London City Island, E14

By
EcoWorld, Ballymore Group
1st
Ranked 1st out of 11 in Poplar
4.41 (95 reviews) 4.41 (95 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.54
Facilities
4.47
Design
4.34
Location
4.16
Value
4.09
Management

Excellent

54%

Very Good

44%

Average

2%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

London City Island is a mixed-use 12-acre neighbourhood from EcoWorld and Ballymore. It includes Manhattan-style apartments, and the City Island Social Club. Both of these overlook the River Thames. As well as a wide variety of other amenities, and the English national ballet now headquarters here.  Furthermore, it is close to Canning Town station. This is served by the Jubilee line and DLR services. Buses also run to and from the island.

Read more Read less
Available properties
Show all
For sale
To rent
From £653,790
2 Bedroom Apartment
2 Bed
2 Bath
815 sq ft
Ballymore
More info
From £886,000
3 Bedroom Apartment
3 Bed
3 Bath
973 sq ft
Ballymore
More info
From £1,450,000
Town House
3 Bed
3 Bath
2514 sq ft
Ballymore
More info

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Showing 92 reviews
Write a Review Upload Photos

Superb development with great facilities.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

I have been a resident at LCI for over three years, and on the whole it offers fantastic value for money (on the assumption the facilities are up and running by the time you are reading this!). Now that Good Luck Hope has opened up (4-5 min walk from LCI) we have access to 2X pools, 2X spas, 2X gyms, 2X lounges… you get the idea! The management on the whole is very good, although there have been some issues such as intercoms not working which have taken far longer than would be considered a reasonable timeframe to resolve. The community spirit is one of the best things about the island, and this has been reinforced through events held by the Lockdown Room… Christmas Markets, social events etc. The flats themselves are of a high standard, although there are aspects that I feel had not been fully thought through.The floors are also not the highest quality and mark easily. Overall, LCI is a superb place to live and I doubt you will find better for the money in zone 2/3.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Selection of shops & restaurants have greatly improved this year. Sainsbury’s is directly on the island, and there is a large Morrisons just 5 minutes walk away. Homestead is highly recommended for high quality, fresh produce. There will be a bar and restaurant opening once restrictions are eased. The lockdown room is amazing for food, drinks and music. Canning Town station is a 5< minute walk from the island. There are also some peaceful ecology parks a short walk from the island.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be wary about sunlight when selecting a flat. Those with direct sunlight throughout the day get excessively warm. This advice is aimed at those flat that do not have comfort cooling.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Response is usually within a few days. Some issues take longer than expected to resolve, but overall building management is good.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Jay,

Thank you for your review and it is great to hear your feedback on London City Island. We appreciate your kind words regarding our facilities and I’m happy you have been supporting the commercial changes that took place during 2020 such as the Farmers Markets.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss further the issues you have experienced in your apartment. You can contact me via the LCI life app by raising a ticket for my attention.

Kind Regards

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

Good as it’s new but might not stand the test of time

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Good design and facilities. Overall very modern and new so no issues have been flagged yet. However there have been some issues with installation of equipment and leaks and property management has been very slow with responding. A few areas (mailboxes) are starting to wear down and these have yet to be fixed.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Good and reliable transport links . The neighborhood other than the development isn’t very good though.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I had known about communal energy fees, for which we cannot change providers.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have been quite slow with reacting to issues but this is probably due to slow responses between management and the real estate agents.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Chrissy,

Many thanks for your Homeviews review about London City Island.

We are delighted to hear you are enjoying the neighbourhood on the island and the great reliable transport links that the resort has to offer.

I’d be happy to discuss with you regarding the issues you have experienced and where we can improve our response times and efficiencies.
Please feel free to raise a ticket via the app for my attention and I’d be happy to pick this up.

I wish you the very best and we look forward to welcoming you to the upcoming community activities on the island.

