Drayton Garden Village, UB7

Drayton Garden Village, UB7

By
Bellway Homes, Catalyst Housing, Weston Homes
Ranked 7th out of 133 in West London
4.11 (42 reviews) 4.11 (42 reviews)
Homeviews Logo Homeviews Logo
Transparency Rating: Adequate
This development has an adequate number of verified resident reviews written in the last 12 months.
Homeviews Logo
Transparency

Category Scores

4.02
Facilities
4.31
Design
4.05
Location
3.93
Value
3.81
Management

Drayton Garden Village is a large, mixed-use development with 775 residential units with a mix of one, two and three-bedroom apartments and studios as well as a range of one, two, three, four and five-bedroom apartments. The development is only a 5-minute walk away from Stockley Park Recreation Grounds and a 17-minute walk away from West Drayton station, which has links to GWR services.

Read more Read less

Reviews

Write a ReviewUpload Photos

Decent areas

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2019

I was a looking for a one bedroom flat in a very specific area and had a few friends that were living here so decided to buy in one of the new phases. The sales team at Bellway Homes were very good, answered all my questions and the purchasing experience was very easy – however once the booking fee and contract were exchanged it deteriorated.

The flat I chose was listed as a disabled flat, I didn’t need a disabled space but liked that the bathroom was a more generous space but it didn’t come with a shower and the developer said they wouldn’t put one in – we went back and forth and eventually they did. Another example was requesting wooden floors instead of carpet and in the end I was allowed but had to pay a lot more. The kitchen was standard and I wanted white and a few small tiny things changed but they wouldn’t allow this.

The timeline was as promised and the after sales lady from Bellway Homes was lovely and handled everything well and quickly as well as explaining how everything worked. We had two small issues when we moved in – the first was that the extractor in the bathroom was really noisy and the second was a leak from the sink, both were quickly fixed.

After the initial move in the management was handed over to a company called Ringleys. They have promised lots of things that they haven’t done, the main one being CCTV cameras which the residents wanted as mail was going missing and this hasn’t been delivered. From speaking to other people there seems to be no good management companies in the UK. When the service charges were due to be paid and people then looked into what was promised and what was delivered there were lots of complaints. I actually don’t think they are too bad as they cut the grass, clean the windows and the inside of the buildings. They do a decent job for what we pay. If something needs fixing owners expect it to be done immediately but it does get done even if it takes a while. The main issues are the lack of cctv, issues with parcels and where they can be stored and garbage getting left out. We don’t have a concierge service.

My flat was delivered as promised and as advertised, no issues and everything covered by warranty. The wow factor for me and the biggest reason we bought was the open plan kitchen which makes the living area seem so much bigger. The reason we bought new build was because the bedrooms and storage is so much better and bigger than older houses.

We have no issues with noise and the walls are well insulated – we have an owners group and we communicate well and let each other know if we are planning to have a party or anything going on but even with the doors closed you can’t hear anything. There is a decent community here and dominated by South East Asians and Eastern Europeans, we all get along and help each other out when we need something. There seems to be a lot of people like us – younger generation of first time home buyers who have put all their savings down to buy.

If we move it will be to get more space as we are in a one bed flat and I would look to buy within the development but I would prefer to buy through another developer. I believe there is no perfect developer and would now be mentally prepared for the process of buying. I have been looking in Uxbridge and would now read reviews of what other residents are saying before I buy again.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

There is very little around but it is a good commuter town as we can get to London in 20 minutes and most people I know working in London. There are a few restaurants and pubs and it ticks all the boxes but there are not a wide group of things here. One big incident was when the Sainsbury cash machine was bombed to get the money but bar that incident it is a safe area. There are kids and teenagers loitering around which some residents complain about but I think it is just kids being kids and not a big issue.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish to have known That the crossrail is delayed.

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

They can do alot better. Sort out the parking spots for the visitors

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Really bad parking spaces, visitors have 0 parking spots. They have to walk over 8-10 minutes to find the closest one.

During the purchase parking spots that were pointed out for visitors have now been taken off.

Awful management by the property with poor communication and also the maintenance of the hallways and lift is unsatisfactory.

The hallway carpets are dirty, it’s not the fault of the cleaners , it’s because these carpets needs to be shampooed or changed.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

.

Good transport links with a few local shopping convince stores near by.

No local restaurants or pubs within walking distance.

The ground keepers do a great job keeping the area tidy.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More opportunities to view the flat as it was being built. Better choices on the flooring.

What is the best feature of your home:

The open spaces like the parks and gardens. Like the coverd parking areas, especially when it cold and raining.

Good size bathrooms and bedrooms.

4
Facilities
3
Design
4
Location
3
Value
1
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Living in a new build area is worth it.

Review Date Mar 2021

The development is overall good. Nice and quiet at night time so getting good sleeps. Nice to have a communal garden but not used often. I would welcome a gym in the estate area and some fitness classes. Parking is too limited for visitors and the parking management company is beyond useless and frustrating, inconsistent and only after getting money off residents. But if I was to choose between an old build or new build I would choose this place any day.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The location is good for some things – close to Heathrow, walk to station is short, we have shops around and nice walks along the canals. Not so good because we don’t have any quality restaurants or artisan coffee shops or parks nearby. And we don’t have an M&S or Waitrose in West Drayton. There’s an M&S in Uxbridge but not accessible enough.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew that cross rail is not helping as much as I had imagined. I expected that this area would get gentrified quicker.

What is the best feature of your home:

The peace and quiet at night. It’s a family friendly area and close to an airport but it’s quiet and peaceful at night. It’s bliss.

