London City Island, E14

By
EcoWorld, Ballymore Group
1st
Ranked 1st out of 15 in Poplar
4.45 (90 reviews) 4.45 (90 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Excellent
This development has a high number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.57
Facilities
4.51
Design
4.36
Location
4.20
Value
4.13
Management

Excellent

54%

Very Good

44%

Average

1%

Disappointing

0%

Very Poor

0%

London City Island is a mixed-use 12-acre neighbourhood from EcoWorld and Ballymore. It includes a central square, commercial units, parkland, Manhattan-style apartments, and the City Island Social Club, all overlooking the River Thames and the River Lea. It’s now home to the English National Ballet, and offers excellent transport links out of Canning Town station.

A unique variety of properties and amenities are on offer on City Island. London’s creatives and corporate types can all find something to love about this thriving new community just east of Canary Wharf.

What is London City Island?

London City Island is a new neighbourhood on a peninsula of land located between Canary Wharf and Canning Town, on the River Lea. This unique new development includes Manhattan-style apartments, as well as a wide variety of amenities. The English National Ballet is now headquartered on the Island, and Bow Creek Ecology Park is just across the river.

How do you get to City Island London?

The closest station for getting to City Island London is Canning Town. This is in zone 2/3. A short walk over a footbridge across the River Lea brings you to London City Island in a matter of minutes. Canning Town station is served by the Jubilee line and DLR services, while buses also run to and from the Island.

Schools on London City Island

There is only one school on London City Island itself: the Faraday School in Trinity Buoy Wharf. This is a fee-paying primary school. Other schools nearby in Canning Town include Hallsville Primary School and St Luke’s Primary. Both of these were rated ‘Outstanding’ by Ofsted.

Is London City Island safe?

London City Island is a safe place to live. It is mainly populated by professionals working nearby in Canary Wharf. The crime rate in 2019 was 11 crimes per 1,000 people, which around the average for London.

City Island London reviews

The buildings in different colours add a distinct personality to this development. Management’s very friendly and helpful and while some areas are still being completed, eventually different sorts of shops will be available within the premises, making it a place with a lot of potential in the near future. 
– Juan, Verified resident, Sept 2020

It feels an oasis within the hustle and bustle of the city. Perfect connections (12 minutes to Big Ben, less than 20 to Hyde Park), and yet the moment when you cross the bridge peace and quiet descend on you.
– A, Verified Resident, May 2020

I find LCI perfect for young professionals with the amenities it offers. It is great having a gym and an outdoors heated pool on site, and the Italian restaurant downstairs offers the tastiest pizza I’ve had in London!
– P.T. Verified Resident, May 2020

Read more Read less

Reviews

All Reviewers
Owners
Private Tenants
Property Pros
Visitors/Viewers
Verified
Housing Association Tenants
Showing 86 reviews
Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Superb development with great facilities.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

I have been a resident at LCI for over three years, and on the whole it offers fantastic value for money (on the assumption the facilities are up and running by the time you are reading this!). Now that Good Luck Hope has opened up (4-5 min walk from LCI) we have access to 2X pools, 2X spas, 2X gyms, 2X lounges… you get the idea! The management on the whole is very good, although there have been some issues such as intercoms not working which have taken far longer than would be considered a reasonable timeframe to resolve. The community spirit is one of the best things about the island, and this has been reinforced through events held by the Lockdown Room… Christmas Markets, social events etc. The flats themselves are of a high standard, although there are aspects that I feel had not been fully thought through.The floors are also not the highest quality and mark easily. Overall, LCI is a superb place to live and I doubt you will find better for the money in zone 2/3.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Selection of shops & restaurants have greatly improved this year. Sainsbury’s is directly on the island, and there is a large Morrisons just 5 minutes walk away. Homestead is highly recommended for high quality, fresh produce. There will be a bar and restaurant opening once restrictions are eased. The lockdown room is amazing for food, drinks and music. Canning Town station is a 5< minute walk from the island. There are also some peaceful ecology parks a short walk from the island.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be wary about sunlight when selecting a flat. Those with direct sunlight throughout the day get excessively warm. This advice is aimed at those flat that do not have comfort cooling.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Response is usually within a few days. Some issues take longer than expected to resolve, but overall building management is good.

5
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Jay,

Thank you for your review and it is great to hear your feedback on London City Island. We appreciate your kind words regarding our facilities and I’m happy you have been supporting the commercial changes that took place during 2020 such as the Farmers Markets.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss further the issues you have experienced in your apartment. You can contact me via the LCI life app by raising a ticket for my attention.