Kind Regards
Dan Cross
Resort Director

Good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

Good overall. But the look of the buildings are lack of creativity. The facilities and management team is very good. I can submit my query through the ballymore application and the team will respond to my query within a day. I had to arrange for light fixings once and that was well sorted

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I particularly like the cafe and the gym of the development. It’s convenient and got a high standard. We have got bus stops and underground close to the developments, so the range of public transports we can choose from is brilliant.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The room temperature in summer is boiling hot. Need to get prepared and buy a portable air con before summer

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I live in a building without air-conditioning and we only got the door to the balcony but no windows

5
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear HZ,

We are grateful for your feedback and we are delighted you are enjoying the LCI Life App, our communication network here on the island. Additionally, we are happy you feel looked after by our teams in the facilities onsite.

The Hospitality and Gym on the island have both been big hits for our residents, but there is still so much more to come as well, so hopefully your living experience will get even better.

I understand you have been having issues with the temperature at times in the building, if you’d like to speak with me in more detail about this, feel free to raise a ticket via your app and I’d be happy to be of assistance.

Kind Regards
Dan Cross
Resort Director

A well-rounded place to call home!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

What this development is great at providing is easy access to amazing transport links. Canning Town Station is right on my doorstep, making travel to business districts like Canary Wharf quick and easy! The Excel Exhibition Centre is also only moments away.

Although easy access to transport provides great convenience, it comes at the expense of peace and quiet. It’s close proximity creates a lot of noise as trains frequently arrive and depart at Canning Town.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The good things include very close access to Canning Town Underground station and the Excel Exhibition Centre. The close proximity to the underground however means that the surrounding area is very noisy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There isn’t really anything I wish I had known before moving in since I was already quite adequately prepared.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Currently, I have not raised any problems with management so I have yet to experience their response.

3
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
3
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Antonio,

We are happy to hear you are enjoying London City Islands transport links and top spots local to us. Additionally, we are due some more exciting hospitality and retail options to be opening right here on the island as well.
We are delighted you were prepared when you moved in and had a good idea what to expect from the resort, however if you do have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact me, by raising a ticket on the app.

Kind regards

Dan Cross

Resort Director

Lci review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jul 2021

London city island is a really nice development with a great community which is rare to find in new builds. It’s almost like a small town in itself which you don’t have to leave if you don’t want to as everything is conveniently around. Shops, spas, gyms and more is just a few of the things that are super close to home.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I love the area and the location. It’s very well connected by dlr and underground and easy to get an uber if needed.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I would have known how lively and vibrant the place is so I could have brought my frienda along.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I hven’t had any issues so far, so there was nothing to respond to

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear JV,

Many thanks for your review on Home Views, we are delighted to hear from you and to understand you are enjoying our great community and local businesses. It’s also great to hear you have been taking advantage of our onsite resident facilities such as the Gyms and Spa.

We are glad you are enjoying the location of London City Island, and we share your appreciation of the convenient transport links to get you anywhere you need.

I can totally see why you’d love to showcase the island to your friends, so why don’t you? There’s always room for more in the community!

Kind Regards

Dan Cross

Resort Director

Brand new, peaceful and green!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

