Hoola, E16

Hoola, E16

By
HUB Residential
Ranked 86th out of 155 in East London
4.01 (43 reviews) 4.01 (43 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Poor
This development has a low number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.00
Facilities
4.14
Design
4.07
Location
3.91
Value
3.38
Management

Hoola is a residential development by HUB Residential comprising of 360 apartments across two multi-storey towers. There are multiple transport links nearby including access to the DLR via Royal Victoria station only a 6-minute walk away as well as the nearby Emirates Air Line across the River Thames.

Read more Read less

Hoola, E16 Reviews

Write a Review Upload Photos

Poor service from the estate agency, but nice flat and development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

It’s a great development, very nice looking and newly built.
There has been some issues with breakage’s, floods, and air conditioning. In all cases I’ve contacted the agency, which is in charge of managing the development, and the service has been mediocre. They have been hard to reach and slow in response as well as in providing the service. However, it seems that their service has somehow improved more recently.
Inside the development there is a gym, a lounge and a playground which is nice to have.
The flat gets very warm in summer and we need to get all windows open all day and night long for ventilation, but it allows all the noise and the pollution in from the high street.
There is also no free parking available for residents, there is an underground parking in the development which is ridiculously expensive and would add up £400 to my rent. As an option I park nearby in a public parking space which is free although not supervised at night.
The main issue is presented when I need to load or unload my car and the only road I can leave my car on is the high street, where I got many tickets from for this reason.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is nice and quiet, with a lot of green apots around. On the down side, there is not much choice in terms of shops and amenities. There is a tesco at walking distance but I find it expensive.
The connection links provide a fairly good service, there is a DLR station nearby and Canning Town station is minutes away.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How warm the apartment becomes during the summer and how slow respive is the agency

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

It has not responded in a quick way and they took a long time to deal with the issue

5
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Hoola East Tower

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

The building and property management is below criticism. They have left us to our own devices during the coronavirus pandemic. Other developments in the area still provide concierge services, but ours have been suspended.
There have been big issues with the heating bills, which the building management operates.
The design of the building is good, although the quality questionably for a new build, with the walls cracking within 1 year of building.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is quiet and relatively well connected to central London and very well connected to Canary Wharf and LCY. There are not many amenities around or restaurants, with only a small Tesco shop in the immediate vicinity. Recently a larger supermarket has opened within a 15 minute walk, which is good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew that Strawberry Star are completely incompetent and will provide an amateur service.

What is the best feature of your home:

The view over the Tidal Basin, the layout of the flat and the spaciousness of the flat.

3
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great value stay in a modern setting

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

Structure – The building is quite modern with really good features and facilities but the circular shape of the building makes it really prone to cyclonic winds. Hence the amazing balconies could be rarely used

Apartments – But the building and the apartments are great and spacious, modern fittings and kitchen

Concierge – Very friendly concierge and supports for parcels, issues, etc. (not available now during C-19)

Management – Very structured management and follows up on evry issue flagged or spotted, At times a bit too much but it’s all for the safety of residents

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like – Nice residential area which is great during summer and we have all necessary shops and stores near by. Also the DLR is nearby

Dislike – The trains to the station (Royal Victoria) are 8 mins apart, so sometimes its quite challenging. Also this area is a cyclonic zone and very very windy all the time

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The windy area

What is the best feature of your home:

Spacious apartments with modern settings and fittings.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great place to live

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

Beautiful, modern flats of medium build quality. Some design issues, things like smells coming in the flat through the vents occasionally. Major quality issue with the louvres, some fell due to the wind. Management is working on fixing this issue.
Property management is the biggest weakness. The concierges are very friendly and nice, but the management team has handled some situations poorly in the past year. This has led to a constant state of conflict between residents and the management (residents communicate on facebook groups) that make the situation feel worse than it really is. Overall Hoola is a great place to live in: some friends of ours recently moved in on our recommendation.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great area, well connected with some nice bars and restaurants. A good place to walk around. A lack of good supermarkets in an increasingly populated area is a downside, but the opening of a morrisons 10 minites away by foot alleviates that

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Be aware that for now you are locked in with virgin as an internet provider. You will need to negociate a better contract every year. Be wary of strawberry star: they are untrustworthy at worst, unprofessional at best: double check your energy bills, your contracts, etc.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

More internet provider choices (currently only virgin is in the building). Other residents’ behaviour.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Peaceful and modern

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I love the Glass walls inside my apartment there are large Floor to ceiling windows which provide fantastic sunlight. I have a Spacious balcony.
Inside we have great Storage spaces.
There is also Floor heating which is so helpful during the winter.