Kind Regards

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

Brand new, peaceful and green!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

I live in Java House that is the tiniest building on the island but I love it.
The development has a very nice look and it is really well-done. The flats are very well-insulated (the heating in my flat is on very very rarely only in the coldest couple of months) and are super bright (windows are huge).
The main entrance and the hallways are elegant.
The building has a parking space for the bikes and a room for the recycling bins.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I moved to London City Island in March 2020 at the beginning of the pandemic so probably I did not really see all of its potentials. However, so far, my experience in LCI has been great, peaceful, and very comfortable. 1. Transports & commuting – London City Island is very well-connected. DLR and Jubilee lines are very recent and fast and bring me everywhere very quickly. Also, buses are available and 2. Local shops – In the island we have different stores (a couple of coffee bar, a plant store, a chocolaterie), a supermarket (a small Sainsbury that is always helpful to have just downstairs and a very big Morrisons that has good quality products and good prices) and many others are opening in the near future. 3. Restaurants – There is an extremely good restaurant that makes its own pasta and Italian cuisine and many more restaurants will open soon. 4. Parking – The island offers 2 big parking spaces. 5. Traffic – The traffic in the island is close to 0 and it is very safe to walk around, go jogging in the island. The only cars we have, are simply going to/from the parking space. 6. Bin collections – This is one very important factor: every house has its own private bins area so the streets are clean and there is no unpleasant smell. Every street and garden has its own recycling bins and dog poo bins that is very important. 7. Anti-social behaviour – In the island I have always felt safe in every moment and every place. There are cameras everywhere and security guards are always going around. The only time I heard something happened, the guards came immediately. 8. Green and gardens – London City Island has amazing and well-maintained gardens that are blooming most of the year. It is awesome to relax in the garden, close to the river, and workout outdoors. Furthermore, just on the other side of the river, there is the Bow Creek Ecological park that adds more green and is always nice to look at. 9. Facilities – The island offers 2 good gyms (not simple hotel gyms, but real gyms with complete and good gym equipment), an indoor pool that I love, an outdoor pool, and a sauna.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Actually nothing much. I had a very good viewing and don’t have anything to highlight in here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes. I have reported a few things that happened and received a quick answer.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  London City Island, E14
User submitted image of  London City Island, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Francesco,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of living at London City Island, your kind words are greatly appreciated.

We are delighted you are enjoying the features of Java House, its facilities, and location for transport links and that you have been able to take advantage of these despite the challenges experienced over the last 12 months. We are also happy to hear that you are enjoying the gardens, peacefulness, and efficiency of the servicing of the Island’s communal services.

Thank you for recognising the setup we have in both the London City Island and Goodluck Hope health clubs, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

Mini-manhatten

Review Date Feb 2021

Flat is designed nicely, constant sunlight and now too loud from the nearby train station. The flat came fully furnished, kind of like moving into a hotel room which was convinient. The views are good too. Looking forward to more things being open, hopefully soon.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s very much it’s own little island, mini Manhatten vibes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Perhaps more information on how the postal service works.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Maybe I’d recommend the letting agency, I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt due to the unusual circumstances we’re all in.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Paris,

We are grateful for your review on London City Island via HomeViews. We appreciate your kind words and happy to hear you are enjoying the unique design, location, and views.

We share your excitement for the additional retail and hospitality options due to open over the months ahead, which will further improve on the existing commercial portfolio we have on our island.

We appreciate your feedback about supplying more information on the parcel handling services, it is certainly something we will consider going forward.

Kind regards

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

LCI review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Love the design & layout of the island. Facilities are great. The gym & pool, could have been bigger to cater for the number of residents.
Better control of vehicles coming in & out of the development & parked in the development would be great too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the area because of its historic past.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Windows in bedroom instead of just a door

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Window in my bedroom instead of just a door

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  London City Island, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sokari,

Thank you for your feedback on HomeViews and we are delighted to hear you are enjoying the design, layout, and facilities available to our residents. We are also happy to hear you are taking advantage of the local area and its historic values, and we look forward to further local businesses and amenities joining our existing portfolio shortly.

Many thanks for your feedback in relation to the door in your bedroom, it will certainly be fed back to the design team for consideration on future projects. I’d also be happy to pick up with you separately your feedback on ways we can improve the vehicles and parking on the development for the benefit of all residents and visitors.

Please raise a ticket via the app, and I would be happy to reach out to you.