I live in Java House that is the tiniest building on the island but I love it.
The development has a very nice look and it is really well-done. The flats are very well-insulated (the heating in my flat is on very very rarely only in the coldest couple of months) and are super bright (windows are huge).
The main entrance and the hallways are elegant.
The building has a parking space for the bikes and a room for the recycling bins.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I moved to London City Island in March 2020 at the beginning of the pandemic so probably I did not really see all of its potentials. However, so far, my experience in LCI has been great, peaceful, and very comfortable. 1. Transports & commuting – London City Island is very well-connected. DLR and Jubilee lines are very recent and fast and bring me everywhere very quickly. Also, buses are available and 2. Local shops – In the island we have different stores (a couple of coffee bar, a plant store, a chocolaterie), a supermarket (a small Sainsbury that is always helpful to have just downstairs and a very big Morrisons that has good quality products and good prices) and many others are opening in the near future. 3. Restaurants – There is an extremely good restaurant that makes its own pasta and Italian cuisine and many more restaurants will open soon. 4. Parking – The island offers 2 big parking spaces. 5. Traffic – The traffic in the island is close to 0 and it is very safe to walk around, go jogging in the island. The only cars we have, are simply going to/from the parking space. 6. Bin collections – This is one very important factor: every house has its own private bins area so the streets are clean and there is no unpleasant smell. Every street and garden has its own recycling bins and dog poo bins that is very important. 7. Anti-social behaviour – In the island I have always felt safe in every moment and every place. There are cameras everywhere and security guards are always going around. The only time I heard something happened, the guards came immediately. 8. Green and gardens – London City Island has amazing and well-maintained gardens that are blooming most of the year. It is awesome to relax in the garden, close to the river, and workout outdoors. Furthermore, just on the other side of the river, there is the Bow Creek Ecological park that adds more green and is always nice to look at. 9. Facilities – The island offers 2 good gyms (not simple hotel gyms, but real gyms with complete and good gym equipment), an indoor pool that I love, an outdoor pool, and a sauna.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Actually nothing much. I had a very good viewing and don’t have anything to highlight in here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes. I have reported a few things that happened and received a quick answer.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  London City Island, E14
User submitted image of  London City Island, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Francesco,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of living at London City Island, your kind words are greatly appreciated.

We are delighted you are enjoying the features of Java House, its facilities, and location for transport links and that you have been able to take advantage of these despite the challenges experienced over the last 12 months. We are also happy to hear that you are enjoying the gardens, peacefulness, and efficiency of the servicing of the Island’s communal services.

Thank you for recognising the setup we have in both the London City Island and Goodluck Hope health clubs, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

Ask more questions before moving in!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

 Letting agents are very vague about information when moving in, causing months of problems.
Construction workers spit everywhere, don’t where a mask and congregate in the complex drinking (not socially distance).
Since being here I have yet to see any diverse promotional material or members of staff. Ballymore have used promotion material of all white people around the complex when we are in one of the most diverse boroughs in the world.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Constantly solicited for drugs in and around the complex, police visit quite frequently.
Sadly lessons from last year’s Black Lives Matter have not been seen here. Several encounters with neighbours who are hostile, stare at my hair, don’t say hello back, are unwelcoming. I find there to be a spectrum of unconscious to conscious biases and anti-Blackness

To me it appears that the Managing Director allow white neighbours to weekly congregate in the square breaking covid rules but don’t allow Black residents to do the same.
The floor to ceiling doors are lovely but terrible drafts. Constantly having workmen tell us there are structural problems which the Letting Agents deny. Nevertheless we pay more in energy because of the draft.
Por communication between letting agents and LCI where servicing is almost 6 months overdue.
Living on the island means you get high winds. It gets extremely noisy. The air pressure causes headaches and ears to pop.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Check the water pressure
Check for drafts
Get your own meter reading
Check the bed we slept on a broken bed for 4 weeks
Speak with neighbours

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The draft coming from the doors and the letting agent.
The gym booking system
The lack of diversity in senior staff and in promotional materials

3
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Seyi A,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your living experience.

I am sorry to hear of a number of concerns you are experiencing with your letting agent. I am certainly happy to reach out to them to understand the issues you have raised and see if there is more that they can do to resolve the elements within your review surrounding the draughts within the apartment & damaged bed.

I would be happy to meet with you to discuss your raised issues surrounding your feeling of community on the Island. Please send me a direct communication via the LCI Life app and I would be happy to arrange a suitable time to meet.

