broken lifts and poor quality fittings) are not unique to Acton Gardens. Properties all over the country by L&Q are experiencing similar issues. A simple search online would surface lots of examples. Save your hard-earned money for another place with a developer who genuinely wants to provide quality homes.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area itself is fine being close to South Acton overground and Acton Town tube. There has been a growth in amenities around the high street too.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had done more research into the issues L&Q developments have been facing all over the country. The amount of grief this development has given me and other residents is unimaginable.

1
Facilities
2
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

The build is not done correctly, the noise travelling from properties underneath Is very bad.

The build is not done correctly, the noise travelling from properties underneath Is very bad. The same from the properties either side. There is no such thing as having piece of mind within your own home. The master room you can hear the neighbours toilet being used and all kitchen appliances being used since the neighbours kitchen is on the same floor (2)as my rooms. Constantly hearing showers being used in both bedrooms and dripping off water.

The bathroom also has thin walls that backs onto part of the neighbours kitchen and garden there lists of noise and sleepless nights.

Van has been marked up and bin on a Monday are being left near cars

Neighbours are neighbours from hell constant loud music throughout the day and night. I have not had one good night slee since moved in and I have nothing but regrets moving to this site with the lack of uneducated and unclean neighbours that live within the site.

The build also has defects of which was logged early last year and still till this day nothing has been done to amend these issues. Example of one issue no heating and draft coming from windows and wet floor around the edges of the rooms.
Plus many other concerns

Barking and Dagenham and mainstay ignore your issues and concern and have shown nothing but neglect to issues.

The dust since moved in has been really bad on health and the noise from the development also has been unbearable. Works sometimes have started before 8am Monday to Sunday.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Landlord would have been honest and much more structure organised.

The homes were not ready and therefore they were rushed and finished with a poor standard. Even though the homes were not ready to be moved into they landlord still allowed this.

Many people that live within the complex have messed up some of the areas and looks messy.

1
Facilities
1
Design
3
Location
1
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Barking Riverside – Unless its your only option please don’t buy.

This is very tough to write, as a homeowner who has lived here for 5 years now. I brought my fist ever property here over 5 years ago now on the help to buy scheme. I was 27 and desperate to make the change from paying a landlord to paying off my own mortgage. I own a modest 1st floor two bed two bath flat and I want to start with the positives, which are as follows.

The build quality is actually very good and the room sizes are by new build standards huge! Heating and electricity bills are very cheap thanks to the modern insulated design and there are several areas/ parks for young kids to play and explore. You can take a walk to the river and enjoy their small wilderness walks among long grasses and wild flowers.

Now for the not so nice parts, in the 5 years I have lived here I have seen the arrival of the uber boat service and the train station, despite these additions the value of my flat has not increased. So if your hoping to see growth on your property’s value I suggest you look elsewhere, although the help to buy scheme will save you a few bucks, the flats are over priced to ensure the developer is well compensated.

The train station, well for some reason the train line runs to gospel oak and avoids zones 1 & 2. So if your working in central its actually just as quick to get on a bus as it is to take the train. Check its route and your travel time as its still an hour. And as for the boat its allot more expensive and unless your work is close to the river your actually worse off. Again I highly recommend you check your route and travel times, plus costs.

However if you are someone who drives to work please bear in mind that the traffic in and out of the development is truly horrendous from the hours of 7am to 6pm. Again please check using google maps as I kid you not their are times it takes 15-30 mins to drive what must be all of 3 miles. And there are plenty of idiot drivers trying to undertake and push you out.

You also need to remember this development is no where near at full capacity, and seeing as the trainline goes to nowhere, people are likely to remain going by car so its only going to get worse, food for thought if I haven’t already discouraged you!

So that about wraps up transport links.

Now for the bad bits about the environment, firstly I would like to mention the lovely buzz of the overhead power lines, fortunately I am not that close to any of them however at certain periods of the day in the week they make allot of noise. My advice is try to buy as far away from them as possible, say for instance not on the development.