Kind Regards,

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

Great location and amenities

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The support from the management team is awesome especially the parcel room it’s very convenient and the staff are so organised I know my parcel are safe with them, the flat is design is good but there is a lot of unused space which could be used for more storage especially in the kitchen.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location and amenities are really convenient, I do find it to be quite nosy though people screaming, loud music etc late at night more often than expected.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

None.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

It would be nice if the kitchen had more storage perhaps an island as there is a lot of empty floor space.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your kind words relating to London City Island and for completing this review on HomeViews. We are grateful for your acknowledgment of the work the parcel handling staff do to provide as efficient service as possible as well as the support you received from the management team. Thank you for your feedback on the design of the apartments, we will ensure it is passed onto the design team for consideration with future projects.

I’d be happy to discuss with you the points raised regarding noise that you are experiencing late at night, so we can look at ways we can improve this. Please feel free to raise a ticket via the App for my attention and I’ll be in touch to discuss possible solutions.

Kind regards,

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

Great place to live in East London

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Exterior design of the buildings are pretty good. It provide scenic view from outside. Gym and pool facilities quite good. Building management is awesome. Always helpful and prompt when you have an issue. Only negative thing I can say is the buildings has poor sound insulation. If you are facing to Canning Town station. Noise from train tracks quite annoying.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location and very good community in the LCI. Lots of activities and gatherings to socialise with others. Nice path to walk around the river Thames. Quick access to zone 1 and Stratford.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I was aware of how noisy train tracks then we would hire a place facing opposite side.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We get responded very quickly when we had a few issues.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
5
Management
User submitted image of  London City Island, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear E Dogan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of London City Island on Homeviews, and we are happy to hear you are enjoying your living experience, as well as enjoying the great location, community engagement, and design/facilities of the resort.

We also appreciate your comments that the building management has been efficient for you and prompt in handling anything you have raised with us, the team will be happy to hear this feedback.

Kind Regards

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

Great location and modern design

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

One of the stand out features of City Island is the design – bright colors, variety in the design of buildings and grounds + a unique location. This also has lead to a fairly unique (for London) new community atmosphere being developed whereby residents are engaged in the Island life and events etc…

The buildings are all very modern in design and functional. The quality of the apartments is good but some of the common areas could be slightly better. Everything you need on a day to day basis is here. The newer buildings (phase B) have additional features like air conditioning. Car parking is limited and expensive to buy but located conveniently. The grounds are very nice and well kept with nice locations to go and sit/walk outside. It can be quite windy on the island – likely caused by the buildings funneling the air.

The facilities are all good but the gym space at City Island could be larger given the number of residents – however there is now reciprocal access with Good Luck Hope that has improved this. The parcel receiving house and concierge are both useful. The property management is acceptable but could be better – though I feel this will come with time and the Residents association have been doing a good job at improving this.

There are an increasing number of shops and eating locations at City Island (though slightly slowed in opening by COVID) – Having Sainsbury’s onsite is very helpful – and this should add a lot to the experience once all opened.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

City Island is a very well connected location – next to Canning Town station (with direct link bridge) so easy access to Jubilee Line and DLR. There are local buses from the Island as well if you use the bus. In terms of road your near the A13 going east and Limehouse link into central London. In coming years there will be Elizabeth Line stations nearby at Custom House and Canary Wharf + Silvertown tunnel to south London. There is an increasing number of shops and restaurants opening in the Island itself and also in the Canning Town re-development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

One thing to consider is that the individual buildings at City Island all have there own (different) characteristics – so you may well get quite a different experience between being in one building and another both from the design of the flat to common areas and features i.e. having air condition and balcony design.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I only had a few glitches post completion and they have all be sorted out efficiently by aftercare.
The communal areas have had a few issues that seem to have been slower to rectify but stuff is being sorted slowly.

4
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Sender,

Thank you for your feedback on Homeviews, and we appreciate your kind words in relation to the design, community atmosphere, and island life/events. We are also delighted the new Goodluck Hope gym has helped to make our leisure facilities, better and more easily available to residents, and we look forward to opening further facilities in the future.

I am glad you are finding the local area great for transport, retail, and hospitality options, which are only going to get better over the next 12 months.

I’d be happy to speak with you in relation to where you feel the property management can improve, therefore if you can raise an LCI Life ticket for my attention, I’ll certainly get in touch.