Dislike
The shutters outside get quite loud (rattle) when very windy they Get very dusty

Quite hard to maintain temperature inside during the summer it can be around 20-25 degrees Celsius. During the winter it gets really cold.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
24 hour access to local Gym
24 hour security
Regularly maintained (cleaning of windows)
Dislikes
Can be quite loud during the night
Council tax can be quite pricey

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking is limited for visitors, no where for delivers to park.
Slow maintenance poor service

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Quite hard to maintain temperature inside during the summer it can be around 20-25 degrees Celsius. During the winter it gets really cold.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice view with docks

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

In my building there is 24 hour security which allows me to feel very comfortable and safe in my home. The apartment space itself has a beautiful layout and
Amazing views.
There is also a Specific dressing area which add to its modern feel.
I love the electronic applicants.
Unfortunately I have an In built wardrobe which I feel should be Deeper for example if you have a large coat the doors don’t close properly which can be a huge pain.

I would love a new large supermarket to open up nearby as we are limited to a Tesco’s which can only provide so much.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
Nice environment
Popular amongst tourists

Dislke
Transport is limited to just dlr
No big supermarket only Tesco which is quite limited
High service charge

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew the transport would be so limited as they only have the dlr

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

I would love a new large supermarket to open up nearby as we are limited to a Tesco’s which can only provide so much

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Place is nice but the customer service is poor

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I live with my family and my bedroom is large and very spacious, I was able to put on my style copping with the furniture there and I feel like is quite open so I can even walk around it. The window is big and I love to look up the ceiling and just view and enjoy it’s design.
The rest of the house is so cool, I am so glad that this is my home such a beautiful place and flat itself, the kitchen and living room are fabulous great places to socialise with family or friends.

I would change the floor tiles. Mine are white which can be such a pain to clean.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s close to central. Has a Tesco nearby which is convenient.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew that there would be limited parking for delivery

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change the floor tiles. Mine are white which can be such a pain to clean.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I absolutely love this place, it is a 10 out of 10.
Perfect area, perfect flat, feels like very welcoming and comfy place, a place I am very satisfied to call home.
It is so calm around and pretty clean.
In love to show off my place to friends and family and they really to come to as it is for sure a lovely place.

The building management are professional and attentive.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very calm and quiet.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Nothing, everything is nice.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No problems have been raised. They are very ptrofessional and attentive.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

My apartment is warm. My apartment design is modern and large. It is divided for 3 people and consists of 2 bedrooms. i have floor to ceiling windows which provides us with great sunlight throughout the day.
Unfortunately it gets quite hot and the windows don’t open very wide so it limits the air indoors.

I chose this development because I wanted to live close to my work which is a 15 min walk away from my apartment.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
Safe Neighbourhood
beautiful scenaery
great transport links into the city
great activities nearby

Dislkes
loud noises due to aeroplanes
gets very windy
no large supermarkets in the area

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish i knew there was Limited parking for visitors

Why did you choose this development:

I wanted to live close to my work which is a 15 min walk away from my apartment

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Really great transport connections

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

My home is very Modern and spacious. The appliances are Convenient and Practical. Whilst the storage spaces are too.
Unfortunately there is No AC so during the summer it can get way too hot.
Bathroom room floors are rough so it’s hard to clean

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
Easy commute
Well connected to the city
Amazing views
Lovely neighbours

Dislikes
Can be very noisy due to airport
Not many large supermarkets

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Limited parking for visitors and guests. As a tenant parking is not included in the rent have to pay extra

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

I haven’t had any problems with my building so I haven’t had to contact them

5
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice spacious apartment

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Design good open concrete interior design ceilings with under lighting
Big windows good view
Big balcony
Lift area very basic
Kitchen cabinet funky
White floors white tiles hard to keep clean
Bathroom floor hard

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like view dock open spacious good price
dislike road not ideal traffic bad limited parking space
concierge not good

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Dlr cost zone 3

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern new age

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I love the new modern design of the apartment. It is very spacious with a grand open plan. I think it is a good value for money.
Picky but I would change the shape of the home I’d like it to be cuboid.