The deal breaker, so if you do not already know the development is situated in between two very large and very pungent human waste sites. Beckton Gas works is actually a site where they process our human waste and create methane gas, the name Beckton Gas Works is just a clever play on words. Then on the other side of the river to the east of us you have crossness sewage treatment works. Together these make up the largest waste sites in the whole of Europe, and luckily they are right on your door step. Now to be frank they don’t always smell, in fact more often than not they don’t. They have sealed the lids to allow the processing of the smelly gasses, however from time to time they have too much and need to realise it into the air. The problem is it leaves the smell of what can only be described as a 7/10 human fart rating, and say its released at 3pm, you will be left with the smell until the early hours of the morning. This tends to happen 2-3 times a week in the summer and 1-2 in the winter.

Thirdly you may or may not be aware that it is still a building site, and it is right next to gill aggregates, a company that ships in thousands of tonnes of sand. The sand is stored in giant open pits, the problem with this is the sand is free to travel with the wind. And this sand tends to land on cars, now if your using your car daily this is not a major issue however it will stick to windows, balconies and cars that don’t get used all that often. Again depending how wind a day it is will play a factor although it can get very windy what with being next to the river.

You also need to remember that the development is surrounded by a big dirty industrial site, that has many businesses that deal in waste management, they have large lorry’s carrying building waste and recycling waste and they tend to leave a trail of mess in their wake. I couldn’t tell you how many lorry’s pass through there every day but its a huge amount and they are mainly responsible for the horrendous traffic throughout the day. I don’t know if the industrial site will be moved at any point but until it is, it will continue to ruin the roads with traffic and overflowing waste.

So that round about wraps up the local environment.

So finally time to review the not so local amenities, community and developers.

I cannot deny their are now two local small co-ops, they are reasonably priced and open 7am-10pm and have very friendly, welcoming staff. You can definitely pick up a variety of supplies however as always they don’t have everything you need, so your still going to need to pop to a big store or get a home delivery. If your not a fan of online shopping then its a 15 min drive to Asda, Sainsburys or Tesco’s, although the latter two can take longer during peak traffic hours. There is a small tatty looking coffee shop next to the co-op that’s part of the older development but I have never been interested in going to it. And there is also a local pharmacy but again its small and my experiences in their have not necessarily been bad but they could definitely be allot better.

For all the gym freaks out there your closest one is back in town which is about a 25 min trip, other than that there is a floodlight pitch for football though i have never seen any invites to play. And to be fair I’m useless at football so there may be an opportunity for any football fans to join up but you would need to check first.

As for community the local church seems a blast and always has things going on, its a majority african community and they are really friendly. If you are into this sort of thing I have no doubt you will really enjoy yourself. Its as busy as the A13 slip road most days so evidently a great venue.

As for schools I cannot comment but they are new and there are several to choose from. As for trouble/ crime, I am aware that there are two local drug gangs and we have had several police vans and police squads in the local area protecting one gang from another, due to a gag related shooting. However I have to state that i have personally never had any trouble at all in my time here. And I have often stumbled home from the local bus station with absolutely no issues at all. In reality there is trouble in most areas and of all the places I have lived this definitely scores low on crime in relation to the other places I have lived. It is genuinely a very nice community here.

Finally onto the developers, now lets be real here, anyone expecting high quality service from a business that’s building cheap houses on this development is kidding themselves. They know its cheap, they know its smelly and they know if your buying here, you either cant afford anywhere else or you haven’t bothered to do your research. Fortunately the only issues i had with my place were scuffed doors and some finishing of painting. Now I had to chase them to complete what should have been done before I got the keys but one call and one email sorted it relatively pain free. However since this time I have had multiple parking issues that go undealt with and as for the maintenance charges well they are a rip off to start with and they went up 50% around 12 months ago. In total I spend £3,300.00 a year on ground rent and maintenance. And in return I get someone to hoover the communal spaces once a week and spray some cheap perfume. The lift gets a sticker once a year and a couple of blokes cut the grass once a month. The windows also get washed twice a year so all in all, I’m getting robbed as there are about 90 properties in our building.