Kind Regards,

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

A partially disappointing purchase.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Poor control of unauthorised parking.
Too many people walking through development who are not residents.
Access to internal door/ lifts is not key fob protected and non residents easily gain access to block by “tailgating “.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Convenient transport links.
Limited local food shopping only with no other useful local shops.
Very few good standard restaurants or cafes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We were not told how poorly distributed the actual living space would be in our apartment.
We also were not told that there would be an entire block of social housing within the development.

What is the best feature of your home:

The current views of the city and of the Thames although we expect the view to be obscured in the future by the extent of surrounding developments.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Miranda

I appreciate your time in completing your HomeViews review and providing feedback to the team.

We would love to understand more on your areas that you have highlighted in relation to the parking & tailgating into the buildings. Please get in touch via the LCI life app so we can arrange a convenient time to discuss. You will be pleased to know that there are plans for a number of other restaurants and commercial outlets on the Island over the next 12 months.

Kind regards

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

LCI review

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

The design of the development is great and takes the concept of living in a mini Manhattan.
Facilities when they were in use are great, having options for two gyms, two swimming pools, a cinema room, two business lounges. The property is kept clean and the landscape gardening is well kept also. It feels like a holiday when it’s the summer. The restaurant with the outside terrace is amazing.
Having a postal room is a great benefit and the staff at the development are very nice and helpful.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have lived in this area for the past 12 years as lived over in East India, and this is by far the best development I have lived in. The community is great, although some retail shops have not come through yet.
Transport links are great with the tube station within a 5 minute walk as well as the D3 bus.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew of the storage space available in the apartment as I bought off-plan. And during my reservation, I wasn’t aware of the sister development Goodluck Hope, as the buildings have taken away the view of the Thames and O2.

What is the best feature of your home:

Overall build quality is good and is quite warm even during the winter months.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
User submitted image of  London City Island, E14
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear D Patel,

Thank you very much for your time in completing this HomeViews review and your feedback around the facilities & the staff. We will ensure that this information is shared with our teams as it is great to be recognised for the hard work and service they provide.

We will continue to enhance the community aspect throughout 2021 once restrictions allow.

Kind regards

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

Would recommend

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Positive:
– Modern
– New
– Luxurious and stylish buildings
– Has all the amenities you need

Negative:
– It was very costly to join the gym
– The gym and pool is relatively small
– Constructions are still on going and could be disruptive at times

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The building has great amenities and have got everything you need (gyms, shops, supermarkets, etc) and great transport link with a short distance to Canning Town station. It’s also surrounded by many parks so it’s great if you want to go for a walk or run. Area is quite safe, have lived here for 1.5 years with no problem with safety at all.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

nothing – everything is as expected

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would add an aircon as it gets really hot in summer

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Judith,

Thank you so much for taking time to provide your feedback on your experience of living on the Island over the past year & a half.
We agree that the amenities are great and will continue to increase throughout 2021. Construction is due to complete before the year is out which we are all looking forward too. We do charge a one-off fee for your health club induction which now includes Goodluck Hope in which you can enjoy once restrictions are lifted.

We take the safety of our residents very seriously so glad that you have recognised this & will pass this feedback to our team.

Kind regards

Dan Cross
Resort Director

London city island state of mind

Review Date Feb 2021

Modena house is amazing, really instagrammable. The interior designer did their job really good. The design of the buildings is awesome, the view breathtaking. One of the best neighbourhood that I have seen in London so far. I cannot wait for the football pitch!

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Everything here is fantastic! Nice grocery stores, the tube and DLR really close. The privacy that I have in this area is amazing!

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I would have known the construction of the football pitch. It could be something more to say.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We had some problem with the lights in the kitchen and the management has been really kind and useful

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Manager Response

Dear Vincenzo,

Thank you so much for your review of London City Island. We are also very excited about the rooftop sports pitch due to be completed later this year. This will offer a selection of sports activities as well as opportunities to host other events when restrictions allow.

Kind regards,

Dan Cross
Resort Director
London City Island

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Resident photos

User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14
User submitted image of London City Island, E14

Facilities

Cinema

Cinema

Concierge

Concierge

Garden

Garden

Gym

Gym

Lounge

Lounge

Parking

Parking

Play Area

Play Area

Swimming Pool

Swimming Pool

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by EcoWorld

Also by these companies

Explore other developments by Ballymore Group

Location

Ballymore Group
Number of developments 13

4.06

Average rating based on 321 reviews

View company
EcoWorld
Number of developments 8

4.26

Average rating based on 208 reviews

View company