View is spectacular. And there are so many activities in the area.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
Developing
Many young people
Really close to the City
Easy commute

Dislikes
Limited green space

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I did my research before moving in so I am very content with my home

What is the best feature of your home:

View is spectacular. And there are so many activities in the area.

5
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Peaceful and modern

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I love the flat as it’s really peaceful here and it has great transport links to central London and the city, it’s a shame because we can rarely use our balconies because it gets so windy, but it is an amazing view. I’d change the shape of the building as it makes it more windy.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like how peaceful it is here, with good links, but I don’t like the neighbouring areas

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d have known about the administration staff being quite rigid

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I’d change the shape of the building as it makes it more windy.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Peaceful and conveniant

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I live here in my friends flat so it’s pretty good for me, it’s a nice place as it’s quite peaceful and well connected with the dlr station nearby. I don’t really have any complains other than than the aeroplanes.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like it being quiet and modern

I don’t like the noise of the airplane

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There’s nothing I can think of, I researched before I moved in

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

No, it’s a great flat no I can’t think of anything to be added

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Amazing development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Love how fresh the air is in my apartment. It is modern
With an open plan. To personalise my apartment space i have added my own furniture and artwork as well as re painting the walls.
I would however love a bigger balcony.

The building management respond very quickly and provide excellent customer care.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
modern
easy transport links
beautiful secenery

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It is exactly what I was sold and i am very content and wouldnt change anything about it.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The respond very quickly and provide excellent customer care.

5
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Bright, modern apartment in a great location by the dock.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

I enjoy the location and design of the apartment. It’s bright, well-designed and modern. However, shared facilities could be better, eg. Larger gym or having a residential gym in both towers. Having a concierge service or at least having more CCTV and security in communal areas would be nice. Unfortunately there has been a slight increase of anti-social behaviour and theft during lockdown so having an increased presence of concierge/security/CCTV would greatly improve my experience.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It’s close to the water with nice views from balcony. The local area seems safe and clean and there are good, decent transport links. However, we could do with more shops and restaurants/bars along the main road leading up to the Excel.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The apartment is bright and well-lit for pretty much the entire day as it’s always facing the sun in the east.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Having a concierge service and extra CCTV/security during lockdown to prevent antisocial behaviour and theft.

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Clean and safe

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I really like the flat’s as it’s quite clean and modern and it’s much better value for money over some flat in the west of London. My only issues are with the council and the management of the property. The response from them have been really bad, they charge you more and more and don’t fix anything.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that the flat’s are clean and modern but I don’t like that the council is really bad

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d have known about the council for the area

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

The responses have been really bad, they charge you more and more and don’t fix anything

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great development, low choice on supermarket

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The development is well managed and nice looking. Inside the flat has a nice layout and the fittings are of good enough quality. The insulation is great, in winter I hardly need to switch the heating on and the soundproofing is very good as well. In case of breakages or issues I email the agency which is very responsive and provides quick service.

There is a gym within the development which I don’t use it.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is quiet and safe, with DLR station nearby and at walking distance from Canning Town which has the tube service as well. So it’s quite convenient for links to central London and surrounding areas.
In terms of amenities there is a limited choice of supermarkets and I don’t always find what I need so I have to travel to nearby areas to get a more varied choice.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How limited was the choice of grocery stores and how expensive the barber shops are compared to nearby areas such as Canning Town.

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

There is a gym within the development which I dont use

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

Pretty cool building. I find it weird that all walls are painted except for the ceiling. The flat is very spacious, which is good because we have a kid and she can play around.

The windows block the noice coming from the airport and the dlr station, which I appreciate very.