4
Facilities
3
Design
3
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Beautiful Place to Live..!!!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Feb 2021

Design for flats as well as area is beautiful with nice views from balconies. Facilities include many play areas, secure car parks, first floor terrace spaces, large private bin areas, secured cycle stands and well maintained green areas. This area is well maintained and perform regular cleaning activities by management company. Service charges are bit higher as they are lot of things to be taken care of in the area. Visitors usually say they feel they came to some holiday spot in Europe.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Beautiful area with close distance to lot of local shops and parks. Drayton garden village has various shops like Sainsbury’s local, fish and chips, Pizza corner, local barbers and hairdressers and off license shop for delivery and courier services. Many little play areas for children a long with big park to spend time outdoors. This place also has village hall to book for weekend activities and kids birthday parties. Area is always clean and only downside I see is visitor parking in the estate but most of us use other side roads if we have large gatherings. Area is well connected to motorway and access to Crossrail which we hope completed next year

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Close to Schools, all different big shopping malls and many green spaces which we didn’t know while buying this property

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Not bad, they listen to our problems and try to fix as soon as they can but we see people will be always changing in the management company “Gateway” so it is little harder to chase them like any other management company.

5
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Decent value for money but not special

Review Date Jun 2019

The area is overall decent quality and value with a relatively safe and comfortable neighbourhood. Everyone gets on here without any issues. The main problem is the property is quite far from central London and being remote there is not much access to variety of shops and restaurants. We were promised the new fast Cross rail and Elizabethan line would be built by now but for past two years nothing has happened.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

It is a safe and friendly community to raise a family and also for those without families. It is quite safe but could improve a bit.. The main problem is this area is far from central London with not much access to local shops and far from high street chains of restaurants.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

We came prepared and knew all the essentials.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Comfortable relaxed community

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Jun 2019

The area is nice and comfortable to live in. The landlord repairs things on time and we do not have any disputes with him. However there have been some occasional crime issues in the area with the local Sainsburys cash machine getting busted open in an explosion one time. But apart from that the area has been generally safe.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

The area is a very nice modern development that is good for families. It has good transport links into London and decent quality shops are easily accessible around here. The neighbours are nice.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I do not have any regrets or issues overbally. It was value for money in my opinion.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Family friendly area

Review Date Jun 2019

Space is okay, enough storage. Good lighting. Warm and quiet. Safe neighbour. No garden, but not am issue. Work locally and so its an easy commute, bus stop is very close only 5 mins.
Sometimes the trains can be a little noisy, not distruptive though.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Little too far to the station aamd supermarket, around 20 mins. Clean amd tidy communal areas.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Like the family focused community. People willing to help each other.

4
Facilities
4
Design
3
Location
4
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Nice and safe community area

Review Date Jun 2019

Very good condition. Two bedroom flat is spacious. Easy commute to the airport, simple bus route. 25 min public transport to heathrow. No noise pollution from the airport.
Some issues water supple due to repair, but overall all fine. Nice to have a shared garden space. Good storage space inside too.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Well lit up at night, very safe oversll. Happy for kids to play around im the shared green areas. Havent heard of anythimg unsafe. Cctv cameras help with feeling safe. Clean area and well maintained.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

More visitor parking. Very limited and fines are common.

4
Facilities
4
Design
4
Location
4
Value
3
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Great!

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

Building management are great , cleaning is always done and on time to a very High standard , the gardens are always kept neatly and clean along with great security on the site. The only issues we have had is with parking which isn’t managed good and the front door of the blocks locks not working

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Drayton village is located in the perfect area close to the train station it takes me literally two mins to walk with direct line to London- also local Sainsbury’s shop which is so handy and also chemist . I love living here

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

Parking is not great! I wish we knew that there was issues with the parking and Visitors coming to see us

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

Yes they have but it has taken some time, we have had issues with the doors being unable to lock for quite some time

3
Facilities
5
Design
5
Location
5
Value
4
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

An alright community for first time buyers and young families, Nothing special, Needs more facilities.

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

The overall development looks clean and is well kept, however buildings were clearly built as cheaply as possible in order to make obscene profits before leaving buyers with issues. Its not a terrible development, but not great quality either. Design is not very vehicle friendly and its hard to move larger vehicles around here with all the landscaping and ridiculously sticking out curbs and roundabouts.

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Great area for public transport, and Crossrail also coming soon. One convenience store on site, and a few local places nearby. Would love to see some chain restaurants and a low cost gym here however. We have take away services galore! No bars or pubs here at all, that would be nice. Parking is restrictive and can be a nightmare because its so close to Heathrow. Anti Social behaviour and smoking weed is sadly a huge problem here and really spoils our nice development.

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

The scale of antisocial behaviour, and absolute joke of a management company.

What is the best feature of your home:

The bathrooms were fairly nice, and the layout isnt bad, otherwise everything else nice Ive added myself

4
Facilities
3
Design
2
Location
3
Value
2
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

Getting busier and nosey

Verified Resident
Verified Resident
Review Date Mar 2021

In general the development is beautifully designed. I like the layout. There needs to be more parking available though. I also think that there should be more security and we should have had a community gym. I would like to see more security patrolling the neighbourhood

Please tell us what you like and dislike about this area:

Now there is quite a bit of noise, the development is getting busier.
Not much parking available for guests

Please share one thing (or more) which you wish you had known before you moved in:

I wish I knew about the lack of parking facilities

How has the building management responded to any problems or issues you have raised:

No they have not responded because they are no longer in business

4
Facilities
5
Design
4
Location
5
Value
5
Management
Read all Read less

Was this review helpful?

Report

Report

These reviews are the subjective opinion of a HomeViews member and not of HomeViews

Location

Number of developments 44

4.01

Average rating based on 581 reviews

View company
Number of developments 6

3.87

Average rating based on 105 reviews

View company
Number of developments 10

3.82

Average rating based on 109 reviews

View company