Kind regards
Dan Cross
Resort Director

Mini-manhatten

Review Date Feb 2021

Flat is designed nicely, constant sunlight and now too loud from the nearby train station. The flat came fully furnished, kind of like moving into a hotel room which was convinient. The views are good too. Looking forward to more things being open, hopefully soon.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s very much it’s own little island, mini Manhatten vibes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Perhaps more information on how the postal service works.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Maybe I’d recommend the letting agency, I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt due to the unusual circumstances we’re all in.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Paris,

We are grateful for your review on London City Island via HomeViews. We appreciate your kind words and happy to hear you are enjoying the unique design, location, and views.

We share your excitement for the additional retail and hospitality options due to open over the months ahead, which will further improve on the existing commercial portfolio we have on our island.

We appreciate your feedback about supplying more information on the parcel handling services, it is certainly something we will consider going forward.

Kind regards

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

LCI review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Love the design & layout of the island. Facilities are great. The gym & pool, could have been bigger to cater for the number of residents.
Better control of vehicles coming in & out of the development & parked in the development would be great too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the area because of its historic past.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Windows in bedroom instead of just a door

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Window in my bedroom instead of just a door

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  London City Island, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sokari,

Thank you for your feedback on HomeViews and we are delighted to hear you are enjoying the design, layout, and facilities available to our residents. We are also happy to hear you are taking advantage of the local area and its historic values, and we look forward to further local businesses and amenities joining our existing portfolio shortly.

Many thanks for your feedback in relation to the door in your bedroom, it will certainly be fed back to the design team for consideration on future projects. I’d also be happy to pick up with you separately your feedback on ways we can improve the vehicles and parking on the development for the benefit of all residents and visitors.

Please raise a ticket via the app, and I would be happy to reach out to you.

Kind Regards,

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

Great location and amenities

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The support from the management team is awesome especially the parcel room it’s very convenient and the staff are so organised I know my parcel are safe with them, the flat is design is good but there is a lot of unused space which could be used for more storage especially in the kitchen.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location and amenities are really convenient, I do find it to be quite nosy though people screaming, loud music etc late at night more often than expected.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

It would be nice if the kitchen had more storage perhaps an island as there is a lot of empty floor space.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your kind words relating to London City Island and for completing this review on HomeViews. We are grateful for your acknowledgment of the work the parcel handling staff do to provide as efficient service as possible as well as the support you received from the management team. Thank you for your feedback on the design of the apartments, we will ensure it is passed onto the design team for consideration with future projects.

I’d be happy to discuss with you the points raised regarding noise that you are experiencing late at night, so we can look at ways we can improve this. Please feel free to raise a ticket via the App for my attention and I’ll be in touch to discuss possible solutions.

Kind regards,

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

Great place to live in East London

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Exterior design of the buildings are pretty good. It provide scenic view from outside. Gym and pool facilities quite good. Building management is awesome. Always helpful and prompt when you have an issue. Only negative thing I can say is the buildings has poor sound insulation. If you are facing to Canning Town station. Noise from train tracks quite annoying.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location and very good community in the LCI. Lots of activities and gatherings to socialise with others. Nice path to walk around the river Thames. Quick access to zone 1 and Stratford.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I was aware of how noisy train tracks then we would hire a place facing opposite side.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We get responded very quickly when we had a few issues.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  London City Island, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear E Dogan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of London City Island on Homeviews, and we are happy to hear you are enjoying your living experience, as well as enjoying the great location, community engagement, and design/facilities of the resort.

We also appreciate your comments that the building management has been efficient for you and prompt in handling anything you have raised with us, the team will be happy to hear this feedback.

Kind Regards

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14

Facilities

Bike Parking

Bike Parking

On Site Cafe

On Site Cafe

Cinema

Cinema

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Communal Gardens

Communal Gardens

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Pet Friendly

Pet Friendly

Play Area

Play Area

Resident Events

Resident Events

Retail on Site

Retail on Site

Security

Security

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by EcoWorld

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Ballymore Group

Location

Ballymore Group
Number of developments 14

4.11

Average rating based on 435 reviews

View company
EcoWorld
Number of developments 8

4.26

Average rating based on 313 reviews

View company