I wish there was a pool available or a bigger play ground, with better tools to play at.

The price is convenient. The flat is spacious, which is a positive when you have kids. Also the area looks amazing.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice area for people with kids, there is a city beach just 5 min away.
There are not many shops near by, but i can always get what i want delivered, so it is not a big issue.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

My husband was dealing with the agency, so I would not be able to answer this question.

Why did you choose this development:

The price is convenient. The flat is spacious, which is a positive when you have kids. Also the area looks amazing.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Lovely building, noisy neigbours

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The building is well designed and modern. However, there’re a lot of faults in the apartments. They try to fix it but but couldn’t do it. The drain pipes are vibrating and create noice because of the wind. I had to fix this myself.
The taps break easily and the heating is not functional.
The gym is too small for all the residents here.

I chose this development because I really liked the way the development was designed.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I have been living in the area since the 80s and i really lile it. It is a safe area with many nice restaurants around.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I was not aware that flats would be rented through airBnB. Usually the people that rent it are very noicy and have parties.

Why did you choose this development:

I really liked the way the development was designed.

1
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
2
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

excellent area and modern living

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2020

1. Excellent modern build
2. All convenience stores nearby
3. Circular shape sometimes makes it really windy
4. Spacious flats – really really big
5. Clean and well managed by the Management Team
6. Massive balconies and is excellent way to spend time during summer,

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great area – really close to the DLR station with fantastic views of the river

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

1. DLR train comes once every 8 mins which is a pain when you commute
2. Sometimes too close to the EXCEL

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Very very prompt and really good service. Great property management team though sometimes a bit too much

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Helpful concierge service, terrible estate agency in charge.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The flat is spacious with a nice layout. The storage space is good enough and the soundproofing is very good as well. The flat has a great insulation system which keeps it very warm in winter.
The development is very well managed and nicely kept, with a lounge are with sitting space which is always clean and tidy.
The concierge service is very helpful and responsive, whereas the Strawberry Star estate agency provides a terrible service.
The residents are part of a Facebook group which is nice and creates a sense of community within the neighbours, which are also very friendly.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is quiet and quite nice for commuting. There is a good selection of bars and restaurants, as well as shops and grocery stores. It is convenient for transportation links with a nearby DLR station, and the area is failry safe as well.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Some flats are used as Air BnB, and some of their guests hold parties. That’s a major issue soncee we never know who to reach out to in such cases.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The Strawberry star estate agency, and the quality of the service they provide needs to be improved.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Fabulous

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The area of this building is fabulous, I have an amazing view from my flat , I can look at the river, new buildings, the emirates airline make the view superb .
The area is quite and very safe, it is very relaxing and I am glad to raise my children down here.
The flat itself is very spacious and good looking.
As my first flat I am 100% glad with my decision.

I would change the bathroom’s floor as the one the flat has is hard to mop.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Likes
amazing views
dlr is very convinent
easy commute

Dislike

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Thr bathroom floor is very coarse you cant use a mop to clean it

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change the bathroom’s floor as the one the flat has is hard to mop.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Really good

Review Date Aug 2019

I’ve lived here for 3 years so I know loads of people who lives here and I can’t complain, I got a really good deal on the flat and it’s great as it’s so accessible, everyone seems to think it’s far out but it’s not at all.

I’d change the freezer as it’s too small but that’s all I have to complain about.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like that it’s quiet and we’ll connected

I don’t like the perception of it being far out

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d have known that there was no visitor parking or drop off zone

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I’d change the freezer as it’s too small but that’s all I have to complain about

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice view but super windy sometimes

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Oct 2018

Very nice design as there’s is a balcony surrounding your whole flat, so u can enjoy the 180’ sunset view from your home. However one worst thing is that the balcony is always so windy,which make me hesitate to go out sometime. it can also be dangerous as the things like seat cushion in the balcony may fly away due to the strong wind

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Not too much shops and restaurant around

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

You may experience a strong wind which your things put in the balcony can be blow away. And act you can see your neighbours when u r just sitting in the balcony, there is only one short and thin glass to separate the space,which is a bit dangerous

