London City Island, E14

3rd

Ranked 3rd out of 12 in Poplar

By Ballymore Group & EcoWorld

4.22

(158 reviews)

London City Island is a mixed-use 12-acre neighbourhood from EcoWorld and Ballymore. It includes Manhattan-style apartments, and the City Island Social Club. Both of these overlook the River Thames. As well as a wide variety of other amenities, and the English national ballet now headquarters here. Furthermore, it is close to Canning Town station. This is served by the Jubilee line and DLR services. Buses also run to and from the island.

Facilities

  • Bike storage

  • Cinema room

  • Communal gardens

  • Concierge

  • Gym

  • Lounge

  • Onsite cafe

  • Parking

  • Pet friendly

  • Play area

  • Resident events

  • Security features

  • Swimming pool

Awards

  • Excellence Award: 2022

  • Company logo for Ballymore Group
  • Company logo for EcoWorld

Latest Reviews

4.22

158 total reviews

Stats

Overall

4.32

Facilities

4.32

Design

4.27

Location

4.22

Value

3.91

Management

3.80

Viewing 1-5 out of 158
It’s the good life

Ash L (Tenant)

Verified Resident

May 2023

New builds, feels very secure, they have a great design, and look amazing. We are very happy with the style too inside the flat, with plenty of sunlight. We have all the facilities we would need and more. We can’t recommend it enough. If anything is broken, they will fix it and everyone is super friendly too so that helps!!!

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

It is a very safe place to live at with security in place. The facilities are incredible and you don’t have to go anywhere because you have it all on your door step, from bars to swimming pool, to gym, to cinema. The only negative would be that the surrounding area isn’t very nice and we don’t have many places to walk around.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Some delays but eventually all sorted when it comes to issues.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing really, all was great. For us, what sold it was the facilities, and the new builds.

5

Facilities

5

Design

4

Location

5

Value

5

Management


Horrible development - AVOID

Dave (Tenant)

Verified Resident

Jan 2024

Hot water and heating outages at least once a month. Outages could last over 12hrs or longer. Totally unacceptable when you pay this much rent. I absolutely hate to be a property owner paying huge service charges. No other development seems to have this issue.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Quiet and close to tube station. Good little coffee shop. It is lacking proper amenities like london bridge.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

If someone told me that there are monthly hot water/heating outages. I would have looked elsewhere in a massive hurry!!

What is the best feature of your home:

High rise, nice views. Not too busy development. Free access to gym.

1

Facilities

1

Design

5

Location

1

Value

2

Management


Stay away pure chaos and dysfunction

Jose M (Tenant)

Jul 2023

This place is appalling. The team “managing” it are unfortunately way out of their range of expertise. Facilities constantly broken. No hot water - I personally had no hot water for 30 days - reported to staff everyday they did nothing. It eventually transpired a remote upgrade by Ballymore without tenants consents triggered a flaw in multiple units which included heating coming on 24/7. So if you were away and thought your unit was turned off you came back to huge heating bill. Ballymore after months of chasing down finally admitted the flaw but never informed other residents. The issues were reported directly to *name removed* who made promises to put a system in place but never communicated it. I have now had a broken intercom for 15 months where people could dial into my apartment and listen. *name removed* and his team were notified on 12 occasions - 12 months on it is still not fixed. No understanding of safeguarding with staff either. Due to significant health and safety breaches they put residents at risk. I have lived at LCI for 3 years and the dysfunctional management is the main reason most people leave.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

Antisocial behaviour constantly Management do nothing. Very unsafe and insecure environment with staff giving out personal details to anyone who asks and intercoms not working.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The chaos of facilities not working - lack of security. They boast secure development. It is easily the most unsafe place I have ever lived.

What is the best feature of your home:

I can’t think of any features that make it a best feature. Homevirws get paid for this eve review by ballymore

1

Facilities

1

Design

1

Location

1

Value

1

Management


A slightly disappointing purchase.

Miranda (Owner)

Verified Resident

May 2023

We have been very disappointed with the small amount of living space inside our flat. In addition the car park spaces are too narrow. We know that the car parking spaces are just within a legal limit but they are too narrow for the majority of modern cars There are continual security problems within our block, which is Defoe House: 1) As already provided at Goodluck Hope we should have key fob only access to the lifts. Food delivery drivers are given access to the building at all times of day by residents and there are often large numbers of these delivery drivers in the lifts and corridors . This is an obvious security risk and it makes living in the block feel unsafe. Residents should be told to go down to the front door /lobby to collect their food deliveries There should also be an obvious warning notice on the front door to deter "tailgating". 2) Other delivery drivers are also somehow gaining access to the block and there is often an enormous number of parcels, some of which are very large and heavy, left in our letterbox room making access to individual letter boxes almost impossible. The regular street food sellers who visit the site are useful and much appreciated by many of us residents. There is a current problem for us which has resulted from the management imposing a ban on the pizza van. As residents we should not be dictated to about from whom and where we buy our pizzas !

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

There is easy access to Canning Town Station and very good transport links using underground and DLR from Canning Town station. The bus routes from Canning Town are less useful with only one bus going towards central London.Ther is also easy access to Canary Wharf on foot or via small D3 bus from Leamouth. There is a small Sainsburys Local store on site which is very convenient. If we cross the footbridge to canning Town there are further supermarkets: another Sainsburys Local store, a Co Op store and a Morrisons store. There is one very good art gallery and one independent clothes shop on site. There is also one pub and there are currently two cocktail bars. The National ballet building has a cafe on the ground floor which closes at 5 or 5.30pm. This leaves alot of unused ground floor commercial space which can feel depressing. The management should consider inviting artists to use these spaces to create a more vibrant atmosphere. We have a persistent problem with unauthorised parking despite the installation of a barrier at the road entrance to the site. We can clearly see the barrier from our flat at night and all the vehicles and motobikes which approach the barrier gain access with no obvious delay or checking. The unauthorised parking is undesirable and also unfair to residents like us who have paid Ballymore £30,000. for the "right" to use the onsite multistory car parks. We do not have any private green space and there is an increasing problem with dog owners who may or may not be residents on site. There is a large number of dogs and their owners use our very limited planted areas as dog toilets and dog exercise areas.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

We have reported the problem with the enormous number and size of the parcels left in our letterbox room via the concierge, but we are not aware of any specific action taken by the management. We have also raised the issue of key fob only access to the lifts in a previous Home views survey and the management has taken no action.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We did not know that our living space within the flat would be so small !

4

Facilities

4

Design

4

Location

2

Value

2

Management


Great lifestyle in London by the river

Emre M (Owner)

Verified Resident

May 2023

The design of the development is superb but the developer Ballymore needs to up its game in servicing the property at best value. So far, this is the only major issue. I lived here through Covid and it was a great experience without any major problems.

Please tell us about the good and bad aspects of living in your local area:

The area is very convenient in transport links to central London. It has all amenities either inside the development (restaurants, gyms, pools, jacuzzi etc) and also great places just outside. The area is being gentrified.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

They have responded but their responses are always inadaquate

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It is close to ungentried areas of east London. This is luckily slowly changing.

4

Facilities

5

Design

4

Location

5

Value

2

Management


Page 1 of 32

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

London City Island, E14

3rd

Ranked 3rd out of 12 in Poplar

More developments by Ballymore Group & EcoWorld