So why write this? Well assuming this actually gets posted, I don’t want my loss and pain to be experienced by anyone who has bothered to do what I didn`t. And that’s research, as soon as the fire cladding issue is fixed on my property it will be going up for sale and I shall never return.

I am confident even if this makes it onto the website, some unfortunate sole will still buy my flat and if not I will just rent it out.

As they say you get what you pay for…

Cheap but overpriced, Smelly, poor commuter links, ridiculous traffic, now property value growth and a severe lack of local amenities.

And there are still more homes to be built so the above will only get worse.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How bad it smells, how bad the traffic is, how unclean the surrounding areas are, how bad the transport links are and how much sand blows onto the development.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They are non existent and ignore every email. Too lazy to actually deal with any issues.

1
Facilities
3
Design
1
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great quality, great location, underwhelming management

Look, this is a mixed bag here. The development is of excellent quality and given its quality and location it is very well priced. On the minus side, the property management is quite terrible.
The buildings are built to the highest standard. The materials are top quality, as well as amenities and facilities (dishwasher, oven, washing machine etc.). Most importantly, the air circulation systems is absolutely fantastic. It works miracles: no humidity in bathrooms or anywhere really. I’ve lived in numerous houses and apartments in the UK before and I learned that humidity and mould are often and issue, even in new builds. I’m very happy to report, that nothing like that is happening over here. Apartments are fry and very well ventilated. I also enjoy the floor heating system. TBH, you don’t need to use much heating, since the aparments are well isolated (and well ventilated at the same time). Great job on this!

The property management is a big problem here. It is very difficult, often impossible to get anything done. There is no clear hierarchy of resposibilities within L&Q management, so whatever you do, they may simply never reply. The lady at the L&Q helpline once gave me a bunch of false information, simple because she could: she is not resposible for anything. She also said someone will get back to me within five working days, as this is their policy. Nobody ever got back to me.
Unfortunately, this has consequnces, also on property’s security. There has been a few bike thefts in the property in the past. They were never solved, because the L&Q took weeks to reply to any request: the CCTV footage was deleted. On other occasion the CCTV was swtiched off for a month and nobody noticed until some bikes were stolen. Nobody is able to say who swtiched it off and nobody is resposible for anything.
A few months ago we got quite a substantial service charge increase. We’ve protested that and asked for justification. We never got any reply. This is extremely unprofessional.
This is not a one-off problem but a systematic policy by the L&Q: to ditch any requests from tenants. Sometimes you get someone inside L&Q who genuinely wants to help, but they are never able to get anywhere.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The development very well located. It is on the Isle of Dogs, which is self-contained neighbourhood with everything you need just within a walking distance. There are good schools, shops, parks, all sorts of activities for adults and children alike (like swimming, ballet, martial arts etc., even watersports) as well as nightlife in Canary Wharf area. The area has excellent location to the city centre on a Jubilee Line.
It is quite walk to the Jubilee station, count 15 minutes, but from there it’s just a few minutes to London Bridge and a few more to Westminster.
The single biggest issue with the area is the waste management. I think it is the Tower Hamlets council that is at fault here. The area has often tons of rubbish lying on streets and flying around. This is absolutely most horrible around Asda. And nobody seems to care.
The New Union Wharf has also its own waste management problem: the bins are underground and the council needs special trucks to empty them. Those trucks are often broken and waste is not being collected. Once, we had to wait six weeks for waste collection, can you imagine?!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

When chosing this development it is clearly better to go for a smaller building. Bike thefts are targeted at the tall towers, and in tall towers there seems to be much higher chance of ASB. In smaller building you quickly get to know each other and can be more effective.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The policy is to not respond at all or respond very late. Please see my comments above.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Load More