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great development

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

A great building and an award-winning design with long balconies for every property and fantastic views of Canary Wharf and the O2 Arena. The facilities are very good including the communal areas, gym and concierge services. Building management are generally good and receptive to queries. Management of the property is relatively straight forward however all of the glass exterior surfaces do require regular cleaning.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great location. Very close to the DLR. Nearby Tesco and Nisa. Very close to the Emirates airline cable car which gives quick links to the O2 Arena.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is nowhere to park outside the property and thus it is very difficult for delivery drivers to easily deliver without parking on double yellow lines. This hasn’t been thought through.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Building management is generally good and receptive to queries. There was an occasion where they took many weeks to respond but otherwise good.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

be careful of the white tiles

Review Date Oct 2018

The view from our balcony is really nice. However, need to be careful of the white tiles and white wallpaper, the floor is made of white tiles which are easily break. and the wallpaper in our room crack by itself after living for 8 months. as most of furnitures given are mostly white, you need to clean it very often as you can spot on the dirt easily.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

the route walking from royal victoria station to Hoola is quite dangerous. cars are going from both sides and sometimes the drivers did not follow the rules and drive from the totally opposite direction. One good thing is that there are plenty of hotels around so when my family come and visit me, they could stay really near to us. And I really like the emirates cable car next to us, it looks so nice and add uniqueness to the area.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We did not aware that this area is always so windy than in central London!!! its hard to go out to the balcony sometimes as its too windy

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice looking development but low quality details

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The design of the development is nice and there is a beautiful view from all the levels. The quality, however, is mediocre and there is many small breakages all over the building and inside the flat. Whenever I need a repair I usually reach out to the management which provides a useful and efficient service.
The flat has a nice layout and it’s fairly insulated in winter, the soundproofing is efficient as I don’t ever hear anything from other flats.

I would change the location of the development and make in closer to a tube station.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is quiet and realtively safe. There is a nearby DLR Station which provides a good enough link with the City.
There is a small Tesco and a Nisa local in the area and a fair amount of cafes and restaurants as well.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

How hard it is to walk around the area since the big roundabouts and highways are difficult to cross

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change the location of the development and make in closer to a tube station

5
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Spacious and unkempt

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

It doesn’t get very noisy with planes as they stop ate at night.
The management ignore complaints like the ones about the refuge area which is awful. They leave the gardens unkempt and covered with rodent catch boxes.

I chose this development because it’s near transportation which is really good for getting around.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The management isystem terrible and building upkeep is awful we pay 6000 a year for management and they do barely anything. We have rats in the gardens and there are no access in the refuge area which stinks and to solve this they cut a hole in the fire door which compromised fire safety.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

That the management was so terrible, any changes they do make is very minor so the major issues remain. The building has actually decided to get a lawyer over these issues.
The heating is also extremely expensive here and the windows haven’t been cleaned since I moved in.

Why did you choose this development:

It’s near transportaxiom which is really good for getting around.

2
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
4
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Modern

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The views are amazing, there is a gym which is very helpful
The design of the flat is great, very modern, clean , the area around is quiet.
It is spacious and cosy, my room is quite big for London size.

I chose this development because it is close to work, easy commute, so good area to move into.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like: quiet close to station
Dislike: 1 bed air conditioner doesn’t work, the sound of the airplanes.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

No air conditioner , not allowed to use for 1 bed flat.

Why did you choose this development:

Close to work, easy comute, so good area to move into.

5
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice area, no parking

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The development us well-designed and modern. The building management did a good job. There is no noise coming from other apartments. The London city airport is near by and it is still quiet in my apartment.

There is an overnight security available, a concierge and gym. Maintenance and cleaning staff are doing great job for keeping the common areas clean and safe.

It would be nice to have a bigger playing ground around the development.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is very nice, good for transport.
It’s social with many restaurants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

It turned out that they only had a few parking spaces available and after I moved in none were avaialable.

Are there any facilities you would like added, or that you have but do not use:

It would be nice to have a bigger playing ground around the development

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Well connected and relaxed

Review Date Aug 2019

So we’ve had problems with how the flat has been delivered, there were issues with the construction being shoddy. I also think the management are really rude, however the view is amazing and it’s so close to the river.

The best thing is the view of the river and canary wharf.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like being close to the river

I don’t like the fear of gangs and violence

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d know about the exterior and not being able to use the balcony.

What is the best feature of your home:

The best thing is the view of the river and canary wharf.

3
Facilities
2
Design
2
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Calm and peaceful

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

I live in the its so it’s very easy to get to work, it’s really near Canning town.
It’s also a very beautiful area near the river, I live on the riverside so it’s a very nice view from, my flat.
There is no ventilation in the bathrooms which is not great.

I chose this development because it’s very close for my work in the city centre area and I wanted to be close to the water.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The view of the riverside is very nice to look at, it’s close enough to central but not too close to be super busy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

There is nowhere to stop your car nearby, we have parking but you can’t stop on the roadside anywhere.

Why did you choose this development:

It’s very close for my work in the city centre area and I wanted to be close to the water.

4
Facilities
3
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Hoola and E16 is a great place to live.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date May 2020

Hoola building is a great place to live with good and spacious interiors. Building is pretty well ventilated but sometimes it can get a bit more windy because of the building shape. There is gym facility available for the people residing in Hoola, but it’s a small gym for twin building capacity. Overall building management is pretty good.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is pretty residential with good transport links. There are few good restaurants with a very quick connection to Greenwich giving more options to explore.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

This one is not completely bad but still a bit of concern, the shape of the building makes the place pretty windy sometimes.

What is the best feature of your home:

My apartment is pretty spacious, very well ventilated and great views. It’s an open kitchen apartment which I always wished for.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Very beautiful apartment but with a bad Property management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

Property management is really bad because they charge too much money without consultation and the lease it’s all in their favour so we cannot choose to change the hot water as we are forced to enter in a contract which is always a surprise with new bills.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

What I like: Calm, clean , DLR and Canning Town Jubilee line closed and new Elizabeth line opening soon.
What I don’t like: Too many thieves around trying to steal everything, from bikes, cars, parcels.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew that they can overcharge without consultation and put new fees without explaining anything.

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

Property management and the contract with District Heat as we are tight with this.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Quite and good area

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

The flat is okay overall, it is very modern and it has a good design.
I personally do not find this flat cosy, it is good to commute to the city centre but when you get home it doesn’t feel like a real home, I prefer the victorian style.

The building management have slow service, long waiting to fix things. Poor service

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Like Clean and modern easy to comute
Dislike night life lacking
No shops

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Limited night life.
there is no much going on around here.

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Slow service, long waiting to fix things. Poor service

5
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Good but can improve.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

Nice design and location. Well kept in places and cleaned regularly. Gym is good and nice area between the buildings. Property management could be improved. Not much action taken to certain issues and have been disappointed with the service during the COVID pandemic.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Nice area in the summer. Dock and plenty of green space. Transport links are good.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Quality of building management, could be better

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Ok. Responded quite quickly and been quick to resolve most issues.

3
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
2
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Expensive but a good view

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Aug 2019

It’s really expensive to live here but it’s really accessible to get to central and the city to get to work. It’s really nice and peaceful around here and I really love the view of the river from my flat.

I would change the fact that there are a lot of unused space in the building.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

I like the view here but I don’t think like the fact that there’s limited parking

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I’d have known about the limited parking spaces

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

I would change the fact that there are a lot of unused space in the building

4
Facilities
4
Design
5
Location
3
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Hoola – great flats shame about the management

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Apr 2020

Flats are design conscious. building management is poor, disorganised and aggressive in communication. There is a communal gym, the gym is small. The lift areas are poorly designed. The communal lounge is just a collection of furniture.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is quiet and underserved by supermarkets. There isn’t much of a buzz about the area until summer time. The DLR is more infrequent than tubes, and connection is not direct to bank.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Thin walls (noise) and noise transfers outside too

If there is one thing you would change about your flat or property what would it be:

The Flat flooring is impractical (it’s cream tiles)

1
Facilities
5
Design
3
Location
4
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 1

4.01

Average rating based on 43 reviews

View company